paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Heartland Paintball Field / Heartland Paintball Field / Heartland Paintball Field / Heartland Paintball Field

Heartland Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10-K Keenlyside St
Winnipeg, Manitoba R2L 2B9
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
RyanS Saturday, September 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canadian Paintball MUCH MUCH MUCH BETTER MUCH
Directions
to the Field:
Who knows?
Review: Well first off I called the pro ship asking if they fill air and most of the time 99% When someone says air they mean HPA actual air. Well I guess thisg uy didn't he said " o ya we do" Then I asked if we can stay the whoel day seeing as we have our own equipment. He said ya no problem. So me and my budies get there and we ask the guy where to fill our air we said I just give you a tank. I look at him and say no I don't want to use some random tank I would like to use my carbon fiber one. He says what we only use c02. So the proshop guy knows nuthing about his own field. I mean in this day and age in paintball most guns use HPA not c02. Any good field knows that. SO he says well I'll make you a deal you pay 30$ for rentals field fee and to use your own paint. What is that the only reason we have to use these crappy guns is becasue your proshop knows nuthing about your field. So we just wanted to play so we paid. ANd my god thses gunds are awful I mean I was 5 ft away from a guy clear shot stevive wonder could make it. But no the gun chopped the ball. Chopped every ball I fired. SO after theg ame a took my paint out of the cracked hopper ( POORLY taken care of equipment) ANd some renters left and there was a tippman 98 so I grabbed that one thinking well it's probubly the best one here. SO I put my halo on it ( less chance of chop) load it up and then some more renters come and remeber when I said the guy at the proshop said we could tsya all day. Well that changed know it's oh sorry you have to give those guns up to the other renters who are paying. I mean WTF we paid to. So we gave them the guns had no choice. ALso therese no washrooms, one picknick table a 3 benches that fit 2-3 people. And there was about 40+ people. Half of us were on the ground with equipment/paint in the direct sun and on the ground. Theres no chrono unsafe I mean even a cheap one, cheap one is better then none. They don't sell water all there is is a hose and who knows if thats ok to drink. This field is without a dought in my mind the worst in Manitoba, it wouldn't have been so bad if they filled air but no thats to advanced I guess, how hard is it to bring the air from the shop to the field. I mean it's the weekend people are out playing.Don't even need to brign a compresser just fill the tnak at the shop one cyclnder with nozzle how hard is that. But nope the only real helpful people there are the kids who are doing the refing. The other guy whos spos to be " in charge" who knows what hes doing. Don't come here Go to Canadian Paintball look them up in the phone book give them a call much better prices, 4 fields, woods,industerial,urban,speedball, THEY fill air they only use air which is good becasue c02 is horrible for any gun. But if you want to use c02 ( why) you can you just need to pay for it. They have washrooms water for sale food, plenty of spost to sit. A sign that you can actually see when driving by. Canadian paintball #1



RATED:0 ( IF i COULD)
Last edited on Saturday, September 15th, 2007 at 4:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matm1234 Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: When i went with a group of friends for a birthday party, I was so excited it was like one of my first fields to actually play on rather then friends houses. I got there and i thought well this looks sorta cool, i was puzzled on how exactly we got there because it was basically impossible to find rather then tiny signs leading you to the field. Anyway, i got there and had to go to the bathroom but sadly there wasnt one, I just figured id have to grin and take it for the few rounds i played. Since i got to go with a group we all simpily paid for a gun paint and well entrance fee, which i really think was to expensive 20$ for 200 rounds of paint plus the entrance fee plus the gun, i cant exactly find out what the price was but im suer it was around 40 or 50 buks. I think they could have done a bit better then that. Now onto the field the field itself isnt that bad, infact i enjoyed playing on the field, the ref was antoher story, i mean he wasnt so bad but didnt have any attention to very important things, like it might have been a bad day or somthing but i saw at least 3 players whipe, I could have gotten up got whaled with paintballs and simpily said i wasnt hit. Swearing was obviously not against the rules either, for tempers were flaring because of bad calls on players. Overall the field was good, I
liked the set up although the creek was fairly dangerous because of the combination of current and loose rocks. The refing got better as the day went on. I thought the prices were to high, i think they should really put in some facilities, and i certainly agree with the other review about the chrony and fill station, cmon!! i cant belive they didnt have a chrony!!! The fill station okay maybe theyll have it later infact i swore i saw one but i never had to buy anything besides paint anyway. But no chrony thats just dangerous.


I rate the field a 5 out of 10
Last edited on Sunday, November 5th, 2006 at 7:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

B-Long Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canadian Paintball
Paintball Paradise
Splatters
Review: I can't believe that first review. I was just there myself and had the most awesome experience of my life. I guess everyone has a different opinion.

I have played at other fields and basically you just go there and you're on your own. No Refs, No Rules, NOTHING. At Heartland they had 3 refs on the field every single game. They were extremely helpfull explaining different types of games and basically tried their best to make sure we had a good time. It wasn't like "Here's your gun..Go play" they made it an EVENT... Not just paintball.

Not only did we play paintball we were fed AWESOME Smokies! The games we played there were different than any other place and I would have never thought of those games but they were Super Fun. My personal Favorite was "Defend The Island" Wow that was intense.

It is different that some other fields but I highly recommend. The river going through the field is a Huge bonus! I was in it all day. Its only about knee deep and really makes the games neet! The field is a combination of natural bunkers and man-made bunkers which makes it really challenging. There is not bunkers everywhere like some fields so you do have to make some "Run-for-Its"

If I had to give it a criticism it would be the Signage. I guess it was a bit of a windy day and the signs on the road blew over and we had a little trouble finding the place. It would be nice to see permanant signs or somekind of fix for that.

I went as part of a Bachelor party and they guys are all still talking about it. We're going again in the spring FOR SURE.

GOOD JOB HEARTLAND!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tac-One Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Paradise (Indoor) ~ Superior to this field
Paintball Paradise (Outdoor) ~ Superior to this field
Canadian Paintball ~ Superior to this field
Alter Ego ~ Comparable to this field
Review: I visited this field once when it first opened. I was not impressed at all at that time as it seemed to be a "mickey-mouse" operation. Well. fast forward a couple of years and nothing has improved at all. You'd be better off playing outlaw then this "commercial field".

Location seems a bit odd as you are literally in the backyard of people not connected with the field. Oh well, as long as everyone is respectful it shouldn't be an issue.

The day we arrive (for a stag) the field could not fill our CO2 bottles as they HAD NO FILL STATION! The guy running it states that people with their own gear normally bring their own CO2? He then acts likes he's doing us a big favor by loaning us full tanks which he takes off his rental guns.

I get ready then ask where the chronograph is. NO CHRONOGRAPH!!! He suggests using the firing range, because I should be able to tell if my gun "sounds" hot.

There are no facilities at all, not even an outhouse. There were only a few benches to sit on, no tables or anywhere to put your gear. There was a firepit which they lit up their garbage in while we were still there ("mmmmm the smell of burning plastic").

The rental equipment looks atrocious and I literally saw multiple paintballs rolling out of people's barrels whenever they pointed them down. The orientation session includes a segment on how to manually recock the gun when it goes "unintentional auto". Paint was pretty expensive at $10 / 100 or $45 / 500. We paid the BYOP rate of $25.

The safety lecture was decent enough. No great complaints there.

They did have a ref out on the field, though I didn't have much interaction with him. Aside from blowing the whistle to start and end games, I never really saw him.

The field, while having some potential, is terrible and a safety nightmare. The field is situated over a creek and adjacent dry creek bed, with some old growth trees, and a hodge-podge of man-made bunkers, with a bit of elevation on one side. There are no bridges over the creek, so people try wading through unknown depths and unseen hazards. The dry creek bed is full of loose rock and should just be renamed "the ankle-snap zone". Throughout the field there are broken off branches, protruding nails, and other sharp items. While some bunkers are nice well constructed plywood units, others are partially wrecked pallets or pieces of material that don't even stop paintballs. The field is uneven in layout giving one starting point (the peninsula) an inherent advantage over the other. Overall it is a very small field for bushball, approximately football field size (if you are willing to cross the creek). Due to the terrain, backyard restrictions, and layout there is only one real way to exit the field and it is right smack in the middle of a hot zone of fire.

The games I participated in even seemed crappy and designed to elicit maximum profit with a maximum chance of injury. The best example is a 5 center flag, unlimited rejuvenation game. The 5 flags are hung in the middle of the dry creek bed, which means no cover and a run over broken rock. while being fired at incessantly. I eventually sat out after a "dead mans walk" smart-ass (remember the only way out is through a fire zone) shot me at close range with enough velocity to immediately draw blood.

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all cost! They show no interest in improving the field, their equipment, or their operating practices whatsoever.

RATED: 2
Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 3:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media