paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (973) 584-2220
Address: 1204 Union Valley Road
spotswood, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
vlpaintball Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: great field lots of woodsball fields. One speed ball field,13 woodsball fields. Thespeed ball field is great it has great setup. One trick to the spped ball field is do not hide behind the giant telephone cord holders. The woodsball is great Bay ruth filed is my favorite woodsball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skymiles Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None this was my 1st time
Directions
to the Field:
Their directions are right for the mos part, except that you turn in at the giant white rock that's the sign for the bar.
Review: OK, so lets start with the Pros of this place

1. The tent city on top of the mountain is A Lot of fun, nice terrain and some good bunkers. So far as the hike up the hill, so what!! You hike it up their once and your good ...so long as you don't run out of air or paint.

2. I like the fact that if you buy a 4 air refills you can use them next time you come back.

3. Ref's, I've read that they have younger ref's, the ref's that we had were great. They kept the game at a quick moving pace, about every 2 rounds they switched the game up. And if you asked them for advice they play so they gave good advice.

4. When me and my friends were leaving they gave buy one get on free on passes and equipment..

5. Price: $85 for a case of paint isn't bad and they used pretty good paint (Nightmare) and if you have any left over from last time you were their they'll let you use it if it's in good condition.

6. Open year round.


Con's

1. Speed ball and the lower field were EXTREAMLY muddy, but it's not their fault.

2. Didn't move us to the higher/better field till after lunch. Don't know if there weren't enough people or what.

3. Didn't check chrono at all.



P.S

If you go there during a holiday they usually do something special. St.Patty's day free corned beef and cabbage.
Last edited on Thursday, March 16th, 2006 at 9:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

simpsonsfan789 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command- Good outdoor, unorganized indoor
Review: I think this place was pretty good except it was way 2 expensive.

Pros:
-Nice field selection
-D-day event is fantastic
-Quality rentals
-Nice refs, they don't dis inexperienced players like myself.

Cons:
-Waaaay 2 expensive, like 80 for a case of paint
-Disorganized
-Badly setup woodsball field

Like i mentioned before, they have a D-day event where 1 team is defending a hill and the other attacks and the field is full of big bunkers and stuff, its really cool. If the place werent so expensive, id go just 4 that

Overall id give it a 7, mainly because of D-day
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drcolon Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Okay well last saturday i went to this field with my cousins. I thought it would be as fun as my last experience there but the refs did not know how to do their job. The last time I went the refs were like 16-18 yrs old but on saturday the two refs were like12-13. They had no control over the fields. The opposing team cheated everytime and said that shots to the gun do not count. WTF kind of bull$h!t is that!!!!!! Also i got into a fight with a 38 yr old man who wiped in front of the ref when i shot him and tried to play on, mind you the ref didn't say anything he just stood there with his fingers in his @$$ looking like a twinkie because he was fat and had a bright yellow jacket on. As for the other BRILLIANT ref, he had the smart idea for both teams to start in the middle of the field and battle it out like in the western times. F#$*ing moron. Other downsides are that the paint is REALLY expensive and the waits between the games. Other then the young refs, the expensive paint, and the long breaks between games, the field is a fun place to play. The season pass is only $100 which is a great deal and the airpass is 10 bucks. The owner was a really nice guy and the other employees from my last visit, not the young refs, were really nice people. I had lots of fun but i would prefer older refs who know what they're doing. I would give the field an 8 out of 10
Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 5:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cozmatic92 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ruckus, Hustlers Indoor Paintball
Review: OK, so me my brother and my cousin went there last weakend and when we got there they told us to go up to the high lands which is a pretty long walk. then once we got to the top they were heading down for a break! But the head ref, the owner, was there and told us to wait for them. we waited for about twenty minutes just so that they could tell us to go down the hill and play at a different field. then when we got there we had new refs, thirteen years olds. they had no control over the game and the other team was cheating the whole time. then when the refs said that we were going to play speedball the other team said that it was to small, in which i think is a perfect size, and went to the field in which we were just playing at and the reff's did nothing. Then one reff said that instead of going to the opposite ends of the field, to start in the middle and every man for themselves!! then another time when i was there a different reff took my gun when i said that he can only shoot five paintballs, emptied half of my hopper. And their paint is all that good and is very expensive!!!! i'm going to rate this a seven because the fields are awesome, their staff is very nice and for the most part know what they are doing besides reffing. the owner is nice. season pass is only $100 (that's only going 5 times) and their 4 fill air passes are only $10 (thats two airfills) and all of the other times that i went there was awesome. get better and older reff's that know what they are doing as a reff and lower your paint prices and you will be a 10
Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 2:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder5oh Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ruckus and Skirmish, PA
Review: Paintball Depot have numerous great field like Beirut, Tent City, Speedball, and unknown name field with small hill.

I had a great time, but the field could use some improvements. Like the paint is way TOO expensive, $85 a case, for low quality paint. The Speedball could be maintain better, like break the ice in the field and cut some broken branches.

The ref were pretty young, but very helpful and doing a great job.

I see my crew and myself coming back to Paintball Depot. Plus I heard that if you buy a case a paint in their stores (located 23 south), is $10.00 less then buying in the field. The air pass stub does not expired, that means you could save money when come back again.

I will give a 7 Rating, because the place could use improvements.
Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 9:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hunter23j Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC, Ruckus, Ejam, ET
Review: I think this is a good field, a bit disorganized but it is ok. The paint there is way TOO expensive, like $75 or 80 a case, for low quality paint that breaks in your gun and then you have to spend time cleaning it. The fields themselves were very interesting, they had tent city which I liked a lot, then they have several other fields that were very much fun, and they ref was a bit inexperienced but he was extremely pleasant to deal with. They also had a speedball field which was a bit too wide for speedball. If it wasn't for the EXPENSIVE paint I'd go there a lot, also they don't allow bringing your own paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sinter Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ring homestead, high velocity
Review: I'm writing this review after returning from the Winterfest....one of this fields Big Games. Disappointment is an understatement. The game was supposed to start at 9:30 and run till 12:00 when we would break for lunch...instead the disorganization an turmoil caused the game to actually start at 11:30 keeping all of us who showed up on time waiting 2 hrs in 20 degree weather with high winds blowing. We then proceeded up a large hill where we engaged in woodsball. The "safety area" like all the other nets had problems. The problem with the nets were that they weren't anchored down so the nets would blow up leaving the unmasked occupants unprotected to a stray ball. The nets surrounding the field are riddled with holes but the fields are so far from the staging area there is no danger of getting hit. Once we started playing, the next shortcoming manifested itself, evidently management figured 20 degrees wasn't cold enough to warrant winter balls even though we paid $70 a case for "Bullet" brand balls (should be called crap balls instead of paintballs). Everybody who was using the balls were breaking left and right. Interestingly, many players decided to use non field paint and the refs looked the other way. Now for the refs;..everyone in my group played by the rules...get hit ...go out; I saw on several occasions refs see people hit, get up change position and continue playing. At one point as I was leaving the safe area literally 2 feet from the door....I hear "surrender" so I turn around and go back into the safe area....the ref says wait till their backs are turned then leave the rest area and shoot them!! That's how the whole day went'; it was such a disappointment that we left after 2 hours of play. Just note that if you needed air or balls you had to hike back down the steep hill. When I arrived at 9:00 there were about 30 cars in the parking lot; when we left at 2:30 there were less than 10 (and I assumed most belonged to staff) so evidently many people felt the same way I did. If you go to Paintball depot I hope you have a better experience than my group did!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Diomedes Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ruckus Paintball - smaller but cheaper
Top Gun - bigger, about as nice
Fireball Mountain (Old Bridge) - smaller and just poor in general
ABC Paintball - smaller, nowhere near as good
Fireball Mountain (New Hanover) - also quite good
On Target Paintball - costs less, maybe a bit bigger, just a bit better overall
NJ Paintball Club - bigger, more expensive, not as much fun as Depot
Review: I've been going to Depot since getting into paintball years ago. The most important thing is safety, and this is the safest fields I play at. The staff is extremely strict about masks and barrel condoms/plugs. They start each day with a detailed safety orientation. I've seen whole groups get thrown out for the day for disregarding basic safety procedures. Two thumbs up for the safety.

The refs are, for the most part, excellent. Friendly, helpful, and strict when necessary. They take a little longer than you might expect to get things ready in the morning, but there's very little waiting between games.

As for the fields themselves, I like them. There's about 7 or 8 that I've played on. Speedball isn't great, but the woods courses are varied and well maintained, and go from pretty much open to the point of being speedball in the woods to almost all dense natural cover. The shooting range is a joke though, it's about 15 feet long. Works to chrono, but useless to actually target shoot.

The prices. There's the rub. $70-$75 for a case of paint (fpo), depending on how many you get and where you get them (it's cheaper at the store than at the field). Admission is fair though, $20 w/ your own stuff, $30 for rentals. Just this year (2006) they started selling season passes. $100 covers admission for one year. Needless to say, this is a sweet deal. $10 for 4 co2 fills, not sure about air, but they do fill HPA tanks, and the fills you pay for carry over between visits.

Overall, excellent, one of my favorite fields. Highly recommended. 9/10.
Last edited on Friday, November 16th, 2007 at 10:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

littlekev6102 Saturday, December 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ejam-great indoor
Rex Plex- closed
Ruckus- cheaper but not as good
Review: Well i used to be really into woodsball and i loved this place. I used to go there every weekend. They have plenty of fields. More for woodsball. They have 1 speedball field. Its not too good. This place is very clean, too. The only bad thing i would say is the price. Its like 85 for a case(really good paint), and its like 25 to get in. They are always giving out free passes thoguh. All in all, its an alright place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media