paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (973) 584-2220
Address: 1204 Union Valley Road
spotswood, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Offa Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC Paintball
Review: A lot of people say the Refs stink. Don't listen to them. The only reason they will yell at you is if u don't have your mask on or your Barrel Plug. The Refs were nice and helped me out with my gun. The rental guns are decent and work well. THE CASES ARE NOT 100$ THEY ARE 85$
Pros:
Great fields (14)
Refs care about you and your safety
Nice friendly people

Cons:
When you go in to PaintballDEPOT you will think it is run down.
Speedball over flows (when i went there was ice, still alot of fun.)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fender131 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played any others in the area yet.
Review: I think this field is pretty good. I went once for my birthday and then again for my friend's party. The rental guns are extremely horrible, Tippmann Pro-Carbines. Their paint prices are good, $12 for 200. Good refereeing, ask for Donnie. I reccomend it to any player, newbie or pro. Top fields to play on there is Beirut(my favorite) and Midway(D-day) or speedball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevelless69 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fireball Mountain, Skirmish(unsure) , Rexplex
Honestly, Fireball mountain is a bitof a drive on the parkway, exit 145 to exit 123( i think) then another 10 minutes or so on US-9 to the field, of course the drive is a lot quicker the way i drive. But it's worth it instead of going to PB depot. Infact FB Mountain kicks the crap out of PB depot.
Review: When you choose a field, and you try it out you expect to have fun either way. Whether the place sucks, in general, or not you'll have fun most likely because you'll probably be with friends, but either way you'll be participating in one of the greatest sports out there. Only problem is when you go and perhaps your a noob, you won't find the most helpful, friendly staff, as well as the general concensus of people. Which could turn you off if it's your first time or one of first few. I've also found that you probably shouldn't go there if your more experienced; fish in a barrel. Though when I went it wasn't too challenging, that was also 4 years ago, when i pretty much started out. Go with paint and say you bought it from them, then use a table in the back so they don't see that your not using their paint, otherwise they'll make you pay $100 for 32 degrees team colors. AND it's not even 32 Degrees! Its resealed Brass Eagle paint put into a Team Colors box. That's what they did back then and I know it hasn't changed. By the time your ready to go and you hike up the big hill your too tired to play. I think they have a speedball field still. It's really not worth it, save some money and time and go to Fireball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CCPup Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Rex Plex
Review: Only 30 minutes from New York City, this place is a convenient commute for all of the Straphangers and North Jerseyites.

Personally I really enjoy this field. I hate speed-ball, and they have some pretty good woods courses. Do not go here if you want a castle, village, or any other major real urban combat experience. But if you are looking for some good old fashioned seek and destroy military like ops in the woods, then this is your place. Played there from 9:00 to 4:00 and could not even walk to the car because I was so tired from climing up and down the inclined fields.

They are very accommodating. The refs are young and you can talk them into letting you get away with some things. Last time I was there, they let us play until we finished off our last case. No one dies until you were out of Paintballs. That was very accommodating of them. They also let my group get a private field without the minimum 20 people usually required.

Paint is pricey, but since I usually go with a large group, we buy at a minimum 6 cases of 2000 and the price drops to around $80-85 a case.

All in all, a good experience if you live close. it is not the type of place that you would make a long trip to like a Skirmish (the Mecca of Paintball).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KVN Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All-Star (before Depot was there), Skirmish, Cousins (Survival NY), Pinelands, Paintball Depot (when it was in Hackettstown)
Review: I've been playing at this field for quite awhile now, mostly because it's convenient and has decent woods fields. Paint is a bit expensive, but it's a bit expensive everywhere I go so this is nothing new. Air was $3 a fill for CO2 - not great, not horrible. I've heard complaints about the staff but I've always found them to be ok...some are better than others, but overall they're not bad and some can be quite helpful. Organization seems to be a bit on the loose side...again, not horrible, but not great either.

The fields -
Depot has all woods fields and 1 speedball field. The speedball field has seen alot of improvement lately, the biggest of which is the grass instead of mud and rock. It's a hell of a lot nicer then it used to be. Howver, this field is meant for 5 on 5 or less, and packing teams that are 10+ into the speedball field (which is common practice) is just ridiculous. There just not enough room or cover for that many people, and it's really not fun. The woods fields are ok. Some variations with tents and bunkers and such. They are a bit too small once the teams reach about 10+ per side, which is quite common. I'd like it if they combined 2 of them to make a larger field for larger games, it's not like they are ever all being used.

Overall, Paintball Depot is nice if it's not that far from you, but probably not worth the trip if you've got a decent drive to get there. It's a good place for the local walk-on crowd but I wouldn't plan an event there.

The old Paintball Depot in Hackettstown was alot better. I loved it there and it was worth the much longer drive....bring it back!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donny Depot Ref Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hustler's, ABC, Top Gun, Skirmish
Review: I am a referee at Paintball Depot, my name says it all
Im also here just to give some feedback

The speedball field is amazing now if you havent been there recently. The depot workers have worked on the field, no more mud puddles, no more rocks or anything. We've set up the air bunkers there now, so sometimes we may have air bunkers and wooden bunkers, and sometimes we might have all air bunkers. Everything is clean, the grass is cut weekly for better running, and now more people want to play it.

Speedball is growing at paintball depot, and there is a demand of wanting to play on the field. If you want to insure playing speedball only, call and ask if they have a speedball only group, if a lot of people call in and ask to be a speedball only group then maybe you'll only play speedball with other players all day. but thats just a suggestion, i know plenty of people who want to do it, and i am sure that i will ref for that group ;-).

The fields are always clean, we've set up new netting at the bottom staging area giving it a good clean look and a safe staging area. The fields up top are maintained now, we do the unlikely, such as raking up leaves, twigs, picking up branches, and pieces of wood off Tent City, Thunder, etc.

As for refs yelling and not being nice, its probably because someone took off their mask during play or when they are walking off and lift them up, or they didnt have their barrel plugs on. Paintball depot is one of the safest placees to play paintball because refs really enforce that rule. No serious injury has occured there. We are really nice and friendly but when it comes to safety, you wont like us very much...

Depot is great, renovations are going to happen. field on the bottom will open up, and we might be thinking of a second speedball field we dont know yet. more fields and a new chrono zone will be set up on the bottom.

Come check paintball depot out, and see for yourself.

I'd give paintball depot an 8/10, because they are organized and a nice bunch of people...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick_klp Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was the first and only field i've played at, I just play woods games a lot at different friends houses.
Review: I came to this field 2 years ago having never played before. They rented tippman , which weren't bad but I had a problem with one of them once, the trigger came loose mid-game. The referees could do a better job, they're a little bit too worried about themselves so you could hit someone 5 times but the ref would never know. The speedball was kind of chaotic, it's fun but once again the refs don't do a great job. The capture the flag courses were large and had a lot of natural bunkers which made for great camo and cover. The size made referees even worse. The price of paint is very high, over $80 a case. Admission was average, but since the paint was outrageous it wasn't a great deal. I've come here twice in two years and am sick of the expensive prices, you're better off playing indoor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PerfectDark96 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ET paintball, hustlers
Review: first off im a referee that works at paintball depot, and heres my resposnes.
im not here to totally defend PB depot, just to give some feedback.

For you guys that said the referees are mean, your right we are. you know why? because we have to keep everyone safe. the only reason we will yell and scream at you is because you either took off your goggles or you didnt put your barrel plug in. paintball depot has a perfect saftey record, and were going to keep it htat way.

yes the paint is expensive, and that sucks. nothing i can do about it.
yes our fields arent the best. we really dont have alot ot work with. the property sucks, and we **might** move to a different location so we dont want to put too much effort into something we might not have for too long. and yes it is a very big hill to get to the upper fields. i do have to say though, our speedball field is nice now. it used to be muddy but we fixed that for the most part, and now its all air bunkers, save for 2 spools at the back.

also someone said that they were worried because the rentals werent chronoed with everyone else, what they didnt know is that rentals are chronoed every day before we hand them out. so blah.

in conclusion, paintball depot is not the best field by far, but hey were pretty good. where else are you going to go? ET paintball? they have 4 fields. Hustlers and rexplex dont have woodsball. Skirmish is too far away. to PBD is the best place in the north jersey area...... thats kinda sad if you think about it.

I give PBD 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

megustaspaghett Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rexplex - they fired everyone i knew...but they lowered prices some. BYOP so that and the 30 ebtry + air fee is really cheat. they took down the out door field, so when its crowded theres notmuch play time on the one indoor field. the indoor field is sick though...so no complaints

Skirmish - crazy unorganized and really expensive....i dont kniw how much entry is cause when i went my friend payed but $100 a case is insane.

Topgun - havent been back here in a while but for the most part a good field
Review: for the most part a good field. A lot of people say that the workers there suck, but when you get to know them your fine. The fields arnt bad, but the bottom fields usually are swamped if you go a few days after rain. They need fill stations at the top playing fields...because its a good hike to get there, and not too fun when you have to hike back down...and then up again to get back in the game. Its a bit pricey...at $80 a case and since they dont do free passes any more you need to pay the 15 or 20 ebtry. all day airs 10 so thats about average. overall a good field and alota fun. better with a group but not bad for walk on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

instinx Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havent played in this area before.
Review: This is my first time to the field, more then likely it will also be my last. I must concur with other posters that this field has some issues. When we arrived, the staff had to break in to the trailer to get things going. Apparantly nobody had a key. There was only a cpl of people working and since there wasnt a huge turnout it was ok....however if lots of people showed up I could see it being problematic. The fields are basically on the side of a mountain the problem is that the lower fields are very muddy/swampy and stink a bit. This includes the SpeedBall field as well as another field that I didnt get the name of. In order to get to the majority of the fields you had to hike a bit...uphill. The fields were a MESS! I understand woodsball is...in the woods but the fields should still be maintained. They should clear the fallen branches, even if just to make a bunker with it or somthing. The terrain is rocky, I recommend boots or somthing with ankle support since it is very easy to roll or twist your ankle while playing on these fields. The other problem that we had was the fields where not marked off in many places. My squad at one point ended up on a different field and then had to work our way back. We where told that the ropes had not been put up since the last big game, but that is hardely an acceptable excuse and could lead to a dangerous situation. Last but not least I found the reffs to be condescending and amatuerish, prefering to shout at players instead of clearly explaining themselves. Nobody enforced any chrono and judging by some of the welts I saw, atleast a couple of guns where running hot.

I wasnt very impressed to say the least with this fields operation. Unless I hear about massive changes to this field, I doubt I will return.
Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 12:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media