paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field

New York City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 718-361-8337
Address: 47-11 van dam street
Queens, New York 11101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
OhNoesXD Monday, May 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Pros:
-Location
-Entry Prices are so-so
-Good practice spot

Cons:
-Staff (Young teens, playing around, not taking job seriously, immature, always messing around with markers, little to no staff available to help when you have marker problems) *There are some helpful and friendly staff
-Paint Prices
-Small
-Only two fields.


I'd only recommend this field as a practice, first time, or recreational playing spot. It's good to have a field so close to those who live in the city. But for you more serious players i'd recommend Skirmish USA in Jim Thorpe PA, worth the drive.
Last edited on Monday, May 12th, 2008 at 1:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snake_is_hot Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Staten Island Paintball, Skirmish, and Cousins. I would recommend any of them over NYC Paintball because they are more safe, better staffed, and have more variety.
Review: The main problem I have with this field is that the staff does not do their job in reference to safety. They allow hot guns as long as you're not using a rental. The refs do not get on the field and monitor players. They blatantly allow over-shooting to occur, and do not council the offending players. The refs have been walking through the staging area dry-firing markers EVERY time I have gone.

The refs also do not make players adhere to the rules. They never call a player out, even when they are playing with an obvious hit. They mismatch teams for their own amusement.

The fact that they are volunteers playing for field time and paint does NOT excuse them for neglecting their jobs. Safety needs to be the #1 concern, not a second thought. Do not go here.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yakmastermax Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
high velocity, cousins, petty's. ring homstead
Directions
to the Field:
7 train, 33 rawson, walk 2 blocks
Review: Ok, i have never writen a review for this feild but i think i can say taht people are way to hard on the staff. It is actualy a really hard job, and they dont even get paid in money, Their salary is in field time and in Paintballs. this actualy results in the staff being entirley composed of veteran players, that know about the game, and truly understand the mechanics of paintball. I agree saftey can be an issue, but in all reality, it is not the refs job the keep the 10 year old from shooting himself in the face, the parents should know their child and not take him or her to a paintball field if they cannot express a level of maturity required to play the sport. personaly, the only field i like is the large one, they used to have three, but they combined 2 to make 1 large on and 1 small one. the large one is best. the paint is very cheap and of perfectly good quality. they treat walk ons and 30 man parties with equal ammounts of respect and help. the tech knowlege is good. The floor is very ditry and slippery so beware and dont wear expensive shoes. Like a said the paint is cheap, and can only be cheap because they manager saves moeny by having an alternative salary for the staff. dont like the young staff, go play somewhere where the paint is 30 dollars more. The masks need some working on, aswell as the cheat protectors. they do have an arcade thing, but in essense it is a failure as not many people use it, if i were them i would ditch it to move the large field back, and to create room for an additional "real sized ' third field.

in all seriousness, if the dry firing or the lack of saftey come players is really bothering you, you can say somthing. I do, everytime i go there i do not rely on the staff to keep me safe, if i see somthing i think is dangerous to me, i say somthing, and all of you are perfectly capable of doing the same, no reason to hide behind the ref.

In all, i have always thought that they run a very tight ship. i have played there about 10 times, over a space of about 2 years, and every time it works out for better or worse. I would recomend the field.

Do not go there if you are a complete idiot, or extremely immature because it is a indoor, and it is paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sparco Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: 1-10; 1 being the worst, 5 being average, and 10 being the best.

SAFETY (2) The refs were really good at eating the entire time i was there. Guns were fired in the common area by the refs no mask was on and players around him had no masks on, you tell me if that is safe. Rarely did refs care if players took their masks off on the feild. You had to crono your gun but that only lasted the first 20 minutes when the place opened.

FIELDS ( 3)- 3 Feilds, only 2 were open. I dont really play much speed ball but the bunkers were poorly inflated, i got there once they opened so its not like they were deflating. The floor was like walking on ice, very poor attempt to keep it clean. The stench in the air was another intresting smell, the website said that they have indoor feild climate control, so i asked one of the kids that worked there and they had no idea what i was talking about.

HOURS OF OPERATION (8) Its nice to have a place open till 1am on the weekend but i found i strange that they closed down 2 out of the 3 fields at 830 pm. There were over 20 players still there, so the wait got even longer.

PRICES (4) Didnt make much sense, i had my own equipment and a buddy of mine needed to rent everything and we both spent the same amount - 55$
Before i started to play a ref said i couldnt use my barrel plug and so i had to spend another 5$ on a barrel sleeve.

RULES (1) For most of the game play i didnt see the refs on the feild but only behind the netting. I made a lot of hits and none were called out cause the refs were no where to be found. I complained over 3 times about this before i finally got a ref on the feild."Orientation" the one my team never got was sopposed to have all the rules, while one game an opponent said i was too close to him when i shot him, he said i didnt follow the 10-foot rule. Every feild has different rules.

SERVICES (1) Trying to get any help from a 12 year old was almost impossible. Language was foul, no uniform on employees, the manager had a nice white tee shirt with attractive sweat stains. Attitude was very poor, this staff looked like they were tired from sitting around all day and eating the entire time i was there.

PROSHOP (0) Proshop? what proshop????? all i saw was a few blue jerseys and barrel plugs hanging on the wall.

STAFF (1) After playing at this place, I wish that there was a Paintball police staff that went around to each field to check to see how tings are running. The staff is a joke, managment talking on there cell phones, the underage kids running around and not caring about what was going on.

REFS (1) Refs should have some kind of knowledge about the game before trying to ref a game. They should get familure with the term PAINT CHECK.

OVERALL (1) Safety was unacceptable, it should be the only priority if any. The only thing i liked about it was the fact that i can shoot my gun and blow some steam off. I would never go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

plee Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time at an indoor facility.
Directions
to the Field:
Check their website.
Review: I was there for a kids b-day party. For most of the kids it was there first time ever playing paintball. And unfortunately, for most it will be there last. The game itself is not what will drive the kids away but it was the adults who saw first hand what paintball is all about. Safety was the main issue. There was only one ref for 12 kids. So basically there were no rules or direction on how to really play the game. A free for all. It was the adults who had to play safety officer and a ref. Also the refs we had were kids themselves. We did not feel the refs were very professional. Many times I overheard the refs using language that was not appropriate for 12 year olds to hear. Like I said the refs were just kids. Based on my experience, unless they get real refs and not kids to operate the facility, I would not recommend this place for kids trying to experience paintball for the first time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alman12 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Happauge- about same..
Review: this feild is good... other people say it sucks, it was my first paintball field and i like it... yeah they don't check the raydars and i got eternal bleeding there, but hey no pain no gain! the only problem with this feild is that you HAVE TO wear orange lenses if you want to see at all. clear lenses you just can't see anything... the place is not lit up well so yeah. also the place has the smell of wet paint! i know it's paintball PAINTball... but it doesn't smell like that, it smells like they're always repainting the walls.... the bunkers are pretty good, they don't tip over unlike happauges bunkers, and the staff are nice, paint=very very cheap! admission is really not expensive... oh another drawback is they don't take co2... as we know nitro tanks are expensive and unless you're a sniper you dont really need nitro.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hjb417 Sunday, November 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
ZJ Paintball (formerly EJAM 1)
Cousins Paintball
EJAM 3
Review: I went in as a walk-on late Saturday night.. around 11pm (They close @ 1pm)

pros:
* open until 1am
* some of the refs are good (as in actively making sure to call ppl out when hit)
* refs are friendly
* The price is cheap if you have your own equipment. I forgot the exact dollar amount I paid.

cons:
* The games were few and far between (I was a walk on)
* the indoor field isn't as good as EJAM 1's field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Monday, October 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SIpaintball...only other field close to the NY metro area.
A whole bunch of fields in NJ, PA, Upstate NY, Cali, and Chicago.
Directions
to the Field:
Check website
Review: I'm really a casual player so this review might just help newbies and rec ballers but please read on. I've been to this field several times in the last year.

Fields:
they have 2 on site. Typically I only get to play on the larger field since they give the smaller one to private parties. But I have played on both fields and have to say that they're not too bad for speedball. With that said, they don't have the traditional capture the flag game or base defense. You get your standard balloon bunkers and a few support pillars for cover. They keep reconfiguring the bunkers each time I've been there so that can be a plus. Both fields are on the small side but makes for very fast games in terms of pace.

Rentals:
They have PMI piranhas which aren't horrible but still are rentals. The masks are all scratched up and the chest protectors could really use some replacing. You have to return the marker after each game so you might not get to hold on to the gun you just got use to. They have limited guns vs people and a good idea to keep them in the staging area for safety reasons ("You'll shoot your eye out...").

Price:
Paint isn't too bad. $65 for a case which varies in brand each time I've been there. But they haven't blown up in my marker in any negative way after using 3 cases of paint from them. Entry is $25. They only use nitro/compressed air by the way so leave your CO2 tank at home.

Refs: pretty cool guys. They're good on the safety aspect of things and violations do get stern warnings (thus you do get a chance to correct your evil ways). I got to play with the guys who typically ref there and I have to admit that they don't go in there to murder folk. So there is a good sense of sportsmanship overall but there were many examples of whiney types but I'm not 100% if they are refs but I do know that they are regulars ie. a noob took out some dude with a DM8 and just kept crying about how they didn't get hit yet you could obviously see a big splat mark on the side of their mask ... I've got a whole bunch of examples but won't run through them all.

Wait time: this is really hit or miss. Each time I've been there, I've done walk on and depending on the groups, you might be able to play on some private games or have to sit on your rear for quite some time until the next game. I guess the staff do what they can but this should be noted.

Misc: Air is included in the entry fee. They have lockers which use standard locks. No pro shop but you can buy little things like barrel sleeves (oh yeah...they won't let you use barrel plugs) and little things like that. The field gets pretty slicked up so unless you want to play on a giant slip and slide wear some good shoes with some decent grip on them. It can get pretty warm in there especially during the hot season.

K...'nuff said.
Last edited on Friday, November 23rd, 2012 at 12:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

L3m0n4d3 Sunday, September 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
super easy to find, just check out their website.
Review: Okay so I been wanting to go to this field for sometime now and its also the closest field from my house its about a 30 minute drive. Okay on to the review.

Safety: Safety was enforced pretty well by the refs because alot of people were getting taken out of the game because they were lifting their masks and also it seems if you lift your mask and the ref has to take you out of the game because you keep doing it you get a strike..so three strikes and your out.

Fields: Their were two fields when I get their..I was a bit disappointed because I thought there were 3 fields but theirs not. Most of the bunkers on both fields were only half inflated and I saw some people move the bunkers but i'm not sure if they were staff. Theirs a small narrow field and a larger wider field and also I think that I did see a third field but their were no bunkers and so it was empty.

Hours: Their hours are unusual and might be good or bad for some people but in my case the hours are perfect...they start late in the day and close late at night so no problems their for me.

Prices: Prices were very reasonable. Its about 55 for I think for the rental stuff and a half a case of paint which is really good.

Staff/Refs: Both the staff and refs were doing their jobs just perfectly but most of the people their look underage not that something like that matters to me. Both were very friendly and also made the rules very clear during orientation.

Food: Their are plenty of vending machines tho most of the items were sold out and I guess you can order food or something...not to sure.

Players: Most of the people their were newbies who never played before and their were also some hi-tech players which were the ones I was hanging with...they seem like very nice people who were more than happy to share tips with.

Proshop: I never got to visit the proshop so I can't really say much about it.

Conclusion:I recommend this place because the staff and players are all friendly and the refs do an excellent job. Going back very soon!
Last edited on Saturday, September 29th, 2007 at 7:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raven80 Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Look at the website, really easy to find
Review: Okay, I just played there over the weekend and I don't know what everyone is talking about. When I was there the refs were really safety conscious. I personally saw 2 or 3 people getting told they had to wait out a couple of games because they weren't keeping there masks on. The field was a bit small, but great sized for an indoor field. I especially loved the turf, it was nice for sliding on but yet gave me enough traction so I wasn't slipping all over the place. As far as customer service, I didn't have any problems, but could see where you might take some of their comments the wrong way, it is New York City after all. Unfortunately all the tourney players were at the NPPL in Boston, so it was just me a bunch of rentals, but it was still cool. The refs were really good about splitting up the teams and making sure me and the one other tourney player just single balled, trying to make it a bit farer. Overall it was fun, a bit slow for my tastes but that is what I get for coming when a major tournament is going on 3 hours away. Oh, for those that like a challenge I was told thursday nights are "high-tech" nights, I think that's when the tourney players come out and play. The pro-shop seemed nice and pretty well stocked, though I never checked prices so can't tell you about them.

Overall I give this field an 8, seeing as how there is no Xball, but then again it is indoor paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media