paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field

New York City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 718-361-8337
Address: 47-11 van dam street
Queens, New York 11101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Tony Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Coram (Cousins Paintball)
Top Gun Paintball
High Velocity (Indoor)
Directions
to the Field:
Van Dam street & Queens Blvd, across the street from LaGuardia College...
Review: If you live in the inner city, and dont want to take the journey to exit 64 (Coram), this is it...

The place is small, dark & the floors always slippery, but it's all we have...

The refs are 50/50 on any given day, you get a bunch of kids acting like pro's with their $1000 markers, always trying to sell you something.

For the most part everyone that worked there was cool and professional, the crowds that frequent the joint are another story, some thug, some smug, depends on the day.

If you go there early dont expect to play right away, especially on a Saturday if you have no reservation, we showed up when it opened, says 10, didnt get to play till 11:30. Just hung out while they set up and waited for refs.

Seems the crowd that comes on Saturdays all know each other, they came in and played right away, we were the only dopes that arrived according to the hours listed.

The shop on premises is well stocked unless you have a Shocker or Autococker, and their prices are what you would expect from a real store and not the net, the attendant, tech or whatever he calls himself, is attentive when he wants to be...

They do have big lockers for you to store your stuff, and tables to rest and set up.

The situation some experience with "bonus balls", is in direct correlation with the close quarters fighting one has to be engaged in. The air ball fields are small, so balls are up close and personal, flying everywhere from all sides, so getting hit multiple times by multiple players is unfortunate but it happens.

All in all it's not so bad, if it's too dam cold outside, and Coram is a bridge too far, then the buck stops here...

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

romenyrr Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Any field other than this one is insanely better!!
Directions
to the Field:
Who cares, your better off not finding this place
Review: the following grades are from 1-5 1 being the worst 5 being the best

REFS-1
Do these ref's even know what a paintcheck is? They're completely useless on the field. All they're good for is the countdown and standing on the sidelines

FIELDS-1
The website boasts 27,000 sq feet of paintball playing fields with four courses open for play. I have only seen two courses that were no bigger than my 1600sq ft aparment.

PROSHOP-2
This place looked like a hotdog cart with pb equipment. Prices were high, but it was decent. They had the basics in there at least.

FOOD-1
Is this the place where myself and others stored our equipment on? this little counter that has an oven that hasnt been turned on in ages

PRICE-4
The prices were the best part about this place. 65 for a case, and 20 entry with your own equipment. 55 for 1000 rounds, and rental gear.

PLAYERS-1
Everybody that goes there thinks they're the hot stuff with their angels and egos. Still ripped em to shreds with my spyder. No sportmanship or fairplay at this field

OVERALL REVIEW-1
Please avoid this field for your own sake and safety.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

rhyno10291 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish and other smaller parks in PA
Directions
to the Field:
take the 7 train and your there!!!
Review: Now being a New York City native paintball was something I only used to play when I spent my summers up in PA. NYC paintball is like paintball in your backyard.

the following grades are from 1-5 1being the worst 5 being the best

REFS-2
When it comes to safety these refs don't play. I have seen people kicked out for touching their face from under their mask. When it comes to the rules the refs are lacking (personally i think the don't want to get shot) I have been playing here since last march and have never seen a paint check. I have been bonusballed over a hundred times but i don think that is a safety issue, I think these people should have to sit but beggars can't be choosers.

FIELDS-3
The website boasts 27,000 sq feet of paintball playing fields with four courses open for play. I have only seen two courses and the thing that pisses me of is that the set up is never the same.

PROSHOP-5
Killer shop with tons of pb supplies. Nice and Knowlegable staff who will help you with any thing.

FOOD-1
There is supposed to be a little candycounter thing but its never open.

PRICE-5
Cheapest around 25 bucks Tuesday-Thursday B.Y.O.P! $35 Young Gunz speical on firday 18 and under get two bags of balls, a mask, pods, and a rental gun for they're-T left over lunch money LOL!!!

PLAYERS-2
Tuesday-Thurday sucks if you want to get bonusballed to death play with these guys. Friday is great because its mostly Newbie little kids and they're parents almost no bonusballing but exepect to get shot by some snot nosed kid on your team.

OVERALL REVIEW-3
Beggers can't be choosers and I can live with the welts form getting bonusballed (plus I can get revenge) Perfect N00bie field REFS NEED TO ENFORCE THE RULES!!! Saftey should be your #1 priority but come on stop standing up against the side nets and get dirty!
Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 4:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

savantonaim Sunday, October 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Staten Island Paintball and Cousins Coram
Both insanely better.
Review: Wow.. So many great reviews for this place. Could they be from all the young kids on the staff doubling as players on this site? Lets go down the list shall we?
Rating from 1 - 10. 1 being the lowest and 10 being the highest.

Hours of Operation - 8
Interesting hours. Great for those who don't like to wake up early.

Prices - 8
$20 for admission and $65.00 for a case. That's the lowest you will find around these parts.

Rules - 1
First complaint, you must put EVERYONE through orientation. We really had to piece together this facilities home rules because our orientation was basicly "Don't remove your mask and you know the rest". This gets dangerous but that will be covered in staffing and players.

Proshop / Services - 9
Nice proshop with a great variety of PB gear aswell as a very knowledgable tech.

Refs - 1
Absolutley useless. They are nice people but they do nothing and don't pay attention to the game. My group and several other groups of players who walked into the games were complaining of being pulled out with no paint on persons. Also EXTREMELY bias judgement calls. I goggled a person at snake right between the eyes infront of the ref. and he didn't more. So I then start shouting for the refs to pull him out but instead I get 5 paintballs put into my side by a run through from the same player i gogged. This is all with the a ref. standing 4 feet from me.
Also in addition to that on 3 consecutive occasions, refs allowed their friends to bonus ball the hell out of me. I was not the only victim of bonus balling. Atleast 5 different people approached me with the same complaint. For all of you who don't know what bonus balling is, it is shooting someone who is called out. Don't expect refs. here to attempt to help you out. After approaching their manager, promises where made but no one came through.Manager was cool but could not change the situation. We ended up leaving after only 2 hours fearing being intentionally hit in the back as we walk off.
Refs spent the games on the sides of the fields not attempting to paintcheck because of the fear of being hit. This is incredibly dangerous. Of all the times I've been paintballing, I've never feared for my saftey. Lazy refs = young kids playing ignorantly.


Players - 5
Met several really good/nice players. Most of which who strongly disliked playing at this field. We swapped information and have made plans to visit other fields in the near future. With the good also comes the bad. Many young and immature players. When allowed to anything they wish, rules of saftey are thrown out the window.

Facilities - 6
Rest Rooms were disgusting. Must admit field was clean but bunkers weren't set-up correctly. Field is also extremely small. Long down-times between games because of the limited field space and number of fields. Only 2 fields availible.

Food - ?
Honestly, I didn't get to try any food here. I don't believe they had an area to purchase food. Several beverage machines though.

Overall - 2
I give this field a 2 because in paintball, saftey is the paint priority. Without saftey you have nothing. I say place at this facility if you have tons of patience and love dirty play.
For the record, I really wanted to like this place. I really did. This place would have saved me so much money when compared to the field we usually play at. This may have been a bad day for them but this day's preformance has shown me that their staff is too inexperienced. Great for lowtechers and newbies but I will never play at this field again.

I will find another field to promote.


Last edited on Monday, October 2nd, 2006 at 12:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

burnballl Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousin's-more expensive but a nice setup
Skirmish-woodsball isn't my thing
Directions
to the Field:
Go into NYC and take the 59th street bridge to van dam street and the address is 47/11 van dam
Review: First off i would like to say this field is definitely the best ive played in. I started here and keep coming back. As people have mentioned this is really convenient for people that live in westchester like me. Now about the facility. The building feels somewhat like a warehouse and the lighting is dim however I love the turf they have it's so good for sliding.
There aren't as many fields as I wish there were but it's fine they could clean out the arcade and make it another field that would help. also since it's inddors it's great for winter. Now the personnel. The refs are amazing and really tight about safety. They are also extremely friendly. I am very friendly with some of the refs and they seem to like me as well. The owner is also great. However the best part of this field is the people that play there. Everyone is so friiendly and if someones not feeling so good or the teams are unfair or something they will fix it right away. Prices are also really good. I play on weekends and sometimes fridays where you have to buy their paint but it's not a big deal they have fair prices but i always bring one or two pods of my own paint. so all in all i think this is an amazing field the facilities aren't best iv'e seen but the staff are the nicest people iv'e ever seen. Thanks Peter.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

joeydizzle Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: New York City Paintball is perfect for anyone that wants to play paintball and lives in the city. My friends and I go to a university in the city and we decided to check this place out in June. We had such a great time we came back in August and will probably go again during the school year.

There are two fields one small and one big (i think they could split the big one into two fields if they have to) The small field is ideal for groups of 12 and under and the big one is good for 20+. My only complaints of the field is that some of the bunkers were deflated when we played and the big field is so wide that if your in the center there is no way to hide from people shooting from both sides (iono people were complaining about that i was playin on the side but very easily picked people off in the middle)

The prices are great compared to other paintball places around there. but what i find odd is that i brought my own marker and spent more money for 1000 paintballs, tank rental and admission than my friends did when they rented guns, chest protectors, in addition to what i got. iono if that normal (cuz i'm a noob) but i think next time i'll get the same package that they do and jsut not use the rental gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

forcourt Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: First off, NYC Paintball is the best place for people in the city or westchester. It was easy to find & no more than a half an hour away even though I hit some traffic, and I was coming from the Bronx!

Also, it's the best place for newbs like myself to get their first taste of the sport. The staff & patrons were all great, surpassed my expectations. I saw 1 or 2 egos but refs kept them in check and made sure everyone had a good time & played as much as possible.

The staff is young but very keen and on top of everything when it comes to safety. As it should be, they are very strict about safety and proper handling of equipment to ensure that no one gets hurt out of their carelessness. It made me feel very good about the experience.

The hours of operation are the best I've seen. I wanted to start playing a couple years back but, living in the city, options are limited unless you have time for long road trips (and gas costs that could be more than field admission!). It's a cool spot because they're open 6 days a week and they'll open up on off-hours for big groups.

The pricing is good, considering its locationan and accessibility and what you get for your money. And, Tues to Thurs is BYOP and discounted rates so you can't go wrong during the week.

Am I goin back? Without a doubt! Wish I knew about this place earlier! I'll definitely be going on regular basis. Even if you don't live in the NY area, it's a nice place to stop and hang out with friends when you're in town.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeoniks Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: The one thing going for this place is the price. For $55 you get chest protector, goggles, a marker, 1000 paintballs, 2 pods and a strap, and admission for 3 hours. Another bag of paintballs is $20 (there are about 500 in each bag)

They have three fields ( technically two, one of which is split into two separate people to accommodate more people). They aren't very big and could be expanded if they could just get rid of the arcade room that no one uses. The fields there could use better lighting as well, especially the smaller, undivided field. The paintballs that they provide are off poor quality; they contain white paint and, combined with the poor lighting of the fields and foggin from goggles, make it very difficult to determine where the shots have landed and also make it difficult for the referees to determine if you have been shot or not. After every two rounds, markers are cleaned and re-gassed and there is time given to rest , clean up your goggles, and refill pods.

The rental markers are not so bad for the price, however occasionally you receive a defective gun; sometimes the canister de-pressurizes, the safety does work, or the gun fails to re-bolt itself after two shots, however the staff there will immediately replace it without question.

The referees there were extremely friendly and very strict about safety. They have vending machines that do not overcharge and they allow you to bring in your own food from outside. There is a shop that sells equipment, however it is more expensive than what you see at other shops and stuff you see online. They also have equipment lockers provided, free for use, however you have to bring your own lock or buy one from them. The bathrooms could use some cleaning up as the floor is constantly filled with paint and urine.

If you live in New York City, this is probably the closest and the only indoor paintball field you can go to (aside from Staten Island paintball). It accessible by subway and there are more than enough open parking spaces around the field to park your car by. By no means does it compare to an outdoor field, but it is a good place nonetheless.
Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drwinks Thursday, March 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
e jam, msg, rings homestead, and cousins
Review: I love this Field. The staff know what their doing. The players and guns all vary. I have been playing their with pros like mr. "u", and also people who only have 2 months in the game. I think the best part of this Field is that the refs match up players that play on the same skill level. For example if you are shooting an ego your not going to be playing a rental or even a guy with spyder image. This is a great Field and they have a very nice pro shop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

poi866 Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, AWESOME but to far from NY to be practical, Aspen Paintball, yet that place is out in colorado. That is where I learned to play paintball. Also, I played at cousins once or twice, but I live in NYC so NYC Paintball is closer.
Directions
to the Field:
MTA Subway line 7 or Queensboro bridge to queens blvd. and a right onto Van Dam Street. Large building on the left with a Tile place on the second floor.
Review: NYC Paintball is quite good. They make it so you cannot use colored paint so white paint is the paint you have to use which makes it easy to clean. The law requires no P-Ball guns in the city but they don't really ENFORCE the law but be safe and LOCK UP YOUR GUN CASE IF YOU BRING YOUR MARKER. Its safest to go by car (Parking nearby) or Limo Service if you can afford it (Also by NY Public Transport subway line 7) yet if you don't want to risk it the place will rent PMI guns there. A small pro shop with a helpful guy will be there to help you buy ANYTHING (except a gun because its illeagal). The shop is dang convienent, BUT it is a tad overpriced on some items. IF you want to buy a gun, go to a place outside the city. They rent out coveralls for the picky paintballer but paint comes out in the wash so you don't really need it. It will FLOOD with Teenagers on holiday fridays so you should get a group and RESERVE a field, which requires a group of ten people (8 on mondays through thursday). They open off hours on mondays through thursday if you have a group of 15+ people. They will give you an N2 tank in exchange for some ID, just give it back in when your done and the guy gives you your ID. The manager is a nice man, just don't make him mad. Also, the dispatcher is grouchy, so don't anger him as well. The fields are AWESOME, 3 fields that will give you a challenge even if you are Mr. U. Also, the 2 small fields can be combined to make a big one. Excellent management that will order dinner and sell you drinks from a fridge. Also, the maximum FPS rate is 260, so don't worry about bunkering, YOU CAN'T DO IT. The refs are also strict, so be prepared, they WILL throw you out for not obaying any rules, usually for a round or two. There is an AMAZING TECHIE: he is able to fix almost any gun! Also, the place has paint allover the bunkers so you should be prepared. Former NYPD cops patrol the place, so it is very safe.
Go here if you are in the AREA. BTW the Cafe is never open. Also the high ends have to be careful because if you come and the people who are playing are ALL noobs, you'll be playing 4 on 1 or somthing like that.

I WILL GO HERE AGAIN!!! THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!!

It is almost perfect, light up the waiting area so you dont feel so claustrophobic and you would have a 10.

Overall-9.7

Play Paintball! As its the only place in the NYC area!
Last edited on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 2:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media