paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field

Urban Quest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Gonzales Rd.
Oxnard, California 93036
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
PbAznman Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, SC Village
Review: I'm gonna do that typical pros and cons thing.

Pro's: The weather was nice and at least 3k compressed fills.

Con's: 1. If you are in another group you can't play with the walk ons.
2. Uneven teams and the refs don't care about it.
3. The refs don't watch the game or do paint checks when you call them.
4. There wasn't any enforcement about safety. People were walking around without plugs/condoms and were on the fields without goggles.
5. It seemed like there was some favortism with the refs either friends or the regulars of the field.
6. Sometimes they only played one game at a time instead of two games back to back.

rating: 1/10
Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 12:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

majorpaintII Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at many fields but I choose to discuss this field becuase it has provided a superior experience every time.
Review: Pros: I give Urban Quest a rating of 9 / 10
First of all, the staff at Urban Quest is great. They are more than happy to answer my questions and they do a good job watching the games. The staff is even willing to help players that have malfunctioning markers for FREE! While there is a few inexperienced refs, there are normally 2 refs per game so it isn't really a problem.

Urban Quest's fields are awsome. They have everything ranging from dense forest, tires/tubes, speed ball, and even an urban field. The only thing I didn't like was the slightly small size of the urban and tire/tube fields. Around 7 fields total.

Good food, lots of shade, and the owner has NEVER tried to con me.
That last part is important becuase half the fields I have been to are very questionable.

Cons:
The paint sold at the field is overpriced and sometimes old. (Same as every other field)
Last edited on Friday, August 13th, 2004 at 12:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fatboy007 Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA, Conquest
Review: A very disappointing experience, only the food was a plus. The regulars must be the people rating this 8 or higher.

Pros
+ Good lunch
+ (maybe) Location if you live in Ventura County

Cons
- Lack of staff: 1 referee for 50 people?? They can't hire 1 more referee to run 2 games at once? What is the point of 50 people on a field 30-40' wide? The referee tried, but many people wiped off paint before any paint checks or were out of bounds(jungle). There seemed to be a lot of cheating by the regulars.

- Unhelpful/unfriendly staff: Some people in my group rented markers. A few markers didn't work and it took 3 tries to get them to fix/switch the marker.

- Expensive: $85 for 2000 balls? $50 for 1000 balls? $30 for park fee and air is disappointing considering the poor quality fields.

- Fields: Too small for 50 people if they are only going to run 1 game at a time. Jungle fields had poison oak. Village field was not safe with some objects protruding from the ground.

- No chronos checks

- Lack of organization: After the first 2 games, the entire group had to walk back so they could count how many ordered lunch. "Everyone that ordered lunch raise your hand." Apparently marking it down when people paid was too difficult. Also, the first two games they forgot the bands to mark teams.

Rating: 3/10
Last edited on Monday, June 7th, 2004 at 3:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sL1m Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball usa
Review: This field is alright i guess only you play liek 20 on 20 in a course thats maybe 30 feet long. Its one group not 2 or 3 to separate. Dont crono your gun, refs suck they call me out cause i was inside a building i ahd no clue you werent supossed to be in there and they take me out of the game, there were no markers saying u cant come in no tape and i never once heard them talk about that at the beggining of the game and yes i did listen to the refs. And there air fill station only filled my tank up to about 500 psi because it was broken....... that lasted me 5 mins of a game. One thing that rocks about it is the food, o man the food there rocks!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, February 15th, 2004 at 9:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

badloser Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball usa simi
Review: Good-
nice people, good food,great courses.The jungle course is really cool! it is like real warfare. You hide in this bamboo wilderness and pop anyone who comes.

Bad-
It's a bit pricey (but worth the money),you have to wait a bunch, and it can get a bit crowded and it is hard to get to a bunker sometimes with all those people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tmbtech Sunday, December 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc village is way better
Jungle is way better
Review: Urban quest saftey laws are horrible, they have ppl walking around with no barrel plugs or condoms on with kids and parents with no face mask on. The refs favor players that they kno compared to other ppl they dont kno. Lots of cheating and wipping goin on there. Out of a whole day at the field, I only played 4 games once again 4 GAMES! out of a 7 hour day. They need 2 be more organized and have proper saftey rules.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hunter1212 Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Paintball USA Close Encounters
Review: Good-
good airsmith
GREAT food
fields
good smell (unlike SC)
you can bring your own paint

Bad-
grumpy owner
NO chrono enforcment!!!! it hurts to get shot from close range while the other person is shooting hot!!! and it makes the newbies not want to play again!
lazy refs, but they are freindly
expensive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ForceFedGlass Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not from that area. Conquest / PbUsa / FOF / Proving Grounds
Review: Well, all in all I had a pretty good time here. There were alot of things that really bothered me. But the special event going on more than made up for it.


Cons:
-The young cocky refs are annoying in every aspect. esspecially with Lagging in starting next games.LAAAAAGGGGGGGGG.
-The staff is rude.
-Pricing isnt great
-Out in the MIDDLE OF NO WERE / BFE BFE BFE
-One field is like a 1/4 mile out and you have to walk there and back. Not nice when your hot and tired
-The other fields are pretty weak.


It was an OK experience 7.5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mpidon Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
A couple in Santa Clarita
Review: We are a family of newbies and thought our experience at urban quest was pretty good. It is expensive when you have a family of 4 players to get in but certainly no more expensive than any where else (we tried those 5 dollar coupons and then been charged $25 for 500 balls) The one thing I wish all pb fields would institute is a half-day charge. We played in the several diff fields and thought the jungle was the best. We did not get overshot and did not experience anyone running hot. Teh refs where young but enforced the safety rules stringently. We are not the pro's some of you guys are but we had fun. The 5.00 lunch is the best bargain in paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Destructo6 Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
It's pretty much the only game in Ventura County. I've played pretty much every field in the Los Angeles Area (Sat Cong Village, Tombstone, Fields of Fire, Close Encounters, ...), a couple in Okinawa (Onna Pt = 10+), and one in Northern Illinois.
Review: What the others have said is generally true.

Velocity enforcement is non-existant.

The various fields are poorly thought out and quite small.

I have not had the "honor" of playing against the Urban Quest team, and it sounds like declining/demanding a refund would be the best strategy if the opportunity arises.

The big plus, though, is that it exists. So, if you live in Thousand Oaks or an hour west of there, it beats driving across Los Angeles to SC Village or Tombstone unless you can spare the time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media