paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Paintball Field / The Paintball Field / The Paintball Field / The Paintball Field

The Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 405-366-7694
Address: 900 N Portland Ave
Newcastle, Oklahoma 73065
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
RiffRaff_CodyB Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is no other field in the area.
Review: The owner/manager of The Paintball Field is a very cool guy. He is very strict when it comes to the rules, especially the "Don't Take your mask off while on the field" rule and the "Barrel plugs always in barrel while in station area" rule.
He helped me and my friend with car trouble when my car over-heated.

I love going to this field to play paintball. I think that a couple of their fields need a little bit of work though. There is a field that has garage doors placed around big silos, a few of the garage doors are collapsed/collapsing.

The speedball fields are awesome. Always a good rowdy time playing on those.

I agree with SoonerSoldier about the refs becoming a little lazy throughout the day making it take longer to start games.
The refs are all pretty cool guys. They are pretty easy to approach with a question or to just talk to.

The website for this paintball field hasn't been updated in a long time.

I wish being chronographed at the first, middle and towards the end of the day was a reality.

I think that the Field fee is a reasonable price ($7).
I wish the hours of operation were a little longer but I'm not complaining.

I agree with SoonerSoldier on his observation about the owner going out of his way to make sure everyone is having a good time.
I think it is cool that they let friends or family members of people playing to photograph the events for the day. But of course, he makes the photographers were eye & face protection.

The Paintball Field is currently having electricity hooked up, which means big lights for Friday Night Speedball games. I can't wait to have another session of paintball playing added to available playing times list.
Everyday of every week, I look forward to playing at this field.
Playing paintball at this field and in general is definitely the highlight of my week.

Much Luv to the Owners and Staff at The Paintball Field in Newcastle, Oklahoma.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prevail Friday, February 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dodge City- Bigger, A bit of a drive but bigger, better woodsball fields
Review: Safety was enforced very well. The guy who runs this field gave a thorough safety brief at the beginning of the session.

The fields were decent. Not the worst I've been to but also not the best. I would say the woodsball fields they have are medium to small size. I did happen to play there shortly after a rain storm and on the field with the upside down boats, it was pretty flooded. We had to wade through the water to get to the other side of the field.

Hours were the same as almost any other paintball field.

Prices are good as listed on their website.

Check-in and the chrono area were decently kept up. Better than a few fields I've been to. Also the staff was very helpful when I used my brand new marker on this field by aiding me to adjust it (shooting very hot).

All in all I don't really have any big complaints for this field other than the size. It's a nice field to go to if you're bored on a weekend and feel like shootin people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoonerSoldier Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone, Dodge City
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-35 south to the Goldsby exit (Hwy 9 west), turn north on Hwy 277 (Newcastle exit), turn east on Fox Lane (by the fire dept), at first stop sign (N Portland) turn north, continue north for about a mile and turn back east just past the chain-link fence. There's a sign by the fence with broken paintballs all over it.
Review: This is my second time to play this field since they have moved to the new location.

Safety is enforced pretty well, or as well as it could be with little kids and tweens running around.

Fields are well laid out and have a fun balance. Boundaries are iffy on some fields as are some of the pieces of cover, some were blown down or were completely useless. The two speedball fields are their best, right size good layout.

Prices are very fair. A 2000 ball case will run you $55, 1000 $30. My only gripe is the fact they make you pay for every air fill up. That can get pretty annoying and expensive. I'd rather pay a flat all-day air fee and be done with it. Field fee is $5.

I have my own equipment, but the buddies I bring usually rent and that hasn't been such a good experience. Guns are frequently issued with little-to-no CO2 and with extremely dirty barrels that break paint more often than not. (standard rentals are Tippmann 98s)

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Refs tend to get a little lazy at times, which makes waiting between games much longer than needed or desired.

Facilities are adequate. There's one porta-potty, numerous picnic tables with shade in the staging area. A wooden trailer operates as the office and rental area.

Both CO2 and HPA are available. You can also rent an HPA tank if need be.

As much as I criticized this field my overall experience was positive. The owner goes out of his way to make sure you have fun. I will be returning in the future.

Players are mostly inexperienced, but every now and then you get a few with some skill.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

grschell Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I first went to this field at the beginning of July and had such a great time that I went out and bought a couple of markers and all of the necessary equipment to play regularly. I have been back to the field once more and plan on going again this weekend. The owner is very friendly and accomodating. The Refs were very professional and would let the players play whichever game they wanted (woodsball or speedball). The rental equipment is pretty good (98 customs, 12 oz. tanks, and mask setup). And, the prices are very reasonable.

The only complaint I have is that they do not have a sign up yet. It is a bit hard to see from the road. I have been inviting friends and co-workers (who have never been to the field) to come play for the first time and have to use the old "the driveway is right past the old chain-link fenced property as you go north" direction.

Overall rating: 9.99/10

Go play this field!! Until the sign is up, remember the chain-link fence!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Duster105 Sunday, January 6th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Fields 8/10
Refs 6/10
Service 7/10
Paintballs 9/10
Fun 7/10

TOTAL 37/50

Pros Great fields and excellant rental gear.

Cons Poor refs and mismatched teams.

Over all a Decent paintball field with good prices and great playing fields.
If your just looking for a nice little field this is a good choince

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

brianpballer Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Choctaw
Directions
to the Field:
Really close to Norman. It's about a 15 minute drive.
Review: I've been playing paintball for 5 years and just got back into it the past year and was looking for a field close to my Norman residence. There are many positives about playing at Newcastle, which I look forward to going back 3-4 times a month. First, there are 2 speedball fields, about 2-3 woodsball field versions and 1 half speedball/woodsball field (may be more, but these are the ones I played on so far). The refs are very helpful and attentive in each game. There is minimal wait between each game, about 10-15 minutes maximum, sometimes sooner depending on the number of players that need to get geared up for the next game. But, the refs are good about getting players back on the field asap. The refs also enforce safety for all players and make sure all players enter and exit the field in a safe manner. The field fee of $5 is very reasonable. Staff is always close by to register you in, refill tanks, trouble shoot rental guns, sell balls or drinks, etc. Each field is very clean without trash or debris. The field is also safe with all bunkers in good condition. Though most of the players are recreational, there are some more experienced players that make it out on occassion which provides a good mix to the competition. If you have a group, this is the field to play at, because the staff and owner take care of you and treat you professionally and respectfully. If you are more experienced, bringing a group of 4 or more is good. If there are enough refs on hand, they will accomodate your group if, for instance, all your group wants to play is speedball or woodsball. Overall, I have been very pleased with playing at Newcastle and encourage anyone to make the drive out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheCobraMan Saturday, December 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This was the first time at this field. We took a group of Boy Scouts and had a great time. People were extremly helpful and friendly. Refs where always there and helpful. Great field and great cover, well put together. Very clean waiting area and NO trash on playing fields. Great place, will definitly play there more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media