paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field

Operation Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
45Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: ( 847)4261041
Address: 15N850 Brier Hill Rd.
Hampshire, Illinois 60140
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bubbaK Tuesday, November 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood forest, fort knox, fox, tri-city,splat
Review: i have been going to OP for about 6 years or so, we have a blast thier everytime, except when the cheaters are there. yes the paint is kinda high, but if you get a membership the paint is like 15 bucks a case cheaper. they use great paint (premium), you can re use your leftover paint next time you visit the field. the refs are some of the best around, very well educated in the sport and safety, they are very friendly and you can joke around and have fun with them on and off the field.. you do have to chrono before every game which is for our safety. complain all you want, but thats the way it is.they do have a great pro shop but it is off site, but the people there will bend over backwards to help you and get what you want or need. the fields are very nice to play on. they have many different scenerios. the only complaint i have about the place is the filing station. you cant get a fill to 4500psi and thier employees do it for you. so you have to wait in line but its not that bad. they do have some refreshments there also.OP might be out in the boonies for some, and you have to take a bumpy dirt road to get to the field, but it is an awesome place to play. we have had nothing but a great time here all these years and i hate to see all the bashers on this site. yes its not a high tech place with all the cool stuff, but rather,it is your basic paintball field that is a great place to learn paintball or for the expierencd player. the place could probably use a little updating but im sure its not cheap and too easy to manage,own and upgrade a paintball field. yes i have tried other fields, but i always come back to OP. i will always come back to OP no matter what other fields pop up around here. thanks to the management, refs and other employees at OP for all the many weekends of awesome paintballing!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jride89 Monday, September 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
white wolf, CPX, Vicious Tactics, Fox
Review: They have a nice natural woods field. Their open fields are not very good at all. The reason that I stoped playing there and will not go back is because the paint is way to expensive, when I get paint for $30.00 a case and go to Vicious Tactics for $25.00 which is a bring your own paint field. Now compare that to a day at Operation when you go and pay $90.00 for a case of paint. That allready cost $35.00 more than Vicious Tactics and that dosnt even include the admission and air. So I am done going there because it is overpriced and you have to sit around between games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

royal assassins Thursday, May 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox, wyldside,edge,viscous,danuke.
Review: I played at operation paintball just once based on my experience it is not worth it!!!!

pros:
Great fields
open early in am
good reffing
perfect safety

cons:
field paint only and $90 a case
games not run well
one speedball course and it is usually booked for teams
small parking area

for all the other fields I have played at this is the worst because the cost to play is way to high it is highway robbery!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreak73 Saturday, March 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. other field close by is fox paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
just off of 72 west.
Review: Awesome fields. The woods are nice to move around and you don't have to worry about tripping over anything. Have not got to play on the x-ball or sup air fields yet but they are on a grass field which is nice. The refs are very cool and friendly to talk to. The safety rules are common sense but the refs enforce them anyway so they are indeed doing there job. The paint prices are good especially if you are playing team practice. All in one this field kicks ass and its close by to me and my team.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D2 Dusty Saturday, March 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Paintball.
Operation Paintball in my point of view is alot cleaner and nicer environment. The people are so nice at operation paintball compared to fox. Good field. A++++EVERYBODY SHOULD PLAY AT OP
Directions
to the Field:
My Friend Drives:( Sorry
Review: The Saftey Is Nice. Theres a good ammount of different style fields from woodsball to Air Ball.The Hours are flexible and good for my day. prices are good cheap entry:) rules. THERE IS RULES everywhere. but the rules here just keep you in line so you can have a nice fun day. Services are nice theres alway a good staff working. Proshop is really nice!! the owner is a really cool guy!staff is nice.refs are super cool and do there job correctly!:) A+field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crewdog78 Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played at any others in the local area.
Directions
to the Field:
If approaching from Route 20 or Allen Road turn south on Brier Hill Road by Allen's Corner (a restaurant and autoshop with junkyard in back, it's hard to miss), go over the railroad tracks and it'll be shortly on the right marked by a concrete block. It may be difficult to pick out but it'll be the dirt road next to the tracks. If approaching by Route 72 turn north on Brier Hill Road and keep going until you see the concrete block on your left marking the dirt road just before the railroad tracks.
Review: Operation Paintball is an excellent field of people of all skill levels thanks to it being a versatile field with a good staff and is an all around fun place to play at.

To start off with safety, this is a place where a parent could bring a five year old and still feel safe. Granted, I believe the minimum age is twelve or something so you won't see five year olds there, but the point is that they take safety seriously there. They chrono every gun before you can play with it, including their own rentals. Blind fire is not allowed. The refs are very attentive and keep a good eye on what goes on in the matches and there's sometimes two refs watching a single match. Overall it's a very safe course to play on.

There's several fields to choose from that offer something for players of all kind. There's a couple of small woods courses that offer a good point in between traditional woodsball with some of the element of speed found in speedball. There's also a large woodsball course called Mother that has a small fort where they often have one team defending and a second team attacking it. They also have an airball course that they frequently change and many of the refs take pride in setting up the best airball layouts that they can.

There's also a series of small static speeball courses. One involves small wooden walls to take cover behind that radiate out from a central point. While I've only played team elimination on it it appears as though it's built for a king of the hill or a capture the flag match. There's also a course called Panic which is the smallest of the courses and consists of barrels as cover on this tiny course. Matches on Panic are usually very quick and the ten foot surrender frequently comes into play given the size.

And then there's my favorite, Trenches, which is just as the name sounds. It consists of two trenches on each side linked by short perpendicular trenches. I'd estimate they're about five feet deep, which gives most players good cover with only their heads sticking out when standing up. This allows most players to easily duck down for excellent cover and pop up to shoot. In between each side is a no mans land with a small mound and a pair of small wooden walls to take cover behind when trying to brave no man's land. The only problem with this course is that the last time I had played it the course was severely overgrown with vegetation which made it nearly impossible to see out of your own trench. While this made for a very fun match crawling across to sneak to the other side it defeated the idea of trench warfare. However when they do keep it trimmed up a bit it's a great course to play.

The facilities aren't anything fancy, but they fit the field environment and are more than adequete. A couple of porta-potties for relieving yourself and then a roof over the table area next to the trailer give you all the comforts you need. They also sell refreshments from the trailer in addition to paint, pods, and other rental gear.

As I've mentioned before, the refs at Operation Paintball take their job seriously and do a good job at it. And while they're very professional they also try to make it a fun experience. They're very polite, very helpful, and they always keep safety in mind.

I've also never had any sort of problem with any other players. All the regulars at the course are very polite and are just as willing to help you out as if they work there. The regulars take pride in the field and are there to have fun just like everyone else.

Overall I highly recommend visiting Operation Paintball if you're in the Chicago or Rockford area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weakestlink Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox, Badlandz, and Paintball Massacre
Directions
to the Field:
Hampsire, Illinois
Review: This place is a joke. We were going to sign up for a tournament that costs 300 dollars here. It was a dump speed ball field. The field was on a slant. When you enter the field they don't even have a sign. There are stones that have the word, "paintball" sprayed on them. The dirt road to get to the field is filled with ditches and huge pot holes. Not to mention it is $90 a case (you must buy) for paint. We left and took an hour ride over to fox.

Cliffs:
- Trashy field that is on a slant
- Dirt road that can easily give you a flat
- 90 a case for garbage paint
- You have to pay for air
- Not well maintained
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

jb34454 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Between Route 72 and 20 on Brier hill Road in Hampshire, IL 60140
Review: Ive played Paintball at almost every field in the northern part of Illinois and by far when im just looking to go out and have fun and be sure it is safe OP is where i head out to, the staff there is super friendly and if you have any problems they will gladly take care of you and help out in any way they can, every gun is chronoed before all matches to make sure you dont have people shooting too fast to where they could hurt someone, sure some people will complain that it wastes time and how no other fields will do that, but when im bringing out my little brother or nephews i want to make sure they have fun and dont go home in pain and with a bad image of paintball.

its Field Paint only for both team practice and open play and for the level of help you get and the amount of games you get it is more then worth it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebel mp Monday, May 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Its funny how all these people want too disrespect this field. I agree the old sponsored team the raptors most of them where cocky and ya there where some i didn't get along with but there were some that are actually decent guys too get along with. Now i think the current owners of the field are doing a good job and trying too do what they can too make it a good Field. So you chrono every time you have your gun in the staging area what some of you DOT understand is there are people who mess with the velocity when its in the staging area.Me personally id rather know im not shooting hot or im not on the receiving end of a hot gun. Now refs are refs they come and go threw the years so your bound too have new ref's that are afraid too take a few for the paint check that's just about any field you go to i don't care if its in IL. or NY. there are bound too be those kinds of refs. So all in all Mike and Chuck keep up the good work!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bird_XL Monday, April 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX, Fox, and Action
Review: This is disturbing. I can only imagine what has happened to this place if all these negative reviews are true. I was a ref with this company quite a few years back (10+yrs). They where located in Huntley by the outlet mall back then and it was a good field with good people.

The only problem I had with them was their sponsored team (Raptors) were arrogant and acted like they owned the place, other players were intruding on there stomping grounds but other then that it was a good set of fields.

I have a big game in a week at CPX and sent some noobs to Operation. Cause I thought it would be an excellent starter field. These guys had a blast so it can't be that bad.

My guess is that some idiot cranked his marker up to 999 fps and hurt someone or did something stupid, they probably lost the lease on the field they had and where forced to relocate and tighten up the rules to prevent this from happening again.
(that is only speculation)

Running a field is a lot harder then it looks and the margins of profit are VERY low, unless your a big company like CPX selling cases for $90, which is only justified by the detail of their theme park atmosphere. Even then CPX has a lot of upkeep too that siphons away their profit.

Bottom line all this "Woot! I'm 1337, that field SUX" only shows your immaturity so how can anyone take your review seriously?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media