paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field / Operation Paintball Field

Operation Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
45Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: ( 847)4261041
Address: 15N850 Brier Hill Rd.
Hampshire, Illinois 60140
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Smooth_baller Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox, blitz, counrty club, lambs farm, anythings more fun than OP.
Directions
to the Field:
In a field down a potholed dirt path by a broken down trailer with a blue plastic tarp.
Review: Operation paintball is a bad field for anyone that likes to play the fun version of paintball. The ref's we had were all short bus special ed morons. They make you chrony EVERYTIME you leave the ghetto staging area. That is a pointless rule cause if someone is gona turn a gun up chronoing is not gona stop them from turning it up and down.

The fields are a joke. Not set up well, and poorly thoughtout. All the rules they have kill any fun to be had. They treat everyone like its the first time they picked up a paintball gun. Thats not gona keep the ballers that know how to use a gun saftey from comming back.

The paint prices are a joke for the level of quality the place is. They are selling high quality paint prices at a dump of a field. With the two other big gun fields (fox, blitz) nearby it makes you wonder how OP is still open.

Other fields in the area beat OP on every point, do ur self a favor skip the Operation hickball.

Thumbs Down
Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 12:54 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Weather Man Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX, Fox, and basically every other field around there
Directions
to the Field:
In the middle of nowhere by train tracks
Review: Alright everybody who disses Operation is probably mad because they suck. The place is really good on safety and I am not complaining because who wants to be hanging out and get shot from point blank in the head. The fields are not that elaborate but they are really fun and do not need a lot of paint. The paint is at an ok price but you figure that it pays for everything and they have to make money somehow. If u don't want to pay for paint and you want to complain about it than stay home. They have very strict rules but I have gone there for a while and they are really cool. The refs are really cool and nice. They always help out the noobs. Basically Operation is a really cool and good place to go and paintball.

9/10 stars

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rymx Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX Sports
Review: OP is a great place to go expecially as a novice paintballer. They will take care of you and help you learn the basics.

OMG they do require you to chrono each time you go out after a break, but seriously who freaking cares. It keeps the game fair for everyone and you don't have to deal with 1337 boneheads trying to hurt people instead of playing fair


Some people say its expensive but thats only if you waste paint. I can play on one box of paint for 3 times. And ya they are cool to let you bring back the paint you previously bought there. Not sure if they wanted me to say that or not but i find it a cool deal.


i give op 9 out of 10 since there is always room for improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

scenario_player Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't really know
Directions
to the Field:
It's by traintracks, in the middle of nowhere :P
Review: I haven't really been paintballing for a really long time so you can just ignore this review if you would like to, just a warning.

First the PAINT -

I didn't really see anything bad about them, including dimples but they're expensive.
But hey, welcome to paintball.


Rental equipment -
I think they're pretty decent, -they're r6's- The mask didn't fog on me, but I'm not exactly the hard core paintballer.


Staff -

They're pretty decent, and nice too. They gave my group some -if not alot- tips.


Safety -

I think they're pretty big on safety, my biggest concern is that they didn't chrono the rental guns, but they probably do every day, not sure.

EDIT: I recently went there and the ref didn't give the safety briefing correctly... So I'll change my rating to an 8



Overall, I give this field a 9,

I currently give it an 8, now.

Anyways, thanks for your time.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 at 2:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

Nonoises Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I had my first experience at OP and it was great. It was with a private party of about 12-14 people. I would agree about the road to the fields but I could still get there. Getting our equipment was easy. All of the equipment worked good except for one marker and they replaced it without any problem. The paint price did seem high to me but I don't have a baseline to go from. Three of us split a case and had plenty of paint for the whole day. If they do not have a store front somewhere, this would explain the prices. The refs were great (had the same 3 for the whole time we were there). They answered any questions we had and acted very professional the whole time (even when they got hit by accident, one even got it in the goggles and did not complain). I would recommend this field to any beginner, newby or private party. I am not sure if I would do the open games until I knew and played more. I would definitely go back again.

To the owner (if you are reading): I know you want to chrono the guns for safety. But, for private parties I would look at the group and see if this is really needed. Our guys would not turn up their markers since we all know each other.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

-ProX- Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tri, tap, fox
Review: This field is beastly. The staff is very nice. If they're genuine, I don't know, but they definitely act as if they care for your safety. I for one appreciate the fact that people are chrono'd between games. Why would you want a little kid to get shot by a gat running at 350fps? Why would you want that little kid to cry and never want to play again? Safety rules are a necessity. The Xball field is kept in tip top shape, and the others are cleaned up and maintained almost daily. I give Operation Paintball a 9 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepntmaster Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox, OP, Tri-city, Splat, Badlandz
Review: Man people need to stop talking shi* about Operation. OMG THEY ACTULLY HAVE RULES AND WANT TO BE SAFE!!!! You know what fine, go to your precious blitz and get shot in the eye.

Operation Paintball has by far the friendlist staff ever. On team practice days the have GREAT PRICES. They have a full sized X-ball feild used at Chicago PSP 05.

So go to OP
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AMGsniper Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Anythings better than this dump-
FOX
Blitz
Challange
Badlandz
Directions
to the Field:
Middle of nowhere
Review: Operation paintball is by far the worst paintball field I have ever been to. Paintballs are super expensive, and the cases we got where pimpled real bad. Hardly anyone plays at this trailor park field from what I have heard and now I know why.

They treat u like your 5 years old on ur first field trip! They make u chrono every DAMN time u go out! If your not playing a tournyment this should never be the case. Like it matters if someone is shooting alittle hot, BIG DEAL ITS PAINTBALL ITS MENT TO HURT. Then they have a rule that eveyone must stay in the group and u cant go back to your car when u want, for what reason I DONT KNOW! You have to keep ur barrel plug in ur gun untill like 2 seconds bfore the game starts. Most fields encourge u to shoot as much paint as u can, I guess the managment of OP thinks different. They are so anal about their gaay rules. If u go to Paintball Blitz they have NO rules, and everyone has a blast, plus they never get any injurys. Operation Paintball is a total joke, and noone in my group would ever set foot at that place again!!!!!!

Every other field in the area doesn't have any of those lame rules, and "SURPRISE" they always have tons of walk-ons on the weekends. The quality of the fields are just OK, they arent set up well and they arent much fun. Over all I would rate this field a 1 out of 10. Dont make the mistake of going there. Unless your 5 years old and like to be treated as such.

OPERATION PAINTBALL SUX!
Go to Blitz or Fox and play a real field!
Last edited on Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 at 3:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
14 Comments - Add Comment

cww516 Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox, my backyard (pretty nice speedball setup, if i do say so myself)
Review: i just got done reading lots of the other posts, and one thing i agree on with most of them is the price of paint. $100 is really high, but with membership cards for free admission, refs getting free admission coupons to give to friends (i know 2 of 'em :P , have 4-5 in my wallet), that's the only way they make money. fox has $25 admission, $10 for members, and byop, but they have 2 stores to help.

the fields are awesome. the woods fields are very nice (what i saw of them, i kept blowing hoses on my cocker...). speedball fields are also great. i didn't get to play panic, but we were playing with the refs most of the day, so that is probably a good thing. ronin (barrels) was my favorite, we played young vs. old guys (about 5 on 5) for a while. speedball (fences) was pretty good, but it was 10+ refs on 30+ others (various skill levels, more noobs than hardcore types) and we got mowed pretty good because of it. more targets, i guess. one field you shouldn't leave without playing is trenches (self explanitory).

the refs are amazing. true, they go a little slow at the chrony, but they only have one, and many people choose to stand there and try to fix their velocity. safety briefings were also very good. playing trenches (the teams were actually evenly matched), my team was up 7-8 guys to their one 13 year old. 3 or 4 of us went over the top to get the last guy, but the head ref called him out just before he got lit up. i was kind of disappointed, but i thought at the time i was the only one going over. the ref (i forget his name) is always helping the younger guys, telling them where they should move, how to shoot, even keeping them from getting lit up, as long as they have a good time and want to stay involved with the sport. he makes sure the teams are even, and makes those who look like they know what they are doing (expensive guns, jerseys, etc.) act responsibly, so others won't get the wrong idea.

true, the office is a trailer, but you're there to ball, not sit and read, right? it does the job. i'm definately liking this place, 10/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ballerontweeds Wednesday, August 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blitz, fox river, indoor.
Review: Ha,
What a joke of a field dont go!!!! Everyone there is a tard, they make u chrono every 5 seconds. The field paint is a bucket of crap in a paintball. The office is a trailer park. We went and some of my friends had to use rental guns, man did they suck. They looked like they were 15 years old. U cant take pop shots anywhere. U cant leave the game and go to the parking lot till everyone is done, for what reason I DONT KNOW.
A whole 20 people showed up for open games on a nice sunday with the sun out!
If u wana play paintball and get treated like a 5 year old go there!!!!!!


The one rule for operation paintball is "DONT GO."



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media