paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hotshots Paintball Field / Hotshots Paintball Field / Hotshots Paintball Field / Hotshots Paintball Field

Hotshots Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
32Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (561) 798-4717
Address: 16169 Southern Blvd.
Loxahatchee, Florida 33470
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ZechChrome Saturday, April 6th, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 6th, 2013
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Invincibles
East Coast
Extreme Paintball
Review: Review as of April 6th, 2013.

First time playing at this field, I have been trying each of my local fields to see which one I liked most, as I just moved to Florida and am trying to learn the best fields.


--Fields--


I guess I should start off by talking about the most important part of a paintball field -- The fields themselves. Hotshots has several fields;

Two airball/speedball fields right beside of each other (One of these has lights so you can play during nighttime)

A "plywood maze"

Several woodsball (I think 3 or 4 total, and almost all of them include some kind of fort for scenario play)

One scenario woodsball field (Includes a fort, bus, several cars, good for big team games.)

All fields were in decent shape, not too messy, and well organized. Some of the fields were poorly balanced though; being on one side or the other in certain fields gave you a huge advantage. All in all, the fields were nice, and the best of all the fields I've played at in Florida up to this point.

*One side note*

There are several woodsballs field apart from the other ones, and had I not had my friend who had been to this field before tell me about them, I would not have known they were there, as there are no signs to indicate more fields or anything.


--Staff--


Probably the second most important part to a field is it's staff. Hotshots has many refs and a couple people to run the proshop/rental gear area. The refs were kind of "disconnected" though, they just sort of roamed around and did not actively try to get games started, although this is no big deal. The people at the proshop did not impress me though, they were very unwelcoming and sort of rude to us as we walked in. No big deal though, as I don't have to deal with them more than once during the day.

The refs would occupy each staging area, although many games I saw went without refs supervising them; This would have been fine with more experienced players, but many walk-on games had no refs there to help. You will probably need to go and find a ref and ask him/her to supervise if you would like someone there to ref.



--Safety--


Safety is huge to me, and I take it seriously, and this is where Hotshots both failed and impressed me in different ways.

There are several chrono stations spread out throughout the fields, and this would be fantastic...had any of them worked. Not a single station was operational when I went, and not a single ref checked me or even asked if I was within the field limit. Honestly, I couldn't even tell you what the field limit was, whether it be 300, 285, 250, or 20fps, I do not know, as no one made it clear what it was or made it their priority to check that people weren't shooting hot.

Hotshots failed me tremendously in this aspect, although they did make up for it by the refs being consistent with mask/barrel cover safety. They would double check before you walked in to the staging area and yell (which they deserved) if you took your mask off on during a game.

There was even a couple of dumb idiots who decided "Let's have a mask-less game, just once, because our masks keep fogging" while I was there, and the refs immediately ran over, stopped this nonsense, and kicked all of them out.


--Facilities--


Hotshots is the one of the rarer well-established paintball field I've been to; they have their own building, lounge area with couches, multiple TV's, full restrooms, full proshop and counter for buying their candy/drinks (includes soda, gatorade, water, etc.), tables and chairs inside the air-conditioned lounge, and several staging areas for each section of the field, although for an establishment this big, I would have liked to see more, as it was crowded from time to time as people left and came.

Everything was nice, and my only complaint would be to have multiple fill stations/restrooms, as several of the fields are a good bit aways from the main building where the bathrooms and air stations are at.

They also have a mini golf course here (Not sure why you would come play mini golf at a paintball field) and airsoft players are frequent.


--Sidenotes--


The price of paint was 50$ a case, which is pretty standard, and they have more expensive paint for higher level players. Rentals are rentals, (BT-4/Tippmans) and are just like every other field's rentals.

It was incredibly cheap for us to play there, it cost about 20$ a person for roughly 7 hours of play (We got there at 3 and stayed until closing time) and plenty of people were there to play with (They were completely booked until 3, which is why that's the time we got there)


------------------


All in all, Hotshots is a good field. It has it's faults, but it does make up for most of them, and I could recommend this field to anyone near it. It's cheap, fun, plenty of fields, and plenty of people to play with.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WM - Illuminati Thursday, November 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I cant say anything that hasnt already been said.......


I was there for a Scenario game back in november, and can recall a minimum of 14 times I saw people take their masks off. The reffs did nothing to stop them and even 2-3 of the reffs would have their masks off as well......

Safety was the worst I have ever seen at a game.....>EVER

It is sad that this wasnt a single complaint.....people have been complaining about this field for years
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheShniz Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Rage

ER was like sardines shooting sardines aka fish in a barrel... two fields were way undersized w/ too many people. To compound things, there was no concealment whatsoever on the bigger of the two... could see clear across without obstacle. Service seemed better at ER though w/ refs.
Directions
to the Field:
Turnpike North > Southern Blvd West > ~10x miles on right ... big sign, can't miss it. Approx 45min drive from 595 & Turnpike.
Review: Fields

Let's be honest, this is THE reason why we all come... and these guys have FOUR woodsball fields! Two of them are VERY large at that. One having an old broken down Greyhound Bus and a fort; the other having several broken down cars/trucks and an entire maze... which they call Plywood city. The other two fields are also fun, but are more recball than anything. Regardless, they were fun as well. I must say though, that their fields were extremely good. The only fault was that there never was any boundry lines, and you'd always have to ask the ref what was in/out... and then agree with your group as rules.

Safety

In preface, I will say that the staff/refs/etc were NOT prepared for the turnout they had that day... all 100+ rental sets were checked out, and on top of that there was a line waiting for people to leave so they could rent. There were so many cars, that they start lining up Southern Blvd (they could definately stand more parking).

There were WAY too many people, and WAY too few refs. There just weren't enough of them to realistically handle the number of people. I couldn't tell you how many times people would go out onto fields without masks on, and even some playing without masks... it got so bad at one point, that a couple chaparones of some group brought out folding chairs to the field so they could spectate (WITHOUT MASKS). This same group had a group meeting down at the end of one field without masks, it was really bad. The chronograph seemed to be completely on an honor basis, as there just wasn't any way for ref's to enforce.

Finally, they were filling Co2 tanks without weighing them! We'd get them back feeling like they were filled with lead, they were so heavy. Several players' markers instantly froze up on connecting these fresh tanks during the course of the day... 3x people in our group alone. Normally when I leave, I like to top off my tank, but not here... I'd rather pay to get them filled from somewhere I could trust and bled them all dry.

Players

The great majority of players were very kind and helpful to each other. There were however several un-sportsmanlike players who would try to inject themselves into games already in progress, would shoot other players in those games to which they were not apart, and basically be a royal nuisance to everyone around them. Had there been more ref's on hand, they should've been asked to leave.

Hours of Operation

9am till the last person leaves... which I thought was pretty cool. They also have flood lights over the speedball... kinda made me jealous, wishing they did the same for atleast plywood city.

Prices

The prices were reasonable @ $35/person for rentals & $20/person if you already have everything... $50/case was a bit high though.

Rental Equipment

BT4's seemed to be in pretty good shape. They've got ~90x rental sets available, and ~15x "premium" Sp1's.

Proshop

They aren't geared as a fully stocked store, but that's to be expected. They did have everything required (o-rings/etc) for maintenance if needed.

Facilities

The proshop had a lounge area w/ tables and chairs. Just outside near speedball was open grass to sit down at. There was a primary staging area with plenty of seating @ the entrance of woodsball fields, with a secondary/smaller area off to the side/back near 'Plywood City'. The primary area was good, but the secondary had what seemed to be years of gewy/sticky paintball residue all over the benches which did NOT wash out (was like chewing gum). Also, the single chronograph area desperately needs some framing, as the netting was falling all in it... very cramped. I really wished they had a target range to tweak, set sights, and such too (was missed).

Food

This was definately a high mark for the field... they actually had grub that was good to eat and fairly priced. It was without a doubt much better than you could ever get at any McD's or Burger King. Great quality food, good prices, and a couple tables to sit at. Just don't sit a big group down @ the tables meant for grub, they'll chase you out in favor of some paying customers (rightly so).

Conclusion

This is the kind of field that you REALLY want to give a 10/10... but it is too hard to cast a blind eye to some very blatant and obvious shortcomings. Safety, safety, safety... safety!!! I'm very thankful to have been apart of a large group (~20x), as we had no problem monitoring each other; and knew each other very well. I'm not sure how I would fare as a walk-on though. Because of these horrible shortcomings, I feel obligated to give them no higher than a '7'... barring any other improvements whatsoever, I would have easily given them a '9' if they only had some good safety... it's that important!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

4 T paintball Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just about all of them within 300 miles of me.
Directions
to the Field:
N/A go to map quest
Review: Great field three different types of fields woods maze and speedball overall one of the better fields I have played and I have been playing 18 years very nice people work there always willing to help great for first timers there are a few cons not enough REFS for speedball and not enough speedball fields they only have one set up other then that great place will return soon............................
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aparks Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This field has the best service and the best grounds available... They have a selection of fields for all types of games. Most of the fields in South Florida seem to be boycotting the cleanup at the end of the day. HotShots is flawless...
Directions
to the Field:
Southern Blvd west of 441
Review: This field is the best in South Florida. They have a selection of fields to play anything from XBall to Woodsball with all types of game variations. The Pro Shop has been growing over the last few months and they have a wonderful air conditioned shop with tables and couches to cool off between games in the summer.

They recently hired a new scenario coordinator and I am really looking forward to seeing what they come up with..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitestride Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
F.A.U. Renegade Paintball Field
Review: Best thing about this field: The grounds are GREAT!

Great place to come if you have a sizable group with you to play 4v4 or better, and some of those people have some decent experience playing paintball.

The Woodsball field space here is HUGE, with many varied environments for some real variety in the type of action available.

Worst thing about this field: Horrible management. I have been to two consecutive scenario days here - Nov 2007 Operation Mercury, and Feb 2008 Invasion.

I was critical the first time, talking at length with my friends (I came in a group of 12, mostly with our own equipment) afterwards about ways in which the day could have been improved. Two words kept popping up; Organization and Planning. It's simple - and all-day scenario game can be broken down into a bunch of 30-45 minute scenarios. With generals who sign-up in advance, and someone with some sense of event planning, it could be great.

Instead, this past weekend was an absolute disaster! I had not thought it possible to do WORSE than the event in November, but the management at Hotshots in Loxahatchee has done it.

Safety is non-existent. There were organized teams shooting 25bps or greater from the X-Ball field into the spawn area, camping and there waiting for the Chinese team to step into the fire zone. And it's one thing for the refs to not be present on the field during this and many other grotesque and flagrant saftey violations. But in this particular incident, the refs WERE present - and did nothing whatsoever.

These same groups were firing ropes of paintballs through thick brush, showing that not only was there no attempt made at initially chronographing the participants, but as the day went on, no one had any concern for whether basic safety protocols were in place. I heard of multiple injuries due to overshooting throughout the day Saturday.

As for the "scenario" aspect: I was present and playing from 11am (the beginning) until 4pm, on the Chinese team. I only knew of two missions all day: #1 Capture 4 items (The President, a briefcase, and two other things I cannot recall). I was told about that mission after it had already been failed. #2 Escort the General to the White House. I was actually in a large group moving through the area labeled "Ft. Bragg" on the map. I watched the General charging along the perimeter of the x-ball field (No Man's Land) towards the woods that bordered both No Man's Land and Ft. Bragg. While his charge was heroic, it wasn't very tactically sound given his VIP status. Be that as it may, the mission was fun, and had a clearly defined beginning and end (my team lost, presumably because of a reckless lack of self-preservation on the General's part). That was the last "mission" I heard about.

Something involving a Spec-Ops insertion of American forces apparently resulted in the American general blowing a gasket, and then it seems both generals wet themselves and quit altogether.

I left in the mass exodus that followed, around 4 pm on an All-Day scenario game.

I will not attend another scenario at this location by this management team, and I recommend avoiding it to anyone who may be curious.


Rating avg: 3

Breakdown:
Design: 8 (nice fields)
Condition: 8 (no maintenance whatsoever)
Value: 2 (free but has no conveniences like air, chairs, shelter, etc.)
Safety: 0 (that's right - zilch, nada, nichts)
Scenario: 1 (someone thought of roles for two teams.)
Management: 2 (A sponsor was on-site, as was a caterer. Refs were hired, but not equipped, trained, nor supervised)
Service: 2 (The air-fill girl is fast, polite, competent. The cashiers handled the crowd well.)


P.S. It seems there is a pattern of negative reviews getting disputed here. I will say that I have no reason to write what I have above other than as a paying customer, I an entitled to express my opinion of the experiences I've had.

Of course, if you're 15 and getting your $7/hour from this field, or if you are one of the culprits behind the negative experience I've described above, then try next time to be a part of the solution instead of the problem, and save your flames for someone who's not telling the absolute truth.
Last edited on Thursday, February 28th, 2008 at 8:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MookThePanda Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
441 / Yamato - Just some woods.
Reball - Haven't been there.
Directions
to the Field:
From intersection of 441/Southern Blvd:
Take Southern west until you see a big sign that says "PAINTBALL" on the right hand side. Pull in and park.
Review: Pros: Awesome fields, plenty of people to play with, helpful / friendly staff, reasonable prices, food available, MOSTLY trustworthy people (won't steal your stuff if you leave it around).

Cons: Lack of parking (sometimes), lack of on-field refs, never watch football in the pro shop, lots of groups of little kids (birthdays, etc), seems to be a lot of players that don't know basic rules (10 feet rule, don't shoot people when they're already out).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NightKid26 Wednesday, August 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
palm beach freaks,is good but they only have one field
Review: hotshots paintball is pretty good field.it has two rec ball fields, 1 x-ball field,and an airball field.

hotshots is pretty good when it comes to saftey.people MOSTLY obey the rules.when i go there,there are mostly never any refs there,everybody was organizing the way they want to play(which isnt a bad thing ti me),they have some snacks and beveragesoverall is was pretty good,i would recomend going there if you really dont care if refs are there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

us pball Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rush paintball
pb freaks
Review: When i went there there prices where a little expensive for the field 20 dollars for air ball and rec and 15 gor rec the paintba was around 40 or 50 good prices

The refs where horrible didnt evevn new they had refs

It was pretty safe with barrel socks on and stuff like that

thwe fields where good like the one rec ball one and the x-ball and air ball,the woods pepsi scenario fields are all realy stupid though

the owners are pretty nice expect for this old fat beer bellyed retard who wouldnt let me fill up my tank at the end of the day what happend to unlimeted air so i just waited for him to leave every body else was nice

everthing was good exept the refs & and mr. beer belly
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sniperfiend Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Renegade (Naples)
Chaos Indoor (Sunrise) - Closed due to Hurricane damage
Review: Methodology

I start on the assumption that all fields are of the same quality and therefore
assign a 0 value making additions and subtractions based on a number of criteria. Each criterion is weighted, as shown below:

First Impressions (up to 1 point)
Services (up to 1.5 point)
Prices (up to 1 point)
Rental Gear and Paint (up to 1.5 point)
Fields (up to 2 point)
Safety (up to 3 point)

I believe that Safety is paramount in any paintball endeavor, so that criterion is
weighted with the highest value. Followed by fields...because if you don't like
the fields, you're more than likely not going to come back to the venue. Rental
gear and services round out the next 'level' of weighting with First impressions and
Prices the least important. First impressions are important because they can set
the tone for the entire day/event. I rate Prices as least important because, face
it, this is an expensive hobby. A few extra dollars for paint or field usage
shouldn't stop someone from going to a venue that is otherwise top notch.

Whether you agree with my methodology on rating is of little import to me. There is
no existing framework that I've seen consistently applied here, so I've developed my
own. So keep your flames to yourself. If you have a valid, lucid argument please
feel free to comment.

First Impressions

The venue is suitably accessible from the main road. It takes a while to get there,
but the directions were spot-on so no problem there.
The main clubhouse is clean and shares its paintball service with mini-golf and
regular golf services. The clubhouse staff were friendly, helpful and surprisingly
efficient.

Score: 1

Services

In the clubhouse, there are comfortable couches, a TV, drinks and limited snacks
available. One huge plus (since the location is in south Florida) is that the
clubhouse is air-conditioned.

There is a decent stock of accessories available for purchase at the pro-shop.
Though I didn't need to use any repair services, it looked as if they would be
available. Inquiries regarding normal consumables (o-rings and the like) confirmed
that they were available upon request.

Score: 1.25

Prices

Prices were comparable to other venues. Paint (Diablo HEAT) was $50/2000 which is
an acceptable mark-up from what you would pay from online distributors (Paintball
Emporium has them for $39.50/2000). Rental gear was a little high ($50 for the day,
but this included 500 paintballs). The owners have to make a decent profit after
operating costs are factored or the venture doesn't warrant them staying in
business.

Score: .95

Rental Gear and Paint

Rental gear was in line with other fields I've played at. Which is to say that many
of the markers showed signs of aging and abuse. Our group's had feedneck issues,
detent issues, hopper issues, etc. This was a little frustrating. However, the
staff was quick to replace the malfunctioning markers with ones that worked
properly.

Paint was on par with others I've used on FPO fields. Diablo Heat Yellow with
Yellow fill. A different color shell would probably have been better, to make it
easier to determine between breaks or splash/bunker rub.

Score: 1.25

Fields

The fields were excellent, if a bit hazardous at times (which can be expected in
woodsball). The wooded area with forts and bus were a particular favorite (at least
for our group). Performing a quick walk-through it was easy to get an idea of the
"lay of the land" (terrain, paths, etc.). The Rec-Ball fields were decent with
plenty of cover, and were particularly easy for performing bounding maneuvers. The
City area was a lot of fun, as well as a bit unnerving at times. The loopholes cut
into the walls of the "tunnel" were particularly useful. The X-Ball field looked
well put-together, though we didn't get a chance to play on it.

Score: 2

Safety

Safety was a huge deficiency at HotShots. On first arrival, if you haven't played
here before, you're required to fill out the standard hold-harmless waiver. You're
then provided a very brief "safety briefing" where you're told to keep the barrel
condom/plug on at all times, and safety on, when not on the field. Pretty standard
stuff.

Physical

This is where the safety design doesn't synch with the actual operating
effectiveness. The netting on the fields are extremely deficient in critical areas.
For example, while my group was sitting in the staging area (a "mask off" area)
getting our gear ready, there were at least 30-40 stray shots throughout the day
that made it into the area from games currently under way in the middle rec-ball
field. Very dangerous.

Personnel

As noted before, the pro-shop personnel were very polite and seemed knowledgeable
and helpful. This is totally not the case from the refs in the field areas. My
group was at the venue between 11:00a-6:00p. We played on every field except the
X-Ball field. Of all the games we played, only one was 'refereed.' And that one
game consisted of the ref sitting in a chair the entire time, making no effort to
perform paint checks or even watch most of the action.

Which brings me to my next observation. I noted that the ref's that did make an
appearance were all sitting in a circle at the staging area talking for most of the
day. From what I saw, they made no attempt to announce games, chrono markers, divide teams evenly, or referee games (hard to do when you're sitting around doing
nothing).

There was an incident with one of my group being told, rudely, to put his mask back
on and 'this is the last time I'm going to tell you' (it was the first and only time
this person was spoken to by a ref regarding his mask, or anything else for that
matter). While I agree totally that player's masks should be on at all times while
in the play area, at no point should a 15 year old be talking to a 30-something in
this manner. This is not acceptable behavior in the real world, nor should it be
on a paintball field, regardless whether said person is in a position of perceived
"authority" or not.

Score: .5

Conclusion

As you can see, the Safety issue is of great concern on this field. This is
especially exacerbated by the laissez-faire attitude of those that are supposed to
be officiating on the fields.

One of the other issues not stated in the criteria above was the fact that, because
of the lack of officiating, there was a considerable amount of cheating going on.
There were multiple occasions where people were obviously hit but lacked the honor
to call themselves out. Typically it took cornering and outnumbering an opponent
and warning them we'd keep firing to get them to call out. If there were eyes on
the field, this would have happened a lot less.

All told, I would come back to this place. But with a bigger group of friends (that
I trust) so we could play each other fairly on the fields. Then again, if that's
the case, why wouldn't we just go find a place in the woods and play without having
to pay a field fee?

The owners need to understand that, with any business, their employees need
supervision. Especially if these employees have a direct effect on chances of
repeat business. There needs to be better organization and, I dare say, training
for the refs at this venue.

Final Score: 6.95


Last edited on Monday, April 16th, 2007 at 3:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media