paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Silent Sniper Paintball Field / The Silent Sniper Paintball Field / The Silent Sniper Paintball Field / The Silent Sniper Paintball Field

The Silent Sniper Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (740) 344-6920
Location: Glenford, Ohio 43739
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
lilludwig Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 18th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
franbar the land
Directions
to the Field:
dog
Review: Nice place but dont know what time it is open and when it is open is it open in October on Saturday also wondering if it would be open on the 11th of October because franbar is closed and i want to go here please email me with ny info at drliscool7@yahoo.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shalehillslayer Monday, November 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hocking college field, stonegate, some other local fields.
Directions
to the Field:
its just off 40 on rankin rd, we had a little trouble finding our way up.
Review: This field was awesome. They had a sweet woodsball field set up, we played a couple games of ctf and elimination. the airball field was really nice, first time I got to play on one full sized. The owners were helpful and extremely nice, they always made sure we had enough to do and that we were having a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cpaul_16 Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Valley
Directions
to the Field:
get on 40 turn on rankin rd and it is on hte left you will almost pass it
Review: this field is great really good prices and a great field. They claim to have the only 40 NPPL size field not sure if it is true though but anywayz the people are really nice we got free passes because we go so often they usally dont have a great turn out but o well you can scrimmage other teams all day then but the opening day no one was there and the owner and a couple other people quit playing woodsball we were like wow we are going to kill and we did but the food is a little pricy but everything is great o yeah the field is on a slight hill so one side shoots down on the other team
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seabass9000 Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Xscape, several fields that I played in speedball tourney's at... I can't remember their names because its been a few years. = )
W.O.W. Paintball - was my home field before it went out of business.
Directions
to the Field:
Check there website... it is:
www.thesilentsniper.com
Review: Xball field:
The xball field was pretty fun and offered a lot of bunkers to move to even though there were about 16 people on the field. I really liked the layout of the field other than it is on a slight slope... so one side is shooting downhill a bit and the other is shooting uphill a bit. It isn't extremely noticeable, but it isn't 100% flat. Still it is a very nice field and with the newbie players on it I was able to get to the other team's 40 yard line after grabbing the flag, taking out 4 people before getting hit.

Woods field:
I will probably go back to play in the woods there. It was a very nice field layout and seemed really fun. It had a lot of small hills mixed with light brush, which made for alot of good hiding places. It would have been really cool if the leaves would have been on the trees still. We played with 3-4 other guys making a total of 6-7 people total.
The field is pretty large, you would want to play with atleast 8 people... over 30 might be a little overkill, but it would still be fun.
Out of both fields I enjoyed the woods field a lot more. It actually felt a little more challenging to play on with the woods players that joined my friends and I.
They wanted to play under specific rules in the woods: head and torso shots were the only hits that counted... which was fine with me and my friends because we went 3 games without being hit out... and took out the other 3-4 guys every round. I was hit in the hand once, my friend was hit in the leg once and my other friend didn't get hit at all. So we felt pretty good about the way we played in the woods. = )

The staff:
The owner and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. They really take care of the players.

The prices:
They seem pretty reasonable to me as long as you have your own equipment and paint.

Refs:
There really aren't any, so the honor system applies.

Players:
I have seen more skill at other fields, but there are a lot of younger players to mentor and share experience with. It allows you to remember when you first started playing and how much more "fun" the game was then. <-- I started 10 years ago, before speedball was popular.

Proshop:
They have one. = )

Rules and Safety:
They will explain all of the rules before you play so listen closely and play fair.
Safety is up to the player's. If you aren't stupid you will be safe.

Overall:
A very nice woods field and a decent Xball field. The competition isn't as amazing as some other fields, but still isn't bad. The owner and staff are great.
I will play there in the upcoming year several times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MCboss Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: The staff is very accomodating to the customer needs. Our group played all day and literally walked away amazed at what a great time we had! Most ofthe players were completely new to playing in an organized formet and we've all decided The Silent Sniper was a great choice! I read some of the earlier reviews stating that the refs were non-existant and I must say, we had an opposite experience. We had refs out on the X-ball course and in the woodsball course. They did an excellent job of not blowing anyone's position and still keeping the play safe and fair. The paint checks were all done fairly and no one really got ambushed as a result.
The prices paired with the courses this place offers can't be beat in the area. We researched all the other options and found it to be the best value in price and play. Once we got there and experienced all they have to offer, we weren't disappointed at all.
We had the choice of having the place all to ourselves for our group or letting others play too. We had so much more fun when the staff and others played along with us.
At the same time they still managed to keep refs on the fields.
One thing to keep in mind when you're looking for a place to play is that the owners and other staffers are serious players. This isn't a set up where someone has a small interest and some land and throws a PB operation together. They're serious players who care about the experience the customers have while they're there. Great job Jeff and gang!!!! We will be back! Oh, I hear the Mother-in-Law is a real go getter too!!!!
Keep an eye out for her as well. Try them out, it is so much better than playing anywhere else. I can't wait to see what they have going on next time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hippohollar Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Up until this trip, only Splatterpark in the area. Most other trips were to fields out of the area or private land.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions from the website are spot on. Its a bit of a hike to play, but the fields are worth it.
Review: Let's see here:
Safety: Overall very good at keeping things in check. Very good briefing at the start of the day by the owner. Mostly player responsibility to check chrono though.
Fields: Two fields, great speedball field with a nice layout, well maintained. The woodsball field is very large. Great for bigger size groups, not so good for the small ones. Very dense foliage with plenty of great trails provide lots of hiding, wonderful ambushes, and just overall great times. The games, if not set to a timer, can and have run too long once down to just a few players, leaving the rest of the group to hang out in the shelter too long. Once the games are over, its can be another 20 minutes or more to get the next game going.
Hours: 10a to 5p, usual time for a field, though if the group is doing good they have played beyond the 5p mark.
Prices: Pretty good. I have all of my own equipment, so for me I can bring my own paint and only pay $10 for the day to play. Air fills are $1 per PSI for Nitro or $8 all day. Rental & paint pricing seems to be pretty competitive from what I've seen at other places too.
Rules: Same as everywhere else, with the exception of the paintcheck. With the lack of refs, its the responsibility of the opposing players to check each other which can lead to terrible results. The first time I was called for a paintcheck was in the middle of a fire fight in which my cover was my most important survival tool. A paintcheck was called by an opposing player that I had already shot out. While he was checking me, out in the open, our guns at our sides, I was then "shot up" by another player. Had a ref been available, he could have checked me in position quickly and play could have continued.
Services: These are what you'd expect from a good staff. Everyone feels good at this field and you don't feel like your just another paycheck to them. Good family environment.
Proshop: None
Staff: The staff is very friendly and willing to assist with any problems you may be having, answer any questions you have, and get in on the action and play along with your group. Which makes for a better time and learning experience.
Refs: Non-existent. There was one guy that was taking pictures the last time I went, but usually with the smaller groups there are no refs and players are expected to act accordingly since the owners are playing alongside you. With a larger group I have been told the owners will actually ref, but like I stated previously, I have yet to play with a big group there.
Players: Most of the players I have come across are either from my own group, or just a handful of the owners friends/coworkers. Haven't been able to play with a larger group there yet, but all in all, these guys are all mostly older and have played for a while and know how to play. Everyone helps each other out and creates a good atmosphere for any newbies in the group.
Facilities: Its a young and budding field. There are constant changes and something new is added between my trips. Last time was a shelter in the woodsball field which was a nice addition.
Food: A variety of snacks and beverages are supplied for sale at reasonable pricing. I always bring my own, but its nice to know its there if I need it.

In closing, like I have stated before, this field is still young at heart. They continue to impress me every time I am there. Within a few years they could be a competing force if they continue to improve the way that they do. All I ask is that they get better at pushing the games along a little better. I'm sure this can also be blamed on the group I was with, but being there for four hours and only playing a handful of games does not make me feel pretty at the end of the day. I like to jump right into things and the wait gets a little aggravating. I would change nothing about the woodsball field, the speedball I would like to see it graded to be a little more level. Maybe a ref or two for even the small groups would be nice, but I understand its hard when your just starting out. I will be back to this field and expect to continue playing there and would recommend this field to any die hard woodsballer out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisherpballer Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Man where do I start . Great field.Great people there. Friendly and helpful staff. Field hours ar from 10:00a.m-6:00p.m Good cheap prices on paint, they have Tomahawk for $40 a case and shoots great. All day air for Co2 is $8 and for HPA its $10. The field fee is only $8.00 and you can even bring your own paint. This is one of the best airball fields I hav e ever been to. They games went rockn when the X was put up on Ohio's only 40 piece X-Ball field. They have good cheap food. Safety is a big issue as it is at every field which is good. They have great reffing. If your looking for a good rush and tons a fun you need to stop and play at Silent Sniper paintball.



A Very Special Thanks To,
Jeff,Lorrie,Carrie


From,
Joe
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

oohay Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
eagles peak paintball
Review: This is a really great 40 piece X-Ball field. My team and I wanted to check out their field and was suprised by how well they were set up. It has been one of the best fields in ohio that we have played on. The owners of this field are extreamly nice and willing to help you with any problems that you may have. The prices for field use are really cheap too. You pay a field fee of $8.00 and can get co2 all day for $8.00 or HPA all day for $10.00. Saftey is also a major concern at this field. The owners and refs are always concerned about playing safe. So if your lookin for a good place to play some mad X-Ball and have tons of fun, this is the place to go. There is always people there willing to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redneckbtch96 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
1st time player
Directions
to the Field:
Get on Rt40 go west turn left on Rankin Rd. Go over highway overpass up the hill and you see the sign Silent Sniper 100 yards. Go 100 yards feild is on the left. Turn in and have some fun i know i did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: Okay i haven't been to any other feilds but this one was great. I am a 1st time player. Rodney from Indinia turn me on to the sport and i love it. It was a blast i am difinetly rounding up some friends and go again that is for sure. The feilds was great!!!!!!!!!! And the staff great and had a blast chattin with them. Jeff is a great guy i was have problems with my gun. I yell MY GUNS NOT WORKIN and he run out to help me fix it(gettin shot in the back of his legs and butt) LOL The other player out there was great and had fun play with them all day long, and with me being a 1st time player everyone was very very helpful.... THANK YOU Rodney and Silent Sniper I HAD A BLAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

melsmith54 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played any established courses, just back woods ball
Review: The owner of The Silent Snipper was very helpful with our group. He really stressed safety, and with 9 - 12/13 year olds, that was extremely important to us Moms. The boys all had a blast and are looking forward to going back. Jeff interacted with the boys which added to the experience. Safety checks were made to make sure everyone had the barrel plug in or safety on. The prices were great also...All day play was $8.00 which included the woods or speedball. All day CO2 was $8.00 and All day Compressed Air $10.00. It was an excellent day, very reasonable and a great value for all the boys got to do. I would highly recommend this for a birthday party. Take your own food or buy the snacks there. No matter what you decide...you will be the coolest for having the party there and the kids can have alot of fun, you don't have to worry about the mess, the refs have control of all the games! It would also be a great place for beginners, because Jeff will go over the safety and rules and they have equipment you can rent. That way you can play before you invest in the markers to see if you really would enjoy it. THIS PLACE IS GREAT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media