paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field

Commando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 613-835-1729
Address: Dunning Road South
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
SKADADDY Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI indoor-well its indoor
Ottawa extreme- new field this summer
S.Ontario- alot of feilds
Montreal-variious indoor feilds-Great competition with high skill leveled players
( Mt.Ttremblent has a very nice outdoor)
Directions
to the Field:
10 min east of Ottawa.
Review: Excellent diverse outdoor playing feilds. Has everything for whatever style of paintball you want to play. Senario and speedball. This place has a club house , great staff and the owner is a awsome guy..
More playing area and feilds are added each year. Its always changing and getting better.
There is usually alot of ballers and players of diffrent skill levels. Offers somthing for everyone. Some tournaments are held here through out the summer.
There is a club you can join as well.
Check it out.,you wont be disapionted.

It will be a perfect 10 once the driveway is fixed up in a few days.. Also a proshop would be amazing with a few emergency items.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hockey_Crazy Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm - too tight and only one field, only plus is the proshop
Ottawa Paintball - too small and only one field
Review: Me and my hockey club went out to our end of year party last saturday to Commando paintball.
First off i would like to say....I HAD A BLAST. The fields were neatly cleared and there was zero brush to affect your shots. The owner, i cant remeber his name but i nearly peed myself over some of his jokes. The atmosphere there seems intimidating at first, but right of the batt the guys are really kind, helpful and open. The refs there enforce important rules like keeping your goggles on and such. Some of the other reviews complain about them being too laid back, but our entire day went flawlessly and there were no safety issues whatsoever.

The owner also was telling us about all the work they've been doing over the spring. They plan to have 2 new fields, one of witch with real army trucks and a helicopter!!!
They also are cleaning up all the fields alhough of them are already well groomed.

All in all i have to say that the place has a great, well "commandoey" feel to it. I never experienced sucha rush from playing at other places. I give this field the highest rating possible becasue it is simply the place to go if you live in Ottawa.

just call the owner ( i think his name was Dan or Dave) and then just pick up a few friends ( you dont need equptment or anything).

P.S. The food was nice three heaping slices of pizza and drinks each.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cat in the Hat Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OXP, PSI indoor, PSI outdoor
Review: I finally made it out to Commando Paintball, and what an experience it is to play at Ottawa's biggest outdoor paintball field. They have, I believe 6 playing fields and the field owner Mr. Pitts is already working on 2 new fields for 2007. The first one is for the old school paintballs, a traditional, raw bush field and the other which I can't wait for, will be a fire base. The base will include several Korean war era Army trucks, a fuel truck, a mock helicopter and there also building a fuel/ammo. depo. which will be great for the mil.sim players. I've played at other fields in my short paint career, but it still amazes me that the field owner after all his years in the industry has such drive to make his fields the best in the Ottawa area.
Commando Paintball has a very knowledgeable and helpful staff. The playing fields are all netted dead boxes, netted shooting range, and the best thing is that the staff ride around in a modified Sidekick with hpa and paint, so you don't even need to head back to the compound except for lunch. I plan on becoming a member this year, and I'm glad to have found a new home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redwrath Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorms outdoor fields (not as challenging terrain wise) Jems (gone) Ottawa paintball (gone) Ottawa X-Treme (new location hopefuly better than last one)
Review: Safety is always stressed at Commando. This will always be the best place play paintball in the Ottawa area. No other fields can compete with the variety of fields they have here. Hills, valley, fort, village, large forested field, speedball, and new this year, sur air. What more could you ask for? Also new this year, expanded forest fields complete with bridges, towers, camoed vehicles, fuel dump and more.
Prices are on par with others.
Facilities include a heated bunkhouse with seating, picnic tables beside a nice pond, netted dead zones, and air fill vehicles to make your experience as enjoyable as possible.
Staff are experienced ballers, willing to accommedate.
Tournys held at this location are usually Luck of the Draw and if they are not, none of the members play. Keeps everything fair and above board.
Members here are the hardest playing, decent bunch of guys i have met in this sport.
Having tried every other paintball club for miles around, this place has no rivals, period.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

roystonlodge Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ottawapaintball's outdoor field has a bigger field, is more rugged, and feels more fun. But Ottawapaintball doesn't have as much variety (only one field + the speedball field), and isn't quite as professional.
Directions
to the Field:
East on Innes Road, right on Dunning, look for the sign on your left.
Review: Pros:

Lots of different fields. I played a "town", a "castle", a "woods", a "valley", and the speedball field. You don't get bored. They also have a target range for you to test your marker.

They have a Suzuki Sidekick that they drive around from field to field to sell paint and provide free air refills.

Their rental 98s were pretty well-maintained. Their goggles didn't fog up on me, and seemed to be in good repair.

Big chill-out building with lots of couches. Good pizza for lunch.

I had a hell of a lot of fun. We played from 9am to about 2:30 pm, and many guys wanted to skip lunch because we were having so much fun.

If you get a membership, you get discounts on paint. The fee for entry into the club is three days of labour (reffing, maintenance, driving the Sidekick, etc.).

The place was very professional and very safe. Dead zones were well-netted so you could remove your goggles, yet they were in the middle of the action so you could watch the rest of the game. They were fanatical about barrel condoms and goggles-on, which was nice to see.

You get two pods and a pod belt with your rental. I've never been to a field that provides this.

Cons:

$150 for a case of 2000 rounds. Three of our guys shared a case, so it was $50 for 666 rounds.

Most of the fields are kinda small. Each game was a de facto speedball game. Smaller fields, faster games = they sell more paint. I think the "castle" and the "woods" next to it should be combined into one big field.

The owner was a little bit of a jerk. He actually got angry when I told him I had ordered a Spyder and was waiting for it to arrive in the mail. He went on a rant on how Tippmans are the only worthwhile markers. Luckily you don't have to deal with him since his kids and his staff pretty much run the show.

The boundaries aren't very well marked. Players went out-of-bounds often. The refs coulda been a bit more assertive when players went out-of-bounds. They'd yell out, "hey, don't go out of bounds" but nobody really listened.

A couple of the fields were somewhat uneven. Team A would have lots of bunkers at their starting point, and team B would have NO cover. It was a little frustrating.

Way too much sitting around, waiting for a game to start.

Neutral (depending on your point of view):

They allow alcohol and other mind-altering substances to to be consumed on site. This was not a problem, because almost nobody brought any with them.

They didn't appear to have CO2 refills available. It's HPA only. But, if you had your own equipment, they'd give you an HPA bottle for the day, so it didn't really matter.

According to the field rules, hits to the marker don't count.

Draxxus paint.
Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHEP_SETH Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI - not as good as Commando because psi only has speed ball
Tag Zone - not as good as Commando because the players at tag zone are noobs to the sport
Review: Ok, here is a review of commando paintball in Ottawa:

Safety: Very safe depending on the type of referee your team has. Even the bad referees have hard decks about masks on during the game and puting your barrel condom on as you exit the field. Most will stand in the middle of the game and look for players trying to wipe fresh paint off their cammies. (I have seen a ref find someone doing this and I must say I didn’t want to be that guy.)
RATING: 9 out of 10

Fields:
-Village, good. They have a 2-story building that really rocks.
-Small hill, very good. Really fun if you’re doing a 7 on 7 or 5 on 5 or 3 on 3 game.
-Fort, not so good. If you start on either end and move towards it, its fun, but if you have one team attacking and one defending, all you do is burn through paint and air.
-Speed ball, good. Lots of items to hide behind.
-Don’t know its name but is like a barren 60’ by 40’ field, ok. Great if you what a very quick game and you have people that will cover you as you move.
-VALLEY, KICKS BUTT!! This field is by far the most fun of all the fields. It has a valley right in between the two bases and is perfect for “back door” attacks.
-Small forest, never played. Right next to the valley, all we ever do is just expand the play area of the valley to incorporate the forest too.
RATING: 8 out of 10

Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekends.
RATING: 8 out of 10

Price:
-Walk on: $15 if renting, $10 if you have your own gear
-Balls: -$10 for 100 (10 cents a ball)
-$40 for 500 (8 cents a ball)
-$150 for 2000 (7.5 cents a ball)
-Air: -FREE

**MEMBERS ONLY, 4 cents a ball** (see how to become a member at very bottom)
Balls for members: -$4 for 100
-$20 for 500
-$40 for 1000
-$80 for 2000
RATING: 4 out of 10 (because it takes time to become a member)

Rules: Very simple rules, wear your mask, put your barrel condom on when you’re eliminated, when your hit check for paint (if there’s no paint your not eliminated) and HAVE FUN!
RATING: 9 out of 10

Services: Ok, some times there just to busy to remember what you asked.
RATING: 7 out of 10

Proshop: NONE, but I think that JT’s is right on there field somewhere, (although I’ve never seen it.)
RATING: N/A

Staff: 90% of the staff what to do there best but sometimes you will get one guy (usually a kid trying to become a member) that doesn’t know what they are doing.
RATING: 9 out of 10.

Referees: Nice, most will even give you tips if you get eliminated and how to stay alive next time. Almost all of them have a “no bull ship” attitude and stand by it. (but I have never seen them kick a person out for something stupid the player did)
RATING: 7 out of 10

Players: If you ever go by yourself you can be assured that you will end up with a group of people at about your skill level. When I first when I was with the walk on guys. And then after a few Saturdays I asked to go with the guys how know what they were doing.
RATING: N/A

Facilities:
-Clubhouse, very nice. Where you can get all your balls, air and food or couches and car seats if you need s break.
RATING: 8 out of 10
-Out houses: -#1, go in the trees
-#2, use the outhouses if you ABSOLUTLY have to
RATING: 3 out of 10

Food: -$5 for a pizza lunch (3 slices of pizza and a pop or water)
-$1 for bottled water, pop or chips
RATING: 10 out of 10

Rentals:
-98 customs and model 98 (little banged up but you can still push them to, and maybe over, 6 bps
-Camo overalls (very nice actually)
-Face mask (these things are old and dirty. It’s amazing no one has thrown up in them)
-48/3000 HPA tank (runs out of compressed air after about 800 rounds)
-200 round hopper (duhhhhhh!)
-Belt with holsters for 2 140 round pods (this kicks butt!)
RATING: 8 out of 10

***MEMBERS: To become a member you have to pay $20 and work for 3 days usually about 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Then you can get your paint for the SUPER low price of 4 cents a ball! (beet that, lowest I have found is 5 cents a ball)
RATING: 7 out of 10 (because you can only work about one day a week and the drive is horrible)

OVERALL REVIEW:
Pros -lots fields
-Kick but people that can come out
-90% of the staff are nice

Cons -Price before becoming a member
-Rentals and washrooms are kind of bad

OVERALL RATING: 7.4 out of 10
Last edited on Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 3:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

woods_player Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Our group had about 15 new guys, and 5 of us who had played before, Although Dave was a really nice guy, there was a complete lack of organization during the whole day.

The ref (if you can call him that) never went over the basics of paintball safety with the new guys (which led to two of the younger guys shooting a few people at sub 10feet distances in the woods). He could never be found during the game except right next to the dead box, at no point did he walk around and make sure everyone was doing ok during the games.

The ref also didn't "lead" us to the following game, we waisted lots of time just sitting around talking after each game not really knowing where we were going next.

As a previous writer mentioned the porto-potty toilets very smelly and fairly nasty and let's just say it was time for them to be changed / emptied, I would never bring any woman to Commando for that reason alone.

The equipment was good and reliable (they were 98customs). Although the masks were a total write off, out of 20 guys at least 15 of them complained that they could not see well because of the extreme fogging and scratches. I myself could not differentiate friend from foe during any of the "forest" games because of glare and extrem fogging which ended up ruining many games because I could not play properly.

The actually fields were pretty good, most of them however we to small, which led to one on ones shootouts during the games, absolutely no room to perform any sort of tactics of any kind. The group did enjoy the speedball course, but most of the games were total chaos. Perhaps if the ref would have suggested a capture the flag or base defense style game things would have been better. (And no, you can't call that castle of death a base defense) that thing had so many holes that anyone could stick their barrels into them and kill everyone inside... trust me I know.... (5 bonus balls).

This review would not be complete if I didn't complain about the long "driveway" (more like a damm off-road course). This "driveway" had no many sharp rocks and pot holes that I was sure I was going to burst a tire.

So... my rating a 3 out of 10, My recommendations to Dave (shared by a few of the other guys)

- Please get real refs not 12-13 year olds that don't give a crap about what's going on. We don't mind young guys, just make sure "they care, and show interest".

- Change the damm port-o-potty from time to time.

- Do something about the off-road course you call a "driveway"

- Get new masks.

Would I go back.. sure, except this time I'll park on the side of the road and walk the 10 minutes to get to the field, bring my own mask and gun, make sure I teach basic safety rules to my group and piss in the lake next to the fields...

In closing, I just want to actually say that Dave WAS awesome that day, made everyone laugh and most of the guys had a good time, however, when we get together again, we won't be choosing this field unless some major changes happen to the above mentioned items. I strongly believe that if Dave put just a tad more effort into the upkeep of the field and the equipment, this could be a top-notch field.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bayruun Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JEMS - way better
PSI - never been
Review: It's a good field with lots of well-maintained barricades and whatnots.

The big problem is the sheer cost - $15 walk-on, $40 for a bag of paint. Compare that to JEMS: No walk-on, $25-30 for a bag. Sure, you get slightly better quality than JEMS, but you're paying twice as much!

The sheer price of the place is unbelievable. It's a minimum of $55, and that gives you a mere 500 balls! What kind of idiot markup is this?

As for the staff, the ref seemed to be totally unexperienced. He started and ended the game, and didn't enforce anything.

The crowd you get around there are a bunch of uneducated farmboys. They don't know the meaning of strategy, and they all seem to be total noobs.

Overall, this field is underwhelming and expensive. The field design is alright, but the price is not justified.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fotoguy99a Wednesday, September 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mission 17 - very similar, more refs though
Review: Very good overall. Lots of different playing fields. There are two porta-potties these days! Dave is definately a character who speaks his mind, but he`s a good guy who will make sure you have a great time. Is he a chauvenistic pig? Ha ha, maybe... why don`t you ask him! ;-P

The attitude is very relaxed here, no Rambo-refs with God complexes giving you a hard time. The ref was a little young (and sometimes absent), but we didn`t really care. A good time was had by all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptblfreak Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm, PSI, OSG, Arnolds, T2
Review:
A big thank you to Dave and the staff at Commando. We were out this weekend to play. YES in the snow and the cold, we are Canadian of course. We didn;t think any outdoor facilities were still open at this time of the year. Dave opened up for us and we had a GREAT DAY!!!!!!!!!! The new heated club house was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All in all we had a great day. NO MOSQUITOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol. Thanks again to Dave and his staff


Glen
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media