paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field

Commando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 613-835-1729
Address: Dunning Road South
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
SirTrixAlot Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm, PSI, OSG
Review:
Props To the owner and the staff of Commando. They were great. My group had a blast over the weekend. There have been many changes since my last visit. The new netted dead boxes are amazing!!!!!!!!!!! We can watch the game in complete safety!!!!!! They are in the process of building a whole new staging area and a new feild. From what i could see there were 2 HUGE forts being built!!!!!!!! I can't wait to play that one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Paint prices were amazing compared to other places i've played. They also had brand new Tippmans running on compressed air. NO MORE CO2!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOW GUYS!!!!!!!!!!! thanks for the great day. We will be back soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mik Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: Overall the fields are good. The ref's tend to leave out imprtant details such as, No Shooting Through Cracks, and Gun Hits Don't Count!
The staff are friendly but I have to say, the owner has to be taken with a grain of salt as he can be kind of a pig and a jackass, what with his comments about one of our players' breast size right in front of us and her fiancee.
The bathroom facilities are disgusting at best. They only have one (that's right ONE), "Port-A-Potty" for people to "do their business". The door on it doesn't close let alone lock, there is no toilet paper, and I don't think it has been emptied ever.... EVER!!!! I was truly disgusted at how full to the top it was.
I felt extremely bad for the six or eight females that were at the field that day. At least we men could pee in a bush.... hoping that's all we had to do. I don't think a single woman there could relieve herself all day long. Even the guys were talking about how sick it was, and guys can be pretty gross themselves.
If it wasn't for lack of facilities, I would recommend this field to people, but I just can't in good concience. They really need to fix this problem.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

matrixman666 Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando - Best
Topaz- pretty good
PSI- not good
Review: the fields are awsome and the "shack" is cool as well. Commando Dave is hilarious, oneof the funniest characters ive ever seen.
All the staff are super nice and cool.. they answer everyones questions and help them when ever they need it.
The refs were very helpful they helped us out on field. Our ref was Sean he was very cool and helpful.
The lay outs are very fun and challenging.
A wide variety of playing sufaces.

I will deffently go back and I always will recommend commando to all my friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KTT Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the best outdoor field in the Ottawa area.
Review: Commando Dave (the owner) is a real character and my experiences with the staff have been mostly positive.

The field is safe, but they don't go overboard on rules. I find the refs are good about customizing the game to fit the preferences of the group.

The fields are quite well maintained with a good mix of forest, bunkers and forts. My favorite by far is the large forest field. There is plenty of room for flanking maneuvers, which encourages a more aggressive style of play.

If you are in the Ottawa area you should check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

painttrooper Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintstorm/OSG, topaz, SMT
Review: Here is my honest review of Commando paintball, me and a few friends went around the end of season:

Prices:
Admission $15 for the day, includes coveralls, rentalls, and Co2 refills
$40 for 500 Diablo Paintballs
$5 pizza lunchw/pop(pretty good actually)
Admission for gear owners is $5

Rentals include:

tippmann 98 with 12 oz Co2 bottle and 200 round hopper
V-force mask(i think?) the masks could be better..
small harness with 2 140 round tubes, only field I know of that has these with rentals...
Clean camoflouge coveralls
Barrel cover

The fields

the facility includes 6 fields(could be more actually, I played 6) the fields are really awesome, their is a huge fort field with tower, a nice village composed of lots of roofed little houses, a valley, a giant hill field, and two awesome bunkered fields, one giant, one medium sized

The fields here are way better than the competitors, at Paintstorm the fields are sorta flat, and not that interesting in my opinion, the commando fields offer different types of terrain, with hills and ditches, and the valley field, is actually a giant valley. The bunkers are good and the houses in the village are awesome, not to mention the giant fort, this is not a small fort that the entire team is sqeezed into, it's big, with a tower in the center

Facility

the staging area and facility is nice, there's a giant shack filled with pic-nic tables and wood fire places, this is way better than what they have going at paintstorm/SMT's outdoor fields, there are more pic nic tables outside with garbage cans, the surrounding is also nice, no garbage, some big ponds, a big parking lot, the driveway up is okay, very senic but a little bumpy at parts

Safety/Refs

Safety and Reffing is good, I heve heard some bad things from people in the past, but honestly I don't see anything to get upset about, barrel covers are required and given to everyone, there is a nice shooting range with a chrono on it, reffing is good, some of the refs are young but I don't have any problem with that, as the one I had was very mature and helpfull, two refs per field would be nice, I have not had any problems with the refs disapearing as others have said

Overall this is an awesome field, and I reccamend it, I plan on returning this season., and I think anyone in the area should check it out! I give this field a 9 out of 10(just because nowhere is perfect) some improvements would be 2 refs per field, and better dead boxes at the actuall fields...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Forge_master Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all in the ottawa area and they don't come close to the outdoor experience here
Review: the layouts are great and they take time to epxlain what they have. I found they had nicer staff than the other outdoor operators around ottawa, these guys actually are nicer, more helpful and the people do not consider themsleves "paintball royalty". just good fun and they help fix markers on the spot - paint was good too for price. better than paintstorms two bush fields and closer to ottawa for me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ariade Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm, OSG, SMTs, Topaz Paintball
Review: Commando Games is a decent field, the staff are usually rather caught up in what they're doing and rarely have a field presence at all, and often overlook things like paint checks, but the lay out of the fields is quite good, with a variety of choices. There is an excellent fort field, a villiage field as well as a few very good woods ball style areas. The hill is my favorite. Prices are normal, field fees are normal and the rental equipment is in excellent shape.
Last edited on Saturday, June 14th, 2003 at 3:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media