paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
The Kampfer Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
T.A.G. - Great place to play, 6 fields , 25 games a day. Is that enough for you?
Review: Too much Trees. You can't shoot ANYTHING more than 20 feet away from you.
Flatline barrel is useless in there.

Toooooo damn big. No kidding. I got so lost in the field. Most the time I have no idea where I am, where to go. Can't see sh1t in there.

And takes FOREVER to start the game. We played 8~9 games for the whole day.
Everytime you got shot, walk half mile to the resting area, wait half hour for game to finish. Walk half mile to the starting station, Wait another half hour for the new game to start....

It sucks. I spend most of my day sit a round waiting for some action.

Now I understand why there are so many cheaters in there. Because they do not want to wait for the next game.

What pissed me off was, they baned Tippmann RT. They don't say it on their web site which they should. They forced me to "By pass" it in their pro shop. Ok, no big deal. The guy took the RT hose off, stick a screw in there. Done. $5 !!! I need to pay for that? What the fu@k ? Man, I was so pissed...

The screw fell out in the middle of the game anyway, losing air. I was mad.

The speed ball is a joke.

Other than that, it's a ok field. Big, many trees, really nice starting base. Most of the players shoot under the speed limits.

Over all, I didn't have a good time at all. Wasted a nice sunny Sunday which I should spend with my girlfriend, and $50.


Oh add $5 on that, make it $55.

I hate that field. I will never go back there, again.

Last edited on Monday, July 14th, 2003 at 2:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beatmanias Sunday, July 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood- Great airball field.
Venture- Very similar but much SAFER field
Hayward- Umm SPEEDBALL+Bunkering! =)
Review: This is a VERY large field... although it is large and could support 100+ people *which usually 100+ people show up everyday* its kinda tiring to walk REALLY far to your playing fort everytime not to mention as the amount of people alive gets low... its almost impossible to find anyone. The field itself has some good things however... first off, besides the forts and the occasional stacked sticks and tippees its almost like a natural field *meaning all cover are basically nature* and sometimes brush and tree branches are all the cover you can find. The Zulu game is the best and you can get loads of people with that.
Thats about where the goods end.... and the bads? There's a lot.

First off the rental equipments... SUCKS... i mean like they work like 50 year old guns that hasn't been lubed ever. The FPS of the rental guns can range from 150-350 and the rentals usually break down every other game. The charge a lot... i mean everytime i go there i cannot spent less than $50 because you either have to buy a bag of their paint or pay them $15 which is stupid.
Second thing is that safety issues... its really unsafe to play there, as much as "Magic" Bob tries to keep everything safe for everyone by enforcing the barrel plug and what not, my friend's rental was shooting at 350 at the chrono and the ref saids the following: Its fine... its a rental! and lets him go... WTF??? Also i see people dry firing in the parking lot as well.
Third thing is the hornets... are they really a "team"? No... their goal is sportsmenship... right? Well most of them DON'T achieve that. I have seen them wipe right before my eyes as I hit them and scream at them. They are just a bunch of paint wasters and lousy people who thinks highly of themselves just because they are "on" a team. Therefore they set examples to the new players to wipe off the paint... because on today which i went... i shot at least 6-7 people that should've been out but didn't cause they all WIPED... I did not enjoy seeing that.

I was generally dissatisfied with the field and wouldn't go back there unless something is changed to the field. I see people with bloody welts everywhere because some of the refs do not care if you shooting 350. This field is not worth my money... go to venture... they're in this for the sport.... not the money.


WHERE IS THE REF WHEN YOU NEED ONE? *all of the way across the field..*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Booshnick Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at Mare island (BEST FEILD EVER!!!)
I played at Fairgrounds (great feild while it lasted)
I played at sherwood (great feild but stinky)
Review: The Jungle is a great feild if you like trees in the way of you shots and players who wipe when you hit them. As far as Crono gos this feild is loose about it, they dont seem to mind if your shooting hot. For your info the person who wipes the most at the jungle has got to be the owner. This feild has room for improvment. Some cleaning could be done, maybey do something to get a few less trees, find another color to paint the sign in area, New owner would be nice. I rate this feild at a 2 because i realy dont get what gos on there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jmonkbone Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood (I just heard airball just opened up there) and WAP
Review: If you don't know were it is you will have a tough time trying to find the place. The hornets aren't as bad as some of the other guys say they are, but I do admit some hornets are pretty weak. the prices aren't over the top or any thing like that. I have seen some cheating and stuff like that, but not as much as all those little *#$%@s say their is. Magic Carpet Bob(The crazy old guy that owns the place) gives morning orientation, do what he says and you won't get kicked out. It starts at 9 in the morning and ends at 4, between those 7 hours their are 8 to 12 games all approximately half an hour /w a half hour lunch and raffle time. (I've never seen 8 or 9 games played in one day their is all ways about 11 or 12). There is a proshop just in case your gun isn't working right. The staff is friendly and some even take your picture with a digital camera and it gets posted up on the jungle wed site.

The course is cool(Their are 5 bases and Bunkers altogether) the place is huge. They just recently "upgraded" all the bases and bunkers. It is a forest which has a lot of brush in some areas and is wide open in others(with no poison oak anywhere). They have a small speedball area inside the course between 2 bases.Their is a separate course from the main area it's called ZULU. Their are no bases, just starting points. It's not very big compared to the the other area. One area of ZULU has is a bunch of big sticks piled in the shapes of a T.P.'s all along high grass(That place is sooooooo cool).Finally their are 4 different kinds of rounds(not including BEESWAX) , the first is capture the flag(very standard you all know it), second is called center flag were their are 3 bases, their is one base in between the other 2, that base has the flag. The other teams are in either base. The object of this round is to capture the flag in the center and bring it to the enemy base(it can be cool some times but most of the time it's just run as fast as you can to the center and have huge shoot out with the enemy). The third kind of round is elimination (KILL THE OTHER DUDES NOT ON YOUR TEAM). The fourth round is... well I forgot the name, but what you do is one team has to stay in or very close around their base as the other team attacks(I know its gotta suck to be on the team that has to be in the base). Right after lunch Magic Carpet Bob (you know the crazy guy) tells everybody about BEESWAX. Beeswax is the round right after lunch when everybody not a hornet must try to capture the hornets flag. Their will be about 20 hornets fighting the rest of your team which is about 70 to 80, half the time the hornets win so they aren't that bad. Altogether This place is awesome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingman14 Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood, both got alot of trees but sherwood has less
Review: jungle is cool, if u like trees alot go their but its pretty much i got stand wit in 6 feet to get a clear shot at someone. jungle is fun, nice staff, pretty sic place but i suggest you go to sherwood forset its alot better and its more fun
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhinoII Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood, if you like jungle ball play american canyon
Review: I think we have a lot of sour folks writing these reviews. The jungle is not full of cheaters and lousy refs. As with any sport you will have cheaters, these are the people you see turning up their guns after they chrono, wiping hits, ect but it is not everyone out there. Those people are the ones who dont give a dam about safety, not the people running the field. Anyone who has been there and paid ATTENTION to the morning orientation would know that safety is the number one rule there. They strictly inforce the goggle and gun plug rule. Ive seen people get thrown out because they couldnt follow these simple rules. Ive been playing there for around three years and I have had a couple bad experiences but had nothing to do with the staff .

A lot of the reviews I read baged on the hornets team. Come on guys, they dont think they are pros, Ya some are arrogant because they actually do play pro ball but the majority are a bunch of guys who love the sport and play for the fun of it. I cant tell you how many times Ive helped out someone who was having gun trouble or how many O rings ive kicked down to guys whos folks have bailed and left them with just enough money for lunch.

I have to admit having to buy a 500 round min. or pay $15.00 to bring your own paint kind of sux but this a business and not a free for all.

The pizza truck is reasonable price wise, for $3.00 you get a soda and a slice of pizza, fo rthose who think this is overpriced Id like you to walk into any pizza joint of your choosing and ask for that same deal.

The fields are great if warfare type paintball in thick woods and bushes is what you like.They have rebuilt a lot of the forts and have a few more to finish so improvements are constantly being made.

The rental equipment is not at all good, the guns are old and tired and are in need of replacing. But if your looking to have a good time and have your own gear I think this is a great place to have fun playing paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SlickAle Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest- Much smaller, but really fun. The owner is awesome.
Mt. Diablo- my friends came here, and it's safer and more diverse
Review: Paintball Jungle is an okay field, it's not great to start out there if you're a newbie. Most of the guys there don't help. I remember my first time there- I was trying to take apart my gun and I asked for help- the Hornet only called me a n00b and left. That's not very nice, is it? The guys there also don't know much about paintball and brag about imaginary guns. I remember standing in line with a guy with a rental- he claimed he had an angel in his trunk - that was running on co2 and a viewloader 450 ball hopper. Uh-huh. The Hornets really isolate themselves, and a lot of kids , I mean small kids, play at this field. Most don't chrono or follow instructions about barrel plugs and such. I personally think forgive and forget for Carpet Bob, he's a really cool guy and gives a lot of tips. I also like their giveaways. I've seen the Hornets wipe before, but I just shoot them again if they do.
Last edited on Monday, August 4th, 2003 at 7:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Paintball Forest
Review: This field could be absolutely wonderful, but there are a list of problems. Here's a list of pros and cons:

Pros:
Lots of games get played in one day
Huge field, speedball, lots of forts (this may or may not be your kind of field)
Some friendly staff
Great repair shop
Many different scenarios
Gun give away

Cons:
Rental equipment SUCKS
Lack of refs
Refs don't do their job and wipe off hits occationally
Refs are very poor at checking marker speeds (I've gotten some huge bloody welts)
Lots of unfriendly staff
Bring your own paint surcharge $15
Paint prices are pretty high
The home team, the Hornets, are well known for wiping. I myself am a hornet, and there are a few decent players for sure, but most of them are rude, macho cheaters.
Teams are never balanced, you either dominate, or get creamed, neither of which is really that fun.

Conclusion:
I don't know why it took me this long to realize this, but I don't have a good time at this field very often. I'm fond of this field since this is where I really started out, but to be honest, this place is not a good place for pros or newbies. Newbies are often always placed on the same teams, rental equipment is unclean and performs like it's 1000 years old, and it's not a good experience.
Check out Sherwood instead, it's a much better field, no paint surcharge, order paint online. It's cheaper, better, more fun.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

marksman73 Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood , Windsor Paintball(now defunct)
Review: Here it is in a nutshell. The jungle is a large , semi forested field . I say semi forested because the thickness of foliage varies greatly depending on where you are in the field.The farthest area from the parking lot is the most shaded and has some pretty thick and tall grass....the jungle itself is great for stalking and laying ambushes if you have the patience for it. The bunkers and forts are novel at best and do occasionally provide for some interesting firefights, cant deny that most of the time my friends and i stay in one we get killed eventually . I have to admit to liking the terrain overall , they just need to make some improvements to the main field to make it the same calibre as Zulu.
Zulu deserves its own paragraph, this field rocks....everyone likes playing it as far as i can tell, newbies , vets, doesnt matter. It has great amounts of trees and wooden bon fire type bunkers all over the place...also a creek with two flimsy bridges but it does the job...You have to walk far from the lot to play here and the people are always rushing you out....thats the only drawback , other than being shot early in the game , like i said , its a long walk back........
Pricing.....this is the real sore spot of the field, 20 bucks is fairly common, ive done my homework on this, but charging extra to bring your own paint is BS....this isnt some super fancy indoor place with A/C and a viewing area , it isnt a movie set from Hollywood, its an old dump in Vallejo.....Bobs paint prices arent the worst , ive seen places charge up to 135 for a case of Marb.....I cant go the jungle without dropping 100 bucks , 30 bucks for air and admission, 70 for a case of paint.......but i will admit that i didnt choose to play this game because it was cheap.....i think he is a little bit inflated in his costs but until i know what wholesale paint goes for i cant make an honest assesment.
As far as staffing goes it is quite a motley crue.....some people are really nice, others arent so nice,the guys who run the repair shop are pretty cool and have helped me a number of times free of charge, they get props for helping people stay in the game..!
The hornets are the worst wipers around, i no longer play in the Beeswax due to the overwhelming cheating going on.......ask anyone.......!!! It used to be a really good challenge , they would almost always win but it was exciting still, now it seems like a waste of ammo....no offense to anyone in particular in their club but without enough referees they should be leading by example.Oh yeah the refs with radios help the hornets out when they are supposed to be inpartial....yeah right....!!
Paintball isnt cheap by any means, neither is skiing, i do both with little complaint over the cost....The jungles is a decent place to play because they always draw a big enough crowd to make it interesting.I think they should alternate their gaming a little more and have more than one game going at a time for the walk on crowd, its really not that hard , the guys from Windsor paintball had a great way of keeping the action going , they would get people who just came out of one game and would roll them into another one....it was really sad when the county shut them down for pernits or whatever, gotta give props to Sonoma County officials , they do everything to make a business or a house upgrade as hard as possible....the old Windsor field is sitting there collecting dust with no one using it , no trespassing signs everywhere...its such a waste of oppurtunity.........anyone who reads this and has any factual working knowledge of field insurance costs and any desire to start a new field in the north bay please speak up and be heard.......a simple paintballer who wants to provide a better place to play.. :) sorry Jungle , if i had the land and the money i could do a lot better.....!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GeoffBlake Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, but looking to try venture games cause i heard its 10 times better.
Review: Paintball jungle is a field that is decently run, however the prices are ridiculous. $5 for one fill, $20 for the day- that is such bs. $20 to get in, but if you have your own marker, you can't use your own paint unless you buy 500 rds of theirs. Speaking of their paint is WAY WAY WAY over priced. $65 for a case of PMI give me a break. It gets worse... if you are a new player, you'll spend $100 without a sweat, and that's with the crappiest marker, bad goggles, and only 1000 rds of paint. As for the games you play, the games are all supposed to be 30 minutes long, almost every time they are 15-20-- trust me I have a timer on my gun. Also, the games are almost all the same, capture the flag, or elimination GETS VERY BORING. They try to mix it up with the beeswax game, that is the worst one of all, all the hornets cheat and there's way too many people on the field at once.
On top of the bad games, there is only one ref thats gives a sh*t whether or not you chrono in or put your goggles on. Ive seen people chrono at 350fps and the refs tell them to adjust, but there's so many ppl that they just walk away into the crowd with a hot gun and nobody cares, then when you get hit later in the game and you wonder why you have a giant welt, then you'll be PISSED-- by the way its supossed to be 290 fps.
The only reason I gave this a 2 was because the owner, Magic Carpet Bob is a cool guy, but even he can sometimes be a little cocky and arrogant- otherwise it was a 1. Overall this field is frankly horrible. Don't go there if you can help it at all.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 9th, 2003 at 10:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media