paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
711wargod Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek, TAG, Sunol, Woodstalk, Hayward, San Luis Obispo, this place, Modesto, Waterford, Las Vegas, Santa Clara, somewhere off highway 80, and a few others i cant think of
Review: LOL.....I knew I wasnt the only one seeing people cheat like He11 over there....I played there twice before and the field attracts a lot of players, (since there is no more marine world fairgrounds) and sherwood is the only alternative.....therefore in my opinion the refs do get bogged down by the shear amount of people trying to chrono and play....however this is no excuse for them because SAFETY SHOULD BE FIRST....also it is hard to watch people walking away from the chronos and catch them adjusting their velocities.....also (from my experience) the field is so huge that people would just adjust their guns on the field anyway and in the middle of the game! Honestly, I would rather drive 2-3 hours south from vallejo to TAG or the new place in Santa Clara Fairgrounds....their staff is much more strict and SAFETY is number one....Plus this place is hot as he11 during the summer days

Update: carpet bob still raping people of their money and cheaters galore come to this field....this field has not changed and can pretty much blow me...droping it down to a one
Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 1:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warped Angel Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood =safer
Review: lets get one thing straight hornets are not pros in fact they are just a bunch of guys who like playing woods ball come together to be on a team. It is poorley run in fact i know some one who had a bleeding welt along with a ripped shirts and the sides are always off balanced what ever i give it a 3
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sinbon Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood - Much better ran, much safer, much better atmosphere.
Fairgrounds - Closed now, but much better
Review: This field has some major problems with it which i would like to state here.

First off, this is not a field for anyone who respects rules. There is no need to chrono at jungle, you can just sit outside the base or walk somewhere away from the chrono and the ref's would not care at all. I know of many instances (just from today when i was there) while watching the chrono people shoot upwards of 315 and they are told to fix the guns, but instead they walk over and get ready to play. the ref's do not care about this at all or do not pay any attention; I do not know which of these possibilities is more disturbing, but neither is nice to think about. Also, their fees at this field are quit high. It is almost impossible to get out of there spending under 50$, even if you bring your own paint. Are we trying to make paintball a more papular sport? I think they care more about money in the end of the day than they care about safety or even the sport. Another problem I ran into was the balancing of teams, for the whole entire day my team was probably down somewhere around 20-30 people compared to the other team. We got massacared every round untill the last two where some people from the other team decided to switch. No, they weren't hornets, but they were very helpful and among the nicest people that were there that day. Thanks BMF Renegades, nice shirts!

Second, Magic Carpet Bob is not a very good role model for people to follow. When he is giving morning orientation, he act's tough and cuts down people who arent on the hornet's. Really, should I have to take crap from a "resident pro" who has been banned from pro-tournaments for over 10 years? This leads to the hornets, who act very overconfident of themselves just because they pay 30$ and get a crappy shirt. Honestly, some of them are nice but others are just really mean if you do not do EXACTLY what they say. I got yelled at by a group of them just because I fell back from a bunker, too bad i wasnt falling back I was walking off with my barrel plug in because I got shot. Hey hornets, if you don't want me to fall back, maybe you should give some cover fire instead of sitting in the back? Maybe holding a front position would help too since you are sooo much better than the walk-on's. These does not go for all hornets, some are actually quite helpful, but the majority of them can be real jerk's and act like they should be commander whether or not they know what they are doing at all.

Overall, Jungle is a very poorly ran field with it's home team being overwhelmingly anything but welcoming. This is not to say there is nothing good about the Jungle, it is just that it could be ran much better than it is. The fields themselves are not that bad, although some require a lot of walking to get to (including the funnest field, Zulu terriotory, which requires a 10 minute walk each way you travel.) They do have a small speedball area which is fun, but most of the time if you are in a bunker you are just trying to make sure that you aren't exposed due to the exremely small size of the bunkers. Overall it is a fun field to play, but the fun ends at the field. If it were run better than it is, I would not mind giving it about a 7, but untill there is an overhaul in staff and/or rule enforcement, I am forced to give jungle a much lower score.

Last edited on Sunday, April 6th, 2003 at 9:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WuzzBuzz Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hav'nt gone to any other because I like this place so much.
Review: The Paintball Jungle is a great place to go have fun all day long with your friends for a reasonable price. The people who work there are great and they even have a repair man for your marker if it gets messed up and he'll fix it right up. The games that they play there are great: Speed-ball, Capture the Flag, Center Flag, Elimination, and Bee's Wax which is a game played after lunch that involves all of the Hornet team against everyone else! The field is awesome with all of its bunkers and plus its a 65 acre forest!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballnewman Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek, sherwood, sacramento field (forgot which one), sunol
Review: Dont pay too much attention to the wiping factors, I have friends that play on the horents, and the team itself is pretty poor team. This field is a great filed to start out on. The service seems to get better each year, and the owner tries hard to keep the games going. I do agree that the owner wipes, give him a break, he is the owner he can do whatever he wants, do like it dont play there. Its a great field. Happy hunting!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nhspaintballer Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture- MUCH MUCH better
Sherwood- MUCH better
Review: The is my honest opinion about the people that work and operate Jungle. They don't care about you, or your safety, as long as that $20-100+ is in their hands, you can shoot paintballs inside the parking lot for all they care. When it was time to Chrono, i see to it that at least 20 people out of 150 do NOT chrono at least another couple dozen that change their velocity after they chronoed.Last thing is that there's never enough REFS or people that are honest playing there. I see TOO many paint wipes from the Hornets themselves as well as the other players.
Although the field allows u to menauver around ur oppenents, sometimes it would take you 5 minutes people you can find your way around *if your a first timer that is*
Another thing is friendly fire, in a forest this dense, you can't really tell whose who and u often get shot by your own team.

I do not recommend anyone to go to this field because it is first very dangerous due to the fact that many people shoot hot and they might be able to penetrate your goggles if they are old as well as you might get hurt from overshooting. Another thing is that all they want is money, safe yourself all this trouble and head over to Venture Paintball located in Concord.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

slicedice2k Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball- kick ass
My freinds private field- kick ass
Review: Paintball Jungle was fun the first 3 or 4 times I went, before I realized that the Hornets cheat and that hella people dont chrono. I know a Ex-Hornet (quit paintball) who even said that hella hornets wiped. I watched my freinds hard ass hopper get sho through one time and destory all his paint, because someone was shooting way too hot. All the Refs could say was "ahh, that sucks". The rental equipment blows and the staff always serves the regulars first. Better orginization and stricter field rules would improve this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Professor Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest - One forth the acreage, more speedball oriented.
The Paintball Zone - About the same size, another good Rec field.
Review: I'll start by stating this - I'm a recreational player and I love paying in the Woods! The Paintball Jungle is about 65 acres of trees, brush, bunkers and five major structures. It has three significant areas, Zulu Territory, The Speedball area, and The Jungle.

The Jungle frequently draws 150+ players on each day of the weekend but there is plenty of room and cover. This makes for a target rich environment! If you want to play speedball the jungle will be disappointing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dead2be Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: ive played at this field most of my paintballing days. i believe that this is a fairly good field but it does have its draw backs. the "professional" san francisco hornets are all rookies but they are at least nice and help you when you need it. the price for paintballs is what wastes most of you $$$!!! i like paintballing as much as the next paintball adict but $65 for a case is a little pricey! i love the field set up tho. wooded with small bases scattered about. and when it comes to playing at zulu (one part of the field) there is no holding me back! i give american canyon an 8!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett_winters Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
venture- best field. owner is nice and the place is soo cheap
sherwood. great airball field
Review: This is a not a good field. It is pretty big, but most of it is just eucalyptus trees. THe bases have gotten a lot better recently. They remodeled all of them so their pretty tight now.. The "professional" team there aren't what their made out to be. One time i snuck up behind one of the hornets and i swear i had hit him at least 5 times from like 30 ft away, and he just went under cover and wiped and then started shooting again The guy who runs the place is a cheater but hes a decent guy. The paint is pretty expensive, but compared to delta they give you great prices. I just don't think this field is very safe. its pretty much optional to chrono. they do it at the base and more than half of the people shoot hot and just skip the chrono THe field was kinda fun but its hard to shoot far because there are too many trees and brush. The thing i don't like is that it takes a while to find your opponents. O and i just found out that they will be going out of buisness at the end of the year because the land they lease is being sold. This place is ok but go to venture which is friendly cheaper and a lot more fun.
Last edited on Saturday, December 20th, 2003 at 1:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media