paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
98whaa? Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest
Directions
to the Field:
711...then a little further down the road from sherwood
Review: if you think the field is bad, then you must be a camping woman part. if you go just to play speedball, thats kinda stupid, most of the maps are woodsball..even though the airball field is good, jungle is meant for woodsball. there are always a good number of people there and the price is reasonable. if you want to play airball,go to midway... anyway, the people there try to hustle, for example, if you seem like you dont know whats wrong with your gun, they will charge you a dollar for an o-ring and stuff like that. the pro shop, however, are very nice. every other sunday, there is a raffle drawing for a gun. yes, people win, ive seen it happen. they give out magazines, shirts, field passes, paint passes and an ion. the playing field is huge, and the games are exciting. the only bad thing i have to say is about the hornets, they cheat and shoot hot..REALLY HOT. you can shoot them like 100 times, and they run away wiping. magic carpet bob is crazy, and the team admits to wiping. anyway..the jungle is great to play on and you get a lot of games in.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballr 09 Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood
Venture
Directions
to the Field:
past 7 11 and about a half mile past sherwood.
Review: This field is absolutely terrible. Despite the fact that I am a beginner, I still know if a field is good or bad. If you doubt this, my friend is a very advance paintballer and goes alot, and he thought the place was bad too. When we went the airball field was completely flooded so we couldnt play it. We only played one game of speed ball and the rest on a 65 + acre field. It was ridiculous. I fired maybe 600 rounds the whole day because you could not find anyone. When you play the hornets they cheat and wipe, and the refs are also hornets so they help the other hornets. The refs dont care if you chrono. I chronoed right next to two refs and it was ridiculously high and it started beeping like crazy. the refs clearly notice but didnt care how high my velocity was. I turned it down anyway becuz i dont cheat but the refs were terrible. expensive and a huge waste of money. if you want good paintball go to venture or sherwood especially.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockee712 Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bay Area Paintball
Sherwood
Review: Our first ref left halfway through our first game and we had to talk to the administration people and got a new ref. That was the only bad experience I had the whole day. Our 2nd ref was awesome and really payed attention to the game. The the woods fields are nice and have a good bit of variety. The airball field they had was good enough and was fun the few games we played on it. In general its a pretty good place, but when we were talking to our 2nd ref he said there are often problems with certain refs, so I guess it's really a hit or miss when.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShredderSteve Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest is right next to it, but I've never played there...
Directions
to the Field:
Down the street from 7/11
Review: The Jungle is a huge eucalyptis grove. There are refs, staff is nice, players are usually nice, food available. Feild ran by the san fransisco hornets (I think). There are a bunch of tables set up that you can drive your car right up too and setp your guns up and have a little place to hang. You have to be 18 or have consent from parent/guardien to play here. It costs $20 for admission.

STRENGTHS

ORGANIZED - This field is run very efficiently, the first thing they do is a little intro about the field and field rules. This gets annoying if you go a lot but its not that big a deal. There are a series of 30 min games including capture the flag, center flag, speed ball, elimination, etc. After 4 games there is a lunch break, and a pizza truck comes, but if you dont wanna spend money just bring your own lunch. There are raffles and gun givaways at lunch too. Then you play another 4 games.

PRO SHOP - They have a pro shop right there so if you have any problems with your gun you can fix it right away and get back in the game.

FOOD, PAINT, AIR - all are available there, not too expensive

FIELD SIZE - the field is a huge forest complete with bunkers and TP's, plenty of cover. Where clothes you dont care about or you bought for paintballing.

WASH TABLE - They have a table with soapy water and paper towels set up to clean off your hits after every game.

REFS - they make the games fair

SAFTEY - youre only aloud to have barrel plugs out on the field or in the target range. people will call you on this. saftey goggles required on field and in target range

WEAKNESSESS

SEMI MODE ONLY - burst and automatic fire is not aloud there

PIZZA PRICEY - maybe im just cheap, but you can bring your own lunch

$20 - agian maybe im just cheap but whatever

HARD TO FIND BATHROOM???

OVERALL - I think this is a killer field because of its size, and features, the bunkers are freakin awesome and there are walls and TP's everywhere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

djchicken Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This field was pretty god There was, in fact, some wiping, which aggravated me, and I personally wish the field was set up differently.

The field is in a massive eucalyptus grove, but most of the time not even half of the field is in uses because the two teams are often in bases adjacent to one another.
Also eucalyptus is a horrible tree for woods-ball because they are so thin.

This can be a horrible place for beginners because lots of pros come and a team, the Hornets, has its home here. If you are a beginner make sure you come on a Saturday or sunday when the raffle for a gun is not taking place and no tournaments are occurring. This will ensure you are with a crowd of people who are at a lower skill level. Also tag along with a squad of people, but make sure their bark isn't worse than their bite, as is often the case.

They also have speed ball and air ball fields. The refs are nice, and are paintballers themselves. (But they don't play when reffing, of course.) The pro shop on site is amazing. The guys who work it are smart and funny, and will fix almost any problem for free. (One of the few exceptions of this is fixing a hopper, because taking them apart is alot of work.) They were willing to strip my friend's gun down, clean it, oil it, and put it back together for free.

I love the people there and the players are, in general, fair, but the field could be put to better use and set up a little differently but it is one of the few good fields in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ScottAl Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sams in Sacromento
Review: This is a great field. The terrain is really nice and most of the players are great. If you want to play at a field with a trees this is the field for you. I enjoyed it a lot but the major complaint i have about the field is all the cheating. The Hornets are the home team there and they cheat constantly. I have seen guys whip in front of 10 people and the reff didn't do anything. Plus the owner of the field its self cheats. He even got kicked out of paintball tournaments because of cheating. The field set up is great! Prices are a bit harsh though. If you bring your own paint you got to pay an extra $15! on top of the 20$ entrance fee. The field is huge though and is a lot of fun to play at! The turn out is normally over a 100 players. If you don't let the all the cheating get under your skin this the field for you! The field set up itself is about a 9 but I am giving it a 7 because of all the cheating.
I been playing at the field for almost 7 years. If you want a great field with great refs and even better terrain go to Paintball Sams in Sacromento. I have played all over California and that field is the best!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

CelicaDriven27 Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest
BA Paintball
Review: I have to say, back in the day Jungle was pretty kick-ass, but after today I think that its not as good as it used to be. They say games go every 30min, but from when they opened to close they played only 9 games out of the whole day, which what I must say was slow and boring. I definitely feel like I didn't get my money's worth at all, I would rather go to Sherwood or BA, at BA my friends and I played 9 games in an hour and I had more fun in that hour then I did all day at Jungle. Atleast there games go quicker and you get more for your money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

xboxdude118 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood
Review: The hornets are my only gripe about this field. Ive shot a hand full of them and seen a couple wipe. Wipeing paint happens at all places but in the beez wax game um sure it happens for often than not. The people running the field seem to be of nice peoples. I have a tippmannn a-5 and last time i was there my gun was so dirty that it wasnt shooting properly therefore i was chopping a lot balls. I took it to the front and had the dude look at it and he took it completely apart and pretty much showed me how to clean the gun if it happens again. Long story short he did it for free and fixed my gun to perfect and i only missed one game, so that was tight and i definitly appreciated it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

matthew martine Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 9th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Personally i enjoy this field very much. Ive only been to a few other places in the bay and i definitly think this is the best one. Mainly because the field is the best ive playd on so far. The field itself is huge, its perfect woodsball for those who like woodsball. From dense forest to open areas with bunkers and bases to hide in or around. If you dont want to get shot you need to always be aware. If your not the field is so big that people will come at you in all directions and ull get lit up so pay attention. It might be a little more expensive than other places but i look at it like im paying to play on the field. I wont waste my money on anywhere else cause i guarantee you the field wont be as good.

I have all my own equiptment so ive never rented but the paint there is good. They have evil and i think diablo and a couple others but i forget. They say you have to pay to bring your own paint but ive slid paint in there a few times they ask but dont check. Do what you gotta do but i can get my own paint through without paying so take it for what its worth.

The hornets are my only gripe about this field. Ive shot a hand full of them and seen a couple wipe. Wipeing paint happens at all places but in the beez wax game um sure it happens for often than not. The people running the field seem to be of nice peoples. I have a tippmannn a-5 and last time i was there my gun was so dirty that it wasnt shooting properly therefore i was chopping a lot balls. I took it to the front and had the dude look at it and he took it completely apart and pretty much showed me how to clean the gun if it happens again. Long story short he did it for free and fixed my gun to perfect and i only missed one game, so that was tight and i definitly appreciated it.

All in all ive been here about 7 times in 5 months and ive never had any problems. It is what you make of it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dglatour Monday, November 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mount Diablo, Mare Island, Sherwood Forest, various fields in Canada.
Painball Jungle is the best woods field I've played at.
Review: I am a long time woodsball player ( 13 yrs ). I've played some speed and airball, but my preferred style of play is definitely old school. ( first 2 years played pump action ).

Paintball jungle offers a wide variety of game play, with 3 speedball courses near the southeast corner and an airball court at the north end ( in addition to approx 50 acres of mixed density woods ) There are several well built fire bases with excellent towers and defenses. These were rennovated and significantly improved in the last year adding a great tactical variety to the game play. (if you haven't seen them recently - check it out.)

BeesWax (always first game of the afternoon) pits the local rec team (SF Hornets)against all the walk-on players. Usually the Hornets are outnumbered 5 to 1 or more. The hornets are usually victorious, as they play with a co-ordinated battle plan. If they have 25 players of more, you can expect a Hornet win against most odds. Being beaten by a numerically inferior force can be a frustrating exercise. Most of the complaints I hear revolve around this game - usually that this is an obvious indication of cheating. ( How could anyone beat 7 to 1 odds! )

I have personally witnessed that the source of this confusion stems from three factors;

1. All the hornets are dressed the same, and so people mistakenly think that a player they eliminated is illegally continuing to play. ( in reality it's just the next hornet in range, wearing the same yellow and black t-shirt moving to hold the position )

2. A more organized adversary with better knowledge of the playing area can easily defeat a numerically superior foe, no matter how unlikely it seems.

3. As it is Bob's (field owner) only game of the day, if eliminated early in the game he will invoke the "Queen's Privilege" ; he allows two eliminated players from the opposing team to re-enter play in exchange for his being able to re-enter play himself.

Although it's always possible to get 'wipers' in any crowd - I've seen no higher incidence of this among the hornets that in any paintball crowd. As the saying goes
"if you see a player wiping - shoot him again."

PROs - Very good staff, friendly and helpful.
- Great woodsball play.
- Nice Airball and Speedball courts for faster game play.
- Well designed bases, very fun to play in and challenging to attack.
- Plenty of players ( >100 most weekends)
- Wide range of player skill.
- Very safe play environment
- mostly experienced reffing staff.
- Pro shop better stocked than typical woodball field.
- Great proshop staff

CONs - BeesWax can be intimidating to newer players.
- Large rental fleet, with a few very aged guns.
( check your rental gear before you enter the game.)
- HPA to 3000psi only.

Paintball Jungle is my top field of choice. If you like a classic woodsball experience, with a bit of speedball mixed in - this is definitely the field for you.

Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2005 at 2:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media