paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
pbjunglewingman Thursday, September 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood
Venture
Review: I love this place and my friends and I come here about once a month. This place has a really great setup and its nice and easy. The people here are very nice and helpful they will do what they can to help you. They have two speedball fields and 65 acers of land with six different bunkers/bases. They mostly play capture the flag, sometimes center flag, and rarley elimination. After lunch they have a game called bee's wax which is where every one in the park plays against about 17-20 San Francisco Hornets. The object for you is to kill every Hornet while they try to take your flag. I personaly don't like this game because you use a lot of paint and you can't go far from the base (I like to play agressivlely). This place is more expensive than sherwood the place next door and doesn't have Quit as good of competion as Sherwood so if you are a newbie play here. And at the jungle you have to use thier paint or pay $15 unlike Sherwood. However pb Jungle they have really good paint and good rentals. One of the coolest things about the Jungle is that every day thay have a raffle and evey other Sunday they give away a gun.I personally like Sherwood a tad more but I still love this place so I'll give it a 9.5
Last edited on Thursday, September 16th, 2004 at 9:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballjungle Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest
Venture Games
Review: This is a nice field. It's fun and the people there are nice. They have two speedball fields and 65 acres of jungle. There is like six really cool bases. They also have a raffle everday and a gun raffle every other sunday. I've been here nine times, and I've won a magazine and a field pass twice to get in for free. This is the best field I've ever played on. I would rate it a 10
Last edited on Sunday, January 16th, 2005 at 1:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

diehardhccbb Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood forest is in practically the same place (just up the street)
Review: I have a few things to say about Paintball Jungle. the first thing i learned there was that there is a funky surrender rule. (ouch) The Field is huge and its easy to get lost (even with the referees excellent guidence so bring a compass.)

Staff

The Staff is very competant and understanding. I got there for the last two hours so the guy at the main desk waived the camo and paint fee.(tight!) TOo all who shoot hot (over 300 fps)markers you will be caught! They chrono before EVERY game. They have a cool target range too which would be great to get used to the rental markers.

Forts

The Forts are big things which would each easily hold 50 - 70 people each. They pretty much all have towers(watch your step) from which to fire from. The rest of the field is huge so dont expect attackers to get to your base anytime soon.

HINTS:
1. bring a compass and a map from the front desk
2. the field IS a eucalyptus grove (with great wooden teepee bunkers) and tan, light brown, and reddish orange camo is the best thing too have other than goggles and a marker. (DARK brown, DARK green, and Dark tan is a DISADvantage)
3. time inbetween games is VERY limited (3-5 minutes max) only DRINK WATER, use portapotty(no flush toilet), refill pods and tanks, and clean off old hits and not all in the same break.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

goten353 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is a good place for all kinds of people if ur good or bad or a pro or a newbe. I like this place cuz its the only one i have played at, and for all the people that trash the "hornets" dont listen to them the hornets could lite and body up expect pros me my self im a hornet and im pretty good but u dont wanna mess with us u heard so this is ok and i give it a 10 thats all peace out just kiding this place is huge 10 acres of paintball but the bad thing is that u get tired really easly but doesnt matter that have abunsh of games including "ZULU" thats awesome and the best game of all "BEESWAKS" its all the hornets that r there vs the people who arent hornets but normaly the hornets r out number really out numbered and if u use a lot of paint its going to get expensive that all i give this place a ten so go there its only open saturday and sunday so go and have fun peace out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

catch22 Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
fairly new to the paintball scene; have only played this field so far
Review: Pretty new to the scene of paintball. wished I had started playing alot sooner in life..Oh wells !! Better late then never. My first experience at this field was great.. I thought the layout was cool with the mixture of man made bunkers and natural shrubbery were excellent. I did't realize how big the jungle actually was that first time because I played with a group of guys who chose to play mostly in the speedball fields which was fine with me. Later I came to realize that this place was pretty darn big. makes for interesting scenarios. It's hard to criticize most of the staff because it does get pretty hectic out there, especially during sign in. Altough alot of the staff are made up of young players associated with the Hornets they organize as well as can be. They're paint policy I could do without but I understand that its helps keep the field operating. I'm assuming??..As far as safety is concern, they are very oriented in keeping everyone in check as far as plugs and dry firing are concern. You can always hear someone on the PA sytem blurting out to returning players to make sure their barrells are covered before entering the so called safe zone! Altough I have a gripe to write about the so called resident pro ( Carpet Bob ) as regarda to safety. I noticed once during orientation of the Beeswax game good ol Bob was standing; talking to the masses with marker in hand using a barrell cleaner as a plug. Even I as a newbie no better than to have anything but a designed barrell plug or barrell sock on and not substitute for anything less!! I have also seen instances of player's walking on to games with absolutely nothing on from the waist up besides their face masks!! The poor sucker was just asking for pain but this sets a bad example to alot of impressionable young kids who think this is funny!! As regards to the Hornets; A friend of mine recounted how they befreinded one who was gracious enough to give out paint to my buddy who was playing with his nephews. He continued to praise this guy which was cool but too bad alot of the hornets tend to congragate amongst themeselves.. Hey !! to each his own I say. As far as the cheating goes!! I have experienced several instances in which they seem to always involve guys wearing black and yellow shirts (Hornet trademarks).. just this past sunday 7-11 toward the end of the day as less and less players were available, there were several games in which it seemed players were either leaving early or were sneeking into possition without going through staging. One example: After leaving basecamp at countdown, several players and I decided to flank the opposing base from the side as opposed to rushing straight ahead. Anyone who has played the jungle knows that Airplane fortress and Splatt fortress are at least 150 yards in opposite direction. as we were leaving camp not 20 paces did we get when we were being fired on out of nowhere. After several of us were hit one of our posse managed to tag the opposing player. When this guy exited the bush; not only was he a pretty big guy in weight (and thats being nice) but he just happened to be wearing the color of the Hornets.. No way could he have sprinted to that possition from where his team started!! No way!! When staging for the next game several other players from our team seemed to notice the same thing.. Just as the countdown went; same thing happened from the opposite base since teams usually change places when staging. Not but 10 paces and someone was already yelling there they are!! there they are!! After confronting the ref who was still present he just brushed me off saying they weren't cheating... I was not the only again to notice this but heyl; take it for what it is.. I guess?? Field =10 Hornets=0
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

heff213 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood, WAP, Mare Island (closed), and the new place in Vacaville
Review: I agree with ELP, It is a great rec ball field with a knowledgeable staff. I have ben playing there off and on since 95 but consistently for the last 2 years. The field itself is my favorite, lots of room to maneuver and fight. There are many many bunkers to use, good cover and well designed forts. Usually there is a lot of people to play with which can make for some huge games. I have seen as many as around 75 on a team some days. With a good mix of ages and skills. Don't be surprised if a 12 year old kid tags along with you. The speedball fields could use a little improvement, I think there are too many trees. I have ben asking Bob (the owner) about an air ball field and a shoothouse for a while. They have recently moved the "shack" and built a couple of shaded huts for the cleaning area, which is a nice touch. The after lunch raffle is a cool little activity, and every other Sunday they give away a dragun marker. Yes I think the paint prices are a little high, and the field paint policy is lame, but it does help to pay for new stuff. You can get around the surcharge by buying paint from local shops and asking for a "paint pass", I always get one from Darrens Gun Exchange here in Napa.
Most people complain about the S.F. Hornets, and they do it alot. I personally have never seen one wipe off a hit. But they do tend to intimidate the kids and nobs. Think about it, they play there every weekend. They are for the most part good players with respect for other participants in the game. They play with RUTHLESS efficiency and can adapt to most situations especially in beeswax games. They do tend to overshoot at times, but who doesn't when caught up in the moment.
Overall this is my favorite field to play at. You can play any style you want to, sniper, ambush, or defense ( splat h.q. is the best fort for defense). The field hits all the right points to make a good experience better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

[ELP] Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood - Found it more centered along the lines of speedball and airball Vs. the woodsball of the Paintball Jungle. They're really two different types of fields that cater to two different types of players and they both provide a good experience for the targeted patron.
Review: Field/Staff review
I've played at the paintball jungle for about 6 years, thou 2002-2003 I did not play there as I lived elsewhere. I've played in a number of fields since I began playing and as far as service goes the Paintball Jungle has a very professional staff and they're extremely considerate of their patrons compared to many fields. The condition of the field is very good offering a diverse range of bunkers, tee-pee's and foliage cover in a woods-ball environment to cater to a variety of playing styles. I would rate the field as far as features and such a 10 and the staff a 9.

Players
The players who come to the paintball jungle seem to come from a variety of skill levels but I would mostly group their skill level (scale 1-10 10=pro 1=first timers) in the 1-6 range. There is a large number of newbies on both teams but there are a few people relatively competent in gun mechanics and playing strategy/tactics. Most of the people are very friendly and easy to strike up a conversation with thou I must say that some of the "Hornets" are the least friendly and helpful people who play there.

The Hornets
Some reviews here really bash the hornets and say some pretty inflammatory things, I would take them with a grain of salt as I would any of these reviews, I don't really agree with all the reviews of them but there are some valid points they make on the hornets. My experiences with the Hornets team over the years has been relatively good, I believe that most people who complain about them "wiping" and cheating is just purely from their own lack of skill and frustration from losing to them. The Hornets are a very organized team and work well to combat the often unorganized group of walk-ons and overwhelm them purely with strategy at times. As far as the "Sportsmanship" of the team, I do find them to take the game EXTRA seriously, especially if they get eliminated in Beeswax. I've tried to strike up conversations with them and i'm usually brushed off and looked down upon as i'm not a member of their "in group". I notice this especially with children and such that they will laugh them off or not help the kid who's out there with a rental and can't figure out how to change his velocity. Thou not ALL hornets are like this there are some bad eggs in there that ruin their "Sportsmanship image" by playing themselves off in an elitist manner. I also see the Hornets treated more favorably by the staff and why wouldn't they be? They're the home team and are associated with the owner of the field. Some things I've seen consistently over the years that concern me about the hornets do center around the Beeswax game, I have seen people get shot including myself by hornet paintballs during Beeswax that will cause severe bleeding (removing many layers of skin thru clothing, I don't know if they're not chronoing in or what but the kind of damage i'm talking would have to be from a ball going well over 300FPS). I have brought my injuries and the injuries of others to the attention of the staff who usually expresses great concern over the matter but I haven't seen much to change that yet. Basically despite the fact that I respect the hornets and all I feel they bring the rating of this field down from a 10 to a 9, it's a problem but it won't significantly affect your game if you stay out of Beeswax.

Conclusion
All and all the paintball jungle is a great field, I play there any time for great woods-ball style play with CTF and some speed-ball mixed in, I really haven't been to a better field that caters to this style of play. The only thing I would change is the attitude and true sportsmanship of SOME of the hornets as they drag down my overall impression of the field. Other than that I HIGHLY recommend it for Newbie players as you will be at home with a number of other new and inexperienced players and won't be overwhelmed by Experienced players out-gunning and outplaying you. For the more experienced player this field can be a little mundane depending on the day, but sometimes it's fun to be in a class above most of the other players, or you could try your hand at some beeswax with a team of Inexperienced people Vs. Experienced players.


All in all a good balanced field with good people, but the competition with other players may be boring for a very skilled player.
9/10


Side Note in Reference to the BYOP issue:
You can get "Paint Passes" for the Paintball Jungle that will allow you to bring your own paint from just about any paintball supply store in the S.F. Bay area, the whole point of the no BYOP at the Jungle is to try to curb people bringing in cheap crap/flawed paint from some online discount site.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 at 5:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ChefDragun Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fairgrounds Paintball.....no longer around :(
Sherwood Forest..... good times
Review: My first time to the Jungle was about 4 years ago, I hated it. Noobs get targeted by the regulars and the Pros were cheats. I stuck to playing in Central Cali after that. I've recently gotten back into this wonderful sport and the closest fields are Sherwood and the Jungle, so I decided to give it a second try. As many have said the access road is terrible, but in their defense, the road is in the process (however a long one) of being redone completely. My 4Runner had no problems but you rice rocket guys better convince a friend to drive, wouldn't want your expensive exhaust systems scratched to hell. Parking was ample but shady spots were limited, bring a canopy of some kind. I got a bit of a sunburn my the limited exposed skin. The main headquarters was a bit on the small side for the number of players but I have definitely seen worse. Prices made me choke a bit, $20 to get in(not so bad) but another $15 because I brought my own paint?? That sucked and top it off with another(however expected and reasonable) $10 for all day nitro and my day was a bit more than I can afford to do regularly. Maybe cheaper to just buy their paint?? The Swarm was out and acting mostly as refs but a few games I played with and against and the same prevails....... CHEATS. Over all the were a good group off guys and one girl(today) but a few bad apples spoils the whole bunch. Be suspicious of those playing with lots of exposed skin... I think it is a tactic.... paint wipes off of bare skin really easy. I saw alot f it happening during the Beeswax game. I was put down quick that game but didn't mind cause it gave me lots of time to watch them perform..... a treat I will admit. They do now what they are doing out there. They were even good refs.... fair...in the middle of the game with us instead of on the sidelines........helped you out if you were in a jam(my loader ...Evo II... quit feeding and a ref knew what it was immediately and fixed it for me) and enforced the rules flawlessly........ almost got into an ugly fight with some Thuggish type players who thought they could play by their rules. That is standing up for the game..... mad ups fellas. As for the fields.......... boring.... spent most of the time walking, looking for some to shoot, walking, pushing my way through thick brush. For some of you that might be exactly what you are looking for but it was a bit slow for me. When they finally opened what they call speed-ball up nobody but hornets would play. However it almost was a blessing cause I never played a game on these fields with a team larger than 7. But when we did play it was INTENSE.... those hornets were out shooting everyone and had a game plan... where us walk-ons were having a hard time getting organized. On top of it all there was minimal vertical coverage, I played most of those games on my knees.... not my preference given I play BACK. Still way more exciting than their huge woody fields. To sum up and shut up....... I will go back again but only with a group of friends(this time I went solo) and I won't bring my own paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

heyyo Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation paintball
Review: this field isnt that bad. its really big so you
have to walk alot. prices are sort of expesive.
zulu and besswax are really funn. good for noobs
and pros. crowed most of the time but that ok. its a
fine field. the good thing is that you wont dissapoited
unless bad stuff happens to you which is total luck.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RUNandSHOOT Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont know of any at the moment....
Review: First and foremost I am new at the paintball scene and I am just sitting back and learning. Now as my review goes I can see alot of problems I had when I first when to the jungle.

First being that I have well I think that I have a nice car and for those of you who like there cars and dont want chips be careful and drive slow! The entrance is just dirts and rocks with lots of dips so be warned.

Second, I found that the staging area to buy/rent markers, paint, and to do refills is small even though they have alot of people working everyone is crowded in that little area. This isnt a real negative thing but he cant get annoying. BUT what is annoying is that you have to buy 500 paint minimum on top of admission which is lame.

Third, I found that a good plus was the test aiming range and the multiple fields.

Fourth, the people are great and helpful and so are the workers. But the equipment doesnt look well maintained and has missing parts but they fix it no problem.

Lastly, CHEATING happens after you chrono I have witnessed mulitple times people adjusting. Wipe offs are a regular because of the big size of fields. Last but not least the "beeswax" game is ok where its the local team/club not "pros" goes against everyone else.
Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 2:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media