paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
evil_fingers Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm going to Sherwood Forest next month with some friends so, until then Paintball Jungle is the only field I've played.
Review: The location of the field is ok, the roadway that is used as the entrance to the field needs to be worked on, theres a huge dip just before entering the parking area that scared the hell out of me and they could at least put a warning sign about the dip.Well after I found a spot to park I met up with my friends, I suited up and got my gear together as they did and as I made way to the staging area everyone that was particpating were all bunched up at the counter to get their tanks filled, filling out waivers and paying for rentals, etc now when I stepped up to the counter I was asked if I had my own supply of paintballs in which I said "yes" the employee then informed me that in order for me to play in the games I would have to purchase their paintballs, I paused for awhile and paid an extra $20 for a bag of 500 paintballs after paying the initial entrance fee of $20. The only thing I really like about the jungle is the various playing fields, the shooting range where you can have your marker chronographed and do some firing tests to make any minor adjustments on my 98 custom.
But, the only major gripe I have about Paintball Jungle is why do I have to pay for another bag of paintballs when I already supplied myself, I would've bought more paintballs after I spent all the ones I had.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

tybalt68 Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture Games is the only other organized field i've played in the bay area. venture is good, but it's got way too many hills.
Review: OK, first off i have to say i've only played in private games at paintball jungle so i really can't say much about the sportsmanship of players playing in the walk-on games which i've read a lot here in the reviews. although, experience says that that sort of thing happens all the time at every field.

What i can say is that i've thoroughtly enjoyed my trips to pb jungle. the staff tends to be on the young side, but aren't they always. they and the management are enthusiastic about the sport, their field, and the enjoyment of the patrons. the refs we had for our games were helpful and capable. they even went so far as to suggest strategies and hiding location to inexperienced players prior to the start of the game to ensure that everyone would be able to participate and enjoy the games.

it is a wooded field. there are some psuedo-speedball fields, but if that is what you're looking for you may be better off elsewhere. if, however, you want games on large fields with tree cover, bunkers, and forts. this field is excellent. it is quite large, at least lengthwise and you may have to do some walking for the further away fields. so. what's the big dea, shut up and walk.

i found the turn around time to be excellent. games were called quickly and no one allowed to straggle in late. the private games hauled ass playing as many at 4 games an hour. the walk-on games seemed to move quickly as well with 2 or 3 an hour.

facilities were adequate, with gunsmith on premises and hot pizza brought in for lunch. plenty of parking and tables.

on the negative side, only field paint was allowed. however i did hear that you could bring in paint purchased from associated nearby paintball stores and wouldn't be charged the $15 service fee for non-field paint (i'd check before taking my word for it though). personally i didn't find the "field only paint" thing to be an issue. the prices seemed reasonable and i believe in supporting local well-run fields. buying their paint does just that. but i will say that the cheap-stuff was crap. i tossed most mine in the garbage but my buddy returned his to the counter and they used the money he'd purchased it with toward some quality stuff that played just fine.

the lines in the morning for sign up and paint/CO2 were very long. it happens. get there early, knock it out before everyone else rushes in.

anyways, i had a great time. the people i played with had a great time. and those new to the game, became very enthralled with the sport and can't wait to play some more.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

pblov Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Break out paintball about 1-2 hours from PBJ no longer in business last i heard pretty good but not the same mass of players that PBJ has. it is also more speedball and PBJ is definetly woodsball

Bearcreek Paintball- excellent service, good field, great refs.
Review: I think paintball jungle is one of the best fields I've played at and i'd like to clear up some mistakes that have been made by either mistake or ignorance.
1-the rules are strict but that avoids injuries, I've been shot in the face at another field in the staging area i wish the guy who shot me would've had his barrel plug in! a shot to the face hurts ! trust me.
2- people who don't chrono in are/should be renters and the people who are hot aren't let on. if you walk on and avoid Chronoing inyour a cheater and if your caught they throw you out

3-I've watched the hornets during beezwax and they always chrono in

4- this is a sport(lets state the obvious shall we) there are 3 types of people the whiners, the wipers and the good sports (sorry no W for good sports) anyway all sports have cheaters but when you have 100 people instead of 20-40. more cheaters show up because there are more people simple math.
5- paintballs -all you have to do is buy 2000 for $50 don't use that paint and at the end of the day exchange it for 4 passes and wow 4 days you don't have to buy paint.


i really like the field the, size also encourages players to play in the front instead of laying in the bases and waiting for them to come to you. so you have to walk a lot but maybe you should run, if you don't like exercise don't play paintball or play speedball your choice not mine.

overall the customer service is little grumpy sometimes but if I got asked some of the stupid questions I find them getting asked I would give up and start yelling. overall I give this field a10 /10
Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2004 at 7:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

danmats00 Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture Games, Mare Island Paintball (before it was mowed down)
Review: I will be comparing this field to the other two that i've been to.

The day started out well and on time. During the briefing, the owner didn't seem very enthusiastic about the sport, but i guess that's just the type of person he is - laid back and chill... or maybe he was having a bad day, whatever. The people taking money didn't seem very enthusiastic either... not in the least bit rude, but i didn't feel as welcome as i do when i go to Venture games... you won't find very many smiles, "thank yous", or "pleases" here. I give Bob and his staff a 6/10 for customer service. He could use a lesson or two from Mike (owner of Venture Games). Here's a simple one: Try talking and getting to know ALL of the players. I know this is difficult especially for a busy field like this, but you have no idea how far a smile and a handshake goes...

The field itself is well laid out, plenty of cover, lots of vegetation... i've never used the speedball course so i can't comment on that. 9/10 for field.

Prices - i felt like i was being gouged with a dull knife. Hey, at least it wasn't a spoon... What's with this 500 round minimum or $15 surcharge?? I would appreciate an explanation for this... legit or non-legit, please. And $10 for all day air?? Venture Games charges $2 for the first fill, and $1 every fill after that. I refuse to believe the cost of air rises 100% just by crossing the Benicia Bridge. 5/10 for prices

Well i really can't think of anything else i'd like to rate this field on. I can't common on the Hornets and their reputation for cheating... probably cuz my stupid dragunfly lcd started acting up about thirty seconds into the Beeswax game. oh well...

Overall it's an average field so it gets an average rating, which to me seems a bit generous. I liked how this field started on time and tried to squeeze as many games in as possible... that was probably their strongest area.
Last edited on Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 at 1:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

repins Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2000
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
venture (9/10); santa clara (1/10); bear creek (4/10); sunol (7/10); operation paintball (7/10); and many others
Review: A note to the mods. This post was previously removed for not meeting the requirements because it was deemed to be:
***********
- Thats a story, not a review

- Sounds more story than review.

- Talk more about the fields. Review seemed to give field lower score
due to a team.
***********
I've got news for you, this has "story" elements as you call them, but for every negative review, there is ALWAYS a reason/story why. Removing this post simply amounts to censorship of a person's negative personal feelings on this field and personally I believe that whoever removed it was in some way affiliated with the field (I won't even begin to explain why that is wrong)...let's hope I'm wrong.

This post does contain valid review points which you (whoever that was) seemed to have missed. Read a bit more careful next time.

FACTS: First, the field's design at the time I played was an issue. The kinds of people who seemed to play there (and I wasn't the only one with negative feelings on that issue so it's nothing new). The cheating by those players (the primary problem of quality this field). The staff's customer service at that time (although I my rating wasn't based on this fact it certainly could have been, but would have made my rating worse). For the detailed explaination of these problems you'll need to read the original complete review.

Also this field at the time I played was the home field for the team and they were also affiliated with the field in some way (I didn't understand completely, but I was told that the field supported the team in some fashion but didn't know what)...so they played there all the time. That essentially means that this field's rating MUST be based on that fact because they are an element of everyone's experence who has/will play at this field.

The fact that I gave specific examples from my day on the field is the only way someone can explain WHY they had a negative experience(s) at a particular field. If you know of other ways, by all means enlighten us.

Before reading the rest of this, let me state as I did for another review that was CENSORED, I haven't played at this field in a LONG time. While my experiences at the time were not good (but valid experiences that deserved to be reviewed), that does not mean it's continued to be that way. Personally I have no intention of going back, but if someone hasn't been there recently or has no opinion on this field yet because they haven't played there, they should check it out first and form their own opinion.

On to my review:
I've only played this field once. I've been playing a long time and while I did like the layout of this field (way too much brush though when I was there...was hard to hit anything although you could see nearly everything), I hated playing the hornets...I never played against an organized team that cheats so openly. I know some of you say you never saw them cheat and that's fine...the rest of us have seen them cheat. The 500 yards mentioned by one reviewer is a bit of an exaggeration (ok a lot), but they do leave earlier than supposed to. I can run pretty fast, but through trees I could never get as close as they did as fast...if I waited for the start...it's simply not possible. And when it comes to them being shot...forget about recording your kill. I watched 2 or 3 (can't remember about that 3rd hornet for sure...it's been about 4 years since i played there) openly wipe and continue to shoot at me and others after I clearly shot them all in the chest. Guess the field didn't want to pony up your prize for recording a kill on the field.

The staff wasn't very friendly when I was there, but that was a long time ago so I'm not going to rate based on that. my rating is based on the field layout ONLY! If I were rating this including the hornets I'd give it a 0 if I could. I should probably rate higher than a 3, but I really didn't have that much fun that day overall (regardless of the hornets) so can't even rate the field higher on it's own.
Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 12:37 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

jaked588 Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol Paintball 2000 (recball, speedball)
Review: very bad customer service! the cashiers are MEAN. this is ok, but they make u buy a minimum of 500 paintballs, then you can use ur own. the fields are great. they are open for a long time (8-4:30 i think). i liked it because its the only woodsball field ive ever been to. bad thing is when they call game over, you have about a 1/2 mile walk off of the field, and when you finnally get off, they are calling people for the next game, also, refs dont follow players, they just stay at either base and relax (honor system i guess). lots of cheater/wipers. no shooting distance limit. when playing the hornets in Beezwax, they cheat like there's no tomorrow. the fields are the best thing there (10/10 rating for the fields)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

mR.nAR Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood
Review: well, i went there on 2/28/04, and it was a good day to play. It was sunny and nice temp, but some of the feilds were a little muddy. Some of the speedball are not very well planned out i thought. The refs that i saw were very good, no cheating and stuff like that, they called the shots really well. In the beggining of the day they have an orientation and explain the rules and stuff. Then after that everyone plays. The people who were working at the wooden shack of a shop were nice to the players. When i first saw the"pro-shop", it was worst than i expected, not saying it was bad tho.In the shop they have tools u can use for ur gun and basic items for sale there, which is good.At the beeswax game, i didnt see any of the alledged cheating the hornets use, but saw the skill they had which was ok.nice courses, nice day, great day of fun. the rating below is for the FIELD, and nothing else
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

heezlebub Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol and SCP, pretty much a lot of speedball. None of the rec ball that Jungle has.
Review: First getting to Jungle I was pretty surprised by how spacious the place is. The day I went (02/29/04) there were plenty of people there. Maybe something like close to a hundred people. The day goes through with the field running specific fields in a specific manner. Started with some huge 40 vs 40 people matches. Tons of people running into a forest and shooting the hell out of each other. Then later in the day it goes on to speedball and ends with some more ridiculous sized field play.

As far as the fields go they were either way too big or just not very well set up. At points I got lost with a few other people completely confused as to where we were headed. A lot of time spent on the larger fields are spent just getting to the other side where the other team is at. Then the speedball fields are layed out pretty strange. They're definately layed out to accomadate all the people that might be playing. Really though, I couldn't help but feel the speedball courses were inadequate.

A really big thing at Jungle are the Hornets. The Hornets, I suppose are a field sponsored team and what not. During the day you'll even have a game where it's everyone versus the Hornets. The Hornets basically consist of a bunch of people who have been playing there long enough to be in the Hornets. They'll range in age from 8 to 50.

Personally playing with the Hornets wasn't that big a deal. But with everything there were those that really spoiled a good time. The worst example I can think of was when one of the Hornets thought it'd be funny to shoot onto a speedball field while a game was going on from the sidelines. I was wondering what the hell he was doing when he yelled to the referee to end the game. So the ref yells out, "alright everyone, 30 seconds left," Didn't realize the field and refs catered so much to the Hornets and their every single whim of mongering need.

In end, the field is nice to play at if you want a break from speedball. Though I won't be pushing to go back there any time soon. For my money and enjoyment, I'll stick with Santa Clara Paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wykedguy Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Various other states
Review: I recently reentered the game after a several year break. My god! The 12 year olds have rich parents. Ok... onto the review.

The fields are huge and easy to get lost in. Bring a compass and map. That is cool tho, allows flanking and other tactics. The forts are cool, the field rates on the above average scale for me.

Players... lots of money in equipment. Can't buy teamwork or sportsmanship at this field. He**... its actually hard to find. This is were the lack of role models and the pre-pubescent crowd kill the game at the field. I have found a few good tacticians and players... the rest want to play 'civil war' ball by lining up and emptying their hoppers.

Beeswax... the Hornets... I know they are a club team. Not professional, not semi. Well... it shows. I opt to sit out Beescheat games. In a nutshell, confirmed by many, they leave early, the run their guns hot, and the Angels with Halo's sit up front and go as fast as they can while the poorer (money and experienced) players sit back. Good tactic I guess except for the wiping when you actually hit one. "Actually hit one" you ask. The game starts, they have to be at least 200 yards away... I travel an average of 30 feet before coming under fire. Last time I looked around during the orientation, I did not see Carl Lewis or any other Olympic grade track runners on their team. With all this in mind, on the last Beeswax I chose to play, I took cover and was pummeled by a hot automatic gun. Put in my plug and walked off. Both hands and gun in the air, behind the front line or autos, and some 'yungun' shoots me anyway. I could have settled it on the field but SOMEONE has to show sportsmanship.

The kicker, the 'sales' guy came around and asked if we (the rest of my group) wanted to join. Uhhhhh.... no.

I got to watch first hand as the resident pro was shot and wiped. He later advised it was the 'Queen Bee' exception and he could wipe once. Did that work on the pro level Bob?

Its a place to play. If you can stand the cheating and lack of sportsmanship... it can be enjoyable in a twisted kind of way. The field is quality. The volunteer help is questionable. The prices... it goes with running a business. Playing Beeswax or any of the Hornets is like being involved in the North Hollywood Shootout... Rules are selective here, Hornet play is down right dirty.

On the plus side, I have met many nice people during the discussions (and first aid) about the cheating that prevails everyday.

Just a suggestions, screen Hornet members and don't just allow anyone with a gun to join. Lose some profit and gain some credibility.

Because the field has potential... I give the following
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
25 Comments - Add Comment

1234 Big Baller Tuesday, January 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none except private property
Review: When I first came to the Paintball Jungle I had no idea what to expect because it was going to be the first time i had gone to an actual place. I sort of was expecting a horrible field because of all the negative reviews other people have given it. When i got there it didnt seem so bad and everyone was very nice. Magic Carpet Bob is very strict on the saftey at his park. I really like how the jungle was set out how all the bunkers were made out of nature and that there were many hiding spots to pick somone off. About the cheating issue, I really didnt see that much except for one person.Also when i went there the refs made us chrono in every game. It also seems that the hornets get a head start because you dont get very far before you start getting shot. I do agree that they have high paint prices but they have to make a profit some how and why not on paint.
My friend thought that he hit Bob during bees wax and when the went up to him Bob was very nice and admitted he got hit but it was a bounce. All in all i think this is a great park and all the people who write bad reviews for this park are just exagerating and should really try it out for themselves instead of taking other peoples word.
Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2004 at 6:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media