paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Frontline Paintball Field / Frontline Paintball Field / Frontline Paintball Field / Frontline Paintball Field

Frontline Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
8Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 747-4653
Address: 10 pearl place
St.John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1N 3L6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
KWGPaintVeins Saturday, May 14th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: First of all these guys don't have all the crazy good experience people claim them to have. They are the same as any other field, if not worse. They understaffed a lot and they DO NOT enforce safety as meticulously as they SHOULD! I cannot believe how lenient they are about safety. I was at their store one time choosing a new gun and I was given the opportunity to shoot a TPX pistol, this would have been great, except the person running the store saw no need to use safety equipment even though there were people who could be hit! On top of all that their paint is horrendously over-priced and it's terrible quality too. They don't check the bags for breaks and 2000 paintballs (on average is $40) is being sold at this excuse for a field for $160! What the hell? I would never recommend playing at this field ever, these guys over price their JUNK and don't enforce safety, give terrible quality paint. AND there was NO HPA fills!?!?!? What the hell? C02 destroys guns, this is a terrible place to be, don't play here
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jake_1125 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Umm..Behind my house?
I think there's Outlaw up in White Hills, but That's about it
Directions
to the Field:
Just get a map of they're site.
www.newfoundlandpaintball.com
Review: Frontline had come a long way, I'll Admit that. We'll break this review down into the two feilds, and then subsection it from there.

OUTDOOR FEILD:
-SPEEDBALLl: Beautiful feild, woodchips carpet the playing surface for a nice sliding surface. Great to play, except when it rains, because then it, Guess what? Get's muddy. Aw Well...

"ROAD" FEILD:
This is the feild that surounds the entrance road to the safe area. There's, pretty much everything here. Wooden barriers, Creeks, Rivers, An Old Bus, oil tanks, fish boxes. Tires. Great feild for Mini Scenarios.

"SCENARIO" FEILD: Think the Road Feild, just minus the road and Bigger. Has a little "City:" of green bunkers on one end, and an Octagon Fortress on the other, near the staging area.

"WOODSBALL" FEILD: Great little feild with "Ball Wall" log bunkers, a fort in the middle and lots of cover. A little less "Random" then the other feilds.

-RENTALS: Okay, not the greatest. I'd say out of the five or so times I've had to rent a marker from there, out of three something was wrong, namley no Co2. the Rentals, depending on when you play, Vary. If it's a busy Weekend, you may get stuck with a Winchester, but if it's not too bad, then you're looking at a Tippmann or a Piranha.

-SALES: Small Shop. Accesories and gear, one or two markers. Oh! And there's Food!

-STAFF: Understaffed, but always professional. Great Guys.

-SAFTEY: This is a killer point for me. Saftey, while it is VERY GOOD, could be better. What you get is a lot of Noob kids, out having a party, thinking it's okay to shoot they're markers in the safe Zone "Just this once" The punisments for this aren't strict enough, I've seen kids waving they're guns around WITHOUT PLUGS repeatledy. One kid very nearly shot my Eye out one time, untill I gave him a stern lecture. The only way to get to the Safe zone is by the road, which also happens to be a feild. Yes, they have goggles up "Topside" that you can borrow to get down, but this building (that they are kept in) is Very rarley open, much aless staffed, Because they are understaffed. You get parents tyring to find they're kids, walking onto feilds! Only because of the Good, Lightning reflexes refs are they left unscathed.

-ORGINASATION: On Weekends and Tourny Days, Poor. Rest of the time, Excellent.


INDOOR FEILD:
-SPEEDBALL: Intensley designed indoor speedball feild, sometimes even Glow-In-The-Dark speedball!

-SALES: Pro Shop, Has everything, but could be stocked a little better. If they don't have it, be sure they're get it for you.

STAFF: Excellent, Saftey-Rooted andHilarious Guys, like the Woodsball ones. I(Well, same guys)

SAFTEY: Speed Limit is 225 FPS indoors, and it almost feels safer there, proabably because it's easier for the refs to keep and eye on the kids.

OVERALL:

As I said, they've come a long way. Tom, Beth, and they're crack-team of Refs make paintball fun for everyone. It's fair, it's supervised and it's fun. Like all small buisnesses, it has some growing pains, that being the Understaffment, but I'm sure this will change soon enough, and when it does there will be huge changes made. There are lines of people who want to work there, including me. Tom will go to great lengths to make sure that everyone is playing fairly and has a good time, and will always try to learn your name. Whatever your pre-concieved notion, please try both feilds, I guarantee you'll fall in love with it.


Frontline is simply, The Best.

PS: Come Join me at "Battle For Stalingrad" '07! We'll win again this year, that I'm sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

=M4= Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
never played any yet, So the review maybe bias
Directions
to the Field:
Just outside Mount Pearl and St. John's on Duffett's road
Review: Safety: 280fps is a must. Face-mask too.

Field, Facilities, Food: is a combination of a field, cover on a trail (like a bus, walls, random objects, two "shacks"), and a woods area (with cover walls secured on the trees). Two "HQ's" at either end of the field which is great for when you need paint of refill. And there a lunch break BYOF or buy on site. (UPDATE) Well not so much "HQ's" the one in the fields is the Main safe house between games. The fields are well made, it's just too much fun. And there is a speed ball field too.

Hour of OP: Different times for different things. (UPDATE) In summer time open games Sat and Sun @ 2 to 4

Prices: $70 for a case PMI paint, $80 for Polar Ice, $5 for all day refills, $10 entry fee, Frontline has a point system that really encourage player to come and play. (UPDATE) Those are senerio game prices.... I spent $XXX.XX at the shop, so I on sort of a Platinum level membership so all I got to do is pay for paint and air/CO2 for the open games SWEEEEEEET. All purchases are keep and recorded for the points, MMMMM BRILLIANT

Services, Proshop, Staff: Never had to get service yet, but the shop is filled with everything (wish I had to go there first), from markers, accessories, swag, to magz. Tom is great and seems to want everyone to play fair and mostly have fun!!!!! He sends everyone email to keep us up to date on events COOL!!!!!

Ref and players: Ref are great if you get shot or in paint/refill they give everyone on the field a head-sup!!!! Players, well, seems to be a loyal player base.

This is my first time at the field, so I just got the get in the swing of things, once you do that it will be a great experience. Tom you got a good thing going!!!! Note is an indoor field too.
(UPDATE) This Field is bigger than I thought with 4 sectioned fields!!!! KICK ASS!!! WELL organized, the ref's on the ball (THEY SEE EVERYTHING!!!!! ;) LOL ). LOTS OF FUN, GREAT STRESS RELIEF, I don't know why I didn't get involved earlier?!?!?!?
Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 3:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mightymurph Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 27th, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Catalyst paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Outdoor feild: Duffets road
Indoor feild: Pearl place on brook feild road
Review: In my four years of playing paintball at this feild i have learnt alot about the way the it works, and got to know the employ'es very well. And I have one thing to say wow, I have nerve met such a bunch of collective and responsible characters. Unless there is some over whelming force that holds them back, mostly every game is on time and well organized. The tourtaments there are extreamly well refereed, and not only that but there is always many teams to play agianst, and half way through the tourtaments WIENER ROAST!. Senarieo games are extreamly well organized. With the 100 + people the refs keep everything organized. There is no cheating or arguments to be heard of. If you are ever in Newfoundland, Frontline paintball is the place to go! If you like woods and senarieo there are 3 feilds for you! But if your more into airball come the summer there will be 2 airball feilds for you to play on!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bisquit_1125 Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields in the area except for outlaw up in whitehills.
Review: This is the third time I've written a review on frontline. I will try to make this one the best.

The original Frontline paintball was run out of Fairway's golf. After fairway's closed, Frontline moved into a spot on Topsail road. After a year they closed down that field and started to build their new field. The new field is the best yet. It's on a dirt road (Duffet's road) on the TCH. If you're coming out of the city, you have to go past it, get on the Cochrane pond overpass (watch for potholes!), and come back towards the city. Once you pull into the parking lot, you see all these little train car like buildings. They're actually Chinese antartic expidetion homes. Neat, eh?

They're are four fields.
The speedball field: Woodchip covered ground makes for a softer sliding surface. Inflatable speedball bunkers.

Three-man Woodsball: Can play more than three b'ys. Original log barriers and forts. I usulally get trapped by firefights out on the path.

Scenario: You have to play this field! It has a big octagonal fort on one end and a city of green barriers on the other. In between is everything from briges to barriers to tire bunkers!

Road: The service road from the parking lot to the safe area. Makes you quite paranoid. There's the old classic bus to hide in, little valley's and tire stacks. (Jump in and become the human turret!)

Now for the field service...

Markers: Piranha field rental or Whinchester semi-auto. the whinchester's are pure crap. sorry tom...
The service is great, everyone is willing to help everyone. But a word to the wise, if you have a game at 3:30, arrive about quarter after three and expect some A#$%*lE to hold everything jup cause he can't decide how much paint he want's to pay for or he can't find his coveralls or something.

Conclusion: WHY ARE YOU READING THE BOTTOM YOU SHOULD BE OUT THERE PLAYING BY NOW!!!!!!!!!

EDIT: Febuary 3rd, 3006:
Frontline has opened an indoor field! Woot!
The new indoor feild is located in Pearl Place, Mount Pearl. The proshop and repair shop are going to move out of the old house on Topsail road to here. I haven't been there in awhile, but I've been told the place is amazing now. When I was there the place was in need of some repairs, a designer, a moving crew and A HEATER! God, it was freezing! The field is indoor speedball, really sweet. Makes for some intense games. Couple of notes, it's FPO and you're only allowed to shoot rampage white paintballs, Speed limit is 225 FPS, and you're only allowed 50 paintballs/game. If you're one of those people who just can't go into a game without a million paintballs and you're electro set to bust, go home. Yes, get back in your car and go home, watch the OC or eat pizza or something. Wait 'till you can play the outdoor field. There's a paint limit so the floor dosen't get too slippery. Also, you might want to consider picking up a cheap pair of kneepads from Canadian Tire or somewhere, it's a concrete floor. And nothing ruins you're game like dropping to a slide on your knees and yelling "OWIE!"
Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 1:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kn7 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hellhounds - Part of Frontline but I haven't played there and I don't know where it is (Frontline is closer according to the distance "thing"(sorry pbreview.com, can't think of it right now for some odd reason;)) on this website.
Review: This field is truly amazing. They have 4 fields - 1 Speedball, 1 Scenario, and 2 Woodsball fields (Small fort and the Road). Personally I think the Speedball and Road really are sweet.
If you are playing with 12-28, the Scenario field is really intense. It is really big with a Big Log Fort at the South-West end (SW to the Safe Area/ NE to the parking lot) In the scenario, there is lots of natural cover with artifical cover as well. There are rivers, bridges and more things that really heat up the game.
I do not paticularly love the "Small Fort" field because people on my team never cover me very well and I have only played starting on one side. That is not the field's fault though. The "Small Fort" field is still challenging, with lots of cover. But I think the team that starts on the far side has an advantage because, if you run up a bit on the far side you can get a lot of cover and can pin the other team down. If you run a bit when you are on the team on the near side of the field, you will be in the middle of an open area which means you are instantly out because of the dozens of paintball that are flying at you. But the good thing about starting on the near side of the "Small Fort" field is that you can flank amazing well. So really the field is evened up because of that. It can be a pretty damn good fight.
The "Road" field is my 2nd favorite (After the speedball). The road is actually the path from the parking lot to the Safe Area. When you play there, it is very interesting because there is are many different types of bunkers. On this field there is an area which has planks of wood standing upright. This can be very good cover for one of the teams and can be used to flank the same team if you are on the other team. More highlights include: A Old Bus, Loads of cover, the sides are in the woods, the middle has lots of cover but is a little bit open. The mixture of all the things on this field lead to quite a fantastic game. On the "Road", you never know what team is going to win.
Last but not least, The Speedball(Airball) field. This field is my favorite for many reasons. One reason is that you can see everybody on the field. But that doesn't mean it is easy to hit them! There is lots of different inflatable bunkeres including: "Tacos"(Don't know why everybody calls them that), "Cylinders", and many other "Objects" that cover you well. On the speedball field there is also a Snake and a "Rocket-Ship" shaped bunker in the middle of the field (They didn't get a "X" bunker because the field was their own design).

Overall, this field is definately a great place to be. Since there is like only one other field in the St. John's area (Hellhounds - as said before part of Frontline). It is very fun place and the service here is great. Not to mention the prices arn't that bad. Although they could improve.
I give it 9.5 out of 10 (Rounded to 10) because of the costs. Other than that, this field is superb.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

travo5000 Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Frontlines new field is the best! they got about 5 feilds including a speedball field. I think anyone that wants to have some fun in st.john's get out and play paintball at this filed. you will probably get your own paintball stuff, you'll love it so much.

They now have an indoor speedball field. It isn't complete but the field itself is done. It is extremly well done. I suggest you get out and try it.
Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 8:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jimmy2222 Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I've never actually plyed anywhere else except up in the woods with my friends. frontline paintball has excellent service and pretty good fields for now. They will be getting some new fields in, including airball, woods, scenario, and speedball. they'll have somthin like 5 fields by the middle of july or so. iIf you live in the St. John's vicinity and ocacasionally play, you have to come here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media