paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field

Paintball Palace Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 541-465-4766
Address: 1820 W 7th Avenue
Eugene, Oregon 97402
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
blueqaz Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hosking supply
Review: ok paintball palace WOULD be an ok place to go if it didnt have the following:

EXTREMLY steep prices

really painty field that never gets cleaned( they use a squeege on walls)

sawdust is NOT the right playing surface when mixed with paint

cramped waiting area

non quallified staff(cant even fix a chopped ball....)

pro players with insanely good markers slaughter new players with out mercy

surender-or-die rule is not enforced

but it also has some good things:

towers are cool

good field layout

close to home

overall i think it is worth it to drive somewhere else because the paint prices and steep green fees pay for gas to salem (warpaint) or lebanon (hosking supply) i think you are better off elsewhere
6/10

P.S. did i mention that they have a monopoly on the paintball buisness for about 40 miles?
Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 2:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

elfboy382 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 15th, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: I started playing at PP, i think it is a good field, not the best, but good. The prices are incredibly high if they are what they used to be(havent played there in a while), I mean, 100$ per case(RIP!!!), they have nice people, a great field, and GREAT employees, the first time i went paintballing, i was given a paintball magazine for free.
I would give this field a 7/10(lowered because of paint prices, other wise a 10/10)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rand al'Thor Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none yet
Review: I have always gone to Paintball Palace when I play paintball. It has an ok selection of gear, guns etc. but the price of paint is kinda high.
one problem I had with the place is the saw dust covering the arena...it gets everywhere...
it has a nice set-up with the bunkers, it is divided into 5 different areas: The Castle, The Roach Motel, The Jail, Funky town and there is the center part of the field.
each area is unique, and very cool. my favorite strategy is to take majority control of the territories, therefore trapping the opposing team in their own base.
The arena is dark sometimes, which makes for an interesting and realistic experience, but they occasionally turn the lights on

conclusion: the only place I've been to, but its a good time
just be careful when buying guns from them, I asked for a gun that could stand up to the Tippmann Model 98 custom....they sold me an Icon E....that's a good solid base, but it's accuracy sucks when compared to the 98

Update: the place on River road closed, I think they merged with paintball palace, and since then, Paintball palace has a better selection. I think I'll up my rating of the place, because of this and because my sister's fiancee knows the guy who owns the place, and he sounds like a smart guy
Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 5:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
sorry i was on vacation and i was bored so I just stopped by and played for the day
Review: When i went to this place it was nice and all, the proshop had just about anything you can think of, This is actually the place where my Tournament Grade spyder was born, here i got the ACS Bolt, Rocking trigger, and Evolution 2 hopper.After I bought these things i wanted to try it out and play a few games, all that showed up that day was a bunch of regulars, they kept on accusing me of having a full auto gun, (apperently they had never been to a speed ball tournament). So the owner talked to me and told me i just had to slow down the shooting allitle, when he asked me to do the chrono he told me to shoot like i was in the field and i shot 15 bps, he told me just to tone it down allitle, he also told me they don't play the same in oregon as they do back in Minnesota. But back to the review, the field was really cool buildings to run through and tubes to hide behind, it's indoor hyperball, the only thing i disliked about the field was there was no ref acctually on the field, there was a box where one would stand but there was nothing in there. The owner stood by the entrance of the field to make sure you had your gun on safety. the prices were allitle steep about 25 for 500 paint. But i really liked this field it truly was an expereice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Remington Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Can't remember the names, but a few fields in Albany and Portland
Review: First off let me say I have always found the management and staff of PBPalace to be pretty top notch, I will however agree that their prices are outrageous and that until recently the field material was crap, I read the dispute over the velocity ot the guns that is allowed and I have not heard of many indoor fields that set it higher, however I do know that most outdoor fields have the field velocity set at 285 But WE. on another note the staff may just know me or something, but whenever I need something done to my gun that I lack the tools to dothey will loan me the tools to fix it in the lounge because they even admited that I seem to know something about my gun that they dont in terms of what works and how to fix it Overall, I give their customer service an A and the field a B+
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wickedimpygod05 Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warpaint, Weekend Warriors NW, Portland Paintball, Own field.
Review: Alright, Paintball palace is a pretty tight field, most people htere are pretty skilled with guns, but it does depend on the type. THey do have different techs but no certified WDP(angel) techs, or certified bob long techs, if they do scince i was there 2 days ago, please correct me.

The arena has some good and bad qualites but what field dosent. I personally dont like the sawdust, because it mixes with paint and gets really gross and all over everything. I think that if they had enough money almost everyone would agree wiht me that if they put artificial grass down(turf) itd be alot nicer, and be easier to keep clean.

THe layout is not my personal favorite as i am used to speedball/airball, whereas there field is more condensed and alot of buildings are on it. THe towers are definatly a downside for they are a waste of paint for the players that actually like to play, because the newer players sit up there and hide with there guns aimed on the doorways.

THe proshop is ok, they have a few decent electronic guns from time to time, but hardley anything at the timmy, cocker, mag, or smartparts level. They have other nice gear, apparel at least. Unfortunatly they only have two or three brands of jerseys/pants.

Overall I think that it is a fun place to play if you have enough cash to pay the paint fees of 4 for 50paint and 7 for 100 paint. Id give it a B for field and a B- for proshop
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin100 Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: First of all I just want to say that I among many others have also not had good experiences with Paintball Palace. I decided to write this after seeing the other guy here with the same experience as myself.

I had a gun for about 2 years and it worked flawlessly. I was at the Palace one day and the guy behind the counter asked me about my gun and how I liked. I told him it worked great no problems. After talking to him for a while he told me that I should bring my gun in for a tune-up to make sure it would last longer. So I did.

Big Mistake....
I paid $45 for tune-up (about the same cost anywhere else) and when I got the gun back (3 weeks later they got it finished, only after I called them about every day), I shot maybe a case through it and then it started giving me all kinds of problems. So I took it back (a different guy was at the counter this time) and they told me it was working great when I left. I told them I shot maybe a case through it and then it quit. They told me they could look at it for $15 and tell me what was wrong with it. So I agreed, then they call me and tell me the valve was no good and the threads inside the gun were stripped. So I was pissed and just told them to give it back to me.

That's when I found another place in Eugene, Paintball Sports (on river rd and Irving). I took it there and they told me for $45 they can tune it, I told them that I just went through this at the palace and showed him my receipt. So the guy there took my gun and tried shooting it, he told me that it was definitely a valve problem and opened it up right there. Inside he showed me what had happened.
Whoever worked on it last didn't loctite the valve retainer and the pressure of the gun forced it out, stripping along the way. I told him the gun worked fine before I took it there and then this happened.
He said that maybe he could fix it, he took it in back and 15 minutes later he had re tapped the inside and had it timed and everything! I told him I'll gladly pay for the work and he told me don't worry about it! I have never had another problem with my gun and it has been almost a year now.

As for the paint issue, they don't keep the paint you have on a card in a bucket for you. So why say they don't keep paint that long. I say if you pay for it and they talk you into buying more by saying they can keep track of it for you on a card system then you should be able to get it when you want it or tell you up front that they will only keep it for so long.

And to comment on the be easy on the kids there just kids statement...

We don't go to a pro shop because they hire kids that need a job. We go to a Pro Shop to get answers, quality service and respect. Otherwise we would go to Walmart.

I would say for Paintball Supplies in Eugene go to the Paintball Sports place, they can fix any gun out there and quickly too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ahipdaddy Friday, September 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Albany outdoor, Warpaint indoor, Kaiser field.
Review: First of all I am very happy that there is a place like pbreview to voice our opinion. This sport has been growing like wild fire and for it to legitimately grow to the mainstream we must constantly voice change and correction.

As in my review of Paintball Palace I would like to begin in saying I am always glad to see any form of a field that is local so as in the argument about monopoly, there is no argument. This is America if you don't like it go somewhere else or fork out the capitol and take the risk that comes to starting a business. I am 35 years old started in this sport because my son had a itch for it so he started playing at 7 now he is 10. I would have not had the opportunity to see him grow and enjoy this sport if this was not available. Now as in fair play, It all comes to you as a individual. Look we are in control of our future in this sport meaning if we play like cheaters or hurt other players that are new, all we are doing is taking a step back. I want to see this sport grow so no more whining and lets help each other whether it is teaching or looking out for each other this will make it grow.

As for the field of play, lets look at this realistically. Eugene isn't the easiest city to open a outdoor field so our choices are limited but the upside is that it rains 80% of the time anyways so we should be very grateful they are here..

All the complaining about the price of paintball and entry. Well I can agree to a certain point but then again if they lower the price will you play 3 times more the amount. Look it is a business and I don't think the owner is getting rich off a couple of booked weekends remember he still pays for employees during the week days which are very slow so lets either come up with a great suggestion or just get out of the sport. No one said it was inexpensive. I say make it a treat for yourself when you go here. That way your not focusing on all the negatives.

The field, well my son doesn't like it large part because he has been bunkered many times by older teenagers and adults that don't think about good sportsmanship so he prefers air-ball. The field of play is very compact, and dark but my opinion is I love the short field and maze like atmosphere and time to time, dim lighting can help work to your advantage. As of the quality of the field I read some of the complaints just be thankful it isn't black berry bushes your jumping and diving into or even better straight up asphalt. I think sometimes people get so personal on a bad experience that they spoil every second they can while they are there.

Employees, let see you got guys that are a little over 18 years in age. I think sometimes some of these grown ups who write in forget what it is to be young and running at a work place by themeselves for the most part they are pretty mature for there age why don't you get to know them.

I read the negative bit on the professionalism. Take the time to see how proactive they are with the kids and new players. They constantly try to make sure that safety and fun is the number one priority. I've seen it and I was shown this 3 years ago when I first started playing so to one is his own opinion.

As of the standing around, I wasn't there but I'm glad I can walk in a store and be greeted and just talk to 1 of those guys about the sport or just chit chat. That's great customer service. Remember every body is allowed to have a bad day. I've had those days with all different fields and I have fortunately traveled extensively with my son to great fields and had bad experience but I don't give up on it. I just give it another try.

The moral to my letter is there is no perfect situation no matter where you go.
Do the best with what you got and everything will work its way through. Paintball things I want to change cheaters and whiners.

B field B+ customer service pricing C+ could work on maybe doing buy cases from the palace and entry fee night special.

Thanks for the review
Ahipdaddy

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

polishguy84 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush - run by professionals
Review: This was my third visit to Paintball Palace. I took a group of guys on a Saturday night for my bachelor party. This will be the last time I visit the place and here is why:

The place is run by a group of 18 year kids who think they know it all and are just down right rude. At the counter there were three kids who I guess just come in to hang out (they did not work there), but they were running around wrestling with each other and ran into me and my group a couple of times. They shouldn't of been there unless they were paint-balling or buying merchandise.

I talked to the guy at the counter to check up on my left over paint from the time I was in before and it just so happened that he couldn't find it. Eventually one of the other kids found my card with the left over paint but claimed they don't keep them after a certain time.

So we start to play. The place does not have a referee, one of the 18 year old kids calls the game by mic, but is not even watching the game. Now I know that paint-balling is a dirty sport, but the sawdust they use on the field was saturated with paint as if they hadn't changed it out in a year. We were playing two vs two and all of a sudden another guy joins in. I thought I saw him behind the counter and asked if he worked at the place but he replied "no", found out later that he did work there. Here is a hint for business. IF you want more customers to come and play you don't let a guy come out with a high-end marker that works at the facility and let him lay into some guys who are just coming out for a good time. I would of been okay with it, but we had a couple of newbies in the group.

So after we are done, I take my loader off to give back the paint for my next visit. The kid stated that they are under a new policy that they do not take paint back. I know that indoor paint is more expensive but now they don't even take it back!!! Not to remind you that they might lose your paint card anyway which seems like a scam so they get you to buy more.

I have never been to an indoor facility that does not accept paint back. The unfortunate thing is that Eugene only offers one indoor paint field, so Paintball Palace has sort of a monopoly, but here this, if you want more business I suggest things change, because the poor service, disgusting paint soaked mush field, poorly ran games, and new policy not to take paint back will keep me and any of my fields far away from Paintball Palace.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilcheese3 Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warpaint, Albany Outdoor
Review: I don't know why people rip on this place, i've been coming here for 8 years, I have witnessed the changes it has gone through, and this place has never let me down. The people here are awsome, they know what they are doing, and they do the best they can with he limited space they have. The price is a little high, but that never stops anyone from playing there, I've been coming here for so long, they don't charge me fore my air fills anymore. The place is very fun to play in. It is dark, but not too dark, so the adrenaline is always there, if anyone is in the area, I highly recommend this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media