paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field

Thornton Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 170 Dilworthtown Rd
Thornton, Pennsylvania 19373
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
girlplayer Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Capt'n Carls, Skirmish USA, Revolultion
Review: Steve and Jeff run a great field and have since they opened it. It's clean and maintained, even after bad storms they are out fixing the bunkers and cleaning up. I've been playing at the field since the second summer it was open. It's expanded a bit since then which is good for them and good for players.

I personally love playing at the field because not only are Steve and Jeff great about it. They try to step up public games when they know they have a lot of different players interested in it that can be there. Sometimes it works out for them and sometimes it doesn't, but they keep going.

I haven't found any other field that has such good owners that do what they can for the players so the players have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Billy1721 Monday, October 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Captain Carls-a lot cheaper and in my opinion a lot more fun.
Skirmish-nothing compares, but cheaper.
Review: This is an amazing field. It's a fairly big field with 2 main wooden plywood bunkers set up on each side. I prefer the right side/high ground myself, but the bunker layout is very good and even. There is a safety netting up at the top of the hill, where everyone gets ready and chronographs their gun. They usually have a public game every 2 weeks or so with the Philly Paintball Group. (which I am a member of). PPBG is an awesome group of talented guys on a scenario team that are a lot of fun to play with. They won MVT (most valuable team) twice, at the NJ Nam and Russian Front. It's 14.00 for Evil paint (which is a decent quality) and 16.00 for Blaze. You can rent a complete gun package, or get your CO2 filled for 3 or 4.00. If you go to a game where Ray is there, he brings 2 scuba tanks for you to get your HPA filled. Steve McCann refs and owns the place and does a great job. Sometimes you can chip in 3.00 and they order pizza from a local place. Overall an awesome field which is light on the wallet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

idiot1983 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SkirmishUSA, Capt'n Carl, County Sports,
Review: The field is top quality. Two Brothers run the field. They they are very good at enforcing the safety rules. The field is about 2 acres big. The bunkers are a mixture log piles, stick piles, wood chip piles, plastic 55 gallon drums, and two plywood forts. The bunkers are layered out in such a way that both sides are well balanced. They have Diablo Heat and Nelson Precision but they only fill CO2 not HPA. They don't have a proshop and they only take cash. This is a great field for both beginner and experienced players alike.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Poco Loco, Del Hobbs, County Paintball....
Directions
to the Field:
Go to mapquest or yahoo: 170 Dilworthtown Road, Thornton, PA 19373 (Close to West Chester, PA to give you an idea of its location).

The field does not have a sign, just look for the house with lots of cars parked by it.
Review: The field is great for what it is a free field in the suburbs of Philadelphia. It is a single field. There are a two fairly small forts made with plywood and wood stacked up. Public games have no entrance fee and field paint is $14 or $16 for 500. The cheaper was Nelson Precision and the more expensive is Diable Heat. I think CO2 is $5 per fill, I use HPA, so I don't know. No HPA fills. If you want pizza, everyone chips in $3 and they get cheese pizza delivered. It is run by two brothers (Jeff and Steve). They have a red chronograph ; 280 FPS field limit. There are no refs, so it is the honor system on hits. It is a woodsball field, camo helps a little because there are trees, wood piles that camo can help conceal you. Water is provided. They take a bunch of pictures that are posted on their website: http://www.thorntonpaintball.com/

Most of the people who play there regularly on public games are locals, so they know the field well.

Pros: Price (no entrance fee)
Cons: They don't have that many public games...most are private games reserved for parties. Field paint could be a little cheaper (volume discount if you buy a case)

I'm giving it a 10 because it is the type of field that i am looking for... wooded, casual and affordable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tecciztecatl Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, Skirmish, PocoLoco
Directions
to the Field:
near rt 202 & 1
Review: We took a private group of beginners out there and had a blast! There is only one medium sized woodsball field, but it is great for a group of 20. It has many wood chips, so it doesn't get muddy (even-though it rained a little) and enough cover to hide behind!

Pros: good price, close location, private field, great quality paint, pictures taken and posted quickly, friendly operators, safe deadbox, owners are great at accommodating your group.

Cons: slow start, no refs, no bathrooms (except the dude's house), no sign out front, need to enforce safety issues, only one field, no armbands

Conclusion: I liked this field and plan to play there again soon! It is a great place to go for a few hours at a good price!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonSP 2159 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played in a few differnt fields in PA and this one is right up there with the best
Review: I have been playing at this woodball course now for a while and it is a good experience. The Field is owned by two brothers who are both very friendly. the field is very safe and is very cheap to play at. The rental package is a tippmann 98, a mask, a gravity hopper, stock barrel, and 500 paintballs for $35. the owner of the field takes pictures though out the games and posts them on the web site, www.thorntonpaintball.com . This is a great field to go and play woodball for a low price and just have fun. i suggest that if you are in the area u check out the website and go and play
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

merc Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This is a decent field. I've been going to this field for over an year and will keep going. The owners are two brothers that have a field setup in the woods behind their house. Don't think its a woodsball field cause its really not, I don't like woodsball. Its logs, barrels, other wooden objects that are used as cover. The field is huge and many players come to play on public games. I have played with about 40 guys once so the field can hold this much comfortably.
No entry fee so thats a good thing. Their paint is $14 or $16 a bag depending on what quality you want. All is good quality though. Not sure the co2 cost cause I have nitrogen and they dont fill that yet.
They have netting around the field and whenever your outside of the netting you must have your mask on. Same with barrel plug when behind the netting. Saftey is good they check your markers and all.
Another nice things is that they take pictures all the time. So go and look on the website for you pictures and whatever. www.thorntonpaintball.com

Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 7:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media