paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field

Battlefront Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 330-766-1253
Address: Rt 304
Hubbard, Ohio 44425
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bpoydence Sunday, September 25th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 17th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TRP, MVP, Paintball Xtreme
Directions
to the Field:
For directions, check the website. www.battlefrontpaintball.com
Review: Battlefront is in my opinion, the best field I have ever visited. The staff has always treated me very well. The games are now the best scenarios I've ever attended. The field itself is completely unique. It gives me the feeling of being in a bombed out WWII city! There are multi-story buildings, sufficient bunkers, and plenty of woods to keep anyone happy. I'm not sure on the actual size, but hoofing it from one end to the other is quite a walk. I would put it about 1 mile from corner to corner.

Prices are substantially better then TRP. Field is better then TRP. Staff is friendlier then TRP. For me, even though Battlefront is a bit more of a drive, its well worth it for me! I recommend their membership program also. I use it, and it saves me a fortune, even off the already lower prices of some of the competitors.

The only thing I think they could do to improve would be to add some tables, and maybe a large pavilion for some shelter from the sun/rain. Beyond that, the place is near perfection in my mind. Even when I had bad paint there, as I have had occasionally everywhere unfortunately, the owners were willing to either give me new paint, or a refund. Try getting that at other fields, I have asked and been told it was my equipment, even though EVERYONE had the same problem.

I highly recommend at least giving Battlefront a try. Its by far the most intense paintball I have ever played!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaxson017 Tuesday, December 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
3 Rivers Paintball - Pittsburgh, PA - Similar play style to BFP, but less realism. Structures are built from pallets, tires, etc. Better pro shop, and different game structure

Briar Hill Paintball - Clarion Area (Now Closed) - Strictly woodsball field, no structures to compare
Review: I started playing at Battlefront last December at their Toys for Tots Charity event. I was immediately impressed with the field. The size, enivronment, and layout floored me. The town is by far the best part of the whole field and really provides a challenge to the players on both sides. The rest of the field provides a good mix of heavy and light cover, between the pipe fields and woods.

Game Formats:

The Game formats are typically CTF / Scenario based game, as they should be with a field like this. When run by 1st Strike the scenarios are awesome, well run and focused. Other times not so much. The field is huge and sometimes the players are stretched way too thin, and cause huge breaks in action. Also respawning sometimes can be a haul. They often use a few points that are very much out of the way and can take 5 minutes to walk to. This kills games sometimes. At a recent GI Joe Scenario they utilized a roaming spawm location that kept everyone in the action for the entire game it was great. Another thing is that the games typically run for hours at a time, with a break at lunch and then resume for the remainder of the day. This can also cause lulls in action, especially for reload/refill trips.


Rules / Safety / Refs:

My first couple of experiences with this field was a mixed bag. I had good and bad games, where rules were either heavily enforced or too lax. This mainly consisted of target practicing prior and after the horn, and just having refs paying attention to key action points, where a ref is vital (rockets, gernade use). However in my more recent games, I have noticed that the rules are being enforced on a much stricter level. Chronoing seems to be a problem though sometimes. Especially when trying to Chrono outside of the designated time, perhaps when switching to a backup gun. They seem to take your word on things, and I have never seem a "roaming chrono", but that may just be me. They are pretty good about paint smuggling, but that can be expected as they want to make money off the paint used.

As it may be my own personally belief but I am a firm supporter of the "bunker rule", this field considers it a "courtesy" more so than a rule. Maybe I've just be shot at close range by too many jerks.

Prices:

As they are only scenario field in the immediate area they have a strangle hold on the market. Their prices seem high at times for paint especially. The FPO paint typically is a Heat or Polar Ice, but always seems to be crappy and the price we pay seems alitte high for that.

Shop / Facilities / Food:

The ProShop is really hit and miss as to when it is open, and they are very limited as to what they have in stock, but they are able to get anything you need on order. They seem to stock the essentials, unless you use a Spyder which I have never seen a part for. As for the Facilities and Food, they typically have some food at the major games, but it's in limited supply. So bring your own Food / Drink. They typically run out quickly. The restrooms are there...but running water appears to be at a premium.

Staff:

The staff seems friendly, and will typically help you out if you need something.

Overall, I give Battlefront an 8/10 score. The field is awesome, the experience is awesome, games are for the most part awesome, but the price can get steep, and the games are sometimes too big for the players.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 28th, 2010 at 8:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Renegade82 Monday, October 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers Paintball and Mountain Valley Paintball
Review: I haven't played many other places but this place was the most fun. The prices are very reasonable as far as I'm concerned. The field is very unique and very big. They have half destroyed buildings and acres upon acres of woods with streams that have few places to cross without getting your feet wet (great for choke points). This place will be my primary playing field in the future.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

farva14 Sunday, August 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy Dave's Paintball. Crazy Dave's had little to no woodsball, they are more speedball oriented.
Review: The Field:
Battlefront has a great field with a war torn town, great props, and a GREAT group of players that are friendly and VERY helpful.

Pro -Shop?:
They have an onsite proshop which is very difficult to contact before game day, and on the gameday (BT World Event) that I was there they did not open until after the first game of the day. This is dissapointing since i had planned on buying a squeegie before play and was unable to. Luckily i was able to buy an extra from another player.

Registration:
The registration employees were not very talkative, but they were friendly.

Conclusion::
I would play at Battlefront again, but next time i would take my own table since they had none and i would make sure that i had everything i needed before i went since the pro shop is unreliable.

Field rating is a medium between the pro shop which gets a 3 ( for lack of reliability) and the field itself which gets a 9 ( It would be a 10 if there were tables to use.)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cornfedkiller Monday, July 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was the farthest we've travelled to play. This field is a 3 hour drive from where I live.
Directions
to the Field:
I'd mapquest if I were you.
Review: Myself and 3 of my friends traveled up to play in the WWIII scenario in April. The weather was cold and it spit snow and was windy all day long (which isn't really unusual for N.E. Ohio in April). The paint that we bought (field paint only play day) really was horrible, almost everybody in attendance that day was having problems with the paintballs. We later found out (around noon) from a group of referee's that the paint we used that day was from a manufacturer that was used for the first time by the field. With roughly 350 people in attendance that day I'm sure that myself and my friends weren't the only people who were bummed about paying top dollar for bad paint. With that set aside, the play areas, the people, the players, and the ref's were all awesome that day! Despite needing to keep a barrel swab in your pocket and using it more that day than I normally do in a whole summertime of playing I had a blast. I'm gonna plan on going back someday to attend another scenario game but I sure hope that my 2nd time there, going through all the driving and expense to play nets some better field paint to use while I'm there next time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ger Thursday, March 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy Dave's, Field of Valor, a couple of other local fields (names escape me)
Review: Experience:
First game there was a cold, open play Saturday in Feb. '07. Just a few games in the afternoon, having fun w/ about 8-10 other players. Those couple hours were enough to hook me. I've since been to probably 20+ big games there as well as multiple open play days & have had the time of my life.

Field:
As stated by many other reviewers, the setting of the place is amazing. Who wouldn't want to to play paintball in an old blown-up gun powder factory? But what is great is they keep improving the field. There are so many more bunkers & towers now than when I started playing.

Staff:
The ownership & ref staff love paintball. Plain & simple. Because of that they provide an experience for the players that they will love.

Prices:
The prices for play are very reasonable in my opinion. You can see the breakdown on their website, but I'll just lay it out for you like this... Anytime you can play a huge scenario event (like 500+ at World at War '09) for under $100 including field fee, air & paint - that's a win for your wallet.

Players:
The fellow players & all the teams the field attracts make playing there worth while & speaks volumes about the field itself. Major scenario teams from hours away aren't going to keep coming back to a field if they don't have a good experience when they play. Teams from PA, WV, NY, IN & IL all put games at Battlefront on their calender... plus so many OH teams I couldn't possibly list them all. Having all these teams & players w/ years of experience make the games there very interesting. At the same time I have seen countless instances of the same veterans talking to new players to make sure they are having a good time, helping them w/ their setup, or pointing them in the right direction.

As the saying goes... "See you at the Front!"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ziggy4733 Wednesday, March 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
my backyard
Review: Great field, friendly staff, safety safety safety. I played my first game here and have been hooked ever since. They have everything from teams with custom equipment to walk on players with rentals. The landscape is great with woods, streams, hills, open areas and buildings. A few things that I donít like the Proshop is a trailer thatís not open all the time. Also if you show up with a stock semi auto marker and a paintball budget.. Youíre going to get out gunned no limits on hoppers or full auto witch can be a plus if you got the money. Other than that this is a great place to play. The scenario games are great and you can usually get a pickup game on an off day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadHatterzGhost Wednesday, March 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No name brand fields. Just a indoor field that was close quaters and reminds me of battlefront a lil
Review: Very friendly field and nice ref staff and personel. I was very impressed with the field and the size. Building are in good shape and woods aren't too bad, burs (lil buggers that stick to your clothing) are every where. The games or scenarios they hold are very well thought and impressive. I can't wiat to attend some real scenarios they will be holding.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Auman Saturday, February 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Battlefront is a great place to play. Everyone is crazy nice, and the place can be very family oriented and a great place to play for people of all ages and skill. It combines woodsball with some close quarters fighting through the city, and the place is huge (that's an understatement). If you haven't already checked it out, please do. The scenario days are well worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Immortal Hades Wednesday, December 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at and visited other fields and have found none that compare.
Directions
to the Field:
On the website.
Review: Since finding the field's website in January '09 I had been wanting to get out to play at this place. A job transfer made the trip easier for me. My first experience at Battlefront was the '09 D-Day scenario that the good folks from 1st Strike hosted. What a game. The field was superb and met every expectation I had. I returned for their anniversary picnic (a non scenario day) and found a variety of games to play that beat the hell out of capture the flag games most fields feature. My next trip out was for the BT Big Game, followed by Ia Drang, Band of Brothers, Enemy at the Gates and Hatfields vs. McCoys. I have played at this field a mere six months and have met more honest dedicated paintballers in that short time frame than I have since discovering the sport 15 years ago. My mistake was letting the distance between me and the field keep me from exploring it earlier. Take the time to hit this field up. Plan for one of their major events, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Several friends and family members now make a 5 hour trip just to play at this field's scenario games.
I have neglected to mention the staff at this place. They obviously have a passion to host paintball the way we've all wanted to play it. Two M35 trucks, a military ambulance, a crashed plane, log bridges, booby traps, air raid sirens, remnants of an old munitions factory that resemble a post apocalyptic town, tanks, sniper towers, forts, bunkers and a bunch of competitive yet friendly folks are what you can expect to find at this place on a regular basis. See you at the front.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media