paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field

Battlefront Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 330-766-1253
Address: Rt 304
Hubbard, Ohio 44425
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
TH3_HYBR1D Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all american paintball park, its more speedball at aapp but i still can't figure out which field was better
Directions
to the Field:
umm...follow 22 to the turnpike get on the turnpike turn off at some exit and at another road and there u are lol
Review: Amazing field amazing, theres 5 buildings at least all with seperate areas so it can be swat style fighting. theres acres and acres of woods that provide for some of the best woodsball i've ever played. price is 20$ to get in i think and for there basic paint its about 60$ a case including tax. they have a speedball field there but i didn't get to play on it. the scenario field is huge and awsome though. fps limit is 290 and there is no bps limit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirlly Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Park. 2 Totally Different experiances, both good they are not even competitors really.
Review: I really like the time I spend at Battlefront Paintball. The structure of the games are a welcome pace changer from quick 20 on 20 games at most fields. Most games they play have a very libral re insert policies so you can be eliminated 4 or 5 times an hour if you play up on the front lines toe-to-toe with the other team.

I only go there on their once a month events since it's over 3 hours from my house but I've been there 3 times since Dec. 2006 (That sentence alone might tell you something)

The field is very well run but is going thru some growing pains. The last time I was there 288 players showed up and was the most smothly ran day so far. It's open year round and busy, where else in OHIO can you find over 100 players playing paintball in February? The layout of the field is almost perfect, with the exception of places away from the "city" there can be broken glass so you have to pay attention to the ground before you dive into a bunker.

I have to git it an 8 out of 10 just because I'm old fat man and when it gets muddy (or 4" of snow like I played in in Feb) it can be a real long haul to the re insert point, and the glass is a real concern that I honestly don't think they can do anything about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nos4atu Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area.
Review: Here are my two cents on Battlefront. I've played all over Ohio and Western Pennsylvania, and you will not find a finer field. Prices are fair, and you will swear that every dime you spend goes right back into the field. I am there at least once every other month, and every single time the field is larger, props are better, setup and comforts are better, and safety is increased. For WWII based scenarios, you just can't do much better, as this place has elements of all your major land battles. Bridges, the beaches, building to building, towers, and heavily wooded and trailed areas, including an adjacent working rail line. A note about safety: this is a big field, and if someone is taking their goggles off, it's their fault. The rules are there, we all do our best to enforce them, but if you are dumb enough to even think about taking them off, you should not be playing this game. The refs are very good about policing anyone they can see for goggles, wiping, blind fire and any other general stupidity. I have to say that we need to stop blaming the staff of any of these places and start taking responsibility for our own behavior. That said, this is a great field run by great people, and they put on some of the best scenarios out there. If I had to dock them for anything, it might be the Origin paint, as it's not my favorite, but again, compared to some field paint, it's reasonably priced and decent, just not perfect. Other than that, I don't have any complaints at all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dirdy Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This was by far one of the best fields I played at. The buildings, bunkers, woods and basic setup of the field was a A+. There were some negatives.

Pros-
-Great Field to play on, big enough for scenarios of 200-400+ Maybe. I Haven't been around the whole field yet but from what i have seen its a pretty big field. So big maybe It would take more than one visit to see everything. To a already great field to play on the are a on going project, working with the field adding more features like a Bridge and are growing accual Bamboo!

-Organization of players, the staff does a really good job of letting the players know when the games are being played with a big horn to let everyone in the area know. Also the process of signing waivers, buying paint, paying for everything the chroming your marker is a painless process with staff there to help every step of the way. Also the website and communication between the players and staff is great letting us know all the games going on.

-Ref, Safety, friendly staff. Good safety, went over the rules, everyone was on the same page, and for being a large field there was enough ref's to cover just about every location were there was alot of action.

-Cons

-The Staff was friendly from what i experienced for the first time but there were a few cons when trying to buy something they don't sell everyday like batteries, when they pretty much straight up told me they had to make money off me and said if i don't have the batteries for my marker im screwed, so they had a chance to rip me off for 2 bucks a battery......

-Scenario Style was alot diffrent from a regular scenario im am use to playing. I went during the Market Garden Scenario and was thinking it would be one big game, instead the games were broken down breaks in between and pretty much reset from each round. No real feel that you were in the scenario. The scenario was basically a flag type game which was fun but not the best Scenario if your a scenario player.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

DeathToBrian Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR Park
Jack Frost
Review: Pros:
- Unique Field setup
- Awesome bunkers and structures
- Good size field and operations
- Warlike feel for scenario games

Cons:
- Could improve on safety

Review:

I had attended a Scenario game here in October and was pleasantly surprised on how cool the field was. The owners and personnel were very friendly and took a lot of pride in what they do. Concessions and parking were above average. They had a pretty good turn out for the event as well. The Scenarios game could have been run a little bit different in terms for safety. I am not saying that they are not concerned about safety. But for the field and the players sake they should look into the following concerns.
1. In chrono stations masks should be down at all times by everyone.
2. On field within the netting same rule should apply. ( Barrel condoms alone
are not enough when it comes to safety.)
3. The reinsertion points should be located either outside border of field or a
surrounded area free from stray paintballs. ( Just in case a mask may need to
be cleaned.)
These statements are to show how to improve and gain world class Safety in Paintball

Conclusion:

If you are looking for a real warlike feel to your paintball game. Then this place is for you.
The field has all sorts of environments whether it be wooded areas , open areas with bunkers , and even creeks. The potential here is endless. I can only assume that with more time this field will get even better. I give this a 8 out of 10 because safety is a huge concern.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 4:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

obiwan Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
www.battlefrontpaintball,com
Review: Ok I haven't played at this field for a while but from what I have seen on there website and last time I was there I was impressed.

field- Battlefront is a mix of urban and woods field they have pretty much everything a scenairo baller would wan't,sandbag and wood bunkers,buildings,a hill,trucks,towers and a awsome woods.But the things that realy make this field unique is there city and woods.There woods is some of the denses green and best in the region perfect place if you love to snipe or make some awsome flanks.And the town has actaul concrete and brick buildings not the cheap plywood houses other fields have.One thing that I would like to see is a speedball field.I mostley like scenairo but I love a good speedball game every know and then and I heard they already have the blow up bunkers.

Staff-The staff is probably one of the nicest people I know, they are always helping the new players,adding stuff to their field and checking for wipers and foul players.One time me and a few friends showed up an hour before people started to come and they gave us five hundred rounds for free and let us play till people started showing up.

Saftey-The owners are always concerned about saftey.They do a good job chronoing peoples guns and have netting all around the boundrys.They also are always makeing sure people have their barrle socks and mask on while on the field.One thing that bothers me though is some of the glass around the city.But they are doing their best to clean it up with the rain and all.

Scenairos-Thier scenarios are pretty good they are based off actaul world war two battles and have certain things you have to take or blow up.and from my understanding they have some new howitzers wich they fire paintballs out of.I would like to see some generals and HQs though.

running bath rooms-what can I say their great.

Food-they have a big cafeteria with lots of diffrent candy bars and chips in it.

Pro shop-It is pretty good with a few markers,upgrads,and parts.

Paint-the paint is good quality origin paintballs and in the winter they have polor ice and marbalizers.They even have Atomic ordinace grenades for sale also.

Price-the prices are good for paint 64 dollars for a case of classics,15 for all day play,and 15 for a rental package.But the air prices are a little much for a field 5 dollars for all day fill but if it helps go to the field I don't mind paying the extra two dollars.

So over all 9/10 theres just a few things I would like to see improved that would deffitenly give this field a 10/10 keep up the good work guys.
Last edited on Friday, November 3rd, 2006 at 7:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

shockerpro Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Pros:
-Unique field great structures.
-Good paint (No Breaks all day).
-New food structure is very nice with good prices.
-Staff very friendly.
-Normal Bathrooms and they were very clean.
-Good turnout for the event (around 150).
-The whole day cost for me was under $100( I have spent $300-$400 at a 26hr. scenario)

Cons:
-The safety was horrible. People on the field without masks on. The reinsertion point were on the field and people took their masks off to clean them. Have a reinsertion off field behind the netting for mask cleaning. Keep the on field reinsertion but keep the players' masks on. The rules should be past the netting masks on at all times. People without barrel condoms on. Not enough refs on field to monitor play and random chrono checks. One guy hit me from 30yds away and it felt like he hit me from 5ft. After getting a ref to check him, he was shooting 327. I am sure that he was not the only one breaking the chrono speed. Since, the chrono zip ties(to mark you as chronoed) were just sitting out next to the chronos. This is not being used to beat down the field, but hopefully improve it. The last place I played at (E.M.R.) does safety great and has a passion about keeping their players safe.
-Gun hits don't count. This benefits the crap players that can't hide properly. Everywhere else counts gun hits.
-To much down time. Keep the play running.
-A personal preference, I prefer a game with a base, a general, and missions. Instead of four different 1 mission games.
-The woods were a little thick
Conclusion:
This is a great field with a lot of potential. I just feel that safety is the most important thing in paintball. Game play was a little weak until the last game. I would much rather see a straight running mission based scenario. I really hope this field improves because it could easily be a 10 out of 10, instead of a 5 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

tke240 Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Park.
Rapid Fire Paintball
Review: This is a great field. I've only been there three times so far, but each time I've been back, they've made a quantum leap in in what they have to offer. Recent improvements include a brand new pro shop, brand new indoor dining area and concession stand, indoor plumbing and expanded parking lot. There always seems to be a new bunker or rifle pit springing up every few weeks as well. This is only the second year that the field has been in business, but it's obvious that these guys are working very hard to make it a "must play" field. The owners are very willing to listen to guests input and have a forum specifically set up on their website www.battlefrontpaintball.com to take suggestions and answer questions.

Refs (not to mention everyone who works there) are friendly and do a great job of mixing up the games. The field itself is very unique and offers many different shooting angles. It's been discussed before so I won't go into it again here, but you should definitely check out the pictures on their website.

Prices are low which helps encourage people like me to come back who have to drive a considerable distance to get there. If you plan on going there on a regular basis, I would recommend buying a membership as it will pay for itself on field fee and air alone after the 7th visit or so. Not to mention the discount on paint.

The only negatives that I will say is that safety is still somewhat of an issue. After 50 years or so of the buildings being abandoned, teenage parties and alcoholism took its toll on the area. There's still a lot of broken glass lying about, so gloves and knee pads are a good idea. To their credit, however, the owners do recognize this is an issue and have been taking steps to correct it. Mulch was recently laid down in the main part of the playing area, and from what I've heard, some kind of ground cover is planned for the main trails. The other thing is that the down time between games can sometimes be extensive. I don't suggest getting there around lunch time since you will sometimes end up sitting around for 45 minutes waiting for people to grab a bite to eat. It'd be nice if they had smaller games set up in the meantime for those who were still ready to go.

If you haven't been to this field yet, put it on your list. As terrific as it already is, I think there's still a tremendous amount of potential here that they're just starting to tap into. I'll give a 9 instead of a 10 only because of the minor negatives that I expressed, and because it's still going through a few growing pains.

**edit**

I've now been attending this field about once a month for over a year and have to say that my initial amazement with it hasn't diminished in the least. Improvements continue to be made not only to the field and its structures, but to the scenario games themselves. Only a few small areas still remain slightly dangerous due to broken glass, but the vast majority of it has been removed. Safety has improved as well with ref's continually reminding people to keep their masks down, whether they needed reminding or not. Prices have remained fair, and the staff has remained friendly. I think a lot of businesses fall into the corporate way of thinking as they get larger, but thus far, BFPB has retained its "family run" feeling and continues to encourage players to make suggestions for improvement. One look on their website's forum will demonstrate this as new games are regularly suggested and potential field improvements are talked about.

A visit to BFPB will certainly envoke the feeling of playing paintball on one of your own family member's property. I wish them continued success and have every intention to purchase a membership this year. I'm increasing my field rating from a 9 to a 10, because although no place is perfect, I don't think you could ask much more from a field or its staff.
Last edited on Thursday, November 15th, 2007 at 8:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kylesito Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in Eastern Ohio.
In Western PA - Riverside Renegades (Homestead PA); Three Rivers Paintball (Cranberry PA); Hamburger Hill Paintball (New Brighton PA); Paintball Extreme (Pittsburgh PA)
Directions
to the Field:
Best to check website www.battlefrontpaintball.com
Review: Attended a rec game there in July and the Wake Island Scenario game in August. Overall experience both times has been extraordinary.

To give a little more detail my game experience at this field is one of the best I have ever had playing paintball:

Refs - Extremely knowledgeable and respectful of players. They have a great presence on the field. I've never been in a situation where I didn't have a ref or two standing around able to help out. I even listened in on their radio conversations for a bit waiting to reinsert as they talked about where the action was to help shift themselves around. When not reffing games I have had great experiences in the shed as well getting markers fixed and buying equipment.

Field - More intriguing than any other field I have played on. Many different experiences that will challenge any type of player. I don't want to give much away but between the woods, brush, elephant grass, open fields, bunkers, rifle pits, trails, creeks, and city (an actual concrete and steel city not just a few pieces of plywood laying around) the field will keep you guessing. You won't believe the angles you will find in between the buildings.

Prices - One of the more reasonable fields in terns of field fees and paint. I have both rented and taken my own equipment on this field - both have been satisfactory in terms of price.


I have read some of the other reviews about the 20th scenario game and almost laughed at most. Here are my responses to some:

- No there weren't picnic tables laying around (man up a little and sit on the ground or on a vehicle or bring a chair like all other 150 players). It's a paintball field, I was happy they even put tents up for people to use. I have never been to a field with a cafeteria.

- Food is a long walk - yes compared to going from your living room to your fridge. If 200 yds (if that) kills you then you need to find another recreational sport other than paintball. Besides, it's wasn't their fault they got in trouble for providing FREE food.

Sorry to write such a long review, it just wan't right seeing ANY bad reviews coming out about the field. Yes there were some rough spots on the 20th but the quality of the field isn't determined by bad things happening or not going according to plan (which happens no matter what) - it is determined by how the staff responds to those and the effort they put in to creating an enjoyable experience for their players along with the improvements they implement to better these instances. All three of these things are trademarks that the staff at Battlefront excels at.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

me1abPSU Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Crazy Dave's and it doesn't hold a candle to Battle Front. You need to check this field out if you like scenario play.
Directions
to the Field:
It's not hard at all, check their website.
Review: 1) This field has great pricing on everything. It's amazing what they charge for paint, and it isn't that bad. They even have a concession stand that sells hot dogs and hamburgers ($2 bucks!!). I suggest bringing your own drinks though. I just like having my cooler filled and ready to go. I usually drop $85 every time I'm there, and that includes lunch. That's pretty good since most fields charge that alone for paint.

2) They're a family owned business, so they're really friendly.

3) They usually have enough refs, but they had a huge turn out last time I was there and they were short staffed on refs.

4) The field is pretty cool, lots of old buildings. Gives it a nice urban feel. This is because it use to be an old gun powder factory. There is a bunch of debris on the field from when it use to be operating. You can find glass bottles, old tires, chunks of concrete all on the outskirts of the field. So be careful when you slide for cover. Saw one kid out there lacerate his shin and had blood all down the side of his leg.

5) The field doesn't have any place to set your gear out like Crazy Dave's does. No seats either. Suggest bringing a card table and folding chairs.

6) Teams usually get stacked. All the regulars that play there on one team, and newbies on another.

7) The owners develop awesome scenarios, but you can tell they're still new at this.

8) LOTS of parking. And they have port-o-johns nearby!

9) The players I've met out there were always real friendly and willing to walk me around the field, teach me tactics, and discuss equipment with.

10) The refs were too lenient the last time I played. I'm hoping it was just a fluke though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media