paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field / Battlefront Paintball Field

Battlefront Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 330-766-1253
Address: Rt 304
Hubbard, Ohio 44425
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
masterspaz22 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods - closer to Cleveland, refs aren't as good, more expensive, not as fun
Paintball Village - same as above
Directions
to the Field:
visit site
Review: Overall I had a great experience. The prices were the best I've ever seen, the refs were totally cool, and the combination of woods and buildings made for a great time. I went for the two front battle, and was a Russian. we got owned by the Germans, but I still had a pretty good day. One time I peeked over a wall on the supply dock to see a group of about ten Germans two feet directly below me. I opened up on them with my full auto A-5 and took out at least 2 ofthem, probably more, while taking a hit to the face mask.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedMonkey Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played a few other fields in the area, but don't care to name them because there's nothing that compares to the Battlefront experience.
Directions
to the Field:
Available on the field's website... very easy to get to.
Review: First off, let me tell you a little about the field. The field used to be an old gunpowder facility that was basically reduced to structural ruins. Once the guys from Battlefront got in there and cleared away some of the brush that grew into the building ruins over the years, what you are left with is a phenomenal "urban" playing field in the ruins. For someone to create this atmosphere from scratch would cost a fortune for a contractor to build, and still wouldn't have that aged look that makes Battlefront such a great atmosphere.

Add to this the new construction they have added with 2 story towers (a third story one one is planned!) , bunkers, sandbags, 55 gallon drums of "petrol," tubes, REAL flags, and a LARGE wooded area surrounding the ruins, and you have a perfect combination of woods-ball, scenario, and close quarters combat.

More than anything else, what makes Battlefront a truly great place to play is the customer service and attitude of the staff and owners. The refs are very clear with the rules, very open to suggestions for improvement, and have several great scenarios to play throughout the day. The same old capture the flag can get a little old, but with the size of Battlefront, and the variation in games, each round presents a new challenge and keeps you on your toes at all times.

Safety is always a concern, with reminders to put barrel sleeves on after every game, and to make sure protective masks are in place when guns go hot.

Prices are great compared to other fields I've played at. The field fee, and air are comparable in price, but where you really have options is in the paint. Battlefront offers three different prices and qualities of paint. For people like me, who shoot a lot in a suppressive fire role, it really adds up to being a lot easier on the wallet to not have to spend so much on paint that doesn't need to be highest quality to accomplish what you need to do. Even still, the lower and mid grade paint levels are still a much higher quality that I expected, which makes it that much better when playing.

This was my second time at this field, with the first time being about 5 weeks ago. Whereas other fields tend to be the same from month to month and year to year, the improvements in five weeks were noticeable at Battlefront. These guys are always improving, updating, and expanding the playing area. New this time was a perch in one of the ruins to get a better view of the North side of the field, and a new, full service concession building with hamburgers, hot dogs, drinks, and other snacks. They even have a trailer that someone drives up to the registration area that serves as a Pro Shop where you can purchase new items. It's really a full service field, and from what I understand, a campground is being planned in property immediately adjacent to the field, so this will really be a destination spot for weekend paintballers.

From registration, to chrono, to purchasing supplies, to playing, everything is well organized and well managed at Battlefront. If you've never been to the field, you are really missing out on a great day of paintball like you've never experienced before. If there was an 11 rating available for this field, they would get it! Thanks for the great time. My crew and I will be back to visit you guys soon!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fets Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Riverside
Pinnacle Woods
Hell Survivors
Etc...
Review: Battlefront ... what a great field! I was responsible for organizing my groups outing to Battlefront.

STAFF:
1. Let me start by saying how prompt and helpful the guys there were with my questions about the field.
2. Refs were great, and willing to listen and act on any complaints.
3. Teams were balanced
4. They let my guys borrow pod belts instead of charging them to rent them.
5. One of my guys had marker problems, they not only gave them a loaner for free, they fixed his marker for him.

FIELD:
1. You will never experience another field this unique. If you look in their photo gallery you realize just how much work they invest in this field. Compare the photos from before they opened to the photos now and you will be amazed - and they did it all in a year!
2. The refs set up a new scenario for you to play every other round! This really helps keep things from getting boring and keeps you in a unique perspective.
3. The field is being updated every week. There are constantly new structures being added to enhance the game play. I can't belive how much work they put into it.
4. Owners are very receptive to feedback.
5. Good parking & easy to find the field.
6. Re-insertion style games make sure you gets lots of paintball in during the day.
7. They provide each player with lunch - included in your $15 field fee. All the dogs you can eat & chips.
8. Vending is really cheap - $1.00 for a gatorade, $0.50 for a coke.
9. Porta-john's (toilets) are clean & they provide hand sanitizer in each one.

PAINT:
1. 3 grades to choose from, all well priced. I used the mid grade & low grade paint and never had a single ball break all day.

WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE:
1. A goggle cleaning station - some paper towels and spray bottles.
2. A few games that are not re-insertion. I just can't afford that much paint. I know I could sit out on my own, but my team would be at a disadvantage then.
3. Unfortunately there were some immature players there the day we went. It was not bad at first, but got bad towards the end of the day.
- Some players were shooting hot (at least 1 was caught doing it intentionally and consequently left). I would like to see on field chronographing, and more than just in the A.M.
- Due to reinsertions players were "playing on" and claimed it was from before they re-inserted. The field needs to require that all old hits are wiped off clean or you should be counted as eliminated for not cleaning it off.
- More refs are not the issue, but a ref needs to be inside the Reichstag because it is way too easy for some of the immature players to wipe hits when they are inside there.
4. As the amount of cheating increased later in the day, the amount of bonus balling subsequently increased to counter the wipers. This is not a safe practice and is unfortunate.

I am giving the field a 10/10. My suggestions/complaints are only partially reflective of things the field can control. Immature players will always start cheating when they get tired of losing (vs. improving their game so they win more).

I have never been more impressed with a field staff & their desire to truely please the customer. It is all too common in the paintball industry for customer service to be next to nothing. It is extremely rare to see a group of owner/operators so dedicated to provide an outstanding customer expience. If you haven't yet, give Battlefront a try. We are going back just 4 weeks after our first trip - and it is 1 1/2 drive for my group.


*edit*

Since posting this review I have been back to the field many times. They have taken many suggestions into consideration and really do try to please everyone. The game play has improved significantly and the safety has been improved.

In addition the field has almost doubled in size since I reviewed it and they have built dozens of new structures. It really is a great place to play. If you are in the region it is well worth a drive out and if you are within an hour and haven't tried it you are really missing out.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 at 5:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Feral Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle
Review: My experience with Battlefront thus far:

1. I arrived at the field with the crew, and it struck me how big the place was.
2. Signing in was pretty straight forward. 2 Sheets, one with personal info and the other with the field rental and supplies.
3. Balls, you had 3 types to choose from, the better the ball the more you spent. But not expensive. I think the price was 19 something for the most expensive balls at 500 a pop.
4. I had just upgraded my Tippmann .98 the night before.. Low and behold, I forgot the ball detent, and spilled a few balls out of the barrel. The staff was so cool, they let me borrow (not rent) an A-5 for a few games.. Suffice it to say, they rebuilt my .98 from scratch as it was completely taken apart by me because I was rushing to get on the sweet field..


Who has customer service like that??

The field... Authentic is the only thing I can think of.. It was really like being in a war. Other fields with their makeshift depots and bunkers just dont cut it like this one did. Loved the staff, very helpful and the refs were really cool. I broke the flag while capturing and they didn't make me pay for it.

One area of note, I would love to see more Refs as there were some wipers playing. But that does not reflect on the staff or the refs. Thats a paintballer issue..




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silentsniper89 Wednesday, May 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played up at P and R Paintball but they didn't do much with their field. Where Battlefront is always adding new things.
Review: In my opinion, I Battlefront is well worth the drive and the money. It is an expirience like no other. They always are putting new things in the field. it makes you feel like you are actually in a World War 2 battle. Also you can buy a membership that yo don't have to pay the field fee, you get all day air, and a 10% discount on paint. The people that work at Battlefront are very nice. the only problem I had when i was there was the teams were a lil uneven but other than that It was great. Im goin back this month for D-Day. I also like the free hotdogs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timdogg2 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Encounter
Review: This field is an experience like no other. Everything about this place is great and every month that I attend an event things only get better. The owners are very friendly and the scenarios are well put together. I would recommend this field to anyone. This field is worth driving a couple hundred of miles.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Master MTesta Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I never bother, hands down Battlefront is the best.
Review: In terms of safety, it is not asked but rather enforced. Barrel condoms must be in after games and masks on until barrel condoms are off. Simply put, there is no other field that stresses the importance of safety like Battlefront. One game is enough to have you raving about how realistic your war experience was, how amazing the ACTUAL buildings are, or the logical paths through the woods; not to mention the unfathomable Ludendorf Tower or the two story Reichstag. The field is impeccably balanced on each side, has nice terrian and not to mention, suitable for an infinite amount of game types and scenarios. Hands down there is not a better field in Ohio and arguably one of the best fields in the east.
The field opens at 8:30 AM and games usually begin around 9:30 AM. The games end around 5:00 PM - enough paintball to satisfy you for two months (for some), but usually leaves your paintball hormones urging more Battlefront. As for prices, there is not a better deal: $15 for roughly 8 hours of play, it costs less than taking your girlfriend out and is something you actually want to do. And paint is also very fairly priced. The Signature Series gives Marbs a run for their money and are cheaper. Another plus is - never broken paint! (unlike online). Plus, they carry accesories in stock and are priced as low as online or in stores. Oh, and don't forget free hot dogs and chips.
The rules are incredibly fair, easily understood and ALWAYS stated before a game. All services are covered also: every kind of air fills, rental guns and masks, accesories, provided food, rest rooms and all of the little things you need like paper towels, hand sanitizer, you name it. The proshop offers everything above and more, they can order whatever you're looking for and it ships fast and without hassle, cheap too. The staff is the most down-to-earth, nicest and best family operated paintball staff on the planet, they will help with anything whether it be an O-ring, bandaid or just a little helping hand with a gun problem. There couldnt a better run field than this. Again the refs are the above mentioned fair people. All rules are enforced to the fullest as well as safety.
Players consist of all different kinds, regulars, newbs, and walk-ons all are usually fair players (one slip up did occur, with a crazy guy and his son).
Overall this field is the total package and will leave you with a breath-taking experience of paintball. You won't want to play another field again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

willo48 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pinnacle
Review: Let's start off with the safety of the field. The staff has a great set of rules, and they make the game very safe. They don't tolerate blind firing what so ever so you don't have to worry about players using that tactic.

The prices are by far the best prices money can buy. The field paint is good quality and it isn't a rip off like how come fields try to get you. It's only 15 bucks all day play and 3 for all day co2, and this includes free hot dogs!!!! my favorite part.

The set up there is defiantly the best set up in Ohio for world war 2 play. It actually feels like your in a war trying to protect you buildings. The owner also comes up with some great scenario's like Iwo Jima, Battle of Berlin, D-Day, Okinawa etc etc.

Refs/Owners There are the nicest people out there. There the fairest and they don't stack teams. The concession staff that work there are always nice. There are also no inexperienced refs so there are no teenagers reffing here!!.

They have a yearly membership deal and basically if you play once a month it pays for itself and you get all day co2 and air with 10% off paint.

I recommend trying this field out. even if you prefer speed ball.


will
Last edited on Sunday, May 21st, 2006 at 11:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballsquare Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA, War in the Woods, Three Rivers, Professor Lumpies, Crazy Daves, Pinnacle Woods
Review: The Feild:
--awesome
--unique with buildings, trenches, woods, and part of a hyperball feild
--just keeps getting better
-- because of unique feild I would look to see this place be around for a while
-- I have been there twice both times i was there, there were more than 50 players on a normal rec day. Actually it was raining a little and there were still that many people.

The management
-- very friendly but actual management has some flaws
-- not strict about goggles, even the refs lift them after the whistle blows for game off
-- chrono station is not netted in
-- to much time in between games, games need to keep rolling, they should run two games and then allow 10 minutes for paint and air refill and then start game on again promptly.
-- these are just the bare necissities that need changed

Pricing
-- they offer yearly memberships that come with paint discount
-- comparible rate to any feild around

Recommendation:
--Go out and try the feild out at least once.
-- keep your goggles on all the time and set an example
Last edited on Thursday, May 18th, 2006 at 5:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ring31 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: some pics
http://clevelandpaintball.smugmug.com/gallery/1170427

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/russr123/album?.dir=beccre2

the field was cool and vary big, we had about 50 players at peak, only bad things was most of the field is REAL OPEN.. so there is alot of real long balling where your shooting 30 shots trying to get 1 break..
and with that, quite a few wipers, but on a field that big, its going to happen..

that and the tiny little fireing ports kinda kill the fun factor as well.. way to much cover for those bunkered in..

my sugestion would be to open that up a bit..

the cheep field paint is a nice bright thick fill, and easy to see, but.. if it had any more flat spots, it would be square...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media