paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Paintball Zone Paintball Field / The Paintball Zone Paintball Field / The Paintball Zone Paintball Field / The Paintball Zone Paintball Field

The Paintball Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
33Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (209) 874-4922
Address: 22742 Yosemite Blvd
Waterford, California 95386
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
StealthGrouch Thursday, March 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: A great first PB experience. Going back for more.

This set of fields is operated by a person with a passion for PB. The wide variety of fields, from woods to buildings, gives a great experience for the game. Favorites are "Bridge" and "Tower," for the wooded sniper trails and ambush locations. Terrain is uneven and makes for good creep locations. Teamwork will carry the day on these.

Safety: All markers were tested for velocity before use on the fields. Good briefings for new players and good use of referees.
Fields: 5. Tower, Bridge, Church/beaver, Trailers and (Wedge?) I only played the first four. A wide variety of shoot and move is available. Trailers is an assembly of old vehicles and trailers in a relatively small area. Close quarters for the game. Lots of "Safety" kills are possible, though the group I was with was rather aggressive in taking the hits. Two courses had knee-deep water in streams/sloughs in Feb. These made a great obstacle for ambushes.
Other players ran the gamut, from rank newbie like myself to team members. All were welcoming and made for an enjoyable day out.
Refs were at two on the field for about 30-35 players. Could not be everywhere, but the players were generally fair in respecting the rules.

I highly recommend trying the field to get your game on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnny_bravo Thursday, January 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB, Davis Paintball Center, Gorilla Paintball Indoor, IF Paintball, Maximum Paintball, Paranoid Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to find.
Review: 1. Fields need a lot of work. Sniper trails need even more work.

2. Teams are not fair.
Home field guys feel pure awsomeness when they beat you all day. I understand that's a great accomplishment to play people that don't know your field and to stick them all together, but how will you ever get better as a team playing like that? You should really try to make teams more even.

3. Refs
If im going to pay money to paintball the last thing i need to hear is someone teaching everyone else how to play.

4. Paint
Can't use walmart paint because it's to hard? My walmart paint breaks a lot easier then their paint does and is way more accurate!!! I seen one guy with the owner that must have thrown a dozen balls at a trashcan and not one would break. But yet he was still allowed to continue using that paint while i wasn't allowed too. I had 2 balls break and the 3rd ball didn't against the trashcan.Sounds like favoritism.

5. Response.
It's just constructive criticism, but I hope this helps you guys out to make your field better for everyone to enjoy! I'm sure you will try to bash this posting but if that makes you feel better then have fun!

~The LoneWolf~
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

missmynelspot Wednesday, January 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme---Modesto
Directions
to the Field:
Not in Waterford... It's east of Waterford! West of La Grange.
Review: I've been playing since the 80's(hence the name), but not too frequently. I'm a true woodsballer and this is the best field I've played on in a long time. This is the best field by far in Central or Northern California. I'm shocked more players aren't there. They need to do some serious marketing and advertising. There were about 30 players there on a Saturday.

Field: 5 amazing fields. We played on the Tower, Bridge, Trailer and some of Wedge and Church. Each is different, but they all have amazing bunkers, forts, beautiful trees, trails, tunnels (yes, tunnels) great hiding spots. They have put years of work into this field, even hauling in tons of dirt to cover the cobbled ground. Trailer is wild if you like CQB, but it can end in stalemate. Its the only field I have ever been able to sneak up on multiple players and make them surrender without firing a shot---but it is nerve wracking with all the small hallways and corners and a million places you can be ambushed. I wouldn't want to play this more than twice in a day. The trails are super fun, but some are getting overgrown quickly. There is something for everyone---If you like to run and shoot, or hide and camp, or stand and deliver, its all possible. The supply train game is quite fun, but it is not easy if everyone is not into it. It is a totally different game where you need teamwork of 20-25 unknown people at a time! It challenges leaders, or makes you one if you want to try it. Ship to ship was OK (it was something different), but I would rather play a normal game instead of just blowing out paint and air at the end of the day I'll take any of your extra paint, please.

Safety: Varies, they talk tough, but (luckily) let newbies get away with minor dumb infractions with a harsh talking to without kicking them out. They were always reminding us regarding barrel sleeves and goggles. Overall good safety.

Time: Games started a little late (Owner was hurrying to fix guns so people, including me, could get in the first game). And you need to sometimes keep on the refs to start a new game without a long wait time.

Players: Very nice. Only 2-4 experience players out of 30 or so. Where is everyone for this awesome field?! One pro player is super nice, some people thought he might use full auto every once in a while, and he might be shooting hot, but I didn't care too much.

Refs: Only two. Maybe more would have made their job easier. They would always do checks for you if you asked, and made sure no one shot or moved while they checked. Once in a while they can lurk around you---giving away your (or your enemy's) position. I thought they did a nice job, and were friendly. They would help you in the middle of a game to get safe and clean your goggles. Maybe they can notice if the teams are too uneven, but our teams eventually evened out as more people came.

Staff: This is were the place shines. The owner is super, super friendly and obviously has passion for the game---and those who come to his field. He worked on my personal gun very quickly to get me back when it was chronoing too hot---for free. He gave me a personal tour of the field too, when I showed him I was interested in the different fields. I think he plays vicariously through the people who comes to his field. He will spend time and talk to newbies and experienced players at length during lunch about paintball, without going over the top.

Overall a great field. I give it a 9+, because I wish they were open EVERY Sunday like all other fields... If you like woodsball or rec ball it would be hard to find a better field in N. Cal.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

danroas Sunday, January 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: What Imacellist said about The Paintball Zone is what I experienced.

This was my first time paint-balling and I had a great time out there.

There were team vs team games and a scenario game called Supply Train that was a lot of fun.

Rental marker worked good but the rental goggles fogged badly because of the cold and high humidity, I recommend you bring anti-fog products with you, during the winter months at least.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Imacellist Saturday, August 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Havent played any others
Review: This field is great. There are 5 fields and they have a huge property. The owner was a pro paintball player and he knows his stuff. He helps people with gun problems no charge most of the time.

Refs- Pay attention and are watched by the owner to make sure they get the players mvoing and that the games are fair.

Fields- 5 fields. One has a tower, the 2nd one is bridge, 3rd is trailer park(which is amazing) the 4th is church which is a huge field, and the 5th is wedge which is another great forest one. All fields have great and unique coverage. Trailer Park has trailers, busses, and all kinds of stuff.

Upkeep- The field is trimmed and rearraged every couple of weeks. There are some sweet trails that someties get overgrown quickly, but they get trimmed once the owner is made aware.

Fees- The entry fee is 15. The air and paint are actually pretty good prices. A case of V1 is 38 i beleive. I also hear they are trying to get some real food to sell out there so Im looking forward to that :)

Time-Games start at 10 and end at 4pm. Get there early so you can gear up and get ready. It also helps get the games going and more people to come and stay.

All in all a great field and I will be there for a long time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skum4182 Saturday, February 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme - Not comparable. Extreme is speedball, TPZ is woodsball.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: SAFETY: Fairly good, although spotty at times.

FIELDS: Fields could be better. They are not very well maintained as far as overgrowth goes. The tower they have is pointless. The trailer field seems like a good idea but you quickly realize it turns into a stalemate.

HOURS: Same as most. 9AM-4PM

PRICES: Fair

RULES: Fair

SERVICES: Average

PROSHOP: Average

STAFF: I have played here for a long time and the staff is where the real problem with this field lies. It is ultimately the reason I won't be returning. It is such a good piece of land that would be an amazing place to play if it weren't for the people who work there. First of all, they are terrible about making fair teams. Then, once a few games go by with one team winning every time, they refuse to re-pick them. The owner thinks he is the ultimate paintball guru. He will come in to play about halfway through the day and will always go on the team that is ALREADY dominating.

REFS: The refs are 15 yrs old at the maximum and they always favor the teams that their buddies are playing on. One ref tried to tell us that we had shot him and that we needed to apologize before we could keep playing. Meanwhile, his friend snuck around our flank! Very unprofessional.

PLAYERS: Mostly friendly

FACILITIES: Average

FOOD: Pizza shows up halfway through the day

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

casperct Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
xtreme paintball travis AFB,extreme modesto,venture games ,infinite edge,enemey pb
Directions
to the Field:
Head down 132 theres a big sign hard to miss
Review: This field has been around for almost 10 years,the owners know what thay are doing.
The field has had as many as 250 show up for a day of play ,I have never seen less than 40.
FACILITIES,Lots of space for parking,the staging area is covered and has alkinds of tables,alot of players stage out of cars ect.The bathrooms are porta potties and they are cleaned weekly.When entering the park you will pass through a trailer park go slow or you will be asked to leave .
FOOD,snacks ,sodas,energy drinks ect are avaliable at the check in area ,they do not serve food ,but the town of waterford is a 20 min round trip from the field theres a little cesars (5.00 pizza)as well as a subway and a good sized grocery store.
HOURS/PRICES playing starts at 9;30 or so ,get there early so they can get you going.The place closes at 4:00.Rentals are $15.00 all day c02is included,walk on is $15.00,all day commpressed air is $8.00.The air set up is the best I have seen in northern california,self service 4500 and 3000 fills.Theres also a variety of stuff for rent ie tanks hoppers ect.The owner can assisted you in purchases as well as repairs on your eqipment and will work with you .You can bring your own paint but paint is fairly priced at the field.
The RULES.pretty simple barrel plugs off the field ,goggles on the field ,there is a 20 ft surrender rule.The chrony speed is 275 or below if you are shooting above 300 you'll sit out till your marker is turned down any thing over 340 your done for the day.There is no fighting ,cursing ect.There is no ramping ,full auto, or over shooting .
REFS They do a good job there are always 4 on the field with you and are very helpful
SAFETY Did I mention the 30ft high net that separates the parking lot from the field ? The chrony area is totaly enclosed with a ref chrony and a tinkering chrony in the target/practice area so if you have a marker problem you can fix it before the ref checks you and puts a mark on your hopper.They are always watching for goggles and barrel bags (no plugs)
FIELDSThe fields have been gone through,cleaned up and added on too. If speedball is your thing there is non here .The gound is bed rock and dirt mix( I would wear high topp boots and knee pads )There are trails trees buildings spools just a great mix.The high light is the trailer field ,picture an urban field that is packed with alsorts of obstacals and not knowing what is around the corner.There is no 20 ft rule here,and it seems to change weekly with new additions,and tweeking.Alll the fields are pretty even and feature a center piece like a bridge or tower.The staff will work with you at keeping sides even and games fair .
This field is also a great scenario game field I hope to see a few more this year out there .
OVERALL Agreat place to bring people into paintball,players are helpful and kidds get treated right .It is the best non speedball field in the area ,I know I will be comming back for many more years
Last edited on Tuesday, February 12th, 2008 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rojas209 Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ventures Games Clayton, Back yard
Review: Well it was my first time out on a field and i have to say it was great, the field is real big, but it could have some more money put into it so it looks nicer. The refs are just kids but they do their job. Only thing i could complain about is that there isnt many forts or towers.

Update
I went back again, this time it was funner since i knew the field better. Having been to an other field i have to say the refs at this field do a better job, since they do paint checks when you call them. i realized that paint at this field is not that expensive compared to others, the people who run this place are nice and will help you out. I just wish i was closer to my house
Last edited on Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 at 10:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

brown5150 Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Paintball and a Action Paintball Games.( Sacramento Area)
Review: This is a fun field to play on. There is 4 different fields to play on. The best is a trailer park.

The owner is very friendly and is willing to help with gun problems. The Ref's are ok but they need to keep on people about there chrono's. Some people shoot pretty hot there.

They need to pick up the pace on games. Too much down time in between games.

The other players are great to talk with. My wife and I had a great time there. This was her first experience playing paintball and she had a great time.

The fields need some clean up and watch out for the honey bees.

I will play there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord Vodka Thursday, September 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Havn't played any other fields in the immediate area yet but i going to Ione soon.
Review: Well what can i say you need to be there at 8 or 9 i can't remember sry. If you havn't been there before you need to fill out some forms, IF YOU ARE NOT 18 YOU NEED PARENT OR GUARDIAN SIGNATURE. The day starts with the ref going over the rules he will repeat it 100 times if he needs to for new comers and he won't even get angry. The owner is a very nice man and he has sweet deals on ION's. They have both CO2 and air, (I have CO2 its a five dollar fill, I now have a 72ci 3000psi tank and its $8 for all day air). There was 4 refs the day i was there, yes four. Most of the refs were really nice and hardworking but a one was really lazy in a game or two. The skill levels here ranged from first timers to guys with sweet cockers and awsome rec. ball guns like sim 4's and wg-65's. I have an autococker so oviously i didn't rent but i believe the rentals were spyders (mechanical of course). They had more than 4 fields and they ranged from close range trailer to trailor wars to like 10 acre heavily wooded fields. The courses were pretty over grown when I was there but the paths were clean on most courses and I believe there working at cleaning the field up. When i was there early august there were about 15 to a team and the teams seemed perfectly balanced. I believe they said in high season they get more than a 100 people there for the day so i'll be heading back often (In fact i'm going this weakend). In conclusion i would highly recommend this couse just for nice owner and refs let alone the awome gameplay. Well i have been there twice now and there were less people only 12 on 12 :( but i still had a great time infact it was better than the first time. The refs still did there job on the field but after a game i asked a ref to check out some guys gun which was shooting way over 280 fps and he never did. After the day was over me and my group stayed for an hour and talked to the owner about starting a speedball team and the halloween event he was as nice as usual and he even gave us some paint to try out. I'm changing my rating to a 10 because the staff is so great.
Last edited on Monday, October 10th, 2005 at 8:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media