paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
60Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (661) 297-7948
Address: 23925 The Old Road, Newhall,
Santa Clarita, California 91321
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
j4ora Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, CPP, Warped Sports, Paintball Fury, Paintball USA, Tombstone, Hollywood Sports
Review: Field enforces safety a lot. A lot of friendly regulars and staff. This is a great field for rec ball. They always try to help every customer. Games are fast. They have 2 rec field and 1 speedball field. As far as I can tell most of the people who likes playing rec ball comes to this field compared to other fields. Just wish they have an airball field and it would be the best field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deviate Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports: Airball and RecBall is better at HS but HS costs way more because you have to buy their paint. FoF is B.Y.O.P. but sells Addiction paint too.

Warped Sportz: AirBall field is nice at WS but their recball field is just made of spools and doesn't compare with FoF's recball fields.

California Paintball Park: Airball at CPP is magnificent but theres a long waiting time due to the many teams wanting to play. Recball is fun there but I prefer FoF's RecBall.
Review: FoF's safety:
Masks don't have to be worn WHEN on the field IF there is NO game OCCURING at THAT time thus barrel plugs/condoms staying on until the game starts is strictly enforced. This is so the players don't get all hot and sweaty before the game even starts. But when the game DOES start, masks being on at all times is enforced.

FoF's fields: There are 3 fields. 2 RecBall fields (one that includes a nice sized hill, which isn't that easy of a task to get over, and a castle on the other side of said hill), and a hyperball arena, which is actually made of blue barrels, white water tanks, and a few other cool stuff that's better than hyper tubes. The RecBall fields are amazing. The "top" field, which is the one with the hill, is in the form of a town. It is complete with a jail house, light house, and even a castle. The "bottom" field is also great. It has underground tunnels, a fort, a rocket, a nice sized submarine and tank that you can go into, and much more. The "hyperball arena" is a bit small but is nice for 3 on 3. We've played with up to as many as 7 on 7 there, but mind you we were using pumps so not much laning was involved. The arena has multiple bunkers for you to hide in such as, snake, doghouse, "bricks" and what we call a "Television aka T.V." All in all, recball fields are superb, and the hyperball arena is a bit small but is nice for what it's made out of.

FoF's hours of operation are: from 9 in the morning to 4:30 in the afternoon. Most players show up around 10ish or 1ish and that's when it really gets fun. It's nice though having like 5v5 matches in the recball fields around 9ish. Gives you a feel for the field before more people start coming.

FoF's Prices: $20 for all day play. $15 for half day. $35 half day rental package (gun, hopper, tank w/unlimited air, mask, 200 paintball rds). $45 full day rental package (gun, hopper, tank w/unlimited air, mask, 300 paintball rds). Everything is $5 off if you have a patch which is only $10. So paying $10 extra one day can save you $5 (after 2 weeks of play) everytime you play there.

FoF's Staff: No other staff can compare. The staff here is friendly as Casper the Friendly Ghost. Staff will help you out with gun problems, give you tips on how to improve and makes sure that every game, whether it be on the RecBall fields or Speed Ball field, the teams are fair.

FoF's food: Lunch time, around 12:30ish to 1ish. They serve Hot Dogs (can be with chilli and cheese for an extra fee), Chips, Assorted Candy, and loads and loads of soda and water.

FoF's Games for RecBall: There are just so many games that all have different styles due to their RecBall field. You can play football, attack and defend, fox and the hound, gauntlet elimination, triangle of death, jack in the box, capture the flag, Pumpkin Head Retrieval (Halloween Special Event), Bomb (recover / detonate), and so much more. And some events even have a reward. If a person is to recover a special item, that person can be awarded 500 rds of paint.

FoF's Misc: FoF is home of the PBSL, Pump Baller's Saturday/Sunday League. It's when all of us Pumpers pitch in $5 for admission for the League and we duke it out in random teams. Winners split the pot money (the admission money) and get points for winning. Throughout the course of 12 or so weekends, those who are consistently participating are recorded with their points and at the end of the tourney is awarded close to $100 and a trophy.

FoF's Needs: Air Ball field. All this field needs is an Air Ball field and this would be just perfect. Perfect for the RecBallers and Tournament ballers.

All in all, I would give this field a 8/10.

Breakdown of my score:
2 of 2 possible points for staff.
2 of 2 possible points for safety.
3 of 3 possible points for Rec Ball fields.
1 of 3 possible points for Speed Ball fields.
Last edited on Sunday, November 12th, 2006 at 8:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shangry-lad Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPP, Paintball Fury, Warped,Conquest,Urban Quest and Paintball USA
Directions
to the Field:
closer than CPP, Warped and Fury
Review: i have never played here before and I wasn't going to but a friend really liked this field and wouldn't play anywhere else.
At first it was routine.
Chrono was well enforced (very important)
Safety was observed (except for some noobs with rentals who kept losing their barrel plugs)
The games were really good and I haven't had this much fun playing scenario before.
I also played their hyperball arena which was surprisingly fun. The refs made sure that
the teams were even at all times especially at the arena.
Overall I would say that this field is good if you are into the whole paintball scenario but
if you are a tourney paintballer like me, you would be better off somewhere else.

Recommendation:
Get an Airball field and this field would be my new home
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood sports park
Conquest
Sc village
and a bunch of others
Review: I went here my first time paintballing, and the staff was, and still is the best. The are nice, knowledgeable, and very creative. my gun went down on me once, and Josh let me use his cocker for the day (thanks Josh! I ike what you're doing to your vw bug). There are many games there, not just capture the flag. the fields are the best. they are like whole towns, and and there are tunnels, tanks, and buildings. The rentals are in good working order, and they wil give you a new one, if it doesn't work for some reason. I have mixed feelings about their speedball field, but everything else makes up for it. THe last thing is the price. I have a patch (saves me $5), so it only costs me $22 for all day play and air. you can use your own paint, whitch really saves you. The wrist band there have a 5% off, or free air fill at Hollywood Paintball, which is right near my house, and has the best prices. over all this is the cheapest field, and for $22, you get an amazing deal
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

glinx1 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest
Review: I play with a large group of friends and we usually go to SC Village. But when I want to roll by myself or just a few other friends, I go to this field. I really like this field a lot. The staff is Great!! The fields are really good too. They have two scenario fields and one speedball field. I won't comment on the speedball field because I don't have a big interest in speedball and I haven't played on this field before. The two scenario fields have a lot of shacks closely knit together which makes for some intense, high adrenaline games. Another thing I like about it is that you really have to watch your moves because after the game begins and the players spread out you can get attacked from any angle rather then just being attacked from one side of the field. Another thing I really like is the variety of games rather then just capture the flag or elimination. Plus the fact that in some games players can win bags of paint. Like someone said in another review, the staff treats you like you are a regular and also the other players are very friendly. I'm trying to get my big group to go here instead of driving way out to SC Village and paying those hi prices. But I know once I do get them here that this will probably be our regular field. I highly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellowjacket Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped
Review: I'll separate this review with pro's and cons
first off the pro's
-The field has three courses which are extremely well constructed. Two of the courses focus on simulation and the third is an enclosed hyper-ball arena. The culminating point of battle, of the simulation fields, is largely focused within a town of board constructed shacks. These shacks create several blind corners which are difficult to navigate through and establish fire Arch's within. As a result of this setup some interesting experiences and heavy urban combat situations emerge.
-The staff at fields of fire is unmatched in presentation and knowledge of the sport. They have also developed several styles, formats, and methods of playing their fields. This has often ended up in some very interesting games.
-The food there is excellent with a lunch break at noon that pauses all games.
-player skill levels seem to be from medium to advance. Simulation teams are often present and the refs will gladly play hyper-ball against you if your looking for some action there.
Now for the Cons
- Alright lets address that hyper-ball arena. Your either going to find it interesting or your going to hate it. The field itself has small barrels for bunkers and is itself rather large. It's enclosed with netting over the top and gives you the feeling that your fighting it out within a parking structure or something. These barrels do not prove cover for larger people so they may not like the layout of the field. Personally and this is just me, I feel these small bunkers teach you proper form on how to tuck yourself in. This field in essence forces you to slim your profile or be shot in the pod-pack/butt. The player with the better form will dominate this arena.
-I'm needy and an Air-ball Arena in the future would be nice
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

i have issues Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest
Paintball USA (Simi)
Paintball USA (Close Encounters - Santa Clarita)
California Paintball Park
Proving Groundz
Review: The BEST refs I have even seen. They are EXTREMELY fair, and the teams are very equally balanced. This place also doesn't have too many people, so its not very crowded. Everybody is very nice, and the food is good. If there is a problem with your gun or something like that, the refs will gladly help, and if you took an extra second or so to fill your hopper, and the game is about to start, the refs will wait for you, so you will not be left out. The only problem I can see is that they only have 2 fields, and one of them is so-so. The other is great!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedStarKid Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This field is great the refs are all awesome i really recommend this field it is real fun and the refs are great and so are the poeple that you play with Dennis,Sean,Josh,Joey,Tim,Leo are all great people The conditions are great the field has two towns and the speedball field is tight. they have so many different games you can play. only field i played at and i dont have 1 thought my mind bout playing somwhere else

Thanks for everything Dennis,Alby,Sean You guys are awesome

From Juan
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

new to paintbal Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
cpp,proving grounds,tombstone,paintball usa in simi valley,
Review: Well today i played at fof for my second time. And it was excellent staff was awesome the ref i think was named Dennis he really adds to the game he makes it fun. In the morning to start it off we all had to chrono our markers at 280fps which was nice. Really strict on the fps rule also i noticed that they were making sure people weren't ramping which is nice no bonus balling. After everyone went trough the chrono it was time for the first game we headed up to the upper field i walked it noticed unique markings on the bunkers shapes sizes symbols etc. We played about 4 games then took a brake to refill and head down to the bottom field. That's when i met the everyone in the "shack" there was Leo Tim and i think joe or joey funny guy. Got filled up on air and bought a drink good prices. Then headed down to the bottom field since there were many more players they had a big orientation explaining the rules. That's when i met the other refs Sean "REF" and Josh. Got the games going and was really impressed by all the games they had. For that one field from elimination to football. After about 4 games there and another brake we switched again. Then came lunch they had hot dogs drinks chips and candy at great prices. After lunch we went through the chrono again. And went to the lower field and played a couple of games. That's when i found out that they had speed ball opening up. Because the ref Dennis said to follow someone down there. I headed down a met a ref i hadn't seen all day his name was i think Albi. The course was looked small but after playing it didn't seem that small after all. It wasn't the best bunkers i ever played with but just the way they were set up made it pretty cool. After that long day of playing. I think i will be coming back. Fields are nice but not the best. Nice Hills,tunnels,trenches. Staff was A+ all of them the one with orange REF shirt was very helpful Sean was his name. Dennis enforced the game and kept it clean and fun for all. Prices are great with patch 5 dollars off with patch. Paint was good quality also. It would be nice to see a Air ball field in the future. But over all it was a great day of play at a great field. Rating 9.5 definitely going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

shutUdown Thursday, September 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball USA close encounters (now "CLOSED" encounters)
proving grounds (cheater heaven)
paintball fury (nicely run-great fields)
conquest (okay fields)
urban quest (so-so)
Review: field access: greatly improved. used to be really tough especially on lowered cars.
shack is centrally located for ease of use.
parking lot is so close to the field you can use your vehicle as a refuge
from the elements.
prices: good competitive prices: 20 all day admission/ 15 half *buy a patch and get $5
off everytime you come back (beats any pbUSA coupon anyday)
no all day CO2 3-4 $ per fill depending on size of the bottle $7 all day air nitro
staff: friendly and willing to help. they will make you feel like you are a regular.
referees: they are one of the best groups of referees ive ever seen. Dennis (the head
ref) oversees the entire field and is very experienced and a staple in the industry.
he will treat you the way you want to be treated. He also came up with various type
of games i havent even heard of. overall i'd say they work good together. Chrono is
also strictly enforced.
fields: my favorite field is the one with the tunnels though it has been greatly reduced it
is an awesome set up. however after 4 straight games on this field it gets old,
but im glad to see that they are building to extend this field. it has tunnels that run
under the city, trenches and a cool submarine that can be entered thru the trench.
TOP FIELD: it has a really cool hill that you could climb on and shoot down on the
town making it the best field for snipers (FLATLINE BABY!!). You better get your
legs ready for this one.
SPEEDBALL FIELD: this is a weird field, i have played at air bunkers and this field
is definitely unusual.it features plastic water, receptacles-plastic barrels and
some wooden shapes. it has a snake which is really cool. The white skinny guy
who often runs this field is cool and creates a good competitive environment by
not stacking up teams.

Overall: This is an awesome field for beginners because they dont stack the teams;
the head ref sees to it that the teams have equal experienced and beginners in
it. the fields are great but obviously needs a great deal of improvement.
It would be awesome to have a regulation size speed ball field to make this park
stand out from the rest.
Last edited on Thursday, September 22nd, 2005 at 8:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media