paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
60Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (661) 297-7948
Address: 23925 The Old Road, Newhall,
Santa Clarita, California 91321
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
mashedpotatoe8 Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Paintball USA
-The Proving Groundz
Review: This was the second field I ever played at, and it was a pretty good field, especially if you like rec-ball and such. The main fields are very nicely made, and they have some good game modes too. Now I'm pretty much a speedball player, and they have a quite small speedball course there, but they only let you go to it between certain times, and since I don't play much rec-ball anymore, I thought I'd check it out.

The Speedball Field
The field was pretty cool, but it wasn't perfect, but no field is perfect. The bunkers were trash cans and boxes and stuff, no airball or anything. It is a pretty small field and to get to some of the bunkers you sometimes have to squeeze through a small spot, but that's fine. One of the things that I didn't like about the course was the ground. It was dirt with plenty of rocks, so you couldn't slide when going to a bunker unless you wanted to get some rocks in your leg and rip your pants up. The refs were cool and didn't call bad calls so that was cool. One of the only problems was that there was no netting or anything around the course, which was pretty bad if you were waiting to play. You might get hit while you were waiting, but they wouldn't start the game until everyone that was waiting to play had their masks on so that was also good.

The Main Fields
These fields are excellent in my opinion. They have 1 field that has defenders in a village-type place, with small wooden houses, giving it a kind of urban feel. The attackers start off in front of a castle-type thing. The attackers get a hill too, and it's actually quite cool to watch one of these games, to watch the team members help each other to complete the objective.
The other main field that they have is just plain cool. It has a wooden tank that one side can go in, they have tunnels, its just plain incredible. Like the other field, its cool to just watch games on this field too.

There's only one thing that has lead me to not go back there, which is some of the people at the admission/air refill booth don't seem to have much enthusiasm. Last time I was there, they displaced the pin in my nitro tank, making every time it was field it would just let all of the air out and wouldn't work or shoot my gun. Upon asking them what I could do, they didn't seem to know much, they just said that the tank was doing what it was supposed to do, letting the air into the gun, but when I asked why the gun wasn't shooting, they just said that my bolt was upside-down, which it was not. I asked one of the refs there about it, he told me to not to refill it because it could blow up, so I ended up not being able to play, and just payed to get paint and everything but I didn't get to play at all. I'm not saying this will happen to everybody, because my friend goes there alot and it hasn't happened to him, but I just don't want to take chances.

The prices they have a FOF are pretty decent, but I HAVE seen better prices for paint, but other than that their prices are okay. I would go back there again and overall I'd say it's a good field, with good courses, decent prices, good refs, decent staff.
Last edited on Sunday, July 17th, 2005 at 10:44 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigbrew44 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
every one in so cal except for tombstone
Review: This park is nice if you are looking for a nice little local field. If you are looking for some serious tournament or airball play then you should go elsewhere. I went here with a friend on a weekday (spring break) and it was alright. It was good to take a break from all the chit talkers and play with some easy going people.

The speedball course is kinda small, but like I said you could have a nice time here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

COTN Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA Close Encounters
Conquest
SC Village
Tombstone
Review: For the record, I went to Field of Fire 2 times late 2004. From what I remember, they only had 3 fields and one of them is a speedball field. I am sorry to say, but this field if falling apart. One reason is from all the rain we had. destroyed the tunnels and much of the field. They mix rental players (beginners) and everyone else into 1 big group. So, this field is not a place to go if you are trying paintball out for the first time. Their speedball is ok but nothing compared to SC Village or Tombstone speedball fields.
I would recommend not going here but they have fixed the fields up a bit but I doubt. I would not come back.

Pros:
Price: Price is very good with a patch ($5 off)
Specials Events: They will have a special event once in awhile like a 1 on 1 tournament in their speedball field. A scenario game once in a blue moon.
Refs: They are cool and actually ref the game.

Cons:
Fields: Fields are falling a part and frankly become dangerous. I fell through a hole which was once a tunnel but the rains ruined their tunnel system. In addition to the rain destroying the fields, they had to mark off some of the field in order to protect the oak trees.
Safety: They don't enforce goggles too strict which is a negative. They are too lax and I was surprised the first time I played here. No Orientation for newbs which I believe is necessary because they'll be walking around the parking lot with a barrell plug or walk on the field with their goggles off.

I am suprised they are still in business. That is how bad I think field of fire has become. I give it a 4 for price.


Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 2:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrPilot Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest
Review: Well after reading and reading alot of reviews for this feild i decided to go their with my friends. One of my favorite things about this feild was the parking lot and the staff. The staff was really friendly and i mean everyone in the staff. The parking lot was really good because it had shades and alot of tables that you can park your car right next to the table and not have to keep everything in your cars trunk like at conquest. When i read about the mountain on the reviews i didnt realize how big it was till i got their and how hard it was to climb it. Once i reached the top i was runing out of breath and to tired to even pull the triger if i saw an eneamy (i spelled it wrong). The players were really friendly and the staff will help you out even if its not a rental gun. We only played on 1 feild but that was because their were alot of people so they joined the feilds together but it was really fun. Only thing that might seem unprofecional was when everyone in the parking lot was shooting air to clean the internals of their guns... but i was in vafor of that cuz i had to clean my gun alot and i always pointed my gun down while shooting the air out. Anyways i will recomend this feild to ppl that really like woods ball and they also have a speed ball feild but most of the people prefered that one big woods feild. 9.5 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickT3hBaller Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA Simi,PB USA on the old road, CPP, Proving Grounds, Conquest.
Review: Not a very professional field.The staff wasn't professional at all even when there was a guy shooting 330 they did nothing about it.The fields were terrible, both fields were one-sided and had no equality.I did like that there was lunch served though while I was there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaliDude Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
-SC Village
-Paintball USA
-Proving Grounds
Review: I've gone to this field about 4 or 5 times and everytime is has been great
Pros:
-Refs and staff are really nice and do a good job
-Teams are made evenly
- Fields are pretty nice (2 rec ball fields and a speedball field)
-Admission price is reasonable ($20 all day $15 with patch)
-Multiple game types (Basic Elimination, Foxes and Hounds, Attack and Defend, or Rentals vs Walk-Ons)
Cons:
-Only one porto potty
-Some fields may be slightly one-sided (teams that start out with the hills have the advantage)

Overall this field is awesome. The refs try to split the teams evenly or go with something different like foxes and hounds or rentals vs walk-ons. The only slight problem with this field is that the team that starts out on the hills always have the advantage and usually the game ends up with a stale-mate. Sometimes if there arent many players playing the refs will have a speedball game on the regular fields which is very fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Not Two Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest - better
Hollywood Sports Park - expensive but still ok to play here once in a while
SC Village - good place but far for me
Review: This is an updated review: So, I went back to this place 2 times since my first review and I had a great time both times. I marked updates with **update**

This place has 2 very small fields. I heard there is also speedball field but it wasn't open the day I went. I played as a walk-on and teams sizes are about 20-30 people on each side.
**Speedball was open this time. Games are quick so you can play alot. Fun to watch while waiting too.**

As long as I'm playing paintball I'm happy. The problem with this place is that you don't end up playing that much paintball. In a 5 hour span from 9:30AM - 2:30PM I played in all of the 5 games. That's 1 game per hour...yeah, pretty bad.
**Wait time inbetween games has improved! Back-to-back games like at Conquest would make it even better though.**

Other CONS:
1. No such thing as "paint check" - I called for one in my first game but the ref didn't budge. It seems the refs here mainly only supervise and keep time. **Didn't bother calling for a paint check, so I don't know if this has changed.**

2. Fields are relatively small - not many opportunities to move around. Most of the time you stay in one place and have a shoot out. Out of the 5 games there was never a winner, time always ran out. **Not much has changed here**

PROS:
1. Buy their patch for $10 and take $5 off admission every time you go. I actually bought one thinking I would come back. With the patch, this is place is a good deal if they can just squeeze a few more games in. **Wait time has improved.**

2. With patch: full day is $15, 1/2 day $10. All day air is $5 (though they only fill up to 2000 psi)

3. Fellow players are friendly. **Casual environment, staff is also friendly.**


Rating: 3 - mainly because of the SUPER SLOW turn around between games. The other stuff is minor as long as I'm actually PLAYING and not waiting.
**New rating 8, the wait time inbetween games is not so long anymore**
Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 10:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fatboy007 Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
UrbanQuest, Conquest
Review: Pros
+ Decent prices ($20 admission + $7 all-day nitro)
+ Tippy 98C rentals
+ Shaded area and tables
+ town field is fun, a nice change of pace from other fields
+ short walk between fields
+ bring your own paint

Cons
- hill field is unbalanced - the team started on top has an extreme advantadge
- the hills can make the games boring and become a stalemate, some people just camp at the top and spray paint
- only 3 fields(hill, town, speedball)
- slooooooow between games, we stood around 15-20 minutes even between switching sides
- 1800-2000psi nitro fills
- no lunch on Sunday??

I wanted to like this place, I just felt the field was average. The referees did a decent job of watching the game. The delay between the games became annoying. The games became too much of a stalemate with the hills; every game played the same. The hill field wasn't exciting even with the tunnels. If you started at the bottom, your only real goal was to stay alive.

Additional fields and/or balancing the fields would make the trip more worthwhile.

Rating: 6/10
Last edited on Monday, June 7th, 2004 at 3:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PanterA Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA/Simi, Conquest, etc etc
Review: I played this field once, awhile back. Here is my review:


Pros:
-Owner? was very nice guy
-Lots of shade/benches/tables
-Prices
-Had Pizza
-Little field is cool
-Mixed games up

Cons:
-The Big field we played on mostly all day, was really cool at first but started to show a one sided weakness. Folks starting on higher part have much more advantage. The hilly terrain got annoying after the end of the day.
-Geeze I hate when games lag to start. Had some younger kids in charge of the show, sittin there talking to what seemed to appear as there friends.
-Porta Potties

All in all it was a good experience. I think someone told me this field moved? Not sure.

Strong 7
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chaosmonkie Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, paintball usa, cpp
Review: This place is real nice. Its cheap and full day fills are real cheap too. The refs are nice, denis is really funny if you get to know him. If you like it here after you play once, I would suggest getting a field patch because then its only 15 bucks for entry every time. There is a speedball field they are working on but i would still suggest going to proving grounds if your into sup airball like me. There is a mountain you can climb, which is very tiring if your carrying a gun that is over 10 pounds like my friend. There is also a 1000 foot tunnel system which is real nice. Although i was scared, I like to do stupid things so the first time, I just jumped in there and really had no idea where i was going and I went to a dead end where there was this little top open. So I stick my head out and it gets blown off...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media