paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Da Nuke Paintball Games Paintball Field / Da Nuke Paintball Games Paintball Field / Da Nuke Paintball Games Paintball Field / Da Nuke Paintball Games Paintball Field

Da Nuke Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (815) 978-6081
Address: 3485 N. German Church Road
Byron, Illinois 61010
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Praynspray Monday, August 22nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Winstead Outdoors
Directions
to the Field:
German Church Road across from Byron Nuke Plant



Review: I just wanted to let fellow paintballers in the northern Illinois area know that Da Nuke has closed its gates due to a death in the family this year. I am the owner of Winstead Outdoors and have no ill regards towards Da Nuke, and I am sorry for her loss. Shoot straight and no wiping. Best regards to other paintballers in Northern Illinois. al
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

05Fazer Tuesday, October 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I was more that pleased with my experience at this field. After hearing about other fields I was not expecting much other than trees and land, but this field had different courses we could play that were challenging and engaging. The time limits that the field opporators allowed for were greater than other places and the staff were more than willing and available to help. The price was very reasonable especially with the amount of paint they gave in the price. I will definatly be revisiting this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippyFreek104 Monday, September 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, The Edge, Challenge Park Extreme
Directions
to the Field:
They have a GREAT driving page on their website. Pretty easy tho, just go to Byron heading South on Route 2. Turn right at the Mobil Station. Go forward across the bridge, go forward at the stopsign, follow the road and you will see Motosports park, you are almost there, keep going past the big azz towers and you will see the sign on the left side. Go slow on the corner of the drive cuz the road is a little bumpy there after the big rain.
Review: I like this place. The atmosphere is friendly and open. Nobody rips anyone off. They sponsor a woodsball scenario team now called Spiritus Raptor who come out almost all the open play days. It makes for a cool game when you have people who really know what they are doing HELPING the newbies. Girls are starting to play there too, how cool is that?

Hours of Operation: I think that Brad and Tina have done a great job on getting things together after the rough start 5 years ago. 11 am to 6 pm is when they are open. If there are a lot of people there it may take a little longer to get started, but they have been pretty consistent in getting the games going before noon. This includes the whole process of sign-in and chrono time. Props to them for working these issues out.

Price: The price has not changed since they took over running the field 5 years ago. $20 for entry $5 for all day co2 or HPA. $5 for complete rental equipment, Mask, pod pack and marker. LUNCH is FREE!! Tell me about any other place where they feed you good food and smile about it.

Rules & Safety: They make sure about safety, they go over all the rules and tell you about the "surrender" rule and "dead in the fort" rule. They Will holler if you don't cover your barrel, but hey, that is just safe ya know? Masks are discussed very well by Mike before the games. Overshooting is not allowed and players are hollered at if they drill someone on purpose. Head shots are the only thing that don't count.

Refs: They don't have tons of refs, but if you think about it, it would cost more to play. They expect honorable play and if you aren't gonna play straight, why bother?

Fields: They have made HUGE improvements in the field. There is netting the team helped with, all the way around everything, the fields and the target range. They stopped doing speedball... Good idea. Be Woodsball, that's what is there. They had a lot of help from the team who built some GREAT forts and they have huge tire towers and stripped cars in "The City" now. The games are being added to and they use the whole field.

Players: There are cool players out there now. I like them, they don't complain about everything you do. I like it when you get treated like a comrade and work together as a team.

Equipment: They only have 20 guns, but I hear they are planning to get more, so that would rock. They have a air compressor now so they guarantee 3k psi now. Props for that too! They told me they might switch to a new paint sales company next year.

They had a special day last weekend where they let soldiers in FREE with FREE paint and all kinds of stuff for the kids. Who else does that?

I like this place and will keep coming. It is fun, and I like the people I have met there and, come on, FREE FOOD!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

royal assassins Friday, June 26th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox, vicious tactics, edge, operation paintball
Review: This used to be my home field and were I would play often throughout the year.....

then a while back they raised their prices and became a field paint only field so I have not been back since.

the field paint is monster balls and nelson neither are good quality to me and so I refuse to play there any more.

this field is great and the refs are some of the best the owners are good people too but the paint quality is something I can't get my head around so this post is to inform of the new changes and hopefully tell anyone heading out there that has read about da nuke being a bring your own paint field that it has changed and you might be disappointed!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MrKristofer Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field in the area I have played at as of this review.
Review: This was the first time I have played in awhile, and Da Nuke offers a good time at a great price. The turnout was around 20 players which was plenty to have two good sized teams. The format for the games we played when I was there were all attack/defend where one team attacks a certain area and one team, you guessed it, defends it. They were definately fun games but I would have liked to play some games where both teams have a flag or both teams are going for the same flag, so you are both attacking and defending in the same game. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the play area is huge with basically every kind of bunker/obstacle you can think of. The only complaint I have is, as per field rules, when you are tagged out, you return to the main camp, wait a period of time and return to the game. I think that gives you the most time for your money, but as it is set up now, returning players often come up behind attacking players. It makes for too many shots in the back from someone returning from the dead area. A set path for returning players that brings them back into play at their starting position would be great. Other than that, no complaints at all. It is definately worth mentioning that Da Nuke offers FREE lunch, and there is no place I have ever heard of that does that. Kudos to the owners and staff, I will definately be returning this summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dad&sonkillers Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WYLDESIDE ROCFORD IL.
Review: THEFIELD The field is over 40 acres of oak trees and real nice ravine that runs down the middle of the west corner.The area they call the city is in a open 8 acre tall grass field that is covered with wooded fence bunkers and 2 crow nest like forts that are up in the air. The east side of this feild has big and i mean BIG endloader tires stacked to use as cover. the rest of the fields has wooded bunkers and barrels all over it. SAFETY
The safety there is great as all or most of the players there understand and help out on issues like barrel plug and googles on in the field.

REFS
The refs there do a very good job on explaining all the safety rules and dividing the players up into 2 teams. They all so do a great job tell all the players the game that they are running and the rules that are involved with each game and sometimes alittle advice if need on some statagies before the games starts. GREAT JOBS REFS

THE OWNERS
The owners are BRAD &TINA they do a great job on makeing this fell like a family get together on open play day. This is the only field that serves you lunch at no cost to the players. Today we had hotdogs and chips. thank you

PRICE
The price to play on sunday was $25.00 and the paint they offer is good high quality paint at a affordable price.The great thing about them is that if you need a gun it is only $5.00 for the day. Its not a cheap field gun it is a name brand good gun. Today a freind of ours needed a gun and the gun worked perfectly all day.

TODAY
Today was the first time me and my son first day back out in the feild playing. There was a great turn out of 25 players.We got there at 11:00 am got the gear out and got ready.The ref did a great job getting all the players cronoed and divided in to 2 teams and out in the feild by11:45 Then we played 4 great games and then had lunch.After a half hour break we were right back at it playing.The last 2 games was there greatest game the city. WOW WHAT A GREAT TIME.

NEW PLAYERS/OLD PLAYERS
If you are new to the sport and want to have a good time PAINTBALLING.this is the place for u. If are all ready a player and want to have a great time in the woods then come to DA-NUKE.The one thing i have noticed over the years playing here is if you are new to it or old to playing everyone who plays is treated the same.MY son started playing when he was 9 he is now 12 and you can not underestamat him in the field.

THANK YOU BRAD & TINA &STAFF FOR A SUPER GREAT DAY OUT AT DA-NUKE


Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2008 at 6:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

funwithfire28 Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Right across the street from the byron nuke plant
Review: If you have ever been near a nuke plant you know that every so often they have a drill to simulate the evacuation of the plant cause of a reactor problem. Well i was camping there and the park ranger came at 4 in the morning and told us to get out. So we slept in our car instead. Then we went paintballing. The field was more of like a backyard kind of field nothing like cpx or factory up north.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

chkchkbowwow Wednesday, September 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River Games, Chicago Reball Center, WyldSide Paintball.
Review: Even though I have been here only once, I have to say that it was pretty cool. You have to have a notarized waiver and $25 to get in ($20 if you have your own equipment.) The air all day was free. Which was awesome!

They have some benches in front of what looks like white gates, some of the guys put their stuff on that. (I put mine what I thought looked like a shack.)

The field had some concessions, Tina (the field owner) cooked us some hot dogs while I had mountain dew.

After we had everything set up and ready to go, we had to get our markers Chrono'd. It took us about 30 mins. When there are more than 2 people waiting in lines, you have to wear a mask, which tells you they are all about safety. The head ref (I don't remember his name but I called him "guy with cool hat") went over the game rules.

The Hills: The first game we played was 1 Flag capture. The flag was placed at the top of the hill, one team defends the flag while another attacks it. We played this game twice. Both teams switching objectives. This game was played in the woods.

City Game: The name can be misleading, it's not like challenge park where you play in a "town". Once again, one team defends the flag while the other team captures it. The game is a hybrid ball (combining bunkers from woodsball and elements of speed like speedball.) I "almost" captured the flag when my low endurance came back to bite me in the butt!

Speedball Course: This game is the same as you see in the tournaments. If I recall correctly, the bunkers were Extreme Rage brand. There was a problem with the pump so we were missing a bunker on one side, leaving 1 guy exposed. (usually me)
The refs set up two flags on the wooden posts (even though we played it as a deathmatch, not really caring about the flags.) The dead boxes looked like the ones in some tournaments I have seen on the web. They are Rectangular standing up with black netting all around it. Which means a stray paintball won't hit an unsuspecting person.

When I came to this field, I was a bit sceptical about the quality and what the game experience would be like. By the time I got home and washed off my battle wounds, I felt like that was well worth the $20! Thanks for the great time!!!

I gave the field an 8 out of 10 because we did have to wait a long time to chrono, and there were some leftover paintballs I didn't want to step on with my good shoes. Other than that, I will definately be returning.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I guess I'll make this brief. WhenI was there rules were not followed as 1 guy was over shot and left because noone did anything about it. Safety is a big problem there as people were standing in line without masks waiting to chrono. Chrono station not having netting at all. Not having food available until 4p.m. Getting there early to play and having to wait 21/2 hours to play our 1st game. This field caters to woodsballers and speedball fields are not worth waiting 2 1/2 hours for in my opinion.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bauls86 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
My buddy owns a private field
Directions
to the Field:
right next to the Nuclear Plant... and you can't miss those!
Review: I played at Da Nuke today and would have to say that I had a pretty good time. We started around 11ish and played until around 5:30 (but others were still playing for a little longer). I'll divide this review up to discuss the main points:

SAFETY - Da Nuke was very good about making sure that their field was safe. There was always someone nearby when everyone was coming out of the shooting zone and they made sure that the barrels were covered and that people weren't jacking around. They didn't flip out on you if you forgot to cover the muzzle, either. They would simply ask or remind you to cover it.

REFS - I was a little disappointed with the refs. They didn't make any bad calls or anything, but it seemed like they didn't do a whole lot. In every game I was in, whether it was speedball or woodsball format, the players made their own calls on the honor system. Half of the time the refs weren't anywhere near the action to make a call anyway. It wasn't a real problem in our case, but the field could save a few bucks by cutting the amount of refs at least in half.

PRICES - I brought my own equipment and, since it was Sunday, brought my own paint. The field fee for the day was $20 and all-day air or co2 was $5, which isn't too bad. Da Nuke also had a few cases of Nel-Splat and Brass Eagle Monster Balls for sale too. From what I heard the prices weren't too bad for those either.

Overall this was a pretty fun field. They had a fairly large area of woods, 2 decent speedball fields, and a "city ball" type of field. Usually there was a speedball game and a woodsball game going on at the same time. Another great part of Da Nuke was that everyone (newbs to experienced ballers) could have fun, not be embarrassed, and afford to play at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media