paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Goose River Paintball Field / Goose River Paintball Field / Goose River Paintball Field / Goose River Paintball Field

Goose River Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 701-610-6197
Location: Hillsboro, North Dakota 58045
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
pballersrp Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at many fields including futureball, hell survivors, battle ground, atomix indoor, chaos to name a few which are all in Michigan. This field is smaller but adequate for the turnouts. The owner is by far the best that I have encountered over the years.
Directions
to the Field:
Many people get lost but all you have to do is get off at the Mayville exit if your coming from fargo turn right and if your coming from grand forks go left the road will end at a stop sign. Set your odometer and and turn left onto Hwy 81, go exactly 2 miles then turn right there will be a electrical substation on the corner. Then go another 2 miles (exactly 2 miles) and turn left there is no street name or sign, go 1.3 miles and you will see a sign for GRP turn onto the dirt road and follow it till it ends. This website says its in Hillsboro but its closer to buxton. I made the mistake of going to hillsborro the first time. The GRP website also has the directions.
Review: The field hours are Sat. from 12-6 this year (2010) and the field will be open untill the last weekend in Oct. The owner is talking about changing them next year so check the GRP website in 2011. This field isn't the largest but is expanding to include a castle. There isn't a speedball field at this time because there is little demand by the players that normally show up. Rick the owner is the best field owner I have met and this is more a hobby for him than a business. The field fee is $5.00 and $20 to rent marker, 500 paintballs and CO2. You can still bring your own paint and there is air and CO2 available.Paint is available and cost 10 a bag this year which is a good price at the field, The main field consist of a variety of bunkers including vehicles, tires, barrels and natural habitat. The fields are fully netted and have places for spectators to watch. Their are snacks and refreshments available. Turnouts vary week to week but the field setup is good for small or large groups of people.
Last edited on Sunday, October 10th, 2010 at 10:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AtcBurt Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
It is off a couple of dirt roads, they only set of decent directions are on their website
Review: This field is the only one that is close to me. The hours are suppose to be form 12-6, but every time I have been there the games don't start until 1:20-2:00. Not enough people there until then that want to play. They say they will stay open latter if asked, but I nobody everybody asks. The first time I went the owner walked out, personally met me, and gave me a tour of both their fields. I had to rent equipment that time and the whole setup(A-5 marker, 500 balls, CO2, and mask) cost me only $20. If you have your own gear the price is just $5. The average crowd is young, guys who just want to have fun, but I have seen every type of person their and it is not uncommon to have moms bring their kids. I would recommend this field to anybody who is look for just a cheap fun time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlterEgo Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Much bigger woodsball layout this season, but no speedball field. Many new improvements in safety and game play. Prices are very reasonable, paint is the freshest in the area. They can also order pretty much anything you may need for your marker. Worth the drive. Course if very challenging even for a veteran baller. two thumbs up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buttercup Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Valley Paintball, Area 13, Combat Zone, JRVP-All well established rec fields, they all started similarly to GRP.
Air Assault, FSL, SPO-indoors in the twin cities; not really comparable.
Review: GRP is a fun place to go. Rick does his best to keep a friendly atmosphere (some rough characters, but they grow on ya) and the prices very low, to make it worth the drive. The field itself is very new and he's made serious efforts at making it playable even before it's broken in. The regulars are good people, and if you like thick cover, here it is. Very similar to Sabin Field in the height of summer before Valley Paintball moved in.

The only negative issue I had was safety. The players and staff were not wary of barrel condoms at all, and once shot out, would move about 30 feet from the action and remove their goggles. But if you like your eyes, you can just leave your 'filers on.

Overall, a good field with potential.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lanthantos Monday, October 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Valley Paintball (little more organized, but they have been around longer too), Combat Ranch, Area 13 Paintball, FSL paintball in Minneapolis, SYO in Minneapolis (those are indoors so its apples to oranges on the Minne fields)
Review: Went up to GRP to try something different one weekend, im a regular at VP and play there a lot and love that field and always will. I got there to find the owner there very friendly and helpful, they had a nice selection of orings for sale (handy) and some assorted camo masks, bdus, etc, the admission was CHEAP, a whole dollar!!! wow!, i donated 5 to the field to help it get going as im used to paying more anyways. I found the players to be friendly and helpful and had a really good time. They are good about chronoing and are working on other stuff to make the field very safe for everyone and fun.

Since then, some of the regs from GRP have been coming to VP to play, and some of the VP crowd is now heading up there occasionally and its turning into a good thing. I think this field has a lot of potential and Rick will work hard to make sure it gets better and better. Swoodsball is a bit like speedball but yet more woodsball, not many bunkers but a small enclosed area that does have some stumps/trees and a few barrels to hide behind, i think they were talking about building a speedball type course soon for next year so that should be coming and more appealing to a larger variety of player types. The Woodsball areas are very dense and lots of cover, hard to see other players, and its quite big.

All in all, a great new field that is on the grow and has an owner behind it that seems to really have dedicated himself to it. I look forward to seeing what next year brings for them.


Give it a try if your in the area, not like its expensive to play there or anything :P.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

romulous Friday, September 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 13 larimore.Nd they do not compare . i really cant compare to two they are totally different types of courses.
Review: I have played at a lot of fields in my 20+years of playing this game that I love. If you are on a tight budget or love to play true woodsball then I have to say that GRP is the place to try. The field is full of folliage for hiding and gettting away from a bad sisuation. The person that runs it is not out to get rich he charges $1.00 admittance fee and charges fifteen cents an once for co2. He also does not require you to use field paint but if you do he has the cheapest prices that I have found next to a wholesale place I still get some of my supplies from. They play a game there that is called swoodsball and you have to see it to believe it. It is nice to see a field that is trying something new and all the players are having a good time. If you have the chance go check this place out you will enjoy yourself and not go broke doing it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media