paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ruff n Tuff Paintball Field / Ruff n Tuff Paintball Field / Ruff n Tuff Paintball Field / Ruff n Tuff Paintball Field

Ruff n Tuff Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
70Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 305.953.7776
Address: 14120 SW 142 Street
Miami, Florida 33186
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
FPS_Foxtrot Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only other one i've heard of is Extreme Rage
Directions
to the Field:
Near Romo's Pizza and City Rugs
Review: Ok, from what i know their hours of operation are 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. The safety at the field is among the best, they are always on top of making sure people's masks are on and barrel socks are in. Although something they can improve on is chronographing players. Their prices are average (compared to nothing), its $60 for a case of 2000, what i dont like about their paint is that it hardly ever breaks (most of the time only gogging or hitting a rough spot on the person would work). Rules strictly inforced like said earlier barrel socks, masks, and occasionally chrono, also people tend to bring non-field paint (it is field paint only btw) they tell them to dump it and if they get caught again they are kicked out. Services: CO2 and HPA fills, rental equipment (gun, tank, hopper, air, and other stuff upon request). They have a bathroom only used it once though, but was clean, and able to change in it.They have a proshop next door, they only have 2 people working there (but are always there) and know what they are talking about and really helpful. They have vending machines and Romo's pizza accross the street (if you order a girl comes on a scooter and deliver's it). Staff- try to help out as best they can, although some of them are pretty lazy. Two things I dont like about RnT is when people are signing in there is only one person to do that, in the afternoon there is a long line of like 20 people waiting to get signed in. Please if you go, go to their website and print their safety waiver-fill it out- and bam you dont have to waste time signing in (in doing this i am hoping to eliminate people waiting in line filling the waiver out). Also, they have people that reserve and no one else can join them, on a busy day they can take up all the fields (unfortunately) also get their own referee (not hating) but basically they are higher in the ladder than walk ons are.
Now for their fields-
1 airball field (bunkers say NPPL on them and pretty well maintained)
2- Xball fields (1 smaller and a bigger one they just put in(replaced lego))
2 Woodsball fields (1 smaller and a bigger one)- also put some more bunkers in the smaller field)

Thats about it, all in all i would give RnT a 7 out of 10 (10 being the highest) due to their lack of enthusiastic referees, long line to sign in, and somewhat crappy paint.

Hope this helps any comments just post them and hope I can help

*UPDATE*
Went on 1/12/08, Didnt start the day off well, Waited 10-30 mins. to get signed in, Not enough refs. b/c of too many people reserving (We had to ref our own games) with the exception on like 2 refs. Went to Extreme Rage a week before, lemme just say read my review on ER. Only reason i see myself going to RnT is because its closer then ER. REview moved from a 7 to a 6
Last edited on Tuesday, January 15th, 2008 at 4:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpfhshooter Monday, October 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
this is the only field that I've been to, I'm planning on going to Extreme rage.
Directions
to the Field:
its close to a shop named city rugs
Review: Ok right off the back i hate the referees there.
they are lazy and don't ever pay attention to the games.
they always just listen to their ipods, count to three and leave the field.
the staff in the garage are alright. some of them though are very lazy. players take forever to sign in and the staff takes forever to sign them in!!!
price. the prices are outrages. its 60 dollars a case. 20 for 500.
when you sign in you get these little tabs with 5 sticks and if you run out of those then you have to pay another few extra dollars to get another one.
the field. the park consists of 5 fields. 2 woods, 1 air ball (the other air ball field is messed up.) hyper ball, and a lego field. the fields are decent but are mistreated and disgusting.
one thing that i do like about park though is the pro shop they have there called moe's paintball. they are nice to every customer and give useful tips to players.
but there is one rule that i hate the most.
you cannot use automatic due to the new management they have.

Balls:8

Staff- 2

Field-6

Prices-2

Pro shop-9

Overall rating: 4 (and thats being generous)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shogunn Thursday, September 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This is a great place to play. The staff is really friendly and helpful. I had never played before and after going there one time, i was hooked with the sport. I can't get enough of the field. I bring my boys, neighbors, co workers and clients to play. We have visited other fields but I can't say honestly about playing there but the other field was nice with the hut and all. But I didnt get a family oriented feeling like you get at R N T. The proshop is AWESOME.. The staff has no problem helping you with a mark problem or anything.

The prices are very comparable to other places and they make sound recommendation. We enjoy wood ball more than anything else. There are two wood ball fields and the only recommendation I would say would be to add more cover and space on the larger field.. But that is minor, the safety there is another reason I enjoy taking my boys. Everyone is so safety conscious and have fun at the same time... If I had to list an opportunity, it would be to hire more refs. But than we found a way around this. We simply make a reservation! Keep up the good Job R N T

Shogunn
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sunder117 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Spray Paint in Homestead-- Their refs are fair and do their job, the management staff is approachable and will help you fix your personal gun for free if it starts glitching, and their entire staff is super sociable and wether you are with a private party or not they treat you just as good. Fields are just as good but cleaner. Its worth the drive!
Directions
to the Field:
on the west entrance of nw 42nd avenue and 134 street, turn into 134th and just follow the road and you'll see it on your right.
Review: My day started by waiting 45 min. to use the only one of their five fields that wasnt being reserved by a private party. I spoke to mangement and they didnt care and were downright mean, i was simply told that private parties have preferrance over walk-ons. Everytime we where about to start a game we had to walk to the hub to ask them to send a ref. They didnt have enough refs. The refs would just stand there and not do any paint checks, they gave preferrance to their friends. The hours of operation that were disclosed were not true they close at 4:30 not 5:00pm and they make you buy there cheap paint which doesnt pop and is watery for the gut ripping price of $60 a case when you can buy the same quality for $30 elsewhere. I wish Ruff n Tuff the best, however I dont see myself visitting them again , this has been my worst paintball experience to the date.

On a Scale of 1-10 and why!

Safety: 7 the refs allowed a private party to remove their masks in game unchallenged

Fields: 4 it seems they have never been cleaned and the airball field is deflated theres very air props.

Hours of Operations: 6 they close 1/2 earlier than they close

Prices: 1 they make you buy paint from them double the price for the same quality, its outrages!

Rules:3 overall very little enforcement of any rules

Service: 1 see above.

Staff: 1 lazy

Proshop: 8 Very Knowledgeable and pleasant Chinese looking guy and some kid who acts like a cocky fifth grader, they offer competitive pricing on gear.

Refs: 1 lazy kids

Food: 0 No food there nor nearby




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MisfitMaker Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field i've been to, but im planning on visiting other fields very, very soon.
Review: Ruff and Tuff is located in the middle of the city basically. Which means there is alot of background noise from cars, planes, and machinery. Now, I have been playing at this field for two years and there is always one problem or another.

When I first started going to the field about two years back they had five fields, all properly maintained and kept. But the referee's were very lazy and there were problems with theft and fights.

About one year ago they still had five fields, but the woods fields were pretty severely damaged due to the 2005 hurricane season, alot less cover exists making it look like woodsball/speedball more than anything else, still is this way now.

Now, there is a proshop next to the field which I highly recommend, it is called Mo's Paintball, they have average prices and the staff is very helpful with problems, upgrades and such. But RNT the actual field is lacking majorly, the speedball field is now almost always disinflated and the bunkers conditon are horrid, the xball field is the same thing and the layouts havent been changed. The refrees are a bit better but still lacking and its just not very good in my opinion. It never really was. The only decent field still is the "lego" field.

$60+ a case doesnt help either

Safety wise I think it gets a 5/10, the Co2 tanks for the rentals look like they're 10 years old, they savegly handle them. The staff which fills the tanks sometimes doesnt fill them right and doesnt treat tanks very well. They occasionally make you chrono your gun.


There is also a crapload of confusion for walk on players who did not pay for as group. They give priorty to parties and groups who reserved sometimes letting 2-3 groups go ahead of you even i you had your walk on team assembled and ready before them. Very UNFAIR.

Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 4:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XtReMeCaRnAgE Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on another field called Spraypaint, b/c there is only like two in miami. I consider spraypaint to be a cheaper deal.
Review: OK, to start off I think the wide variety of choices concerning types of paintball < Woodsball, Speedball, Hyperball, Lego, Air> is pretty cool. I believe this is like the only field in Miami that has all these put together, so that's a plus. Now, the negatives < a lot of them>... First of all, when you go to Ruff n' Tuff you have to pay for your entrance which is like 10 bucks, you cant argue with that. But, if you play at their field you also HAVE to pay for their paint and the paint isn't cheap. The paint is like 60 bucks a case. Where at SprayPaint you pay 10 or 15 bucks an entrance and the paint is cheaper, but they are not that strict on you HAVING their paint. The paint at SprayPaint is like 45 bucks a case. Second of all, I played one round of hyperball at Ruff n' Tuff and there was a mishap where the ref. started the count off <3...2...1..GO!> and after he said that he just left the freaking field like nothing and we are all screaming out so and so is out... so and so is out and there was not a single ref. to help out. I mean, c'mon a ref's job isn't just saying 3,2,1 you actually have to stay there and observe. So the reffing I give a 2 out of 10... < I cant believe I am even giving them a 2>. Lastly, they had recently played around with the Lego field and divided it in half. I don't see what the point of that was, b/c I went to go play on one half of the Lego field, while another team was playing on the other half... And right when I'm about to enter, the guy is like " No, you cant play on the other half b/c the people on this half will get confused". I thought to myself, "What was the point of dividing it if people are going to get confused???" So that was just a " Very Smart Idea ". I cant complain with the store or the people that work inside. I mean, the store is pretty cool. I f you have a problem with your gun, most of the time they can fix it. As for air filling, when you pay for entrance, they give you a little wristband with 5 snatch-off's. Those 5 snatch-off's are used for how many times you use the air. So if you run out of those 5, then you will have to pay another 5 bucks to get another 5 snatch-off's. Where at SP you have unlimited air < AWESOME!>. As for the area next to the store where you get the air, the people there are friendly MOST of the time. If I had to give Ruff n' Tuff a score from 1-10, I would give it a 5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

covert_eskimo Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SprayPaint, Extreme Rage, East Coast Extreme, Extreme Velocity.
Review: To start this field is NOT cost-friendly. Its entry fee isnt the problem, in fact at $10 all day air its actually pretty good. The problem lies at the cost of paint at $60 a box its pretty expensive compared to other fields. The fields here are covered in sand which is a pain to get out of your gun if it gets in there. The air ball field is almost non-existant, the speedball field is a bit larger but theres just as much sand not making it that much better. The only fields they seem to take care of are the woods fields in which games progress very slowly. Theres a lego field (Field where they have small lego like blocks stacked together like legos.) which is actually pretty decent. The refs are extremely strict about the fact you can only use field paint but other than that theyre very good. The people who play there though are actually dissapointing. Most of them are immature kids or equally immature adults. I have actually had an experience where a group of me and my friends had each bought a case of paint and apparently the guy had placed them on the counter when we had our backs turned and someone stole two of them. (Fortunatly the guy understood our situation and he gave us cases to replace that.) The food is good and the people working at the proshop nearby (not the one the field owns although they are practically right next to each other) are very helpful and knowledgable.

To conclude this im going to say that the facilities here are very good although the fields dont make the cut. Overall I give it a 6.
Last edited on Thursday, October 12th, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bal4eva@hotmail Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strike Force-Spray Paint
Review: I have played at the field many times over the last few years- i am away at college and dont get down there as much now. But I went with a group of friends and boy this place has gone down hill. The air bunkers dont stay full and the field is so small. im not really interested in playing woods ball so those fields are pointless to me. The place is such a mess- Doesnt seem to get the same crowd as before. I felt like i was playing at a dump. i dont think i will go back. i will just have to find a new cleaner place.
the tables are falling apart. I will say that the food was good and that was nice to have that on the premises so we didnt have to leave. The refs on the fields we played on were good but i heard a few people complaining about some lazy ref. i guess that happens everywhere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swigidyswag Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
spraypaint ect.
Directions
to the Field:
in opa loca near a HUGE flea market
Review: its funny okay i went on a saturday i forgot my barrel and asked if they had an angel 05 speed barrel but they said no so that may say to you they dont have much to sell you the parking is small so you might wanna plan on getting droped off cuz my dad reversed into a ladys car and we were stuck there for a long time Cool there is a lot of dirt but its still fun im not realy a woods player but when i played man it was awsome the big woods is fun but they tell you you have to have like 5 on 5 game but the small is awsome huge pilles of trees almost out of the fields and some tree log bunkers and fallen tres root with sand in the gaps but there are small holes for you to stick your barrel through and its great i dont realy like the lego field it has weird bunkers that are small for sitting there only good for standingbut its not a good field the kids are pretty good and lend you paint speed ball fields i didnt play on it was too deflated hyperball was fun but the noobs are stupid they blind shoot the whole game and lucky for them thats my weakness i couldnt really play but one game there wuz one noob left and me and a kid with an ego and my friend i got there with a ion and somehow the little kid who was blind shooting got us all out the kids who never play properly but act all good never let you play a game with them overall good feild bad refs i wiped every game never got caught good paint ok good drinks
Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 7:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

initialdfan Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Spraypaint
Review: Ok, first off, this place is only good if you like woodball and scenario play. The airball is extremely small. Not only that, but this place is almost always hogged by a team practicing there. Not only that, but the other field blow too. The only field I actually enjoyed there was the Lego field, which is pretty fun except the refs don't let you cross to the other side of the field (well, they didn't let me at least).

Okay, now about the shop. They have a shop next to the field that isn't even part of RNT. RNT has a shop but it only sells crap.

The refs here blow, unless of course you're in a private party like I was. A friend had never played paintball and he wanted to try it out, so of course he wants to have a paintball party. I feel bad for his mom, who bought like 8 cases of paint (THE PRICES HERE ARE 60 BUCKS!!!!!!)

To sum it up, go to spraypaint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media