paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wildfire Paintball Games (Snellville) Paintball Field / Wildfire Paintball Games (Snellville) Paintball Field / Wildfire Paintball Games (Snellville) Paintball Field / Wildfire Paintball Games (Snellville) Paintball Field

Wildfire Paintball Games (Snellville) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 3725-C Stone Mountain Hwy
Snellville, Georgia 30039
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
xXAFireInsideXx Saturday, February 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Carnage Paintball - Woodstock
Classic Paintball - Atlanta
Thunder Valley(?) Paintball - Macon
Also, every field in Las Vegas that's been open over the last seven years.
Directions
to the Field:
Google rules.
Review: Okay, I played here today due to me having a hankering to play some speedball all week. Of course it rains, so I'm stuck having to go Indoor.

Anyway, I'll start with the high points:
- Indoors, incase of rain
- Pro Shop, incase you need something
- The turf on the field isn't as slippery as most indoor fields; they put rubber gravel down for more traction
- "Airball"... kinda.
- Gas Station right behind the field if you need food
- Vibes for rentals.

And now, the muck:
- The Rentals use BARREL PLUGS!?!??? Really?? I mean... weren't those banned from the industry like five years ago??
- This is NOT a new-player-freindly field; There is no bps cap in place, no distance or surrender rules, overshooting is constant.
- New players are not separated from more experienced players.
- Today there were maybe thirty or forty people playing; and they'd get them all on the field at once. The field is WAY too small for a 20 v. 20
- F.P.O., which is expected, but $80 for a case of White Box!?!?? give me a break.
- Oh yeah, that's on top of $10 for air and $10 for entry.
- Only one ref on the field at a time
- Most of the staff seemed distant and unmotivated, unhappy to be there almost.
- The staging area floor is bare concrete which gets really slippery.
- Most of the bunkers were very deflated, the field wasn't mirrored and the middle "fort" is a deathtrap.

All in all, not somewhere I'll ever be returning to, unless they get a full airball setup that is actually mirrored, and lower the cost of play. Price gouging is not cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuzzman70 Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that i know of.
Directions
to the Field:
i dont know. My friend takes me to all the fields :D
Review: Okay, lets split up the good and the bad.

The bad on the field:
Theres only one. Granted its an indoor field, theres only one, so everyone plays with everyone. Not a bad thing actually (ill get to that later)

The floor is incredibly slick, i mean like SUPER slick. Right outside the field, too. So, inevitabley, i slipped and fell walking off the field once. Cost me a pod, but i have 3 extra. Its not that big a deal, i just think they could put some mats right at the entrance.

They are field paint only. And they're field paint is OUTRAGEOUS! $80 for a case of paint? WTF.

OKay, now the good.

The refs know what they ar doing. Which works out, cause you dont want re-re refs.

The people who work thee get in the ame too. So one second the guy is behind the counter giving you paintballs, the next hes getting shot with the paintballs he just sold.

Now there are the ones that differ from person to person.

As i said before, theres only one field. (told you id get to it), and usually the field is Speed ball. (xball, airball, the game with the inflatables) They have hyperball, but rarely use it. So you have to like speedball to play here.

And one more thing, if you use the bottom of the 50 yard bunker (the X) to get sneaky shots on the other team, sont bother. The nets protecting the ceiling force it to the ground so theres not much space.


All in all, i give this field about an 8.5 to a 9 out of ten. IF they had one more field for hyperball, and the concrete werent so slick, and paintballs werent so OUTRAGEOUSLY priced, there wouldnt b an issue.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrimAssasin Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone-closed
wildbills-closed
Review: Ok i love wildfire, play there all the time, cuz its unfortunately the closest to my house, and all the other paintball places keep getting closed down. anyway, what is with wildfire always getting new bunkers? seems like every time i go there they have new bunkers, yet about half of em arent inflated, which takes about 10 seconds. there werent that many people there, but of the few, about half were good competition. paint was as it normally is, expensive. when no one wanted to play, a couple of the players went over to the dollar store and got sock' em boppers, and played with those. it was fun, but remember that hardly anyone shows up until about 3ish, then they pour in.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadeye10mia Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none only here
Review: i am also the writer of the weezerrules10 but i forget my password.
The field is alot better than when i first wrote about it. Prices are better. Paint price is not the best but it is an indoor field. The field is turf and the field setup is always great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

penfold Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I never played ball this far out (from Marietta), other than Dynamic Games. Snellville was my first indoor field tho
Directions
to the Field:
um... take 78E away from Stone Mountain, take a left at the BP... and it's next door. For more detailed directions, just mapquest the address off their website
Review: What's to say - it's a speedball field played indoors! ha so if that's your style, then you should enjoy yourself. I was a with a group, but I think I would have had fun anyway. Staff there is friendly and knowledgeable - you could talk to them about paintball markers, fields, players all day long... Our newbies felt at ease playing there - granted they didnt really know what was going on when I was yellin' on the field about snakes, and doritos, but thanks in part to the staff, that did not stop anyone from having fun with it.

It felt a bit crammed, but i think that's because I'm used to outdoor play, plus more than likely it was the particular field layout that day (I personally didnt care - I run & gun regardless...). I liked the idea of the overhead radio - the music was appropriate (considering a sport known for its adrenalin rushes). Me, personally tho, I would have kept the genre but plugged my Ipod into it, to bypass all the on-air commercials (kinda hilarious if you think about it - you're trying to clear the last guy in the back left corner... to the jingle on where to get the best carpet for your living room ha). No serious complaints tho, makes it lighthearted
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Big T-Man Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just woods
Review: Yeah, the paint here can be kind of pricey but paint's never cheap when you buy it from the field.

The refs here are real cool and seem to know what theyre doing. The place is set up pretty well and there is some nice turf so you won't slide around anytime you try to move.

This seems like a great place for newer players to get some experience.

Personally I'm more of a woods player, but this is where I'll go if I want to play inside. Good arena, good mix of players, and a great staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mammoth Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Atlanta- A good place to play with attentive staff and many fields.
Arkenstone Paintball- Tons of amazing fields, but I haven't been there since 1999 and I hear it's changed a great deal.
Review: This is the closest place for me to go play paintball in a field environment, but due to hearing many mixed reviews from people all over the place, I was highly skeptical about playing here. Sometimes however the itch gets to be just a little too much and yesterday a friend and I decided we just needed to play and headed for Wildfire. We had only a narrow window between 4 and 7 on a weekday afternoon, so we tried to make the most of our time.

I'll say this first: it is a small place. the actual field is only a single airball field housed within a warehouse space. It is adjoined to a proshop/registration area and that in turn is adjoined to a skateboard/truck/redneck shop that I really had no interest in so I ignored that after signing in and buying paint. Speaking of paint, this is where most people complain about Wildfire: it used to cost almost a hundred dollars for a case of paint, but now apparently it's dropped to $79.99; still quite steep. My friend and I split a case and paid admission, we brought our own guns. This led the bill to tap out around $62, which is relatively expensive for only a few hours of play. In hindsight however, we really went nuts on paint and bought much more than we needed, but I'll be playing on some private property in the next few weeks so it's no loss.

Anyway, another complaint I've heard about this place is that the refs are lazy and don't do their jobs and most of the clientele are snobby kids with more guns than brains. As for my experience there was 1 ref working and he did a good job of keeping the games together and cohesive. There were 7 players, all adults in their 20s and 30s (my own demographic) and all were fairly hardcore and self governed players that had their own guns ranging from a stingray to a high end spyder. My A-5 served me well for the style of play that occurs here. I will say this: I think that I had the perfect group to play with. The size of the field is really best suited for what I'd place at 5 on 5. You could probably stretch it and get 7 on 7 playing on there, but beyond that it'd likely get cramped and chaotic. The field seems bigger at first than it really is and after moving up only a few bunkers you're already halfway across the field. Not necessarily a bad thing, but that can be a matter of preference.

In the span of about 2 and a half hours we played roughly ten games and all players showed strong performance and self discipline. The only thing that bothered me was that we never fully addressed whether surrendering was in effect or not, and after a failed bunker attempt resulting in a mouthful of paint, I quickly learned it was not. Other than that, everything was fluid and cohesive. I'm reviewing this particular group more than the field however.

The field itself as previously stated is a single airball field. The floor is covered with an astroturf type material and the playing space is enclosed with netting to stop stray balls. Many of the bunkers were not fully inflated and sagged while paintballs often bounced off of them rather than breaking. Another thing with the bunkers was that they were not anchored down in any way and several slides and charges led to displaced bunkers, but the players were quick to put them back after the games. This could potentially be a saftey issue. It just so happened not to result in anything on this day.

The bunkers do however offer ample cover and some strong tactical options for covering and flanking. The complaint here however is that one side of the field seemed incredibly stacked with bunkers including a snake, while the other side seemed pretty open. It's not necessarily bad, but it does tend to concentrate the action in the same places for many games. And in terms of moving into that action, try to avoid crawling or leaning on the bunkers. The bunkers are covered in paint; having heard that Wildfire is notorious for not cleaning them, I somewhat expected this. It's not necessarily bad, but it can get slick and messy. As for crawling, the astroturf will tear your belly up if you're wearing anything lighter than bdus. I wore a t-shirt and shorts and ended upw ith all kinds of rugburn along my calves and belly. If you're equipped, go for it. If you're not then don't or go for it and just don't complain.

Exiting the field, you can acquire a buildup of paint on the soles of your shoes, and then stepping out of the playing area onto the bare concrete floor, you often find yourself slipping and sliding. There's another potential safety problem. Rubbing your shoes on the astroturf before leaving should help minimize that problem though. Putting down some rubber mats and things along those lines would be helpful as well.

Summing up the field, the proshop holds a fair stock but is a little expensive. They offer a fairly wide range of guns and accessories, but don't really carry any complete lines. Paintball Georgia is a better alternative for actually buying hard goods. The staff both on the field and in the shop was friendly and knowledgable about what was on hand.

I say for myself I had a great experience at Wildfire. I would like to come back and try it again as time and money permit. Perhaps I'll show up on a weekend the next time and have a very different experience. I could see it happening, but as for the experience that I've already had I must say it was not what many others label this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nikeballa12 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wildbills, other wildfires.
Directions
to the Field:
off highway 78
Review: Well, i was here the other day and i was with my paintball teams co-captain and we were showin up for a bit of practice( we now regularly go on fridays or sundays). So, we showed up and there were a couple of 10 year olds with rentals and their dads. we go into the shop wich is pretty decent and has a nice selection of markers and barrels and tons of stuff. we bought 500 paintballs for 25$. the usual is like 90$ for a case wich is crazy!. we played about 5 matches of of about 500 balls wich suprised us.

But, of the break i went to the right and ran straight into a half-inflated bunker and it tipped over and i almost got lit up but i moved back up quick enough before i did.

pros-
nice staff(informative and helpfull)
nice selection of merchandise
ref is cool and funny'
ref chronoed us
5 dollars on friday to get in

cons-
feild is kinda dark
paint could be cheaper
half-inflated air bunkers
turf leaves black oily crap on ur shoes and clothes(o well ur playin paintball u better expect to get dirty)
bunkers covered in kitty litter!!

overall i have a decent time playing here. usually some 10-11 year olds to get target practice on cause they stay in the open. so i give this feild a 10.



Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 3:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impy_kid Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball atlanta, wildbills........wildfire is the coolest
Directions
to the Field:
well its off highway 78.
Review: Ok first off, they installed turf, which is alot better than waht they had...lol i slipped and like bruised my side so bad on the slippery crap, but now that they have turf its alot better. Secondly the staff is awesome, i bought a flame drop forward there, and the guy that installed it had to drill new holes and put new macro lines in it to my gas through grip and stuff and he did it for free!! NO CHARGE. Ya paint is a little expensive but just go on five dollar friday. The feild is awesome, the staff rocks, if you have a question ask them!!! All these people say is " the staff is mean and they dont care about paintball players they always blow me off and they are so sarcastic" YA RIGHT i have a question i ask it they respond nicely. The only negetive thing i would have to say is that the lighting in the indoor feild isnt that bright, but we can manage. Oh ya and they set up the feild differently sometimes to which is great, some times its blow up bunkers other times it is wooden bunkers. GREAT JOB WILDBILLS FOR AMKING AN AWESOME ENVIRONMENT TO PAINTBALL PLAYER AROUND SNELLVILLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red91 Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
Dont get me started...
Review: A pretty decent field, not that I have much to compare it with. I go there every Friday, mostly, and I like it. The feild is an indoor one, and they only have 1. Good refs, they are helpful, and dont tolerate "crap". The arena has artifical grass and is usually coated with paintballs, go ahead, pick some up... The synthetic grass leaves leaves black stuff on your clothes though. But it'll wash out, but why where something to play paintball if you dont want to get dirty? Duhh. Its a nice little place. But the stuff there is OVERPRICED! And me being the cheap guy I amust pick paintballs up off the floor in the wating room. Save's a lot of money, not to mention I dont shoot unless Ive got a clear shot. I use like 21 rounds a game, as a high. Opps, back on subject. Its cool, I give it a 8.4. Have fun, be safe.

SEMPER FI
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media