paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field

First Prize Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (518) 449-BALL (2255)
Address: 245 Morris Road
Albany, New York 12206
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
barbwire014 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 15th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire - not much better
Review: I'm gonna be honest, I hate indoor fields and airball for that matter so don't take me too seriously, but this field really wasn't that good. The air bunkers aren't secured down very well, I slid into a pillow and the whole thing fell over leaving me completely exposed. They have a pro shop there, but the people working it will tell you anything about a marker just to get you to buy it. They tried to sell me a 32 degree icon acting as if it was the best marker in the world. The refs were ok I guess, but they rarely came and did a paint check when you called fro one. The floor of their field is carpeted which is probably the biggest mistake they could have made. All the old paint in the carpet makes in like a skating rink.

Overall its an ok field, but I've played on alot better
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disturbance Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly fire
Review: I love the fields and setup at first prize. I went with a friend a while back played a little bit and then decided to get all my friends to go.

I then paid the deposit and asked a man on the phone if it was free admission with the 50 dollars. The gentleman said that yes it covers everything except for rounds and rentals and it also meant that no one else could play with us. But when i arrived, two kids who were quite young were there playing. I didn't want to be rude and tell the children that we don't want u to play with us n ask if they can use the other field so i let them play. Also, the ref was extrememly aggrevating. Every place I have played with refs I've never had one this bad, he was telling one of the young kids " that weren't in our party" where every one was going and most of the time i was against him. Granted Im not a pro player but i like to bunker people and i got a bunker on another kid but one time i went to bunker him and he was telling him every where i was and kinda pissed me off because he wouldn't have known I was on the other side of the air bunker.

I don't want to seem like some one that complains about everything but the ref also wouldn't come out and check us on a paintcheck. When I have been there in the indoor field in the past the ref came over for paint check and every where else have gone the refs also do paint checks.

Also, I know the young kids only bought like a case and we must have bought about 8000 rounds between 10 people. Periodically we were checking our boxes and bags of 500 were missing. While the children bags were never empty. We also rented from 5pm-8pm but when we arrived it took the employees working an hour to gives the guns we rented and the rounds we paid for when we only rented 3 guns. Ontop of that they pushed us to get done at 8

So I just wanted to warn people that its not a bad field setup make sure everything is in writing if you want to rent the place and get the service you paid for. I know I didnt and I paid atleast $100 alone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

goatfarmer Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire in Amsterdam - the style of play is so different that it is hard to compare the two. Friendly fire is speedball but is more slow paced. First prize is super fast in your face (NOT FOR NOOBS!).
Review: At first I hated First Prize since i could not get used to how small the field is and how many players were just whaling away on intimidators and shockers constantly. Once i played in a 3 man tourney, however, i got used to the fast play and found my comfortable playing style. All in all i had a great time even though we placed 10th out of 15. I know next time well do better though and im loving the experience.
The field itself must be less than 60 ft from one side to the other and about 40ft wide but you get used to it. The ground is great great great for sliding and sliding is therefore fun as hell on this field. The people there are cool despite their awesome skill level they arent snobs! Noobs beware, you will be owned here. If you are new, try Grand Slam paintball in Cooperstown, but not this place.

PS: I also have word they are going to build in X-ball field in the complex!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ciapasa73689 Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire,Grandslam paintball(sucks)
Review: Hi. I went to this feild to play a 3man tournement, it was indoor and was airball. This has to be the smallest feild i have ever seen. The floor was awsome to slide on. Sometimes my bunker fell down but a reff fixed it with in seconds. The postives now is store is okay the competion is very good. This feild not for noobs. The poeple there were cool i had fun talking about paintball with some of the guys there and accully playing.
Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Awminn Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
3 Guys and Games-Well Im from Saratoga so this field is more accesible, and is the only outdoor option right now. Albany players probably dont want to make the drive.
Review: Well, Im like some other people. Im nastalgic for their orginal outdoor and ghetto indoor setups. I grew up playing at their outdoor, where games were informal, the refs rarely checked paint (you could easily bring your own without raising a rucus), and people were extremely friendly and laid back. Their was nothing better then going to First Prizes outdoor fields during the summer; they were some of the best Ive played. Their hyperball field was amazing, and taught me tourny ball. No, not the crappy inflatable tournyball played today, the real tourny ball where you couldnt move your bunkers or shoot people off the break (I mean wtf people thats just dumb). Despite their un-profesional approach to running a paintball field, they always had everything you could need - paint, air, (HPA and Co2), and other things at reasonable prices. And the different people who played were great, there was always a fellow player to lend a hand or help you fix your marker if it was down. There were some really good ballers there. Well that was the past, over 4 years ago come to think of it. Where did this outdoor paradise go, First Prize? When did you fall into the indoor fad that is pop paintball today, when did you decide to give up on true old school paintball, the paintball that gave you your prosperity today? Even if the neighbors got your old field closed, you need to open another outdoor field, with all the fun the old one had. Big fields, amazing tourny action, and great people. Not this indoor crap-this belongs in the northern regions of alaska where their is no ground to play upon. I give it a ten because my faundest memories are at this field-though now I need to drive 3 hours it seems like to find fields like the old ones at First Prize. PLEASE GET YOUR OUTDOOR FIELDS BACK, IF YOU BUILD IT, THE PLAYERS WILL COME.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bryce_bowden Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Really, they are the only game in town.
Review: I am an old-timer, but played at First Prize NUMEROUS times. My honest opinion is that they are open mostly to have a place for the home team to play. They are not really interested in the business much. The stores and fields have always been run informally. It used to be that there were impartial, professional refs and employees, but not so much anymore. TV News used to run stories, because it was of general interest to most viewers, but I don't think this type of paintball is appealing to as many people.

If you are 'in' with the guys and the team, then you have no problems. If you enjoy tournament style ball, great. If you are a newbie, or looking for scenarios (besides simply shooting tons of paint), then this is not for you. Personally, I like scenarios, I am not really into 'spray and pray'. Paintball needs to be FUN. It needs to be accessible to everyone, from the tournament players, to the kids, to the guys in the office. I know that the guys in my office don't care for just getting lit up. We like to have to try to accomplish things.

Bring back the OLD First Prize Paintball. Bring back Warriors World. Sure, it was really catering toward the newbies, but there was a speedball area, so even the tournament players could mess around a bit. Any of you folks out there that have been playing for more than just a few years (maybe 7 or more)...think back to what brought you in, to how you felt, to how things were run, and you will know what I mean.

Again, I am not down on FPPB, Dale is a great guy! If you are in with the guys, and love tournament ball, you will enjoy yourself. But know that everything is run with a certain degree of informality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brian248 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
...
Review: Went here and at first i thought it was a bit small. But then as i stated playing i realized it was prety good. The staff was good only been their once so what can i say didnt really talk that much to any of them. But from what i can tell they seem to be very helpful and nice. Its prety cool watching the staff or the home team do drills. If you want prety cheap paint bring a couple of friends and buy a case for $30 dollars or byop if u plan on having your team come and play togeather. I thought this place was prety cool I gave them an 9 out of 10. Just cuz they only have one field-still alot of fun though. Come Saturday if you want a more private game, usually i heard less ppl come on Saturday. but im not sureif thats correct.
Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2004 at 2:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinkowski875 Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Splat Factory
Review: I called them last week on some 3-way hose for my cocker i asked if they had any and than they said i will brb let me check i was on hold for 20 mins and they hung up on me..... i called back maby they had a problem they said o can i give u a call in 20 mins........ 3 days later when i have already put on my 3-way hose they call and they say they have it and i do agree i think the staff rights there own review's but hey they want to do that i have no problem...........
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

harringbone Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: First prize rocks. I havent played there in a while, but when i did we practiced against powersurge. Fast intense games, great action. I went there last week to watch, and the field is great and they rebuilt the store. Sunday team practice brought a bunch of new people ready to form new teams. Smooth is always willing to help giving excellent advice and pointers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

propbman Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This place is to good to go anywhere else
Review: I think that Firstprize paintball is one of the best feilds. If you where one of the other people that gave it a bad review than if i where you i would go there and find out for your self. They have a fully stocked proshop and a whole bunch of other things. They have a whole lot of better reefs now. Now on sundays they have a team practice and they only charge 25 to 40 bucks a case of paint but this is only on sundays. Well this is all of the nice things i have to say about Firstprize paintball so if i where you i would give this place another chance and start going there again.
Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 4:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media