paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field

Air Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
25Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 763-479-3113
Address: 5130 Industrial Street
Maple Plains, Minnesota 55359
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
DriverJ Friday, August 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APPG, MNPro, Northside, Splatball Inc. Adventure Zone
Review: The cost to play at this field is significantly higher than other fields in the state. With that said however, this field is indoor and climate controlled to a comfortable temp year round.

The field has an on-site proshop that can't be missed as you walk in the front doors. The proshop is well stocked with a variety of items from entry level markers and gear to top end tournament markers/gear.
Pricing on hard and soft goods at the field is about the same as every other field in the area, but the large selection of used markers is awesome and they offer a great warranty on any Eclipse marker they sell.

The owner is super friendly and knowledgeable. He's very easy going and treats everyone with respect.
Reffing at the field is about average for open play, but some fields have better reffing, and many fields have worse. so Reffing is middle of the road.

Wait times in between games can be longer on busy days, but the trade off could be more people in games which makes the experience suffer. On good days there are constantly games going and its easy to play all day.

Paint is a bit on the spendy side at $75.00 / 2000 paintballs.

The field is hands down the nicest indoor field in the state (Splatball Inc is the nearest competition and the quality of the field there is awful). The turf is well kept and soft, so no hard dives. The bunkers and field are kept clean and free of junk and the layouts change regularly. They usually have up the latest tourney layouts which is great for tournament players and allows rec players to see a new layout regularly.

Air is self serve and rarely has a line so no waiting to fill up. The staff keeps things running smooth and offers a good paintball experience.
In the winter there isn't a better alternative, in the summer playing outdoors you'll save some cash and get the enjoyment of outdoor ball, but you can't beat playing no matter what weather is like on a comfortable field.

All in all a very top notch field, and good staff. As at any field you'll encounter players who are jerks, but this is a given at fields where competitive players go.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuctphuc Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First indoor
Review: Paint = Expensive @ $75/case. $15 field fee & all day air. had nice rentals from tippman on up. Self chrono should have had some one there to watch. refs seemed bored and complacent. I had mostly a good time, as did all my friends. my wallet does hurt though.

Pro shop was very nice, clean and had a decent selection. Guys behind the counter were pretty decent guys also. field was very cool setup and was also very slick due to alot of paint on the ground, but that will happen and allows for long banna slide like slides!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cohenj87 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
action packed
Review: walking into this place you will be impressed with the size of the pro shop. they have a great selection of tanks,hoppers,guns and after market parts and they are reasonably priced. they offer high end guns for rental like egos with a vlo hopper and they also offer you typical low end rentals. they dont have much of a food selection but they do have some and they have cold beverages as well. they charge $20 for 500 balls and they only break they give is $75 for 2000 which is way over priced. they have a self fill station which damaged both mine and my cousins quick fill nipple and both needed to be replaced at our expense. the field is a soft turf covered in paint so it makes slides very easy but you need cleats or srcews with squared heads or you wont get any traction. the bunkers were covered in paint and i saw a ref call more than one person out because they rubbed thier hopper on the bunker. i saw a ref clean about 3 of them through out the whole day. the bunker set up was great with good lanes and good cover to move. the refs however dont really do the job they are supposed to. you need to yell numerous times for a paint check and you have a 45% chance of them coming to you and that chance was based on one ref that would actually come out to you or the player you were yelling for a check so if he was by you then you were in luck. as for saftey there isnt much. i saw people on the field with no mask on between games. there is no one to check your chrono speed and the refs didnt check anyones velocity. i saw people walking around in the resting area with a tank and hopper on but no barrel cover. REAL SAFE. and no one really watches the self fill station and some idiot could put thier 3k tank on th 45k fill station. but over all the field was good sized with a good bunker set up, nice big resting area with tables, big pro shop,clean bathrooms but it is definately not worth wait for 35 minutes to play your matches because the manager packs as many groups in as he can at a time during open play so you spend way to much time waiting and not enough playing. not a good place for new players to go at all. the local players arent very friendly and they dont care if you have a good time they are just there to look good and be cool. so if you have a birthday party or something like that and actually wanna be able to play paintball do yourself a favor and dont waste your money at air assault there are other fields in the area that are out doors with great grass,better prices friendlier staff and the most ive ever had to wait was 5 minutes to play not 35 minutes. this place is pretty much just there for tourneys and to rip open players and groups off by packing them all in at once so they only have to pay refs to work the one day instead of letting people play more in a day and spreading attendance out. they wouldnt turn away a group even if they already had 250 people coming in a group they dont care if you play they just care you pay. so do yourself a favor and spend your money else where i would rather not play then go to air assault. way better fields in the area and the only reason air assault is still open is because its indoors and this is minnesota so if you must play indoors then waste your money
Last edited on Wednesday, March 18th, 2009 at 4:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SPYDER507 Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Packed Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
From North
Take Dogwood Street/CR 92 or CR 19 to US 12.

From South
Take North Shore Road to CR 19. Take a left on CR 19 and then take a right on Oak Street. Take Oak Street to US 12.

From West
Take US 12 East through Maple Plain.

From East
Take US 12 West to Maple Plain.
Review: Open Games
Friday 4pm - 8pm
Saturday 11am - 6pm
Sunday 11am - 6pm

Located in Maple Plain Minnesota, Air Assault Paintball boasts the largest indoor speedball field in the Twin Cities. With over 17,000 Square feet of XL turf, Air Assault’s indoor field provides a realistic tournament atmosphere that can be utilized year-round. Come test your mettle against your friends, co-workers, family, or come on out and make some new friends. We offer special rates for large groups, law enforcement and other government agencies. Whether you are a pro player or just a newbie, Air Assault Paintball is the place for you!

In addition to our indoor field, Air Assault Paintball will be offering factory trained service and repair for almost any paintball gun on the planet. Having trouble with your gun? Let our highly trained staff solve your problem on location. Time for a gun upgrade? We have a fully stocked retail store, as well as a complete listing of our catalogue online. Stop by Air Assault Paintball, we are your source for paint, tanks, paintball guns, clothing, masks and accessories. Our service & repair center will be opening soon. Check back for details.

For inquiries, call 763-479-3113

After reading the reviews on PBR I was not sure if I should go there but I did and im glad every thing there was great we had no problems with the refs or people cheating all around fun the place is much different from Jordon its very self sufficient you self serve your air and you check you velocity they never look witch is nice it keeps things moving even when we where there with 200 people the longest we waited to play was 10min tops also paint there is no more then Jordon yea there a little much but you have to make money you cant make it just on field fees and air its not enough

Overall I would have to say this is a great field to play at in Minnesota



Last edited on Thursday, April 24th, 2008 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigD16 Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I
Review: Overall, it was good. The painballs are a little expensive, but they have to make money somewere. the rest of the stuff was low in price. Good refs, varied in players skills. They have improved everything, retrained refs, hired new ones, ect. The staff was friendly. Very good Pro Shop. $5 for all day acces to Co2 and air.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gladice220 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: the first time I went it was ok nothing great field was nice but thats about it. the prices are way to high.

the next time i went it ruined it for me. the refs were horrible wouldnt even bother to go and do paint checks just sat on the sides and did nothing. all the kids that were sponsored by the field were playing and i continuely saw them cheating on the side lines. watched one kid wipe off a hit on his mask lense and keep playing and a ref watched him do it and DID NOTHING! was the worst show of sportmanship and reffing I have ever seen. WILL NEVER GO BACK.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

luckyboy41 Thursday, November 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I've been to this field twice. The first time, it was excellent. There were a lot of players with varied skill ranges. There were constant 7 on 7 games. I had a lot of fun.

The last time I went, it was terrible. All but two of the players there were Air Assault Factory players or their friends, the other two were probably 12. The Factory team wouldn't split up to make fair teams so they obviously won every round easily. I understand why they want to play together, but if you want to have a team practice, have a team practice. If you're playing during recball hours, play recball with everyone else. The paint is still really expensive which is fine. However, most of the balls were dimpled. There's no reason to pay $75 for a case of paint that shoots like a $30 case of paint. On the positive side, the employees were very nice and they ref pretty well.

Overall, this is an excellent field with a great staff. I originally would've highly recommended it to anyone. Now, I'm not sure. If you plan to play here, either come with a big group or make sure to call ahead of time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vail209 Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat ball, special forces paintball, splat tag
Review: positives

turf- slippery but just where some soccor cleats
refs- great. They give u advice to how to make u play better
bunkers- a a variety
pro shop- EXCELLENT I got all teh upgrades i needed for my ion there.
employees- very friendly

negatives

they need to make paintballs cheaper
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_013 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alamo - Much Better
Special Forces - Good for Woodsball
Directions
to the Field:
Look on webpage
Review: First: The field is great, the bunkers are awesome, everything is indoor, the turf is usually pretty good.
The Proshop is great, the owner, Gary, has a Monopoly with his suppliers so he gets things very cheap and can sell for MAP price. They have a lot of selection.

Now, this is why I give the field a low rating: The refing staff sucks, My friend, one of the loudest people I know was screaming for a paint check and no ref came, IMO they might as well put cardboard cutouts of refs out there instead of paying people. The refs stand there most of the game, the only thing they do is get the game started, they dont check for hits, they dont watch for cheating, they really just dont do anything.

also the paint is expensive: $75 a case, but I suppose for a indoor field its o.k.

One other good thing is they are the only field open in the winter.

In conclusion the facility is good but the staff is not.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matthew2011 Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I do not have any other fields in my area. So this is destroys them al ;)
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: The field is nice. It is relatively big and has nice sup air bunkers on it. The turf is really nice and cushy. The only bad thing I would say is that the bunkers could probably be cleaned more and the turf is full of paint.

The staging area is great to. They have a lot of picnic tables there with pod fillers and all. They could probably replace their little bleacher type things with picnic tables though because you sometimes end up with like 3 other kids on the same table as you. They have a "gun tech" area to fix your own gun with tools and all. They also have self serve air fills. They have one for 3000 and one for 4500 You only get about 4000 outa the 4500 though...

The proshop is nice. They have lots of pants and jerseys. They also have a fair amount of ups and hopper stuff. They could stock more barrels like all americans or freaks though. They also could benefit from a wider glove selection. They basically only have some JT,XSV,and Planet Eclipse gloves. None of those are really all that hott...

Basically it's really nice but has room for improvement.

Pros: Good field, good turf, nice staging area, nice proshop ect.
Cons: turf isn't all that clean, bunkers need to be cleaned, don't switch up the field layout all that often

Overall I would say 8.5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media