paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Grinningsphinx Friday, October 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Iron Triangle, Cobra Command, Global...All have plusses and minuses.
Review: Well my review is not very favorable im afraid...First off the paint here is very expensive...100$ a case for paint that i KNOW for a fact costs about 20$. If they charged 40$ there still making 100% profit...sheesh. Its usually Zap or something comparable. Theres a high field fee of 30-35$, and getting air refills is generally problematic, as they dont really want you to refill after every outing...Thats a problem if you shoot a small nitro tank like i do.

The "obnoxious lady" everyone is referring too is Laurie, and she does unfortunetly have days were she lets her emotions get in the way of good business. My friend quit there because of her mostly. The owner, Jeff Haas, is mostly a decent guy- I do have to commend him for being on top of the refs about safety and customer service...He would do better to focus in on the people who work the rental trucks though, cause the refs pretty much know there busines..>Cmon Jeff, reffing isnt rocket science lol and you catch more bees with honey...ive seen fields were the owner isnt on the Refs nearly as much and the Refs do a better job because of it. Bad refs need to be weeded out though, just like any employee.

The fields are mostly rock strewn with a decent amount of cover...The Hill fields are pretty sucky though, unless you like playing at 30* elevations lol. The Castle is nice and recently upgraded....at least the owner is putting *some* money back into the business. Theres a few mock tanks and a helo on the fields which lends a nice touch for scenario games. The Speedball course is pretty much average...needs some improvement in size for 7-10 man.

Theres a decent mix of players, and its a good place to go, if you can justify the cost, to sharpen your skills...Id say the mix of noobs to pro's is about 15 to 1, so you can sharpen your hunting on the noobs and still get challenged by those few pro's with shockers and timmys:)>

All considered, im giving it a 6 because of the costs involved..If they lowered there prices i think they would get more business from people who play more often then once a season:).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

carrottop33 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish (awesome fields but expensive)
Review: I played at poco loco for three days this summer and had a great time. Although they don't have a lot of fields there speedball field is a lot of fun. The prices are kinda expensive being 99$ a case and 30$ entry. The people there are really friendly and i didn't meet a lady who "never shuts up" They have 5 or so woodsball fields including a village with machine guns that you can shoot. It is a good place for beginner to intermediate players but if you want to step it up go to skirmish. IM giving it an 8 because of the lack of fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

enjoi2ball Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: First off if youve never been to poco loco, go now.

REFS: These refs do the best of their ability to control all the little 6 year old who come play and dont pay attention to what they say. Now im not sayin little kids playin paintball is bad, cause they are startin out just like we did. But as we all know they are hard to control, and like I said the refs do a great job controlling them and everyone else

FEILDS: The wooded feilds are good and the castle is amazing, but they only have one speedball feild and its kinda small. Still fun but i think that is what they could work on. Have a bunch of cool ideas for games too.

SAFETY: These guys are rediculous about safety. If you so much as have the barrel cover off in the sitting area youll know it from a ref or other worker!

PRICING: These guys are expensive, especially if you like to shoot a good amount of paint in a day. I have the membership and its definitally worth if if you go. I do think $99 is quite a bit for a case, but if you think about what they have to pay for, like feild and a $30,000 castle, its worth it too. GET THE MEMBERSHIP IF YOU PLAN TO PLAY MORE THEN 3-4 TIMES!


OVERALL: This feild is my home feild and always will be. It deserves a 9/10 only because of the speedball situation.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

valedorin Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was my first time playing paintball.
Review: I've heard about paintball fields being unfair and ridiculously unbalanced regarding the inclusion of Fields and equipment availability (an example is a castle field where one team defends a flag while another storms in to attempt its capture; as players were hit within the castle, they had to sit out, but were pelted with angels almost infinitely before a referee would notice). If that's the case, then I haven't been playing paintball for long.

I went on a group outing with my friends to the Poco-Loco field near Pottstown, PA. It took a half-hour drive to get there from my hometown. The parking was adequate for the price (free), with a mild hike up to the reception area.

Once in the reception area, my group were waiting for approximately 1 hour before someone started the briefing (not surprisingly, our leader's credit card was already charged and held for equipment rentals). The briefing was detailed, with emphasis on "no lifting your mask for any reason whatsoever once passed the orange cones!" Doing so results in being removed from play for the rest of the day. Coincidentally, I saw three people lifting their masks for fog-cleaning purposes, all of which had their armbands immediately removed. Although it may seem harsh, I understand and am glad that they enforce this policy so strictly. I'd rather not see any of my fellow paintballers in hospitals due to loss of an eye from stray high-velocity paintballs.

There was a small area where water was supplied to remove paint from one's clothing and gear. The water was free, and small towels were supplied for ease of spot removal. 20 minute games with 10 minute intersessions made the day go by smoothly and quickly. Although I heard players complaining that the refs "don't know how to ref", I found that the refs, in fact, did an excellent job in spotting out players and enforcing the rules. Later on, I found that the same players that complained of such things had their armbands removed due to mask removal in the field. Go figure.

The fields themselves were a bit on the rocky side - at times I wished there were more leaves so that I could slide down the hills instead of worrying about tripping over thick branches and jagged rocks which littered the fields. I found, however, those same rocks to be excellent cover; during most of the games, I laid prone for an average of 2 kills per round. Not bad for a noob.

When I finished playing and the day was over, the checkout was fairly quick. I actually didn't find any "loud, obnoxious lady" anywhere (although I was weary of such a presence from reading someone else's review - I guess I lucked out?). They seemed in a rush to close the field, which made me feel a bit on the "underappreciated" side. My friend also hurt his hand when he fell on a freshly-lit, burning hot smoke grenade. It wasn't until I asked for a first-aid kit that they realized he was in real pain. I actually wish I didn't have to ask in the first place.

The total cost per person came out to be an average of $60.00, mostly due to the amount of paintballs (sold for a steep price) we bought. The clerk dismissed us quickly and courteously, even asking how our day was.

Overall, I would give this field a 7. I liked the fact that the rules were enforced with precision, but the steep price of the paintballs along with the inability of the staff to recognize and deal with my friend's burning hand left me slightly in question. A good place to play. Just needs some tweaking.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lark in Pink Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Splatter, Jack Frost, Triage
Review: PROS--
* Organized
* Incredibly under-rated fields. Highly modified with large trees and boulders, as well as offense-defense advantages and decline-incline advantages.
* Good service, refs are fair enough
* Great safety... you don't have kids firing in safety zones like some other horrible places *COUGH Triage COUGH*

CONS--
* Expensive
* reservations needed
* One women who works in the trailer (im sure you've heard this before) is insane and never SHUTS UP!!

RATING: 9.3/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

direavenger Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cap'n Carls
Skirmish
Jack Frost
Review: Organization: The field lets you reserve a spot in advance to start at a particular time (8:45, 9:45, etc). You must reserve online or over the phone, there are NO WALK-ONs ALLOWED. Once given your intro session you are placed on a team. The refs take you from the staging area to the fields and back again as a team. Sometimes teams would get switched around in the middle of the day which messes up cohesion, but c'est la vie.

Safety: This is where Poco excells. You are not allowed anywhere near a field without a barrel condom or mask on at all times. The staging area is the only place where masks are allowed off. If that rule is broken, you are given one warning then ejected. Barrel condoms must remain off until 15 seconds before the game, and must be replaced as soon as it ends or you are hit. They also have a 20 foot minimum shot rule and no berserker-charge rule.

Prices: high, but thats becoming the norm. 500 free paintballs for those with all of their own equipment. $99 a case for PMI or DraXxus. $33 for 500.

Refs: They were good for the most part, usually in their late teens to mid-20s with good smarts. They kept the game flowing nicely and enforced the rules fairly. They also gave field-specific strategies to teams prior to the beginning of a game.

Staging Area: Decent, with large picnic tables under tents that gave protection from the sun. Everything was in a 100 foot square, from rentals to check-in to the kitchen. Food was very limited (hot dogs, sports drinks, candy), I recommend bringing something.

Overall: This was a good field with exceptional safety regulations
Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 10:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drs445 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: OK, well i was on the same trip as Krion and i think he just had a bad expierence. The owner is a little uptight only because paintball can get a little crazy if you know what i mean. Th prices are up there too and you cant bring your own paint but if your there with the right people it will be a time to remember. The refs are excelent. they are great to talk to and canually help you with your gun if you are having problems. the rental guns are tippman 98 costoms and are a little old but the performance is just as good as a new one. they alos rent ot procarbines but i expect them just as good. poco has alot of fields and all are great to play on. just watch the big hill level that can turn out to be a massacre if you dont play it right. the refs will usually give you advise on how to best overcome your openents so talk to them alot. the speed ball field is ok, i dont play speed ball i only played it at poco once and it was ok i guess. the main area where you keep your stuff is fine. they now have tents over your tables to protect you from the sun and rain. it is mostly gravel/small rocks on the ground so it kinda hard to pick up every little paintball dropped so that is one factor but you dont even notice it. that is my rview and i give this place a 9 out of 10 b/c there is always room for improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krion Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Del Hobbies is WAY better than poco.
Review: ok where to start....

First of all the field is extremely over-priced.
The owner is very rude, mean and is known to many people is the "line nazi." If you even turn in a line you will be sent to the back.
All rentals are over priced and is very bad equipment.
The main area is very filthy and is small and uncomfortable.
The fields are ~ok~, but they could use alittle work.
SOME of the refs are nice.

I would only recomend this field as a last resort.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dej121 Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, Outlaw, Kelly's
Review: I just visited Poco Loco for the first time and I had a good experience. The place is clean and run professionally but paint is expensive. ($100/case)

The website states that hours are by reservation but we called in the morning and they were more than welcome to let our small group play that day.

It seemed like it was mostly young players there - a couple birthday partys. I wished there were some better players there....I think only a handful of people there played before. I feel bad bunkering little kids, they're there to just have fun. Maybe It was just the day i was there.

The speedball field went unused until i talked to a ref and they had us playing in no time. The speedball field is ok and the woods fields are pretty fun.

i played the whole day without seeing one chrono but i did not see anyone shooting hot either.

The refs were really nice guys and they did a great job. They were mature and probably paid for their time....much higher quality refs than other places i've gone.

I would say this is a great place for a new player, a great place to have a kid's birthday party, a batchlor party, or for someone into woods ball. Everyone else should go there to at least check it out.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2004 at 10:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RangerLee Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PA- Skirmish (same prices if you are not a Poco member, large woodsball fields and a larger castle but as with all castle, being inside of it is almost suicide, far drive for me)
NJ- Del Hobbies (cheaper paint, some refs acted very immaturely towards people that did not have "high end" equipment, good field for going to if you want better "tournament" style playing and practices)
PA- Capn Carls- (good for more experienced players, immature refs, I have also seen many newbies get bunkered at the fields here by experienced paintballers. Price, about the same)

I have also played at fields in Osan, Korea, Manhiem Germany, Hiedleburg Germany, All over Souther California, North East Texas, and Colorado Springs, Boulder and Denver Colorado.
Review: I will state right out that if you are looking for a field to go practice speedball against other teams, Poco Loco is not where you should go. However if you are looking for a good place to take people paintballing for the first time, or take a group for team building, bachelor party, ect, ect then this is the place to go.

The one aspect of Poco Loco that I did not like when went there for the first time was the cost of paint..man did it seem high compared to what I am used to paying in Southern California (SC Village; California Paintball Park). However after going to other fields in Pa I found that their price is the same as many others, with a field in New Jersey being the cheapest. However that field also caters to a different style of players then Poco Loco does.

Should you want to play more often, such as I who plays at least every other weekend then purchasing a membership at Poco is well worth while, it is good for 14 months, walk on is free and paint is greatly discounted.

Whether you are walk-on or a member any left over paint can be taken back to the registration area and turned in, you are then given credit for the left over paint that you will use the next time you come play. This is a nice touch so you do not find yourself with a bunch of paint that will either be wasted on static targets at home or left to just sit until your next outing.

The fields at Poco are for the most part good fields for people to come and have a good time at. There are a couple I do not care for much, however others do, that is just the way of life, not everyone will always love the same fields. They have many woods ball fields and several set up for small scenario type play. One field has an attacker fighting up hill while the other team has howitzers with barrels sticking out of a rock bunker such as in "The Guns of Navarone". Another field sports a helicopter mock up in the middle of it, with tanks at both ends of the field. A scenario is played with 4 people (2 pilots and 2 special forces) trying to stay "alive" at the chopper while the enemy team attacks. The rest of the team for the other side has a 60 second wait before they get to start in which they need to haul butt to get to the helicopter and reinforce their friends. This is a popular field. Others include their new renovated castle, and even a swamp field (another one of the fields I am not fond of) that the kids really enjoy.

Overall the whole operation is run well, it is ran as a business, I do enjoy this fact because things are kept on a professional level. The refs are kept on a strict time schedule to get the players out on the field at their projected start times and to rotate them from staging to the fields quickly once a game ends. Food and drinks are sold on site, however I still feel the Gatorade is a bit pricey, but there are no rules against bringing your own.

Safety is stressed over and over again, the referees do a good job of looking out for people, especially the younger kids who sometimes act more with out thinking. In the field there is not a no shooting rule at 20ft, however they do stress a "shoot below the waist" rule if you are with in 20ft. All players with their own equipment are chrono'd on the field to ensure that the speeds are kept safe, and I know from experience that if there is a thought a marker is shooting fast then they re-chrono you.

I would personally like to see their one speed ball field used a bit more, but it is up to the players that are there that day, and most that I see at Poco would rather play woods ball. The referees for each group do listen to the players and if they want to play a certain field, then they play there.

If you are looking for a professional field to play on and have fun with a group, this is a good place to go. You will spend more for paint, however I see the refs performing as professionals unlike other fields in the area. You will need to make a reservation if you are not a member, Poco caters to groups, be it church, birthday, or any other. If you want to practice your speedball against other teams, then you will need to go elsewhere.

I do recommend this field for a casual outing while looking for a good time.

Extra comment: This field has great potential for a scenario game with all the land they have, I would love to see that happen.
Last edited on Friday, May 21st, 2004 at 12:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media