paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Lone Wolf West Paintball Field / Lone Wolf West Paintball Field / Lone Wolf West Paintball Field / Lone Wolf West Paintball Field

Lone Wolf West Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-875-WOLF
Address: 4099 Lapeer Rd
Metamora, Michigan 48455
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Stygshore Wednesday, October 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CRU, Lone Wolf East, Killer, Hell's Survivors
Directions
to the Field:
Coming from I-75 get off at the Lapeer Rd exit ( Palace of Auburn Hills Exit ) Drive Past Lake Orion, Past Oxford, and it's about 1/4 mile past the giant chicken on the right ( no... I'm not kidding )
Review: I have been playing at this field for nearly 20 years. That in itself should be a testament to how great the fields are, the owners, employees, and the players who come out to partake in this wonderful sport.

Safety is a huge concern for the refs at this field, and they are not bashful to make you sit a game for removing your mask on the field. I don't see this as a detriment at all because in the 20 years I have been coming to this field, there has never been an eye injury!! How is that for a track record?

There are 4 large fields and they are used individually and in conjunction to create some different games than the normal capture the flag games at most fields. Uptown is a small fortified village with connected building, bunkers, sand bag pill boxes and a short two story tower. Downtown is a large village with 2 story buildings, full trench systems, bunkers, sand bag bunkers, and lots of natural cover. The Hill is a large hill outfitted with overhang bunkers, trenches, bridges, and lots of natural cover. the tourney field is a speedball based field with outlying bunkers so that the field can be used in larger game formats as well.

There were a lot of complaints over the last few years regarding pricing, so the pricing structure has been revamped and brought in line with all the rest of the surrounding fields. You can get a case of paint, air, field fee, and all day play from 10am-5pm for roughly 35-60 bucks depending on if you are a member or not, and if you bring your own paint or not ( that's right for several years this field has been a BYOP field! )

They get in a LOT of games as well. None of this 6 games all day crap, on average I would say there are 12-15 games run in that 7 hour time period. Lots of formats - Capture the flag, Center Flag, Attack/Defend, Blackhawk down, 30 Days of night, Gettysburg, Civil War, James Bond, President, Downed Pilot, Oreo Cookie, Navy Seals, Battonny thingy, and a bunch of others that Phil the head ref cooks up in his twisted mind.

They have water, Gatorade, and some standard supplies on site, no full fledged pro shop, but usually enough to keep your gun running and you in the game. on many occasions they have been known to hand out a free loaner if for any reason your equipment is not working just to keep you playing while one of the field techs works on your stuff. There is a bar onsite that serves up your standard bar type finger foods or several fast food, pizza places, sub shops, and grocery stores nearby if you need something the field doesn't have.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deerroadkill Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
futureball
Directions
to the Field:
M-24/lapeer road about 1/4 of a mile south of I-69, behind a bar and is fairly hard to see their sign. in the front of the bar parking lot there is generally a white tent set up that people are selling plants from,easily seen from the road(this should help a bit)
Review: Safety- very strict about safety, if you don't have a barrel condom on your gun in the staging area they give you a warning after that you start sittin. same thing goes if you lift your mask up during a game.

Refs- the refs here are probably the best you can find, they are not afraid to run across the field and get hit by a few paintballs to give you a paint check. sometimes the refs take an hour off so that they can play, so if he called you out for a stupid reason earlier that is the time to get him back.

Fields- there are three fields a swamp(not used often), a village field, and the hill field. all are very nice with well placed and semi-elaborate bunkers

Pricing- $20 for all day play
$60 for a case of 2000 RPS stingers, which isn't worth it at all
not too sure about air because im a member
$235 for an A-5 with a j&j barrel

Bathroom- its a port-a-potty so don't expect too much, and the bar won't let you use their bathrooms unless you buy something

Game types- two flag, center flag, top gun, Sherman tank, speedball(kinda), attack & defend, fugitives, team top gun, and a few more that i can't think of

overall this is an awesome field a lot of people with various guns and skill level. the guys there can generally fix your gun if something goes wrong. their pricing is reasonable seeing how the land it is on is worth a lot of money.

(HELPFUL HINT)- in march they usually have a day where you go out and work on the field and they reward you w/ free membership ( if you plan to go often i'd do this otherwise membership is $100)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Riven Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE... I feel no need to
Directions
to the Field:
VanDike to Dryden Road North to M53 make a left 1/4 mile down on the left BIG RED SIGN! haha real spelling for vandike is inappropriate
Review: Alright Iv played a grand total of about 9 or 10 times all of which were at lone wolf. I don't have much experience so im just going to say what i liked.

Each time i have gone iv found a wide range of players both new and very experienced. Almost every1 uses a Tipp 98 or A5, some with mods some without. I have always seen no fewer than 20 and no greater than 30 people so the games are very even and laid across a wide area.

Terrain is awesome and very wide ranged. A swamp, a ravine, with lots of hills and natural terrain is great. Bunkers are well placed creating a very defined battle line with weaknesses on both sides allowing the opportunistic an advantage. The boundaries are well placed as well keeping the action confined but allowing enough room for strategy.

Refs are GREAT! They are very strict about goggles and barrel condoms. I have seen a ref run through a fire fight to give a paint check, and they are thorough. Service is out of a shanty but still is very helpful and polite. Prices are somewhat high id suggest bringing your own paint if you have a gun its prob 20-30 bucks cheaper. 20 to play all day 10 to 4 i think.

My only Beef with this field is that i have seen a lot of little kids 10-13 playing and it tends to mess up the play (hard to assault a bunker when you end up tagging a youngster at close range). Iv made one cry myself and it doesnt fell to good (nothing an ice cold Gatorade couldnt fix).

As to other people's dislike of a Head shot not counting i tend to disagree. I have never seen any1 get reamed for shooting at anothers head unless they are in very close proximity. Iv never seen any1 reamed at all for any kind of infraction but politely asked to leave and then told why. The idea is that a gun shot counts where as a head shot doesnt and i v noticed this rule keeps noobs from blindly shooting around a corner.

All in All im very satisfied with Lone Wolf West. The only way id go to another place is for a change in scenery.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Aslan2005 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hell Survivors; a lot different but similar in quality
Lonewolf East; Lonewolf West is much better
Directions
to the Field:
Right up M-24, 17 miles north of the Palace, about 7-13 miles south of I-69. Behind a place called Cascaddeon Lounge or something like that.
Review: The best thing about this field is the layout. The field is huge and has a great, hilly terrain. There are tons of bunkers that are beautifully placed and the bunkers are great...alot of good use of sandbags.

The refs were less professional than at Hell Survivors, but they were very nice and helpful. They also would come up with interesting game variations to play. They were a little difficult to get to do paintchecks...mainly because the field was so huge it was hard to find them. They rechronoed everybody part way through...but really should install a tag system similar to what Hell Survivors does AND do the rechrono...too many hot guns out there.

The prices were reasonable. $25 for registration and BYOP. $5 for a 68/4500psi HPA refill.

The players were a good mix, some newbs, some experienced players. The guns were a little too high end for my taste, but the ref did make the players turn off reactive triggers and ramping.

Overall I was very impressed. It was just as fun as Hell Survivors...the field was smaller but a little nicer...you get in more games...and it's BYOP. The disadvantages would be slightly less attention to safety, less professional refs, and sometimes they have a very low turnout and are forced to cancel games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ballaman Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
Their website does a good job of directing you to their field.
Review: The refs are extremely good at doing their job. If you act like a bonehead and shoot in the staging area, you're promptly kicked off the field. The head ref (far as I can tell, he's the head ref) manages private parties when there are private parties. From what I have seen of him, he does his job well for these parties. After every game, he announces a hero and gives a very energetic speech as to why that person is such a great paintball player.

The walk on service is very good as well, 10/10. There are several fields, and if you approach the refs, they take suggestions for the next game (attack and defend, center flag, play on the village field, play on the alamo field, etc). They don't always take these suggestions because some players might get owned too quickly or whatever. Still, it's a good thing they do.

After every game, the refs decide if the game was evenly or unevenly matched. They know how to seperate the newbies from the pros, which is good for evening teams. They also PAY ATTENTION during games, to see which players do good on what fields, so they know who's good where.

I had a cool personal experence with them creatively evening teams. Me and two friends went there for a day of fun because they both got their own guns and wanted to try them out. Near the end of the day, there were about seven of us left, four guys renting, my two friends, and me. The four guys we didn't know were all renting. My two firends and I all had our own gear and were somewhat experenced. (3+ years of play for me, 4 days of play by friend A, 3 days of play for friend B). The guys renting had never touched a paintball gun before, but two were active army. We did a few 4vs.3 games and my friends and I just cleaned house with the other team. To fix this, the refs made us do a few "free-for-all" games. To start these games, we all had to have our hands tuching at the start. Following this, we had ten seconds to run to a bunker and start the game. I got shot because when I surrendered a guy, someone else saw me open and took a shot (don't blame em in the least). My friend that only played two or three times in his life wound up winning. On the way back to the staging area, the head ref (who was doing our game's reffing) apologized to me and my friends for "throwing so many curveballs" because we sereously outclassed the other team. I wouldn't exactly say he was wrong to do this either, we won three games in a row with about two minutes a game.


All in, I give this field a 10/10 for good refs, good field layouts, good game types (top gun, attack and defend, center flag, two flag, 1v1 dueling and more), and most importantly for many good memories.
Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 1:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

ycfan456 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I went to Atomix and I would have to say this is better. But thats just me. I like outdoor places better than indoor.
Directions
to the Field:
Right off northboud M-24 (Lapeer Road) on the right side. Just look for the sign.
Review: This place is real fun to play. They have really cool setups. I think they have 3 fields. They have 2 big ones and a smaller one. The prices are a bit high but oh well. If you do go just buy your paint there because you can play and get paintballs for the same price as just playing. This place is very fun to play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FOM Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 9th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
About every paintball field I have heard of (lots of them)
Review: Lots of pluses and minues here.

First the fild is well run and VERY safty concuis. You woun't see people walking around without their barrel bags on and you won't have people shooting in the staging area.

This basicly woods ball played as two flag "capture the flag" While they somtimes play a center flag game, it mostly the same thing all the time- but on three different fields.

Biggest problem is cost. They are very expensive for paint. You can drive a few miles north and buy the same paint for about 1/2 what they sell it for. In their defense, the land this field sits on is most likly worth about 5 million bucks, so its suprising that the owners havn't kicked the paintball out and devloped it a long time ago.

I personaly dislike the type of play. "head shots don't count". That means a guy can stick his head up to look for you- and your not suppose to shoot him- if you do, he is not out, and the ref may give YOU a talking to.

There are a lot of "semi private" fields around the arera where play is more realisitic and costs are much lower. This would be a great place if you had an outing planed (and needed rentals) but if you hve your own stuff I think you can have a less costly and better quality day elseware

If the cost to play were less, the rating would be much higher

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

NorthStarRaider Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomix
Review: This review is not so much about the field itself. Lone Wolfs Operation in Metamora is great...though it can be expensive, but in a lot of ways its worth it.

My beef is with the Pro shop. I've been a loyal Tippmann customer for years, and this year, I decided to upgrade my package with a brand new E-Grip. I put it on my gun, and it wouldn't even release the bolt after it was cocked. I took it back to the store within an hour, and the guy there couldn't figure it out. He kept looking at the directions and pulling the trigger. It turns out that something was wrong with the board. I took it from Lone Wolf (because the guy didn't look like he knew what he was doing, Lone Wolf says that the guy I described is an expert of sorts, so I apologize in advance to Lone Wolf if I'm incorrect on that...but its just a feeling I got).

I promptly took the grip over to Atomix Paintball and had a guy look at it, and he also said the board was messed up. Not wanting to check it in, and having confidence that Tippmann would fix the problem, I sent it to Tippmann who to their credit sent the part back promptly, and things seemed to work OK...until...I put an air tank on it and the gun in general went crazy. We tried a few trouble shooting things again, and still it wouldn't work.

At this point, its wintertime, I was looking forward to using my new E-grip for the last few games we could play while it was warm enough, but it didn't work out. I have a defective part, and no one wants to be stuck with something that isn't working for them, none the less something they don't have confidence in. I didn't SEE any no return policy in their pro-shop when I bought it, but I could have missed it. There was nothing on their website listing this policy. They moved their pro shop a bit further away. I drove an hour and a half unsatisfied with my part, hoping to be refunded my money.

I got there, and the very guy who sold me the part (he even remembered me) TURNED ME AWAY, saying that Lone Wolf doesn't refund people for ELECTRONIC PARTS. I was angry and told him to call the owner, which he did in the back room, and came back with the same response. After a half a tank of gas, and all the time and frustration I put into this part, I was turned away without a penny and a part that I was convinced would never work. Sure they offered to send it in to Tippmann again, but at this point I just wasn't confident with the product, so why should I be stuck with it? Should I sell it on Ebay for 40 dollars less because the box was opened and I breathed on it? NO I shouldn't.

So I emailed Lone Wolf to which they basically gave me a "Sorry, but your screwed, how about some free tickets and air passes so we can make MORE money off of you that you will never see again."

Thats right, after all of my trouble, Lone Wolf gave me the opportunity to give them more money. Awesome.

In the end, the Metamora field is awesome, but I'll be damned if I ever step foot in their pro shop ever again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

sparkyss Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played in 2 real paintball fields (i play woodsball) this and lone wolf east.
Review: Compard to lone wolf east this has exalent fields. the terane is very hily, its based in and on top a gaint dich that has a stream(good to clean paint out of hair) that weaves through so it creats many great hills to hold your position. when i whent there there where only like 15 people playing so we would some time use the whole place to paly sence the fields are not seperated to well, i belive they have 3 fields. 2 woods/bunkers and 1 open buildings that merg into light woods.

The prices is the thing that kills this place its $60 for 2000 rounds for a menber and 70 for non-member.

the refs are cool. sence we where the anly party there we just did whatever....


For who ever is over 21 the palce is behind a bar. but you cant play if you even have one drink.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media