paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Chicagoland Paintball Field / Chicagoland Paintball Field / Chicagoland Paintball Field / Chicagoland Paintball Field

Chicagoland Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
11Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 708 756-1166
Address: 537 W 195th Street
Glenwood, Illinois 60425
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
WarHamster Thursday, February 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox, Badlands, CPX, Blastcamp
Review: Chicago winters are hard on paintballers and being that Chicagoland paintball is the ONLY indoor field in the entire area, I figured it would be worth checking out. Thursday nights are 1/2 price case nights so a friend and I headed out on one of those evenings.

When we arrived a half hour after opening the place was nearly deserted with small 2v2 & 3v3 games running, but no ref involvement whatsoever (the three employees we saw just sat behind the counter). As the night progressed it filled up very fast and within an hour and a half it was 8v8 games (fairly large given that they only have one medium sized x-ball field). Still there was no ref involvement and players were setting up games and calling them themselves.

Now lack of ref involvement wouldn't be an issue at some fields depending on the regulars. I frequently see players at Fox & Blast camp managing themselves and their games in a mature sportsmanlike way with little to no involvement from the refs. Sadly the players that were at Chicagoland were not capable of this. Overshooting, shooting extremely hot, wiping, and playing through (without the courtesy of even trying to HIDE the hit) were the norm.

Eventually myself and a few other players complained enough and one of the refs came out to start reffing the games and checking players. When he forced everyone to chrony before the game over 1/2 of them were shooting 300+ and one player was shooting close to 400! The ref checked the 400 player again after the game and he was STILL shooting that (he had never bother to turn it down and the ref didn't check again). The ref checked the player twice more over the course of the evening and he was still consistently shooting hot, but rather then kick the player out the ref just GAVE UP ON HIM AND STOPPED BOTHERING HIM ABOUT IT!

The poor management, lack of ref involvement, HORRIFIC safety practices, and poor attitude and sportsmanship of the players at Chicagoland has ensured that I will never return there. Instead I'll just be spending my winters looking for an occassional warm weekend so I can brave the snow. I strongly reccomend other Chicago players do the same.

Pros:
-Indoors
-Nice field layout
-Well maintained bunkers

Cons:
-Horrific safety practices
-No ref involvement
-Terrible player attitudes
-Filthy (this black grime accumulates on EVERYTHING you bring into the place)
-Slippery field floors (we're talking slide right past your bunker and out into the open slippery)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Blacksmith1247 Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only indoor field.
Directions
to the Field:
Use Mapquest
Review: Well the first thing is this is the only indoor field in the chicagoland area. The games were ran pretty well. It was pretty busy when I was there. First games were split between a private party and open play every 2 games, switch. After the private party left the games were Beginner open and Advance open every 2 games, switch. Paint is a little pricey ($90) case, atleast its not bogus paint. Pro shop is ok, food and drinks available and a locker room to change in if you like. If I had to only choose one word to sum this place up it would be, GRIMMY. Messy is an understatement everything you touch is jacked up. Again, this is the only indoor field around chicago and when winter is here what else can you do. The hours are pretty good also..............All in all not a bad place to play in the middle of winter. When the weather gets better and the outdoor fields open back up, thats a different story. I would play here again, just becareful what gear you bring or clothes you wear because you might ruin them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lz7729 Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands(better)
Da Nuke
Review: This is an overall great field. The reason I came here is because it is one of the only indoor fields around. The paint is very pricey, but i assume that's where they make their money in order to operate and heat such a facility. It was extremely dirty, but I expected that from an indoor field. The proshop is very knowledgeable and has a variety of products. The only warning I would give out is that if you are a reletivaly new player, this probably isn't the place for you. More tourney players and hardcore speedball guys come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FOWLxMOUTH Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Safari land splat (when it was still here), Elmhurst Reball (when it was still here), Promised land paintball,
Directions
to the Field:
its looks like a church
Review: This place is amazing! there is not many complaints i have about this place, it is well kept the pro shop is great they have a wide selection, if theres a problem with ur gun theyll help fix it. the only complaints i have about this place is that the astroturf they use is in TERRIBLE condition, i went there with my blue dye pants and i came back coverd in black, the ground is reeeeeally dirty and i would suggest not wearing something u like wearing (like your paintball gear). the best time to come would be thursday cuz they got 50$ cases, when we went we were the only ones there so it was pretty nice. they had there bunkers set up for feburary 2009 PSP, which i liked alot. bunkers were well inflated. the other complaint is that the refs dont pay attention to the game so me and my buddys had to call the other people out, out of the 10+ games we played the ref did 1 paint check on a guy. overall this field is great 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbprof21 Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Crossfire, Take aim, Fox, Safari Land
Review: This place overall is the third to worst place I have ever been. The worst being World Cup Asia because it rained everyday and I played in three inches of mud. (no I'm not Asian, I just live there because of my dad's job) I don't want to come off as a picky jerk that feels the need to trash it, but I mean really there was nothing here that made me enjoy my stay other than the nice field setup and friendly staff. I went there with a clean jersey and pair of pants, and left with a dirty, black, and oily gear. Of course it's paintball so I don't mind the oil, but what was with the black coating all over me. My hands were black, my jersey went black wherever was once white. And my gun was covered in paint from the bunkers. The black coating I'm assuming came from the turf they use. This must have been crappy turf because Take aim never gave me this problem what so ever. Sliding on this field was also a major issue, I like to dive a lot, but here I would always just stop dead in my tracks going head first, so I always had to go in sliding on my knees. Here was just a mess to clean my jersey and pants. I have washed it all twice and it is still stained with a black fade. I would go back here just because it had a nice field setup and is not too far from my house, but I would not go out of my way to go here. Overall I think that the staff was friendly (probably because they didn't have to do anything), the setup was great, the field was dirty, and the place seemed pretty trashy, but I don't really mind playing here, because I'm not really thrown off by the mess. I would say just go here and check it out. I'm sure your experience will be good on the field. There was a good crowd there when I went so you will always have some good competition.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

swleet Saturday, November 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HITW,VICTORY,MAGNUM,M40,HEAT
Directions
to the Field:
See field website.
Review: I went to this field 3-4 times, when I first moved to the area. The staff is good, and all equpment and field bunkers are well maintained. Good pro shop with a lot of top A+ guns and gear. My experience at this field was up and down. Some better then others.
First time I went the paint was $80 for a case of evil and $20 field fee w/ air pass. Some thing along those lines, either way it costed me $100. The paint I got had dimples in it almost every ball, and dirty. I almost assumed that it had been picked up and put back into play. However it shot good, as good as stinger. Another downfall was the number of players there were low. I think 5-6 people were there. It was a sunday, I assume not the best day to go. The following 2-3 times I went back, the paint was better. And i believe I went 1 of those times on a thursday night, paint was $40-$45 for white box. Field fee was the same. More players were there thursday night, about 10 or so. The refs were professional and attended to any needs I aquired. The field itself is beautiful, bunkers very well kept. I could have bunker sex with any bunker on the field and not get a rub. There is definitly a lot of time that goes into the field. The field set up was good. The turf is amazing best I've played on. Good staging area and fill stations. Good competition there if you catch it on the right night.

Overall - Great field A+ For maintance and care of appearance. Major expensive.. I can play at fields very close to this lay out with good turf for half the price. We aren't all rich and the sport is very costly as is. Would reccomand trying 1-2 times, but any more then that your wasting your well earned cash in my opinion. -2 for insane price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daGeest Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Paintball, CPX, PB Shooters
Directions
to the Field:
See their Web site.
Review: Pros:
The staff were great. They were helpful and polite. This was our first time there and not once did I feel like we were getting the n00b-snear. My buddies brought CO2 and they loaned them HPA tanks for no charge. I would go back again simply for this.

The field is large and they have everything you could need or want on the premisis. (they even had the new Grill for $10 cheaper than I have found it anywhere else, two tricked out Ion Lucky setups...this is not just "feednecks" and "squigees" but a well-stocked place).

The people that showed up were all tourney types and there were several guys that were darn good. I would warn that if you are not more of a hardcore or serious player, this may not be the place for you. You can expect to get bunkered and worked good a couple times.
However, I cannot remember a single time in my entire playing history where I didn't have a single incidence of feeling that someone had not called themselves out. Not saying that I am positive there were no wipers, but man did I feel like everyone was on the level. There were a couple times I was simply spraying to keep heads down and someone would walk, I didn't even have a clue I had hit anyone. It was a fantastic experience from that perspective.

Cons:
Safety. This is pretty bad. There were guys overshooting really bad. Really bad. There was no enforcement of velocity and there were a couple guns shooting rediculously hot (my buddies Profiler lens was impacted so hard that you can see where the ball hit - that is Fed up without exception).

We went on a Thurs (BYOP and discount field paint). While the ref said that the amount of people there was incredibly small compared to a normal Thurs, I found the matches when most of the folks were playing to be way over crowded. Playing 12+ vs 12+ on an Xball field is not my personal idea of the ideal. I don't think I will go back on a Thurs. I would rather pay more for better play.

And lastly, I hope someone gives me some feedback on this. Perhaps I am just old or something, but I have always thought that people not on the field and actively playing should NEVER speak to people on the field (not talking about tourneys with coaches and what-not).
*Everyone* was telling everyone where players were at. I had a guy on the sidelines call me out right after I got into snake 2 without being spotted. He is shouting to people on the other end and pointing exactly where I was at. **REALLY** ticked me off, to the point that I said something. However, as the night went on I noticed that everyone was doing it and right in front of the refs. It really sucked. It really took away from the experience. Now I didn't have to be as good a player, becuase a dozen people who weren't even playing were calling out guys' positions from vantages that you wouldn't have on the field.
This factor is the one that makes me question going back there. I disliked it that much. I play to play. If you mark me, fine. However, if I pull off a slide into snake 2 without getting spotted and am in a position to start taking down lanes and some kid on the side starts screaming and pointing at me...grrrr...

I give this field a 6.
- .5 for crowds (they could have limited the number of players in a match, again, I would MUCH rather play 3 good matches than a dozen mayhem ones, but I don't know how they would enforce who had just played. Not a full point, but would suggest they try to come up with something)
- 3 for safety. It was honestly and objectively that bad.
- 1 for letting dead people talk. I would really like to ding them more for this, but I don't feel that is fair. I am trying to be objective as possible. (if someone disputes this and tells me I am an old fuddy-duddy and this is the way of the world these days, then consider my rating a 7)

An above average field that I would visit again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Warchild71 Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX
Badlandz
Directions
to the Field:
There are some good directions on their website.
Review: Went for a quick walk-on game with my brother and I was pleasantly surprised. The sign on the building said Country Club Paintball so I believe they changed their name. This is an indoor field which is open year round. Its actually pretty good size for an indoor field. The field is an X-ball setup which look similar to the tournament fields that I've seen. The floor is astro turf and you could get some good slides going into the bunkers. They have a good staging area with plenty of tables and lockers (bring your own lock). Rentals are available. THey have .68 and .55 caliber. The staff was friendly and very respectful. The ref did a great job and actually made good calls. Air and CO2 fills are included in the $15 entry fee. The pro shop was well stocked and looked like they carried enough parts to get any markers and repairs done when needed. The games were a little quick due to quick eliminations but they started up new games within 5 minutes. We actually played alot of games in a short period of time. My only complaint is the price of paint. They sell RPS Allstars (which is excellent tournament paint) but they charge $90 a case for it. We had to cheap out and get 500 rounds instead. I have this complaint about alot of fields. It would be nice if they offered a cheaper alternative. I think people would play alot more if the paint was more affordable. The good thing is that do have a BYOP night on Thursdays which is a good thing. I believe its white fill only. The entry is $25 on BYOP days. They also have very good weekend hours. Friday and Saturday Nights they are open till midnight.

Overall I would say its a nice facility. Especially if you like speed ball. It s open year round so you can get your paintball fix. Staff is good and its fun to play there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

imbadatpaintbal Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz and Maybe Fox but im not good with directions. Way better than fox but nothing can compare to Badlandz's BYOP every day.
Directions
to the Field:
Bad With Directions.
Review: New and improved. It has brand new turf, lighting, and a NPPL pro set-up. Pizza and drinks are available. Tourneys everyonce in a while.This is a great place to play at in the winter. Have full stock of evil pimps and minions. Tanks and halo's. Cases are like 70$ depending on if your a member or not in which case it would be lower. Great staff and free air.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox & Badandz
Review: I just got back from ther an hour ago and I have to say I was not impressed.
Pros:
It was a BYOP day so quite a few people showed up. Games were around 8 or 9 on 8 or 9 and not everyone played all the games. They also got a bunch of games in as well. I think it was the owner, or some sort of high up management, he was awsome! When my firneds gun when down he was able to tell me how to fix it and he even got on his staff when they were slacking at the fill stations.

????
This sint really a pro or a con, but all of the peole that showed up were turny players and in a completely differnet league than we were. Its great if you like good compittion cus youll get it, but not the greatest if its your first time our or relatively inexperenced in this type of play.

Cons: I'm not sure why we waited for a reff to play, he didn't do a damn thing but start the games. The floor was slippery, but that is to be expected with an indoor field. The lighting both sucked and blew though. It was impossable to see your opponets unless they were running or shooting at you. That may be why the players bounus balled you every time you got out. I got laned on the break and took another 6 hits while walking off the field with my gun over my head! Imagine getting bunkered! I took 2 hits to the leg, 1 in the chest 2 gogs, and i have 2 lumps almost ball on ball on the top of my head.

All in all it wasnt a bad experiance, just not a great one. I for one will not be comming back for a while. Not because the place was that bad, but rather I'd like to be able to compete insted of getting mowed every game. I would highly recomend stopping in thier at least once, and If you are looking for some compition try this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media