paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / PBC Sports Park Greenville / PBC Sports Park Greenville / PBC Sports Park Greenville / PBC Sports Park Greenville

PBC Sports Park Greenville

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 864-486-9287
Address: 300 Tacapau Rd
Wellford, South Carolina 29385
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
davidh5751 Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red fox
Directions
to the Field:
Get the directions off the website and print them before you...its kinda trickey to find
I you have a gps Use it
Review:
Me and a small group (5) whent by there this sunday

we had a great time

the refs were great...we played most of the woods fields and the speed ball set up...safety was a real priority...and it was nice ..none of our group was forced to be a safety "marshall" like weve had to on other local fields... its kinda a downer to have to consistantly be the voice of reason...but seeing someone needlessy get hurt... sux far worse

We were kinda luckey (but maybe its a normal occurence here I dunno, ive only been here twice) with such a small group we needed a pick up game...and a sunday pickup game...were the hours are so limited...and low and behold while we were unpacking our gear...and pondering how bleek the situation was... A whole clan of german nationals, or german americans (i dont know the correct term, I dont mean to be offensive)... (im assuming from BMW, and I think thats what that language was) showed up....all with camo on...and they were great fun ...just the nicest people you could ever hope to meet for paintball, and I couldn't thank them enough, for there great spirit and spotsmanship.
To be honest, they gave as good as they got and it was great fun/and exersize for all
We kept the teams balanced( they got real good/ real fast) and we just had a great time

PBC is a little more expensive then some of the other regional fields, the fact that safety was such a priority, and that you could comfortably/and confidently bring the whole family (even several newbies) , and have a great time ...I can see were its worth it

The last kudos I want to give, to be honest , they had maybe 50% rental markers on their team...Those were the best performing rental markers i've seen soo far..They all shot good and straight with a legitimate new marker velocity...they looked old (as rentals will) but they shot really good...and that says they were well maintained, and to be honest thats very important
When new people come out to try paintball typically they rent markers....and if the rentals are junk.. that can quickly lead to a bad experience...and actually demote the sport

So thanks to PBC greenville, and everyone who played, and I hope everyone has as good an experience there as we did and ...after that ..we will be back


David
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lars1y Wednesday, April 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paintball, Red Fox
Review: PBC is still building their fields. They have one X-ball, one dirt mounds, and one woods field. All three are excellent fields. We had 20 people and half liked the mounds and half the X-ball.
The staff is very helpful and safety conscious. They were knowledgeable and helpful when there was a marker failure or when someone had a question.
Looks like there will be at least one more X-ball field built along with another speed ball course possible.
Paint is a bit expensive but if you book a party before you go there are discounts that are huge.
Great place to play, everyone had fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Desmobot Thursday, January 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All of my PB experience was in Florida, so no other local fields as of yet.
Directions
to the Field:
Google maps has excellent directions if you use the addy from the PBC website. Small signage can be easily missed though so be careful.
Review: First off, a huge shut out to the fellas at PBC Greenville. The staff is amazing. They all play paintball and they are all willing to help at te drop of a hat. I can't wait to see what becomes of the Greenville Field! It's in a building phade at the moment. I stop into the shop about once a week. After my 3rd time in there most of the guys new me by my first name. I can't remember hardly any of theirs (I'm horrible with that kind of stuff). They are uderstaffed at the field sometimes but not under-stocked. They used Tippy 98's with HPA for field guns. They have 2 fill stations 4500 and 3000. They can also fill co2. The driveway is mud/dirt so don't whear your courture suedes! lmao. They have plans of graveling the drive but like I said before, the whole thing is a work in progress.
You can buy a Season pass and get discounts on paint or you can buy the WCK package that is a monthly fee but lets you play as much as you want just for the price of paint. BOTH ARE GREAT DEALS!! Both will pay for themselves the very first time you use them. I have the Season pass myself, in fact. The paint is not any more expensive than any other field and it is great paint. Draxxus I believe. It's .687 for those with barrel kits. You MUST USE FIELD PAINT. Don't even try to sneak your own in because they DO CHECK. They have a chrono station on site too and require all players with their own cannons to chrono before play. All of the players I've met thus far hae been great, friendly, willing to teach (the veterans, that is) and always quick with a laugh. Of course people are people so don't hold me to that as I get along with everyone I meet. Saftey is awesome. They refs are on people like lightning if they are unsafe. I've seen them kick people off the field for multiple infractions. They are forgiving but fair, so don't test their patience.
Credit card but no cash? No worries. They can take cash or credit at the field!

-X-ball: The field is a 50 yard field with a nice, huge, upright, X-bunker in he middle. They have tapes, doritos, temples, big temples, cans, and boxes. It's a turf field so you can REALLY slide. On Saturdays they use a 10 ft rule (because of all the noobness). No worries though! That's a great rule for the 'Family outing" crew that has never been paintballing before. I admit to amost bunkering an 8 year old kid because he wouldnt move. It was a 2 minute stale-mate because I coudn't gget close enough and he wouldn't look up or eve shot..grrrrr. Sundays are generally the days for te big dogs. They are also open on Mondays!

-Woodsball field: I have heard good things about it, but haven't actually played on this course.

- A hybrid field: It's a CTF field made of dirt with wooden bunkers. A lot of fun but I wouldn't wear anything you don't want to turn red with "carolina clay". It plays like a mix between speedball and woodsball. They play differnt game types on it but it always ends up being elimination with "newbies" out there that are too afraid to touch the flag or plant it. Part of the field does incororate a wooded area that can be used to flank the other team. I'd say field dimensions are roughly 70x50 yards...I guess.


They have plans for more fields and it's obvious where they are going. They ary no means sitting on their laurels, waiting for these fields to pop up. PBC is actively building this field into, what I believe, will be the premier paintball park in the Upstate. I can forsee some tournies coming in the future.

In summation; Knowledgeable staff, decent reffing, good pricing if you take advantage of their specials, and a location close to anyone in the Greater Greenville area. Be sure to bring your own refreshments because they have none on site. They do have a Porta-potty though! I give a 9/10 because I can see whatthis field will become and that is AWESOME!
Last edited on Thursday, January 15th, 2009 at 10:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gatechgrad Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red Fox
Review: We played here on Sunday morning, the field opens at 10:00 but unless you have a large group going with you don't expect many other players until 1:00 or so (this was confirmed by one of the field employees). Field fee and all day air are both reasonably priced. They are still constructing some of the fields, so when we were there the only fields available were the mounds field, the one with the cannons, and the one with the fort in the woods. The woods field was decent, but the other two were terrible. The mounds field is nothing but red clay mud, so be sure to bring a change of clothes or be willing to ruin the interior of your car/truck. We ended up leaving and going to another field in the area and had more fun there in the first five minutes than we did in 2 hours here. If this was the first time I had ever played paintball I would have never played again.

I've been to the store and the guys there are great. Prices are reasonable, sure you can buy the stuff online cheaper, but I prefer to support local businesses, its good for the local economy.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tcrawfo Saturday, August 30th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red Fox: More individual fields, all woods ball/ scenerio fields. Cheaper paint and more paint selection at $50/55/60 dollar boxes. Fields typically are much longer walks forcing you to take your paint/ extra air with you. The staff was more organized as well. (Sometimes red fox lacks refs)
Review: PBC Sports Park currently has 1 speed ball field, 1 large woods ball field and 2 scenerio fields (mounds and gettysburg alley). I am going to review this field in several different categories to try and give a far evaluation of the facilities.

Intial Registration:
We arrived at the field at 9 am and quickly registered and stocked up on balls and air. I was told I could rent air tanks for some friends at the field only to find out at the field that I could not so 2 of the people with me had to run renters. The renter guns were extremely dirty to the point we had to trade one in and my friend ended up running his gun on CO2. The staff was missing 2 of the referees who did not show up to work so we had to wait about 1 hour just setting around to get a game goings. Chrono was on the honor system which later in the games it became obvious several people had the fps way up (field allows 280 fps).

Fields:
The woods ball field was well thought out with multiple fox holes, bunkers, wooden barircades. This field was my favorite at PBC. The sides were well balanced for capture the flag/ elimination / Zombies. The field is also almost completely shaded which was nice since it was about 92 outside in the afternoon.

The mounds field (for lack of better term) consisted of large earth works obviously made by a bulldozer with several wooden walls and 2 deer stands (look out/ sniper towers). This field was fun although the side closer to the parking area has a significant advantage. This field was extremely hot and only one side had any shade. Hopefully the mounds will grow some grass and not be so muddy (red mud ruins car interiors!)

Gettysburg field consisted of several cannons and some small wooden palisades. I did not play this fields, only observed the layout.

Speedball field was a typical field, I did not play here although unfortunaly the cross fire from this field hits the people in the out box of the Mounds field.

Referees:
The referees may have been the worse I have ever played with. We only had one ref after the first game who did not really organize the games or enforce rules. He spent most of his time texting on his cell phone and camping in one location the whole game so on the woods ball field the left side of the game ended up with alot of people wipping paint/ using full auto. I dont think he performed on paint check or call someone out even after he saw some one get googled and wipe it off.

Prices:
I would consider this field expensive.
Field Fee: $10
All Day Air: $10 (only offered 3000 PSI)
PBC Paint: $68.95
They accept cash and credit cards

Other:
No food to eat on site or nearby
No Water/ drinks for sale

Other Players:
The caliber of people using the field did not impress me. Most of the people we played with were wippers. After many of the games when the people left on the winning team walked back to the assembly area they would be covered in paint. Several people got goggled and the ref watched them wipe it off and did not call them out. A few of the people were running at very high fps, I recieved multiple bruises under my body armour.

Good Stuff:
- Good Woodsball field
- Mounds field was interesting
- Alot more speed ball fields in the works

Major issues:
- Bad Refs
- HPA Air pressure for the all day air maxed out at 2700 psi after the first hour.
- Expensive Paint
-Paint was extremely hard, we shot some of the barriers at 20ish feet and the balls would bounce off.

Overall the fields were ok, I will wait until PBC Greenville finishes construction then I may try one last time to see if there are any improvements.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

user671 Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
take exit 63 off I-85. turn on S. Main St. (the road between Hardee's and the gas station) continue down S. Main and it will turn into Tucapau Rd. once you get into Startex. You will see a fork in the road with the church on the left side, take the left side of the fork, so that the church is on your right side now. behind the church is a small dirt road, next to the house on the left. follow the dirt road on back (notice: it makes a hard right) and you will see the site.
Review: Safety- pretty good, the refs are young but they seem to do a pretty good job.
Field- Three fields: Urban, Terrain, and speedball. The terrain seems to be the most even field. But you can have a lot of fun on either. I'm not good at speedball but it name says it lots of speed.
Price- about $60 something for 2000 balls. after doing some looking this is the most expensive for balls, but they don't have field or air fees if you have the pass, which you can ask for when you get there.
proshop- not much of one on the field.
players- seemed pretty cool, they gave pointers. great for a newbie

Overall, the place is nice, only one thing, they moved the last year and i don't know where they moved to.
Remember: They aren't the only field around, I'm going to start going to other fields in the upstate to see for myself.
pbreviews are great.

UPDATE
went to pbc on march 2, once this field is done, this will be a great field to play on. currently has a speedball and woods ball field. Woods ball field is huge, lots of bunkers, foxholes, bushes and trees to hide behind. the field it huge, two creeks in it. the speedball field, i played on it a couple of times and it was fun...its speedball, haven't played much of it, not really good at it. The prices were very fair considering that they use great paint for ONLY $29 not one break all day. $10 for the field fee AND $10 for all day air (3000 or 4500). Bring your own drinks cause there is no building out there. only a port-a-pottie and a truck with the supplies. the was the longest i actually played, from open to close, and had about 700 paintballs left. lots of fun would recommend highly. REMEMBER bring your lots of drinks and hand sanitizer!!!! as it stands now i give it an 8. only has a port-a-pottie, but once the place is done it'll be awesome.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 4th, 2008 at 2:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theABCman Monday, July 30th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just in the woods near my friends house and the woods behind mine. the woods are better. And at extreme outdoors
Directions
to the Field:
don't want to go to this field. If I were you I wouldn't go there even if I knew the way
Review: Ok, The only reason me and my friends go to this place is b/c of the fact that when I buy stuff at there store(which is a good store, knowledgable* workers) they give us free passes. First let me say that this place is expensive paint prices. 19.50 for like 500 rounds. To me that's high. The first time we went there we had fun, 2nd was ok. now we have gone like 5 times and it stinks. They never add fields, and never try to repair the fields that are broken. Plus they only have 4 fields, two speedball(both are the same, nothing different between the two) and a mud mound field, and a villiage type field. In the viliage field the houses have boards falling off and nails you can hurt yourself on. Plus the way its designed one team(the bottom team) can't win, the team that starts on the top always wins because there are two story houses that the top team always gets. On the mud field its more even but when it rains the refs don't let you use it b/c they think you will tear up the rentals( which stink b/c they have to be at least 5 years old and have been used way to much, and they never fix them) plus the feild has mulitple insect nests and ant hills. Speedball fields are never cleaned and every step you take has old paintballs on the ground. Now on to the worst part -refs. THEY Stink SO BAD!!!!! they are usually little kids like 12-13 years old and always yell at you to put the barrel sleeves on. Its really dumb. Plus when we played last (7-29-07) one of them was talking to us and while he was some guy ran up behind us and yelled surrender. This type of play is really dumb, b/c they are really stict on it. You don't even have to see the person to win, just run around the field yelling it REFS stink. plus we played in like a 20 person group and they had one ref. the whole place has two refs. Also the refs don't let you pick the field they do. the "shop" they have there just sells overpriced food and some o-rings and paint. nothing else. Also if your gun meaning the one you own breaks they don't want to fix or help you fix it. They are really strict on rules. Plus this place is in the middle of no where, u pass like 4 junkyards to get there. DON"T GO!!! WASTE OF MONEY!!! I give it a 2 b/c of the passes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

WilliamASigPhi Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Athens Paintball (GA)-not even close
DGS(GA)-good field, but not as good as PBC
Review: I absolutely love this field. They have two xball fields. One with astroturf and one with grass. Both are in great condition and loads of fun to play on ( I think they're currently set up like World Cup was). They also have two "scenario" fields (if you want to call them that). One is their mounds field which I actually haven't played on cause i'm a speedball guy and the other is a "city". I enjoy playing the city field at the end of the day, but mainly stick to the two xball fields. All the times i've gone to PBC-Greenville the parking lot has been packed. There is always an abundance of players to play with of all skill levels. If you wanna roll with some CFOA teams, there will be guys there who play in the CFOA. If you wanna play some rec ballers there will be tons of rec ball guys there too. The refs are pretty good there too. I've never had a bad experience with any of them. Personally, I'd like to see more on the xball fields, but they usually have 2-4 on the recball fields (which is good cause thats where the new players usually end up playing). Overall, I highly recommend this field to anyone. The prices are well worth it. I've literally broken one ball out of about 4 cases i've shot there, so the paint is quality (ProCaps supplies it). I also love the fact that they have push button fills to both 3k and 4.5k. I've played at some quality places, but PBC takes the cake.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballkidddd Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 31st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
red fox
paintball planet
new gen
Review: this place is probably one of the best places iv been to. They currently have 2 Fields dirt mounds witch is okay and a speed ball witch is nice. By the end of the summer they will have like 2 more courses including a city and another speed ball. The dirt mound is okay but not my type when its wet it is slippery as hell. The speedbal courese is awsome theres 4x`s a snake temples haystacks barrels and sum otha $h!t and boy is it fun

there really insnt a pro shop at the fealds it has a/c(GOOD) sum food and drinks but
at there reall store they have EVERYTHING

so i WOULD RECOMEND THIS FEILD THEY ARE NICE AND ITS FUN
p.s. if u go to the store ask for feild passes ull save 25 bucks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheRealDoughboy Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ARPB and ballbusters.
Review: There is a nice 5 man xball field. They also have astroturf, or w/e, but it's like real grass almost, cept it's a lot easier to slide on.
Then there is a HUGE trench field. Huge dirt mounds and pipes through the monds to crawl through. not reall my type of paintball though.....
There are not really any items to buy in the proshop. Just the rental guns, and some misc items like barrel covers.
They have NICE rental guns. a5's and ions for rentals. That's a +.

The paint price was bad. 65 for a case, but from what i heard at the proshop 20 minutes away was that the fp was better than xball bronze. Also, the field paint had PBC written on each ball. That's kinda cool.

I forgot how much the field fee was, but i think it may have been like, 25. or maybe that was rental gear.

Overall, VERY NICE FIELD. Best ref's i've seen.

Not much more, next CFOA 3 man i play there i'll look more into the field and update the review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media