paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field

Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 830-540-4200
Address: 12590 FM 794
Harwood, Texas 78632
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Renegade Razor Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFWAP, DFWPRO, Xdrenallin, Fun on the Run, many many more
Review: I am huge fan of Scenario PaintBall; I started playing paintball about two years ago. Outlaw Ball was my bread and butter. Every other weekend shooting my friends on some ones back 40. Then I had a Paintball Altering experience. I played in an organized, well thought out Scenario Game, encouraged buy a few guys I played Online Games with. I loved this so much I joined a “Scenario Team” and headed into the wild, fun, contentious world of Organized PaintBall Chaos.

Tactical Paintball has a lot going for it. Expansive and well built sets, yes I use the term Sets to imply Movie Style Sets. The owner operator John Harris and his team lead by Matt his field manager have put together a field that isn’t cut into different parts that you find on other fields. You cannot describe this as, Field 1 and then Field 2. Tactical Paintball has taken over 100 acres and made ONE field. On this field you will find two fully realized firebases. One to mimic old school Vietnam/WWII style bases complete with mortar pits, sandbags(though concrete is used in the bags for longevity purposes) bunkers and a tower in the middle complete with a flag pole for Ol’Glory to fly. The second looks like an exact duplicate of the Firebase found in the Starship Troopers movie (the good one) complete with an enclosed two tiered circular fence/wall for defenders to fire from. The interior also has a building bunker much like the movie. These two “Sets” would be more than enough for an average field, yet this is only icing on the cake. Between these two engaging Firebases you will find a Cargo Container City like you may never have played on or imagined. This city is massive, split down the middle by a road which typically has at least one UH1 Huey parked on it(the field owns two), is separated into a north and south combat zone, each side has its advantages and disadvantages. But both would be considered large on their own for most fields. Here at Tactical it becomes one massive city, complete with one tower and an over whelming amount of buildings to cover. There used to be two towers one on the north side of the road (still standing) and one on the south, which lost a battle with a tornado.

Now if this isn’t enough, which on most field would be, this Scenario Field also has a small lake, a village, a com-sat area which ohh by the way actually has a satellite dish, and a SAM Missile site. Each of these areas are ALL on the same field, and most Scenarios on this field are what the home teams call, Full Field Games, you guessed it a full 100+ acre game.

The Pro-shop is expertly staffed and run buy its manager Shannon. She stocks any and all Scenario equipment you will need. Her charm and grace make the Pro-shop both functional and entertaining.

One of the MOST UNIQUE aspects of this field is the relationship the field owner has developed with one individual and one team. Safety is ALWAYS paramount on this field, and I cannot really explain how serious they are. Accept to explain what I mean. First John has developed a friendship and working relationship with an outstanding ER doctor who (for every game I have played) volunteers his time at each event to cover all medical emergencies. Doc Rob as he is affectingly called labors tirelessly to make sure everyone is safe plays smart and understands the dangers associated with heat, stress and potential injuries on and off the field. Now if this wasn’t golden on its own John has also developed a friendship with a team of players who are all EMT’s or in the medical profession also. This team proves to be the go to group on the field, they respond to on field, in game issues with speed and dedication, backing up Doc Rob like the true professionals they are. This field and this attitude for safety, not only by the owner and his staff, but by the volunteers are unprecedented in my short paintball career.

A MASSIVE netting superstructure runs north to south separating game play from the free camping area, pro-shop, and the porta-potties. This netting is always in good repair and well taken care of. There are three insertion points on the field one at each end, north and south and one in the center where the chrono stations can be found. The field also has an out door stage where the staff will show “Theme” based films on the night before a game. Did I mention camping before a game is free and the camp site is massive?

Also if you are lucky enough to call yourself a Home Team, the field makes the effort to proved true military GP tents to the teams, now the teams must maintain them and are responsible for anything they put inside of them, I was witness to one tent that looked like a M.A.S.H. tent inside complete with cots and a wood burning fire place. Do not go here thinking your team will get these perks immediately, however dedication, and a good attitude goes along way with John and his staff.

The Field has both HPA and Co2, and is included in you entrée fee whether you play a full organized Scenario or walk on for a day of fun and shenanigans.

Tactical Paintball is a field paint ONLY business; they are not alone in this practice as most fields in Texas are migrating to this. I am not a fan of it but I will admit the paint they provide is well designed for their field. It has a great break and the shell was developed to handle the heat and tougher terrain.

Some of the draw backs are the bathrooms AKA porta-potties, I got my start playing at fields in the Dallas area and have been spoiled by running water and flushing toilets, not to mention a few of them have public showers. Now in Tacs defense the field it young and only this year celebrated its 3rd anniversary I believe.

Also on non-scenario weekends it can be hard to find a bite to eat, however there is a Subway and few other eateries within 5 miles.

The undergrowth can be a hindrance and a hazard. Loads if cactus, but remember where you are and you cannot escape your climate.

Over all I feel this one of the best fields in Texas when it comes to dedicated Military/Scenario game play, everyone should take the time to play at least one Scenario here and enjoy the field, staff and teams that call Tactical Paintball home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tbatemaster Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I don't care what people say, this is a great field. The reffs are awsome, the players are awsome, and the manager is awsome. If you live anywhere in Texas i suggest going to this field.

The bathrooms arent great, but the buckeys down the road can fix that.

Did i forget to mention this field is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidlanzi Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played most fields in San Antonio and Austin.
Review: I want to point out what is different between this field and other fields in the area when it comes to SCENARIO PLAY.

There are a lot of reviews for this field that tell you about the staff, prices, fields, etc. I want to focus on scenario play because it stood out for me.

Most other fields have a problem with scenarios. The size and shape of their land does not allow for anything other than an oversized game of capture the flag. Two sides that start on opposite ends of the property, the whistle blows, and the teams run toward the middle and create a 50-yard line of sorts. This line may ebb and flow, but in essence it is a straight line. There is no flanking, no real strategy... there is only a big battle with a lot of guys to shoot. Worst of all, the existing smaller fields usually don't work well for a game that encompasses the whole property, and only a one or two of the 6-8 fields are used at all.

Tactical's field allows some more interesting play. Because of 1) the size of the property, 2) the high grass, heavy trees, and structures, and 3) the location specific missions game play can go from having a 100 on 100 man battle in the city to having a sniper creep undetected all the way behind the enemy base. Comms were used well to coordinate attacks and call for reinforcements (bring your own walkie). Flanking was not only used, but was a requirement to take certain structures. All in all, it felt much more like the real thing than any other scenario I've been played.

Another big plus, is that there is no down time for respawning. You get hit... you walk to the respawn zone... you are alive again. A little walking yes... but no 15 minute wait for the next game to start.

Is it perfect? No

Is it better than most? Yes

Would I go again? Yes

I give the field (based on my experience there) an 8 out of 10. Good stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duhon_robert Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgot, #1 pb, Battle ground, Fruit City, Anahuac, and others
Directions
to the Field:
Located approx 70 miles East of San antonio and 140 miles west of Houston right off I10! Harwood Tx! only one Exit!
Review: Great Staff!
Great refs!
Plenty of room to play! Awesome home team players! great games all around

I have played the sport for about 6 yrs now! I play mainly woodsball! I started playing in Harwood and many other fields!

Tactical paintball is one of the best fields in the nation!
If you are ever looking for a scenario try one at tactical paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightmare187 Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 Paintball, SGOT, Twisted. By far Tactical is the best.
Review: Safety - Staff cares a lot they do very hard work to keep everyone safe

Fields - Amazing designs

Prices - Fair prices. You must buy their paint though.

Staff - Staff is great they help throughout game

Refs- Refs work hard around the field

Food - Good food, just walk around people grilling and making food everywhere.

Overall the field is great and a lot of fun. For both speedsballers and perfect for woodsballers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jake8989 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Realm
Review: Safety
Pros:Refs were concerned about your safety for example if you were hit the ref would let everyone know by yelling it out
Cons:A lot of cactus and ichy grass, hard to crawl around

Fields
Pros:Fields were fun and well thought out
Cons:Had no air ball

Prices
Pros:If you own or rent equipment it's always $15 to play all day and all day free air

Rules
Pros:have many fun rules for different game experience
Cons:CANT BRING YOUR OWN PAINT you have to buy a case of 2000 for $55

Staff
Pros:They all know what they are doing and are extremely kind
Cons:Some of the staff sat around all day

Refs
Pros:Really cool ref who even played a few games
Cons:Only one ref

Players
Pros:They were all cool and skill level ranged from some people who had played for 20 years and others who were playing for the first time
Cons:Someone put his finger in the chamber of the marker a fired and his mom took him to the emergency room

Food
Pros:Water for $1
Cons: No other food


It was a fun new challenge for me and my friends fields were awesome. I give it a 9/10. cause of the paint thing.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 8:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dumsquared Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have played on dozens of fields in east texas over the last 20 years. Have played in Florida, Illinoise, california and Virginia too.
Directions
to the Field:
Just off I-10 at the Harwood exit. Look for the billboard
Review: Have played for about twenty years now, and this is by far the best field I have ever played on.
The staff is very safety oriented and attentive to your needs. They will do whatever they can do make your paintball experience a great one.
The other players are courteous and friendly. Its almost like a family reunion at every scenario game. The pre-game camp out/ cookout could be the highlight for alot of folks.
The field itself is very large (120+ acres) and well set up. It was definitely designed from the ground up with paintball in mind. The forts, city and different playing fields are well constructed. Not thrown together like other fields. Every time I go it seems there is a new section opened.
The ref staff are really great too. The home teams supply the refs for different games and have occasional clinics to train. There is normally more refs than needed in any particular part of the field. I have seen very little cheating by other players at these games, and heard of less.
Kids 12+ are more than welcome to come with their parents, and are treated with respect. (they are the future of the sport)
All in all, this is by far the greatest scenario field w/in 500 miles of me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robotman Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know of any in the area (i live in Austin)
Review: First of all I would like to say, that this is my opinion and I mean nothing by it if I say something you don't agree with. (I have to say this about all fields.)
THE GOOD-
-Very creative Fields (go look at the pics on the web site).
-Lots of room at the Field.
-Lots of vender's at big games.
-Cheap for a big scenario games.
-Well put together games.
-Most of the staff is friendly.
-Very good paint for $55 a case.

THE BAD
-The refs aren't as vigilant as I would like them to be.
-Not that this is bad about the field, but there is hardly any weekend play.

CONCLUSION
-Over all this is a great field.
-Because this is a great field I would love to see more forts!
-If you are a newbie to paintball, even though this is a great field I would recommend something else, the players here can be pretty hard core.
-If you have never been to one of the big games you should definitely try it out!
Last edited on Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 at 6:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrishBoyA5 Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
krossfire
Directions
to the Field:
I10 to the Harwood exit.
Review: Wow, staff was great, field was great, and the game (Hunt for Bin Laden) was outstanding. I suggest calling ahead to make sure there are a few people there and bring a bunch of friends any weekend. The home teams as cool as hell and the staff are laid back. I played in the Hunt for BL game and it was great.

The only suggestion, not complaint, is I would have a few more refs. I think that this is the greatest challenge for any field, but it was needed for the night game. Some people had to be cranking up there guns, or maybe I have thin skin. Ex: I assaulted a home team from Fort Worth and they screamed stop shooting so I did, than they opened fire on me and screamed surrender. I had to call it quits. Sometimes people get into the game and forget that there are people playing that could really kick their asses in the parking lot for pushing too far. I dont need another set of assault charges. Shooting me at 5 feet 15 times was worthy of a slap, but I heard they were all police officers, plus I didnt want to ruin a good day, so I let it slide and went home. If a ref was there I think that he would have called them out on that. Still, I had one issue for a 12 hour day, not bad. I cant wait for the next game. Visit their site.
Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 8:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

feydakin_guard Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area as i am from canada. I play at wasaga beach paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
cant remember, somewhere of the I-10, not that far from gonzales.
Review: I was visiting texas earlier this year so I brought my bt-4 assault down and wanted to find a place to play (by the way if anyone wants to know, i had no problems crossing the border with my stuff, just dont bring any tanks or paint, and pull the barrel off and stuff). I located this field actually with this website. It was the closest and sounded the best so i went with my two brothers. So i'll start now...

Staff - I went a day earlier to check the place out and they gave me a tour of all the maps no charge or anything they just wanted me to see it. They had a big airsoft game going on at the time so we put on masks. They were really friendly and willing to explain anything and enjoyed chatting about guns and stuff. Very safety concered too.

Maps - It was really wet when i went so it was hard to bunker down in some spots (thats just weather and the flat terrain though). Beware of the cactus (balls can go through but you cant!) and thorn bushes. The urban field is totally awesome and was my favourite. It has over 20 buildings, two of them multi-level and the map was huge. The other maps i found were a bit smaller and flat with no borders which is more or less a good thing, sometimes (flanking can be unexpected). It is good if you are playing all out scenario and using the whole acreage. Also two speedball fields.

Facilities - Umm... They had a lot of tents, very protective neting. A chrony station. No building though or proshop as far as im concerned, but there was a big shop for all their equipment and air and stuff. only porta potties too.

Equipment - The rentals were brass eagles and aged. Some were good, some were bad. good for beginers as they were light and easy to use. The paint they used was really good and came in an ammo case that you can keep (i keep my remote and pack in mine). It was fairly cheap too, like 55 bucks or something for 1500 i think, anyways it was good paint for a good price. And you could get a protective vest and ammo haulers too...

Although it was smaller, flatter, and had a lack of indoor anything, it still had a really good scenario field layout with good strongholds, real helicopters, sandbags, and cool building. The guns were not the best but good enough. I dont know the hours but I would phone and ask them if there will be people to shot at because when i went there was only like, 10 of us. Overall i'll give a 7 because i'm used to giant fields, full facilities, large staging area ( yeah im pampered at my field), and 98s for rentals but there prices were really good and they were friendly people. And the city totally rocked (best urban field ever).

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media