paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / KC Crusaders Paintball Field / KC Crusaders Paintball Field / KC Crusaders Paintball Field / KC Crusaders Paintball Field

KC Crusaders Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
37Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (360)-897-6267
Location: South Prairie, Washington 98385
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
BigNiko Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Attack- great sweetness
Review: Pro:
-good field setup
-large field
-good pro shop
-24 hour game!!!!!
-sell Evil paint
-snack shop

Cons:
-refs don't really care
-staff over fills tanks by allot
-expensive prices

So in conclusion this is a good field in general but the staff there doesn't care and the refs never check games and never look for cheaters and usually never notice people who take masks off. But the 24 hour game is sweet and is held every August.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CajunCocker Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Attack - A Joke Compared
OP- Better Prices, fields arent as fun, and gravel on airball (rough on the ole knees)
Review: Alright, KC's Is where I was introduced to the world of paintball and it is by far the best of the best. Everything there is extremely well run and maintained, let me fill you in.

Air ball
By FAR the best of the other fields I've gone to. Very nice kept grass (excepting after a torrential downpour it gets muddy, but what else can you expect?)

Bunkers are kept in GREAT shape always full always staked down nicely

The land outs are always fun to play and give equal opportunity to each side

Rec/Woods Ball
All their woods ball fields are extremely fun to play on. They have Good variety (Hill, Middle, and River, but then across the river there are others tucked away)

If you were to go to KC's in the Fall and come back in Summer you would swear you were playing completely different fields, the vegetation they leave on the fields adds a new level of play by growing and becoming thick lush sneaking territory in Spring and Summer then a Thicket to sprint through in Fall and Winter. Its very interesting to try them out in both ways.

They have bunkers spaced out very nicely through the field with a good balance of Not too Little and Not To Many.

Refs
Ok This seems to be a VERY controversial issue with KC's and having gone to KCs for quite some time I'm hoping I can spread some light on this subject.

The refs many people are referring to were just what they're called on here. Young teenage jerks who favored pros and treated new players to the game with no respect or courtesy. I went to KC's when they actually reffed there and remember thinking to myself "These arenít the refs I associate with KC's..." But now I can Thoroughly Guarantee you that those Couple of refs are LONG gone. The other members of the staff realized what they were doing and they were sent packing. Since then I've had nothing but Fun Loving refs who do everything in their power to make equally experienced teams, help the new players, and make fair calls no matter the playerís experiences.

Another Issue brought up with Refs is them "Pointing Out" positions of team members to the opposing team. In most cases when they do this its to help the extremely new players (10 to 12 year olds) Have a good time and understand the game better. If your going to complain about some Young kids who are 5 years or more younger than you getting some advice then you need to rethink your ethic values.

Other than that, The staging area is nicely set up with a station to clean your paint smeared goggles (an attribute other fields lack) The staff in the Proshop Will do EVERYTHING in there power to get you back on the field if you have a problem with your gun. Recently I had my cocker worked on there without one mutter of displeasure from the staff. Furthermore, about the proshop smelling like smoke, It does but not so bad as to choke you out of there, and on top of that you shouldnít spend to much time in there anyway, get out on the field and play! =)

Prices
Now as stated before, KCís is a little more expensive in the paint area then some other fields in the area. But All I can say to this is you get what you pay for. Sometimes in the area of the quality of the paint but ALWAYS in the area of service youíll receive and the extra cost on the pant is what really keeps a place like KCís running as well as it dose.

KC's is really a great field for all the above mentioned reasons, any problem they may have is either fixed ASAP or made up by something they do awesome. KC's Definitely Gets a 10/10 from me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

I-Kill_Suckers Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatt attack indoor, Splat attack outdoor
Review: I went there today with my friend and we had a blast. The ref was great and was joking around with us alot. although there werent many good players there(the only other guys were some 12 year olds having a birthday party) we had a great time and my only complaint was that we didnt get to play much airball. Also the guy in the pro shop was one of the most knowledgeable gun tech i have ever met and when my friends cocker wasnt working he knew exactly how to fix it.

I highly recommend kc's for woodsball but the airball is not so great
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phycopsilocybin Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatt Indoor - ridiculous
Splatt Panther - speedball is best
Paranoid - speedball is better, recball doesnt compare
Opperation - speedball is worse, recball is =
Hole in the wall - worse in both cases
Review: I started at KC's, when I was about 10. I thought it was pretty much the coolest thing ever, I was terrified of speedball, and i saw wiping as an utterly horrid sin, anyone who started young should be able to say about the same thing. I can confidently say that KC Crusaders was then and is still the best begginer feild in Washington. If you haven't played before, or want to start a younger child, sibling, or relative on paintball, KC Crusaders is the place to go.

GENERAL
-The owner Chris, is the most experienced tech you will ever meet. If you have a problem with your marker, I guarantee he can fix it.
-The refs are the best. Most are 16-20, but they remain professional, courteous, and fair, at all times. Chris did some cleaning up fairly recently, and fired 2 refs, that many people complained about in thier reviews.
-The main feild can't be beat. It's 1 large area that is often split into 3 groups "hill" "middle" and "river" they are all woodsball, but they each have thier own unique atributes, theres also "spools" and "urban", which refs play on request.

SPEEDBALL
-The SupAir feild is set up nicely, and I love playing on it for the following reasons
it's ALWAYS full, where on every other feild i have played refs get lazy and don't do anything about sagging, deflated, and fallen bunkers, KC's Speedball is always in pristine condition (grass is always at decent length too)
-
Now, here is the honest truth. KC Crusaders, is not the place for pros. If you have a high end gun, you will most likely be the minority. Although refs seem to run speedball pretty much every other round, it doesnt change the players. If you want to play some serious speedball, go to Panther, at the bottom of Eelie hill, or Paranoid.
-
There is an exceptiion. KC Crusaders sponcors Team Bone, who practices on Sundays and Thursday nights, if you show up on sunday, and ask nice, they will let you play with them, and if you prove to be a good player, they will ask you to come back on Thursdays. I play with them regularly.

PRICES
paint prices are slightly higher than other local feilds, but quality can be beat.
right now they sell stinger, premium, and evil
-
admission is awesome KC's runs a deal all the time where he first 10 walk-ons get 10 dollars off, which means with your own gear you only have to pay 5 dollars to play for the ful day, with unlimited air refills.
-
food is cheap drinks arent. pop machines are upped to 1.25 a bottle and .75 a can, but candy is .50 and chips are 1.00 (I would recomend bringing your own food, I always stick a cooler in my trunk)
-
markers, gear, and accesories are average. anything pmi, piranha, extreme rage related is cheaper than the average

PLAYERS
players range young to old and beginner to pro, but one thing remains that most feilds can't boast, attitudes are always possitive. refs have no problem calling out the guy whos cussing, yelling and starting fights, and kicking him out, and ive never seen in the 7 years ive been playing there a time when things got out of hand.

SAFETY
refs inforce it at all times, at the end of every game you will grow accustomed to hearing "GAME OVER! barrel plugs in! safetys on! masks on till your off the feild"
and nobody gets to play until a ref has checked thier velocity and signed thier wrist band.

!!!
I give KC Crusaders an 9.5/10 on the basis, that my main complaint is speedball isn't quite as amped as at other places, but that's because of the players. but it remains the best woodsball around.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jay Lawrence Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only private fields, and they're hard to compare...
Review: KC Crusaders isn't my favorite field because-

1) It's too expensive for my taste (most places I could pay $25 to play with bring your own paint, and others I could pay $70 or less to buy a case and pay for my entree). To play at KCs, I usually have to bring $100+...

2) The refs aren't too attentive or efficient...they also give unfair information. One in particular will point you out to opponents, giving away your perfect hiding place. As for being unattentive...they don't move aroudn much, and it doesn't seem like they'll do many paint checks on request. I could keep going on, but...

However, the things I like about KC Crusaders are-

1) Great field...a lot of bunkers and many areas to explore without the place being too big.

2) Their stock paint is OK, and it never really breaks or chops.

3) There are usually alot of players there (on the weekends) to commute with and meet. Great for recruiting.

4) The staff is nice...they once actually let me use a referee vest so I could avoid being hit when walking around to take pictures.

All in all, KC Crusaders is a great field once you've saved your money and if you don't mind putting up with a couple of the refs. It's a very fun field to play at since it is so wide and detailed, so you can play rounds there over and over until the end of the day without getting bored of it.

Begin saving your money and calling your friends to play with you at this field at least a couple of weeks in advance. This is a great place to play at with friends on special occasions (birthdays, work commutes, etc), but ti's hard to play there for practice or simply weekend games. You can't bring your own paint, and you have to pay per air fill (unless you use compressed air, then it's $5 for the whole day), so it can get expensive if you only make $15 a week like I do.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

king_tobo Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Well I'm new to paintballing so I guess I'm not really the authority, but I know my experience was great. I went there with 3 friends and 2 of us had to rent. Other than the price of the paintballs everything was a great deal. The ref was great, and made the experience extremely fun. He knew it was our fist time, so when he got the chance he helped us know when to move, and learn some strategy. He helped us with the guns when we needed it, and when one of my friends guns had paint break in the hopper and then chop one he helped him take apart his gun and clean it all out. The course was cool, and had a nice variation of bunkers and gave you room to always try out a new strategy. We played for 5 hours and used 1000 balls each, it was the most fun I've ever had. I would definitely recommend this to anyone because of the cool course and really great and knowledgable people there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

elu Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paradice paintball
Hole in the Wall
SC Village
Review: Good field. The standard for what all other paintball courses should be judged. This field has a variety of courses including speedball, woods, and so on. The overall facility has its act together and works hard to make everything happen. I suggest this field for any level paintballer, afterall isnt half the fun trying new courses.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

opyopy Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: KC's is an all-around great place. Chris in the pro-shop is really a great guy, and if you have a problem with your gun, you can count on him to have it fixed. The fields are in great condition and well maintained. The refs are great guys, with wonderful personallitys. I've been going to KC's sense day 1 when I bought my first paintball gun (From KC's of course). I don't feel like going anywhere BUT Kc Crusaders. Great place, come out and join the fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

unbuffyd Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sort of Splat Attack (I'll explain later..)
Review: Ok, so try to imagine this...

7 buddies all plan a day out paintballing. 6 of them had gone for the first time the week before, and could not stop talking about it during class, constantly surfing the net at school to look for markers.

The other guy, me, has been paintballing on and off for about 2 years.

We all load up in a big ol' surburban on saturday and drive out to a field I had never been to, but that everyone else went to last week: Splat Attack in Federal Way, Washington.

Well, we drive for about 30 mins (we live in Bellevue), but when we get there, ITS CLOSED!

I couldn't believe it! I had begged my dad on my knees to let me go, and after he had finally relented, the darn place is closed! (This is on a Friday when we had school off).

Well, we all got out of the car, cursing, and went underneath the bar blocking our way just to make sure. Yep, the place was deserted. But the real shock was the poor quality of the facility. There weren't even permanent buildings (that I saw), it was just a bunch of tents and a storage box. What a joke!

Well, we all got back in the car and debated what to do. I said I had an idea. "Hey," I offered, "lets go to KC Crusaders. Maybe they are open". We dialed 411 and a nice old lady answered the phone, gave us immaculate directions (from Wild Waves!!!), and we arrived at KC's promptly at 11:00.

Well, the place doesn't open until 12, but again the nice old lady came out of her house and told us to feel free to walk around the fields for an hour.

I had been there several times before, in fact, KC's is where I was first indoctrinated to the world of paintballing as a freshman. A wonderful walk-on course, all my friends were immediatley impressed, exclaiming again and again that "this course is wayyy better than splat attacks!"

I felt very proud.

Furthermore, they were excited about the prices. Heck, $50 bucks gets you a rental gun, all day air, a mask (with a fan! <---so there is no fog), and 1000 PMI paintballs. To us, this is a great deal! We were there for 3.5 hours, and HAD to leave by 3:30. The last game we played, we had to actually TRY to use all our paintballs. I used 2.5 hoppers the last game. So all in all, for the regular joe, KC's has some pretty good prices.

The ref was a great guy as well. A young kid, probably about 14 or 15 (maybe older?), but very fair.

And that giant dog is still alive!



Now, the only drawbacks about our experience were the following...

1.) It was raining. Hard. Let me say this: don't go when its raining. Don't paintball anywhere when its raining. Not that we couldn't handle the rain, we actually liked it, (keeps your body temp down), but our guns were really suffering, and water kept getting inside the hoppers. (This is a bad thing.) So yeah, if you can avoid it, go when its overcast or something.

2.) This is a mild complaint, but the pro shop reeks of cigarette smoke. Its hard to stay in there for very long due to the poor air quality. blech.

3.) All the rentals use compressed air, which is great, except the air is kept inside the HEATED pro shop. This is not great, because once you step outside in the pooring 60 degree weather and shoot your gun, the warm air causes condensation to build in your cold barrel, making your balls spin. I own a squegee, and I had to repeatedly squegee my barrel, thinking I had chopped paint. It wasn't until my friends and I talked about it in the car on they way home that we figured the problem out. So if anyone at KC's is reading this: please put the air outside so that it stays the same temperature.

Thats about it. I love the field. I mean, heck, they were open on a FRIDAY! thats just sweet. Splat attack couldn't say the same.

I give KC's a 9.5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hacim007 Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball
Review: I played at the 24 hr game and I've heard about it a few times. Wasn't all that great the first day due to it pouring down rain most of the day. Night time was ok but somewhat lacking. The teams didn't know what the heck was going on players shooting people on their own team and what-not. But it was more fun on the second day. I will say however that there prices in the shop were average for a field. The paint was definitely crap that they were selling, and it didn't make a difference whether or not it was premium or regular they both were crappy. I know the moisture didn't help but they would be junk as soon as I opened the package. I didn't bother trying to get a new batch because I knew the answer they would give me. As far as ref's go who know where they were at. I saw some during the second day, some at night that my teammates shot (quite amusing when the ref got pissed); but as far as the first day they were all hiding somewhere. People where wiping left and right and players were being shot even after they were walking off the field holding their gun up. Maybe next year will be better pending the weather.

Oh and let's not forget the bridge breaking and the band team getting screwed. Hope they fix that a little better and plan on high traffic over it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media