paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Top Gun Paintball Games Paintball Field / Top Gun Paintball Games Paintball Field / Top Gun Paintball Games Paintball Field / Top Gun Paintball Games Paintball Field

Top Gun Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
54Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 732-928-2810
Address: 567 Monmouth Rd
Jackson, New Jersey 08527
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
ball.playa11 Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Back yard?.hahaha
Directions
to the Field:
right next to Six flags, take the U-turn to get to the other side and go towards the back of the restaurants.
Review: Ive been on this field 2 times in less than a month. It is a great place to play. Nice fields, that hold a lot of people. Safety was a little lax though. I was in a group of 60+ and multiple people where walking into the dead zone with their gun condoms not on their barrels. And when they were told by other people other than the refs, they would reply as they lost it. Thats not really topguns fault, but just stupid people. But after a while refs did speak up and made it known EVERYONE needed to have their barrel condom on. Refs were nice for the most part, once they were getting annoyed by the dumb ones, it was tough to talk to them. Proshop is great! My gun Jammed and they let me walk into the back and a guy named Bill fixed it for me. And they clean your gun! ((Just run water through it, but thats better than nothing right?)) Prices = HURT!!...as everyone says, this place is pricey! Wish it would go down and i would be there even more.Facilities, were nice. Food is right there! Topgun is right behind food, but you can always bring you own. Prices hurt so i recommend it.

Quick info
Pro: Multiple great fields
Services - Proshop filled with things you need like elbows or whatever you need
Refs and staff - VERY NICE and helpful

Con: PRICES!

9/10 just because $80 for a case of 2000 hurts a lot, $25 for walk on with a gun isnt to bad

Bottom line: JUST GO HERE! GREAT PLACE TO PAINTBALL WELL WORTH THE MONEY SPENT, YOU WILL GO HOME SMILING.=)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakeplayer17 Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball authority-love it
fireball mountain- this field can rot in hell until it gets some1 who actually knows wth their doin
Directions
to the Field:
six flags down the road its so ashamed to show itself its behind a strip mall and one that looks like hell at that
Review: I only went here once and it was here that my love of paintball was sparked and thats the only good thing i can say about it. Saftey yea there is saftey but once ur outta refs ear shot and sight its kinda all out specially when ur goin to refil your air which u have to pay for and do a lonley walk back to the proshop which is a good combined 10 or 15 min which you could spend playing. Paint- expensive as hell 80 for a case of 2000 when i can go to a store and get the same for cheaper and is atleast 50 bucks cheaper at other fields and the prices only allowed me one hour of play. Fields there are alot granted but unless your with a group of players who are interested in finding out what else this place has to offer your basically screwed if your in a group who want to stay on the same field the whole day which is what happend to me.... So if ur loaded and wanna drop some serious dough on this place then by all means check it out just a heads up its bin a long time since ive played here but i dont think they do chrono checks there and if they do i think they only do it once when u first go in if im wrong dont chew me out on it just give me the heads that they do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

docdeath Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish=really expensive and not friendly
OTP=nice guys prices kinda the same alot smaller than TopGun
Fireball Mountain=don't get me started
Cosins/Pinelands=when i was there it was empty
Directions
to the Field:
yahoo directions
Or if you know where Six Flags Great Adventure is go next door to it and there is TopGun
Review: As you can tell I love this field. They are always improving there fields and creating new ones so you are not always playing on the same ones. The paint is a high end paint so that means less breaks. It is field paint only but you have to account for all the things they have. It comes down to the old saying you get what you pay for and Top Gun is worth it. They have a acre big fort they call The Alamo which they run a big game on in august and another fort called Lucky Hill which is like a giant maze inside. They also have a new oil rig field with a huge oil rig that stands like 20 feet tall also they just redid the Jurassic Park playing field and are still redoing others. The refs there are actual players so they understand the sport and help out the players. They run a very organized show and makes sure everyone has a good day. Anytime you play there you will see the owner Carl and Carl Jr going around and asking what people think and ask for suggestions to improve their costumers experience. They truly love the sport and are really spokesmen for it. I give this field an A+ from the friendly staff and Owners to the fields always improving. If you are a beginner or a high end player Top Gun should be on your list of fields to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spitzalot69 Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: Well first I would like to say that I had an absolutely great time at Topgun! The Refs were great they were on point when it came to making the correct calls and watching that all players were actually playing a good game and not cheating in any way shape or form. I was impressed with the location and the realism of the playing fields we were a group of 12 and all of the guys had alot of fun, the only hard part was dealing with the price of a case of paintballs $80 bucks is pretty steep and they don't allow you to bring your own paint but overall the quality of the rentals was good we only had to exchange one gun because it failed to fire after the 2nd game. The personnel was very helpful and polite and professional the Owner was a blast and the staff working in the Pro shop were great and very helpful. I would give this field a rating of 9.5 the only thing I didn't like again was the price of a case. I had such a great time that Sunday after my time at Topgun I purchased all my gear so I can go paint-balling every weekend. But I don't know if I can continue going to Topgun because the entry fee is $25 plus $10 dollars for the all day air fill plus the $80 for the paintballs is pretty hefty but with a group I would definitely go again and again! As a novice I really feel that this establishment really cares about the sport but it would be even better if they allowed you to bring your own paint. Other than that I would like to thank the guys at Topgun for showing us a great time and hopefully I will be back soon!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

teddymo Monday, January 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont usually play in Jersey
Review: Well how do I begin, I just came back from attending Top Gun's, 2nd Annual Polar Bears v. Penguins. Many Top Scenario teams from the area showed up including Voodoo, Delta, Undertakers, 13th Legionnares and basically every major scenario team on the east coast was represented sorry if I cant remember thier names now. Because I did not attend this field during the week I can only rate it based on how it was set up for a scenario game. Regretfully I don't know if I will attend a Top Gun scenario game again. I may give them one more chance based on my review, you can make your own decision. The only reason I would is because of the history of this field legalizing paintball in New Jersey.

MY RATINGS:

PRICES - A+ = Very reasonable for a scenario game. $70 pre-buy 75 at event. 25 dollar entry fee.

FIELDS - B = Great woods, nice terrain with fun features, big enough to host an event of even larger size, they had some nice mini features, like a paintball grenade launcher, a pond, a stream with small briges, swampy areas, hills, gullys, two forts, etc. speedball area Comparable to Cousins of Coram. Typical barrels, pipes, palletes and basic wood structures.

PRO SHOP B+ = Well stocked, plus indoor and warm. Basicallly anything you would need to play.

REFS - B+ = They always came to do a paintcheck when I asked. Also there were enough refs at the event and they had a good attitude.

MANAGEMENT C- = They did three things wrong in my opinion. While they seemed nice and friendly this event could have been planned just a little better.

1. I suspect they cheapened out on the paint, even though it was a Procaps brand, - "Classic" and a winter paint, it was dimpled and horrible breaking in everyones pods, as well as thier guns. I rock a flatline A-5 and I was basically just spitting out water. I then lowered the gun to 180 and was still breaking paint. I took out my ION which did a little better but was still breaking balls despite the fact that i lowered it. Then I went back after lunch and put back my stock tippman barrel, a little bit better but stick breaking like crazy 50/50 chance of breaking a ball with each shot and that was good!

2. They ended the event at the worst possible time. The penguins were storming the Polar Bears castle for a second time to ensure the victory, and we were just about to bust in when they CALLED THE GAME. It left all the players with a very unsatisfied feeling. The whole day running around in subzero weather and when the game comes to a climax they STOP it! That is just a total dis to the players, especially for sticking around and shooting the crappy paint.

3. POLICY - I purchased two cases thinking I would be firing my Tippman Flatline all day and playing coverman. Problem was the paint was so crappy I didnt even fire a full case. I hadnt even picked up my second case yet and tried to get a refund by returning the token since I couldnt use the paint. They stated they dont refund paint, even though the day had just begun and the paint they sold me was just horrible. I would have probably spent the money in thier proshop anyways but they refused. This to me was unfair given the situation with the crappy paint. Bad business policy if the paint was still in thier possession.

4. Finally I would have let the bad paint slide if they would have apologized to all the players or commented about it at the closing ceremonies. They could have at least said sorry, thanks for sticking it out, we are going to talk to our distributor for giving us this crappy paint, please come back next year, thank for supporting us and still buying it...etc. The bad paint turned what would have been a good day of paintball into a negative experience.

PAINT - D- = As stated about the paint was horrible. I have played in 20 degree weather before and never had a problem with other paint brands. I even tested out some leftover OLD draxxus paint I had and it was not breaking. To be fair I only had 30 balls of it and dont know if it would have been consistent like that all day but it, considering only 2 of the 30 broke it was not a good sign for thier story that the weather was to blame. I wasnt the only one who complained about the paint.

FOOD - N/A - Man you would think they would have set up a burger grill with hot dogs especially with so many players. They had a prebuy arrangement which was nice if you knew about it, so I had to drive to get some food. There is a nice burger joint a short walk though so it really doesnt matter if they had food their or not, since good food was nearby plus a MCDonalds and BK a short drive away.

PARKING - B+ = Nice area, centrally located to fields, close to main building

SAFETY - C- = The only reason I gave it a C- is that some of the refs did not pay attention to barrell plugs, no one was patrolling the parking area (alot of dryfiring which is not safe) and finally thier target area is not even closed off with netting or supervised by a ref. There were people in thier firing without goggles on, and I could very easily see an accident happening as someone is working on thier gun and pointing it out towards the parking area which is not closed off by netting. This is a very dangerous set up. I hope they fix it soon I can see some kid losing thier eye because of this.

There were about 350 - 400 people at the event by my estimates. I have to honestly say I would be suprised if they had half those numbers at thier next event. I have an extra case of that crappy paint i could not use or refund, I dont even think I would use it in a BYOP field or bring it back to TopGun, Its just so crappy you have no idea.

ProCaps Direct also gets a big Thumbs down for selling this crappy paint and ruining an otherwise good scenario game.

It is for these reasons I give this field a 7 rating. I would have gone even lower but I liked the woods and cant blame the bad paint 100% on the management even though they didnt apologize to the players for selling it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

NJ4L Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
otp(mehhh)
fbm nh(omfg sucks balls)
fbm ob(sucks mondo balls)
dels(great place!)
ejam indoor(ftl)
ejam outdoor(very nice)
atlas(soo damn nice)
graveyard pb(very nice)
cobra command(excellent fields!!!)
pb invasion(nice field)
bah there's plenty
Directions
to the Field:
right next to six flags on route 537
Review: okay, i play at this field all the time great plcae refs are great and I love it there! some of the people say that they shot somebody and the ref did'nt see it then oh well, look at the size of the fields buddy, there extremely huge refs dont hav paint vision......open to play on saturdays and sundays from 8:00 - 4:00 $80 for paint and for wednesday nights(currently closed until spring) its $45 a case and $15 entry for speedball only. onc eagain great place can't beat it if ur new to the sport or want good competition. And btw if ur gonna complain about safety than w/e its not anyones fault you were'nt listening to the ref at the orientation booth(a.k.a the white box) he explains all the rules there and NOT to shoot outside of the field or to TAKE YOUR DAMN MAK OFF! lol.not funny....noob
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

forcesho Monday, November 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skrimish, Cousins Newburg, Cousins Coram
Review: Like the guy below. Same thing

Best part was I called ahead of time to make sure that they had enough Ref since they told me they were packed for the day...

I had 16 people with me, took about 30-45min to check in and finally got 2 games in. Waited in the tent and they called lunch time.. it would be nice if they let us know it was going to be lunch time instead of waiting 30 min for the next game.. i could have been eating instead of hanging out in the tent.

After lunch ref disappeared and never came back for a 5 minute air break .. was waiting for over 30 min with a group of people..

http://www.cyforce.org/paintball/top1.jpg - large 4.5mb pic
http://www.cyforce.org/paintball/top2.jpg - large 4.5mb pic

I played the last speedball lego game and left around 3pm... it wasn't bad but they need more ref and lower price if they want my group to come back again... I'm sure my group + the guy below will be a large lost
Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 12:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

veedoubleugee Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On Target Paintball (Best field in the area. TG cant compare)
Fireball mountain (We played 6 games there and we had a ref for only one of the games)
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 7 7a on the NJ turnpike is all I can rmember. Its by 6 Flags.
Review: We got there at 10 and it took us about 30min to check in. We got killed on paint ($80 a case) and then we had to get ready from our cars (no staging area). We then went to go to our first game. We had about 30 various people waiting to play. We waited and waited and waited. 1/2 hour later we were told it was lunch time. WE DIDNT EVEN GET A GAME IN. So all 30 of us complained. We were told they over booked and that they didn't have enough refs. Then they promised us that they will get us a game. 15 min later we got a game in. I only saw the right section of the field. It was nice. It had a lake and everything. The bunkers were also well made although few and far between. The refs that game were not the best or shall I say NOT good at all. I shot a guy in the goggles 2 times. One over each eye. I called the ref to call him out. The ref looked over at his direction and saw his mask full of their cheap yellow paint. That damn kid kept on shooting and managed to hit me. He called both of us out. How do you like that.... Then we went back to our cars to setup. We had our mask off and kids were shooting their guns into the field. The passing ref said nothing. How about that for safety. We were told by the same refs we had last game to wait in a dead box by a field called "Lego". all 30 of us ended up there waiting. They never came back. Its just like they decided to disappear. We found a ref walking around and I called him over and explained our situation. He said that's not his problem. So then I told him how much business he will be loosing because of this field being unorganized. I said some other stuff but I can remember because I was so mad about this whole day of wasted paintball money. He then decided to ref for us b/c I had 30 people behind me saying the same thing. We later got 3 games in full of wipers, cheaters, and full auto shooters b/c we only had 1 ref watching 30 people. I was unhappy with this field b/c it was unorganized and over priced. There were very few refs and they had no walkies to communicate with the main desk or each other. I would never go to this field again. I gave the best review I could. Im sure a lot of variables came into play this day but whatever the case, this was a horrible paintball experience. I know for a fact other people had a great time at this field on many other occasions. Unfortunately I wasn't any of these people. Go to On Target Paintball for a field that is the opposite of this one. byop or $50 cases of xball and allstars. Its only one exit away on the turnpike. Its also organized and the competition is way better. Please remember I only had one day to review this field. Im sure if I went again things may have been different. Unfortunately for them, they may have lost 30 customers with a life time value of thousands of dollars. I wont waste my money trying to find out if they fixed their issues. If they did then I wish them and their crew the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flipcorp Monday, August 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shooters Paintball- has less fields but Rooster is a great guy that goes out of his way to help you.
Skirmish- Great fields, lousy reffs, rape you for paint, and too far out of the way
Review: I played their Alamo game this past sun. I usually love playing Top Gun for their fields and the different people that show up. I was expecting at least the same decent quality of reffs that I've come to get accustomed to when playing walk-on games. I was very disappointed to see so many new and rookie refs watching over the games. These reffs just didn't know what they were doing. They should not have been allowed to oversee the game. I was glad to see the reffs that usually work the weekends play along side but the officiating reffs had no business wearing those yellow shirts.
The over all set up was also somewhat of a downer. This maybe because of the rookie reffs or by mgmt. There was a 10 min reinsertion rule that didn't seem to be followed by anyone. This lead to the domination of the "mexican" army over the texans. The use of a tank as an equalizer was a nice touch but more work in planning and execution would have been better. Also if their version of the Alamo had been somewhat larger and had multiple stories it would have added more defense for the texans and a greater challenge for the mexicans. My last grievance is for the defending army of the Alamo, shooting above and over the netting at nearby players was appalling. Thank goodness the players that were hit were of and even temper and not newbies just trying out the sport. This wasn't the worst event I've seen but this was not a big step forward for Top Gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbsenior Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball authority, old bridge
Directions
to the Field:
http://topgunpaintball.com/directions.html

right down the street from six flags
Review: Well, I've been playing at topgun since 2003 and I have been to a few different places, but topgun is definately the best. I have been going here for about 3 years now and I think I will be going here for a long time to come. This is the best paintball field I have ever been to because of the amount of people that play here and because of the 7 or 8 fields that they have. I live a few minutes away, so you can take my word for it.

ratings:

-prices- 3/10- $80 for a case of paint !?!?!? $10 for unlimited air refills
-tournament prices- 8/10- $50 for a case of paint, $30 for unlimited air refills
-fields- 9/10- woosaball, speedball, etc... anywhere from 2 to 20 players on a field at a time!!!
-pro shop- 7/10- they sell hoppers, markers, barrel kits, ait tanks, everything you need to play paintball
-hours- 9/10- open until 8:30 pm on wednesday (lighted speedball field- 8/10)
-refs- 7.5/10 don't always see splattered paint
-food- 6/10- they don't sell food although usually people just walk a few yards to a food court (not owned by topgun!) they do sell lots of cold gadorade and water though

I would give Topgun Paintball Games a 10/10, but their prices bring it down to an 8/10.
Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 10:45 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media