paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park

California Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
83Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (310)261-2439
Address: Charley Canyon Rd.
Castaic, California 91384
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
PBCQB Monday, June 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest (back in the day), Warped, APP, HSP, SC Village
Directions
to the Field:
5 freeway to Castiac exit. Take a right at the 4 way and follow it all the way in
Review: I have been going to CPP since back in the day. Ive also hit every paintball field in the area at one time or another. With that said, I absolutely love CPP now. And here's why:

PROS:

*Great park-Huge fields- lots of different play styles
*Awesome Staff- Everyone there is extremely friendly and funny
*Shaded areas and benches
*Food and drinks
*BRING YOUR OWN PAINT. They sell their own as well.
*Rental equipment is good quality
*Music playing around the clock
*Really fast game turn around. ( I was exhausted by 3pm)
*Refs are very knowledgeable and play a fair game
*Lots of different game types: Capture the flag, respawn, elimination, Defender, etc.
*MASSIVE SPEEDBALL FIELD-7man, xball, and a hyperball
*new player and vet player friendly- they divide the new and the vets or mix it up so all games are fair

Cons:
*Bathrooms are porta-poties
*Speedball field doesn't have the turf yet (The manager there says it'll be completely done soon though)
* Xball and hyperball not up yet

As you can see the pros are a long list. Out of all the parks Ive been to this is my favorite.

A short story about my experience. I went to APP for rec ball and because of the sand my gun completely jammed and stopped working. It took me an hour to fix it. I played on another field and once again the sand got in and wrecked my macro line. I said screw it.

I wanted to see how CPP was after the new take over. I started playing there two weeks ago and I'll be there every single weekend. I can spend my Saturdays and Sundays doing alot of stuff, but CPP is a great relaxing day with alot of fast paced paintball games.

For new players and old alike check it out. Its a massive park with alot to offer.

10/10

11/10 if they get the speedball fields up 100% - lol


Last edited on Monday, June 8th, 2009 at 12:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bobby Hated Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped, Urban Quest, SC Village, Hollywood Sports Park, etc.
Directions
to the Field:
easy to find
Review: this field was recently taken over by Giant Paintball (owners of Giant, SC Village, Hollywood Sports Park) and sadly it seems to be going downhill fast. the previous owners ran a great field and employed some of the best refs at any field who put the H in hustle, checking hits and turning games around in 10 minutes or less. they also used to serve a great lunch of bbq burgers and hot dogs and cold drinks.

unfortunately alot has changed with the new ownership. through the grapevine i heard the cut all the existing refs pay and many of them left (which i can verify there were a number of refs i recognized from Giant's other fields, and almost none i recognized from CPP). i also heard they got all their rental equipment stolen the second week out. i guess thats what you get for screwing over the staff you inherited with the field. of course that might be good if they buy new rental equipment, but more likely they will import rental equipment from their other fields, none of which works at all. which is why i never would take a newbie friend to any of their fields. having your friends marker fail all day and goggles fog up all game makes for a freind who never wants to come back.

Drive and parking: partly paved road to a dirt parking lot. if your car is not an SUV you may scrape some on the way down the road. especially in the wash.

Price: varies by promotions $20-$30 a day for walk on plus air. house paint isnt outrageous but many of the rental markers are worthless.

Amenities: sparse at best. dirty porto pottie. shaded bench areas. no food. no running water.

Air: one of the biggest problems with the new owners is they cant seem to get their HPA to fill right. youre lucky to get 3000 on the 4500 hose and you will prolly get less by the end of the day, if it doesnt completely break down and stop working. i cant believe they didnt solve that problem after the first week. i dont know if i'll go back after getting such poor fills 3 weekends in a row with the new owners.

Chrono: they chrono everyone before the first game, but anyone can turn their gun back up and any latecomers never get chrono'd. i've never seen a random chrono check and guaranteed people are shooting hot. no one seems to care.

Fields: CPP does have a decent assortment of fields, which is the only reason i would think of coming back. they have 3 big fields, 2 smaller ones, and supposedly are going to make more, including an airball field. no woodsball which i would like to see. the existing fileds are spindles and tires and man made board buildings.

Players: almost no teams ever come here, which is a bad sign. lots of newbies and families and troublemaking youngsters in general, and a few (less since new owner took over) self-equipped weekend warriors. people on average are probably less decent than you'd find at other fields in the area. alot of former regulars are going to warped now instead.

Staff: to begin with they have 1 cashier to get people in, so some people end up standing in line for almost an hour before they can start. there is one guy that really gets an A for effort. his name is Josh. hes kind of a manager for the new owner and he tries his hardest to get the refs on the ball, but most refs are the same ones i hate from other Giant fields since most if not all the old refs and staff left after Giant took over. sad to see them go. the refs there recently take forever to turn games around (ive sat next to a field waiting for the game to start after it was called for over half an hour) and checking hits during a game is like kryptonite to them. youre lucky to get 6 games in from 10am to 4pm. at least when they call lunch you have about an hour to drive somewhere and get lunch, sit down and eat it, and drive back before a game starts. i rather play continuously all day myself.

i generously give a rating of 4/10 in the hope that they will manage to turn it back around and bring CPP at least to where it used to be. they should contact all the old staff and get them back for whatever they used to be paid, make sure their HPA works all day, and buy a propane grill and bbq up some cheeseburgers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rem69 Tuesday, March 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest (favorite)
SC Village
Review: Went to this field for the first time.
Safety - no one really checks the fps of the markers
fields - borders of the fields were not clearly marked
staff - staff was nice
refs - I was wondering why the refs were there they did nothing but count off the start of the game, any player could have done that. I got the impression the refs didn't know what to do.
players - Other people there were curteous, however there always seems to be one ahole at every field I go to. This guy felt it necessary to try to call us out for being off the field which we wern't and wouldn't get off the field himself after being hit at least 4 times. That goes back to the sad excuse for refs.
facilities - strait up nasty, the porta poties looked like they were going to over flow and there was no water in the hand wash station.

Will be seeking other fields to go to but may come back to this one if the new owners improve the facilities and the ref issue.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 17th, 2009 at 12:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

83705girl Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Hello everyone...
Well i do not know if you've been to CPP lately. But some things have changed. There are owned by Giant Paintball now. They have big plans for this park, alot to look forward to. There are planning to open up news feilds, going to bring in more props, overall the park has been cleaned up alot! The staff is awesome. They are on top of everything and i mean everything, they just want everyone to have a safe good time there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest (Best)
SC Village (Also very good, but usually too crowded)
Review: This park is apparently the largest in LA county, yet all but 2 fields are fairly small. They are still playable though. Refs either are never able to find where a cheater has wiped a hit or they just don't care. This place is a haven for wipers.

I have another complaint regarding violent players who apparently frequent the park. I had an incident where I accidentally shot a guy in the neck (he was already out, but was still standing on the field about 10 feet from the person I was in a fire fight with, and was about 70 feet from me). He started yelling and cursing at first, then took off his mask, approached me and punched me in the head about 4 or 5 times after I tried apologizing and reasoning with him. A ref was standing right there, but did nothing. He had at least 100 lbs on me, by the way. I thought that the park was going to call the cops for sure, or at least kick him off the field. I went to complain at the front desk, afterward. Apparently he was a regular at the park, and all the staff kept telling me what a good guy he was. They kept justifying his actions and making lame excuses for him, like "he said he felt threatened" or "his adrenaline was up" or "you didn't back down when he got in your face." I couldn't believe it! The female manager there actually let him keep playing for the rest of the day, telling me "let's just be adults about this and forget that it ever happened." I am not making this up. Knowing what I know now, I wish I swung back at that jerk's fat face as hard as I could.

I've been to this field many times because of its proximity to where I live, but yesterday's game at CPP will be my last.
Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2009 at 11:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

boneshaker Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of fire: It has smaller fields but still very competitive. There staff is also very friendly and helpful to newbies.
Review: This was my first time playing at CPP. I've been playing for 3 years and my older boy (12) for 2 years. I brought my youngest boy who turned 11 in January, he has never played until now. First impression, Damn it's big! and lots of parking very close to everything. We arrived as walk on's,

Safety: Was spelled out to the "T" and enforced with an iron hand, which I like.

Fields: Big Scenario fields, well laid out. Theres always a new corner to hide that you haven't seen yet, I didn't get to play any of the speed ball fields, not sure why our ref didn't take us to one, Non the less expect a lot of walking and running. WATER!

Hours of operation: your normal 9am to 4pm, although our ref managed to squeeze one last one in at 3:50. The gates were open early enough to set up camp. Plenty of time before safety role call.

Prices: Reasonable for firs time players. And usual for vets. I got a weekend warrior 2 package deal for my newbie son.
WEEKEND WARRIORS II Packages- $53.00 (Value!) includes:

1. All-day field admission 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
2. All day use of a semi-automatic machine airgun
3. Complete camouflage outfit
4. Goggles and face mask
5. 500 paintballs and free CO≤ all day (UPGRADE TO 1,000 PAINTBALLS FOR $20)(plus lunch included)
Good thing I got the upgrade!

Rules: Insurance has been cracking down hard on these paintball fields, so believe the rules were strictly enforced. One rule new to me was that they do not allow barrel plugs only barrel condoms which they sell if you don;t have one. This might not be a new rule to some, I haven't played in 5 months prior. The second rule, which is my all time favorite, is to have fun. It's a paintball game, GAME being the key word. All the rest of the rules were your usual and fair.

Service: Excellent!
Proshop: Pretty good for being in the middle of nowhere,
Staff: Very large staff. knowledgeable, friendly and professional

Refs: Always the bad guy to some but that's being a ref. You can't please everyone. My ref's name was Eric and was very professional. He would always remind everyone that this is just a game. He once said that there is a clown in every castle and he was right. We had one player in the group that shouldn't be playing this game and Eric quickly handled it. Bye Bye!

Players:overall were fun to play with but you know, you always have one bad apple. It's a Game!

Facility: Well mantained, two out houses stayed clean all day. My son's said the hambergers were great. Large picnic area's great for private partys.

My newbie son is no longer a newbie. He is now HOOKED, like us all. He said he had the best time ever! Thanks CCP for his good first time out.












Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mini300 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc Village, Field of Fire, Conquest
Directions
to the Field:
5 Fwy north exit Parker rd.
Review: Very friendly staff that actually knows about Paintball, that's always good. Competition is decent and on the most part everyone is usuall y real cool. As long as you pay attention to the rules you will have a good time. Great hamburgers for lunch, the prices are little high but that's ok, when your hungry your hungry! They always have enough air , 4500, freakin great! Be ready for a work out cuz the hills are rough, so if your not in shape keep going you will be...The only gripe i actually have is group of people that show up every weekend from a Place called Paintball World, ther the biggest bunch of B******* i've ever seen. Omar and this Fat kid and i mean Fat kid are like the biggest cry babies and they suck. Omar is way to old to be playing, i think he's about 70, seriously! But if you can stay out of there way you'll have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saiven Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Urban Quest, Paintball USA, Point Mugu
Directions
to the Field:
By Six Flags
Review: Lemme break this down for you.

Refs - Well, I shouldn't pluralize this, there was only one ref per field. But this is like most California fields so far. More to come on this.
5 out of 10

Safety - Behind the nets = goggles on. Saw lots of people take em off betwen games but the refs let it slide. It makes me nervous, but I won't personally take em off anywhere near an unplugged marker. Other than that, ramping and semi are allowed.
Not rated

Fields - Lots to choose from. Each field has a different feel and pace. Beautiful valley opposite the field. Ample bunkers in each field that varies from tires, spools, pallets, buses, buildings, towers, etc. If you wanna play speedball, bring some friends and scrimmage some really good teams. That hill, wow. You'll get strong legs if you play here every weekend.
9 out of 10

Air - 4500 PSI all day! God bless America!
10 out of 10

Staff - Friendly up front customer service. Handy with the questions and polite with the kids.
9 out of 10

Staging area - They even have rentable private areas for you and your friends, what more can you ask for?
9 out of 10

Overall - No ref wants to harp about masks, but it's part of the job. Keeping the customer happy is one thing, but let the games and the fields do that. Keeping them safe is the real job of a ref. 8.4 overall. I really enjoyed the games, though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lspaintballer2 Saturday, December 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Paintball,Warped,and Conquest
Directions
to the Field:
Its near six flags
Review: When I came there they had the best staff and refs one kid let another kid borrow his gun then didnt find him so hetold a ref and that ref started searching for anyone with that gun. They have people that actually know paintball gun. The make burgers and hotdogs on the weekend and the drinks go really fast so you have to get it before the end of the day. The paintballers there are nice and friendly and all of the staff.I just wonder why dont they let you play in the speedball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PUL5E Monday, August 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA, Conquset Paintball, and hollywood sports
Directions
to the Field:
Right near Six Flags
Review: This park has a great precense on its website but it gives you high expectations. When you first go to the park you pay and go find a table to set up. It is very nice and shaded. There are private stations for rent also. This is a great place for playing speedball and hyperball. The scenario fields are fun to play but some are very intense. On busy days, the games can have up to 50 people per team, which is CRAZY!! One thing I rant about is that there are many private games that use most of the park so you cant play where you want, you have to follow the walk-ons. I would recommend this to experts and beginners. This is a fun park but can have a better system of haveing people play more games and be able for us to choose where we want to play. Defenitly try this place out for a change just like I did. I was satisfied but it wont replace my hometown favorite park. HAPPY PAINTBALLING :P


EDIT:::::12/12/08
Field had about 70 people there and it was awesome. Refs are not the best, but really cool. Thank you for having REAL NITRO and 4500 fill stations.
Last edited on Thursday, December 25th, 2008 at 10:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media