paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park

California Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
83Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (310)261-2439
Address: Charley Canyon Rd.
Castaic, California 91384
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
boblong123 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Simi valley (worst paintball field in L.A. area besides that you can own a lot of noobs there)
field of fire (cool and nice but doesnt compare with CPP)
Urban Quest (alos very nice fields but doesnt match up to CPP)
the proving groudz (closed down and wasnt good because it was one indoor field)
Directions
to the Field:
If you have ever been to the castaic lake you get off one exit before and make a right and another right and from there there will be signs to get to CPP
Review: So ive been playing for 3 years now but my favorite all-time field would have to be CPP i was growing up in the tense of paintball there. when i was a noob i went there a couple times when renting the tippmans they give (sometimes spyders if you ask nicely for one). i loved the serivce they give its just absolutlety insane. not olny paintball but i think these people are some of the funniest coolest people i've ever met (especially Lez shes awsome). so anywayz the tippman never dissapointed me. While i was playing on the fields, the pros were very nice they taught me tactics and cool tricks. so then i got a spyder imagine for my first gun. i kept playing every field walkons they called for about 6 months. the only thing i dont like about CPP is that between games it takes like 15-20 minutes to call the next walk-on field. so after that i got a bob long alias intimidator (yes big jump lol) and i kept learning and they kept bieng friendly and helpful. the food there is awsome but sometimes runs out at around 1 or 2 p.m. then i tried out for a team that is sponsored by CPP and i made it. so now in conclusino my favorite field is CPP my favorite field was CPP and my favorite field will continue to be CPP. thankyou CPP u've helped me throughout my paintballing carreer!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

argomez75 Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Don't get me wrong the fields are great. 3 speed balls and they are working on a 4th. My favorite is both urban warfare (the city) and the trenches. Nice area, needs to work on parking. So the park is great, the staff that signs you in is helpful. The only reason I will not go back to this park is due to the refs. You have these young guys in highschool refing and not knowing how. They have no people skills. On the field it's like they have a power trip. It's one thing to be asked something in an appropiate manner. It's another to ask or to direct in a very unproffesional and agressive manner. For those that go have fun. By the way I have experienced this twice in the last five times I have been there. It's sad because it's a nice park, but crappy refs. By the way becareful if you go on Sundays. They have too many private parties going on and have limited rental equipment. I have my own, so just looking out for those that don't.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zubie Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Quest
Crossfire
Review: I have held two private tournaments @ CPP. The first was for 39 players and the second was for 61 players. Les ( the Fields' owner or at least one its owners)has been extremely generous and helpful to me and my players. I set the date and took care of all the little stuff and he has come through on all the rest. Don't get me wrong there were ups and downs but in the end Les has delivered with courtesy and respect in favor of my players despite some minor miscommunications. Bea set up the playing schedule, took all the waivers and helped out with any questions that I had. Bea is AWESOME! She is loved by all my players and is even given the honors of pulling all our winning raffle tickets. (over 40 of them the last time). The fields are actual fields from the Miami NPPL . They are regulation and are in good shape. The scenario fields are fun. The city has a lot of props to hide behind ie. cars, a camping trailer and lots of plywood bunkers. The tire field is fun and has lots of action. I'm not into the trench field but my players had a great time. Some choose it as their favorite field. The Gumps were clean and usable. If you are going to get a private game together this is a great place. The players that needed to rent, got a gun (Tippmans) mask, two pod pack and 500 paintballs for their money. There were very few problems with the rental guns but the ones that came up were fixed by the staff quickly or were just given another gun. The CO2 tanks were just exchanged out. No waiting for them to fill'em up. The Nitro fills are good not filled to capacity but I never ran out during a game. Plus with 61 people there was never more than three people waiting to fill or get filled since the 4500 is manned by one of their guys. 3000 is a self fill. I'm planning another one soon. My advice is to get your friends together and set up a private game or tournament soon!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU CPP YOUR AWESOME!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mlin Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Off of Highway 5, just north of Magic Mountain (Parker Exit).
Review: From a first-time player...

THE FIELD
The place is open from 9am-4pm, and we played the entire way through (minus a quick lunch). They had several speedball fields, a city, an awesome woods-like field with trenches, and a field with a bunch of old truck tires for cover. All the fields were small-medium sized which helped push the action. I would say most games lasted between 5-10 minutes, so we got a lot of games in throughout the day.

THE STAFF
The staff was super-friendly from the start. The refs kept good focus on the game, and had good control of the field. We had a lot of other first timers who were intially not listening to the refs, and were disregarding rules by taking their goggles off, shooting paint at one another between games, and even wiping. The staff handled the situation very quickly and professionally by explaining to everyone what rules were broken, and giving everyone another chance to quit acting up.

THE PLAYERS
All the experienced players there were helpful, coaching the beginners on how to shoot, and some tactics. Although it was our first time, we did not feel unwelcome at all. There was a little tension between the regulars and the new problem players, mostly because of the cheating.

THE EQUIPMENT
The rental equipment was good. They provide you with a good gun (mostly Tippmann 98 Customs), a mask, and paint holder for extra ammo. I think you can also get one-piece suits to wear over your clothes, but I did not use one. Very few problems with the equipment (no more than you'd expect for rental gear, considering how rough it must be handled day-in and day-out), and any problems with equipment were either fixed by the ref immediately, or they replaced it promptly - so that was great.

THE FOOD
I didn't know they had food there, so I brought my own. They sell dogs and other similar types of food. A bunch of people went out to Carl's Jr, which is only a 5 minute drive - so you don't really have to bring your own food. It's nice to take a break in the middle of the day anyways. The games did not stop when we ate. If you wanted to, you could play straight through. I hear some places have a 30 min-1 hour lunch break.

CONCLUSION
I can't say how this compares to other fields, but my friends and I had a great time. Like I said, it was our first time, but we are totally hooked already. If this is considered a "good" field, I wouldn't be surprised. If it's considered a "bad" field, then I couldn't imagine how much fun I would have in a "good" field.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

inuyasharox4776 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire
Proving Groundz
Paintball USA: Close Encounters
Review: I think this field is okay. the safety of it is usually fine. The staff is nice, though they do not have enough refs. they sometimes ask the players to ref while they go eat or something. They have about 5 fields. 3 speedball, the Village, and the trenches. You get some tourny and pros out here sometimes also. This is one part that sorta sucks: The line between the walkons and the private groups. You have to go with the refs when they say walkons or else you will be waiting for 45minutes-1 hour. Though it seems you only get 3 or 4 games in!. After that, they stop calling the walkons and only think about the private groups. Theyre prices are ok, not too much but they could be lower. Like the food: a single, small cheeseburger costs 3.00$ while a gatorade or Rockstar costs 2.00$!!!. They are open from about 9:30 to 4:00, which could be a little better. I would play here again, but they have to fix some stuff
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellowjacket Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire, Proving grounds, Warped
Review: Im going to write this review using pros and cons I feel this is the best way to shortly highlight the aspects of CPP so bare with me.
Pros
-The field layouts rock! The Chronic field, the NPPL field, and the X-ball field are all put together well.
-The players and teams, I cannot stress this more when I say that the players here are among the friendliest. While taking in the consideration that there is all ways wipers, who generally get busted by other players, the players here are willing to instruct you in form and more importantly the team based aspects of speedball in fair matches. Its the players ironically, not the ref's that divide the teams evenly and enforce the rules. Teams like Faction and Sedition (there are also others) practice here often and are willing to play with certain walk-ons if you demonstrate enough skill. It's all ways fun to play with Faction or against them for that matter, faction generally throws a good match. Not to get off topic again, i shall continue...
-Friendly staff with the exception to one ref, he liked me, if he doesn't like you he will shout out some vulgar things
-Park location is generally a good spot, if you don't mind playing near a prison! OH ya, the ironic part of this is that the last time I was there was when they had the prison riots! remember those on the news? lucky for my crew, we were on freeway by the time all the cops flew by to go supress the riot. anyways, back on topic...
-refill stations fill to 4500
-they got food, but why not go to Carl's jr?

cons
-Refs, OH thou Refs, where are thou? I have never seen a Ref on a speed-ball course there unless hes on one of the teams... hmm conspiracy?
-The rumors about the road are slightly true.. My lowered car can't get into the paintball park, but its my fault for lowering it.....
-As for the recreational fields...The city is alright but I feel like I'm at the Mandrill line in the Great War.. There is a major dead mans land...thus the games very long and most of the time you will get out simply by running out of paint. Four pods is not enough! The other fields trenches and tires are a Joke! Ironically, they are still better than Close encounters in Simi valley


Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 10:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

phreakus Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pretty much everything local
Review: This is an update to a previous review I have left the old review up also.

We recently went back to CPP and had a blast then returned for the king of the hill game (2nd time to CPP after taking a year+ break). After being taken over by SC/Giant I was interested to see what changes had been made and the overall experience. Tons of changes have been made to this place and "most" of them were for the better.

Parking area has been expanded due to the removal of the airball fields and the lot seems to be much better maintained. It was a nice change that they added a netted staging area so if you didn't mind having you're gear in the open you could avoid a short albeit steep hill eliminating part of the hike to the fields for us "old timers".

We were only asked to chrono once during the day but with the lower volume of players and generally chill players we didn't seem to have any incidents although I did see a few players getting spot checked during the day.

We did have a roach coach that came up to the field during lunch which was a nice change from pizza.

Overall the ref staff was pretty decent we had one ref that seemed to be the A.D.D. poster kid but after yelling to get him to move a number of times and pay attention a few carefully placed bonus balls seemed to get his head back in the game. Games were turned around fairly quickly which is always a plus.

The porta-potties were clean and the registration areas and rental areas well maintained.

My biggest gripe was the lack of a functioning compressor/fill station. My best fill of the daywas around 2500 psi but the average was about 2100. I hate to have to switch to my 72 because my 45/45 at 2K just won't last 2 games. Please for the love of all that is holy fix the dang fill station. I would have gladly paid an extra $5 per day if it meant 4K fills vs. 2K fills!

The house paint was the same stuff you get at SC or HSP which wasn't bad at $35 for a case but 1600 balls vs a 2000 round case.

Overall, they are still in a transition period but things appear to be heading in the right direction. We will be back out this weekend and see how it goes!

---- Previous Review Feb 2006 ----
After all the negative reviews I had read about this field I was prepared for the worst.

The first thing I was expecting was a horrid road akin to the ride out to urban quest or as one reiewer put it the potholes had potholes! But, instead was greeted by a paved road that ran up to the field. With the exception of a few rough spots where the road crossed the riverbed it was about as nice as any "paved" road at any other local field.

Parking was pretty straight forward they had rows that were marked with railroad ties plenty of room to park.

It was nice to see that they (CPP) had expanded the amount of covered picnic tables significantly. I think throughout the entire day only 60% of the tables were occupied.
While they only had two andy gumps (1 -men, 1 women) compared to most local fields the condition of the gumps was very good and the players that used the facilities seemed to be respectful of keeping them clean (unlike some of the other bio-hazards that some fields call porta-potties).

My first gripe about CPP was the sign-in process. Now let me clarify the woman doing the sign-ins was as sweet as could be. It was just a slow process we had a party of two people in front of us and it took 16 minutes to get them signed in. A simple improvement would be to break the sign-ups into two lines on for those with their own gear and one for those that are renting.

Many people had previously posted about having issues with HPA fills. This is one of the few fields that I have actually seen check hydro dates on tanks. CPP had two fill stations up and running one for 3K and one for 4.5K fills. The 3K fill station was self serve and I never had an issue getting the full 3K. I used my big bottle twice during the day and got 4400 and 4300 respectively so still no issue here. The fill line moved relatively quickly.

My second gripe is in regards to the fields. Not so much as the field itself but rather the fact we played one game on the chronic field and with the exception of two games in the trenches everything else was in the city. The fields weren't bad it was just the fact that most of my group was speed ballers so to be stuck on the other fields kinda stunk (but thats just my opinion).

The third gripe I had about this feild involved the ref staff. Overall the reffing was pretty good, the refs were paying attenion (always a good start), responsive to requests for paint checks, and seemed to do a pretty good job in working on keeping the teams balanced and we didn't see any preferred treatment for friends or regulars (which is always nice). The turn around for games was very slow. If the times were improved we probably could have seen another 3 to 5 games (depending on the field). a few guns were chono'd in the morning but after that it was pretty much the honor system. My last gripe was a clarification on the rules. We were told you could not shoot through any holes. The exceptions being holes that were intentionally cut (i.e. windows) or any other openeing that you could fit your head through was ok to shoot through. As a result there were a few issues that ensued. One issue was on the city field at the end of the trailer next to the mesh wire there is a board leaned against the end of the trailer at about a 40 degree and I could fit my entire body between it and the trailer and I'm not a little guy. one ref said that you could not play the inside angle (between the trailer and the board) but rather had our player move to the outside of the board which forced an elimination. On the next game when we switched sides we had a different ref and when a palyer from the other team did the same thing we did we voiced an objection to the ref but were told that it wasn't an issue. So it wasn't a big deal but a little more consistancy would have been nice since it was a key bunker.

Overall it was a pleasant day at CPP. Would I go back? Sure I would believe me I have had far worse experiences! Since I don't believe there is such a thing as a perfect 10 I'd give this field a 7. I'll update the next time we're back at this field in a month or so.
Last edited on Friday, March 12th, 2010 at 3:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nytehawk4900 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all the fields around this area... this one is prob one of the chillest places to go
Review: alright first off i went here with some friends of mine. and the good thing about this field is that u can sign in as a team and only pay $16 for all day play and air. pretty good deal.

im more of a speeball guy so i didnt really play their scenario fields except one cause it was the end of the day (trenches) IMO it kinda sucked...

but the nppl field and the chronic field were pretty cool...

quite a few teams practicing there so its a good place to go if your looking to join a team of that kind.

overall good field

same as anyother place but people that play here are really cool
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shlobo Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 12th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports Park, Proving Grounds.
Review: California Paintball Park is one of the best places to play in Southern California. The fields are well set up (by my team), the staff is friendly, and there are always teams to scrimmage. Tapia Canyon Road is finally open again so you don't have to wait for the shuttle in the prison anymore. hooray.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

censored Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone,
Sc Village,
Velocity
Mr Paintball(escondido)
Adrenaline
Review:
The field was okay I liked the speedball layouts. I didnt like the fact that they didnt fill tanks all the way. Staff was friendly no doubt. The path to the field was destroyed but they had a shuttle take us there and the drivers where friendly. The road was bumpy but it was fun going there .. The chrono was broken so I guess a few people where shooting hot.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media