paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park

California Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
83Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (310)261-2439
Address: Charley Canyon Rd.
Castaic, California 91384
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
himurax13 Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Close Encounters - Very substandard.
Review: First of all this is not a crappy field like most people make it out to be. It is geared toward newbies, private parties, and first timers. I will break it down from 1-10.

Accessibility - 8 - Although you have to drive a ways in the dirt, most vehicles can easily make it there and it is relatively close to the freeway.

Parking - 8 - The gravel helps keep the mud off your car and there is a good amount of space.

Restrooms - 6 - 2 Port a Potties and no running water.

Setup area - 10 - Several picnic tables are available and they are all covered.

Prices - 9 - Average compared to most fields in So - Cal. You can bring your own paint if you have your own gear, how many places are willing to do that?

Equipment - 7- A little worn but it still works great.

Staff - 8 - Most of them are friendly and knowledgeable.(Racism? Over half the staff
and all of the owners are minorities.)

Fields - 9 - There are 4 Scenario fields to choose from and at least 2 speedball fields.

Would I recommend this field, hell yes. If you are an experienced tourney player than maybe this field will not be to your liking but they do have teams that practice there on Sunday morning if you are brave enough to step up. Bottom line, this field has a little bit for everyone.

The last few reviews of this field were more than likely posted by some competing field because none of those conditions that were mentioned appeared in the last 3 months I have been to this field. They also do not hire and or pay minors under the table unlike some of the local competing fields do.
Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2004 at 2:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

elroy_sf Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Hollywood Sports, Conquest.
Review: Most of the reviews of this field have been bad. This field has potential but like most places money seems to be an issue. You can see that this place needs a major over haul. Where to start?
1. The fields.
Only three scenario fields! The trenches were cool but a little hard if you are on the bottom. Same with Hamburger hill. Even the city field is on an incline. Maybe trying to flatten the area for the fields is needed but they have no money to pull that off. The speedball fields didn't have the airball ones up when I was there, bummer. The city was falling apart. Also when you have speedball fields I think it would be good not to have a big clump of concrete on the playing field. In the five games we played on the barrel field at least one person per game tripped over the clump. If the owners read this, please remove the clump of concrete from the field.
2. The Refs
The time I went my group was part of a special group which wasn't part of the park. So our three refs were the owner, some women who claimed to be a pro, and another guy. The games they set up were re-spawn which means they sell more paint.
3. Air and paint.
The paint selection was bad. Drackula Attack was the premium paint and some rec paint which was maybe the Drakula rec grade. Both were horrible and too expensive. Check out my review of the Drakula for more info. The air fill station is cool once it is pressured up. It took almost til 12:30 before I could get a fill over 2500psi. Once they are pressured up you can get 4500 fills which is cool.
4. Management
Well we had an interesting day since one of our group was treated badly by one of the non-field refs and a player. She went to the management which was willing to hear the whole story. I was involved due to the fact that I was witness to the two incidents. The manager was cool and didn't want any trouble. That was the best thing about my experience at the park. But allowing this special company to host a day with out having the same field rules was a bad idea.
5. Safety
Well there was no chrono check other than honesty. Most people were playing hot. The paring lot was weird since they allowed dry fire into your car or the back of a truck. But there were many who were shooting into the trash cans. Management tried to stop them but there are not enough people working there. Also shooting through a hole where you can't see what you are shooting at is allowed. I don't know about you but most fields have a strict rule that you can't do that. Maybe the insurance company under writing their policy would like to hear about that.

In conclusion, I would recommend this field for you to try and then you will see why they others like SC, HSP and Conquest are favorites of SoCal ballers. But newbies should not go there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImpulseKing Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Usa, Fields of fire
Review: I found most of the courses at California were too big, they mad it so that you would have to fire a hopper full of paint to hit an opponent. The manager was very mean every time i went. He was crazy mean to the newbies. They did get shut down for like a week for hiring under age workers like a month ago, shows how proffesional they can be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ecycler1@aol.co Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Excaliber,SC Village, Close Encounters USA
Review: We had a horrible experience at California Paintball Park in Castaic Ca. The field was RAIDED by Sherrifs, State Police and Federal authorities this Saturday . The police rounded up all the employees and us patrons. They interviewed some of us and told ALL of us to leave. We spent a lot of money to play paintball and the Authorities told us that the field operators had commited various "crimes" against the state labor and county ordinances. IT WAS HORRIBLE. Another group of palyers went there on Sunday and got the same treatment .I do not fault "pbreview for endorsing C.P.P Please" PBREVIEW " look into this and see if you can get the (at least 100 players) our MONEY BACK
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ClippersRchamps Monday, April 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
* SCvillage- Great field, pricey, and a little too far.
* XPARK- Heard it closed?
Review: California Paintball Park, otherwise known to others as CPP is a field that i greatly enjoy coming to and playing at. I have played there 4 times, and has delighted me everytime. I have played there twice on a Saturday, and twice on a Sunday, and it seems to comparison, Saturday has a lot more people, and I mean a lot more... like at least 10-15 people more per team in the recreational. The recreational is not that all bad, except going up those hills passing by the chrono field, where it is really rocky and slippery as it does go uphill, you see many people slipping from time to time. The speedball courses are not all that bad, mostly regulars and teams that practice are the only ones there playing.

The drive: Not bad, just a little traffic since it does pass by Six Flags Magic Mountains. The driveway up to the park is rocky, always scares me that my tires might just blow up and I'll get stuck there waiting for AAA. There are lots of nearby restaurants such as Carls Jr. and Burger King, which makes it great for those who don't like sack lunches.

Price: Descent, but if you want All day air is a little high.

Conclusion: The Park is not bad at all, though if you are a beginner looking to try out this field as a first time experience, I wouldn't recommend it. Their rentals suck....they are rusty as hell.. old Tippmann Carbines and 98. But if you have your own equipment like me, you will have a great day, because their prices are descent instead of paying their rental packages of $45 to $65 (Vary w/ age... and type of package) Portable Potties!!!... which stinks cause they only have 1-2. In all, I would give it a 7.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

painbaler Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
close encounter, x park Sc village
Review: i love this place. it rocks. ITS O BIG AND THE REFS LIKE CREATE GAMES FOR YOU TO PLAY. THEE IS LIKE 5 ARENAS TO CHOSE. PLUS 3 SPEEDBALL COURSES. I LOVE THI PLACE I GO LIKE 1 TIME EVERY 3 WEEKS OR LESS. THEIR REATL ARE PRETTY GOOD TOO IF UR A BEGINER.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 at 4:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

JTPaintBaller32 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Conquest, and Feilds of Fury
Review: The Good: Ive played at Cali for a year and now they sponcer me and im on team Storm. The feild is a great place i am good friends with the refs and they do a great job of cleaning the feild and the benches.

The feilds are fun they have 4 speed ball feilds they are 2 Airball feilds, tires, and barrels, the other 4 feilds are Trenches, City, Hamburger hill, and Speedball trenches.

The price for gear owners (gun, tank, mask, paint, and etc.) is around 30$ for all day air and around 10-12 games a day. For new players rental and gear is around 45$.

The Bad: the dirt road is bumpy and they could pave it and i know it cost money and they would have to jack up the prices for everything. The paint there is house paint that they sell for 60$ a case (2000 rounds) and house paint sux, that makes new palyers think that Paintballing is expenive sport.

Last edited on Friday, March 28th, 2003 at 3:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBChamp Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest - cool, but not into woodsball
X-Park - Its indoor, which is cool. Good for Summer b/c its air conditioned
Fields of Fury - Great, but not there anymore
Close Encounters - Horrible. 15 minute games, and 45 minute breaks between games. for 30 dollars, you think that you would get more
Review: Where To Start?

1) people are extremely friendly
2) you get your moneys worth. you play a game, and as soon as its over, you play another one. you play three games, get a 5-10 minute break to refill on air and paint, and play on.
3) Numerous fields. Like 4 speedball fields, and 4 other fields which consist of; a trench course, a city, a kind of small mix speedball/trench course, and a barrel course
4) all day air on both CO2 and HPA.
5) HPA fills up to 4500 psi
6) 1 minute drive from about 3 fast food places if you don't want to buy the food that they sell there
7) 4 minute drive from swimming in Castaic Lake when it gets hot
8) just as good as SC Village, but without the constant stagnant smell of Cow Crap
9) on the drive up their "drive way" you see some beautiful horses

"And thats all I got to say about that." - Forest Gump
Last edited on Thursday, June 12th, 2003 at 5:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperBeaner Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, XPark, Friendly Fire, Fields of Fire
Review: Where shall I start? There are various fields to play on at this park, which is a great plus on busy days. If you bring your own gear it's a pretty alright time. The fields are very well spaced and it's a pretty fun time had by all....with their own gear. You can play a multitude of games in one day (Full day play, I got about 12 games in).
Enjoyable refs that do a half-decent job, depending on the person. First time I went here, I was with a great ref, second time was not as pleasant. The second ref was never to be seen there again though.

The Rental guns.....yeesh. Some should be switched out, because they plain don't work. It doesn't bother me, but my sister doesn't have her own gun, and I think she minds sometimes.

Lots of horse dookie, funny stuff. It doesn't smell or really look like much, so it's not a bad thing or a good thing.
Overall a good place to play some speedball, but if you're not a speedball fan, you might want to check out a few other fields nearby.
Last edited on Friday, April 9th, 2004 at 10:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

enegue Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Conquest, Tombstone, X-park.
Review: Let me take it right from the beginning. The directions tell you to make a left and go past the yellow gate. I did that, but it turns out the park is about a quarter mile further along a dirt road that is of extremly poor quality. There was even a fixed up civic that was parked along the road because it couldn't make it all the way to the field. It would have probly torn up it's body kit trying to drive though the rocks and dips. If you have atruk then it's no problem though.

There were 2 speedball fields and one that was going to be constructed when I was there. All day air cost me $15!! In addition to admission fees. I came at 12:00 noon and I ended up paying almost $30 total (for HALF A DAY!).

The refs remind me of X-park refs. They just stand there and don't do a thing. They were even standing outside of the field not even watching the game while newbs were wiping and overshooting each other. There wasn't much competition on the Saturday that I was there at too. Mostly, people with rentals. I did have a lot of fun playing though. The 2 speedball fields were pretty decent and there was some moments that were really fun.

Overall, I would rate this field as average. Not the worst, and definitely not the best.

Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 2:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media