paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
132Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 860-742-0201
Address: 677 Riley Mtn Rd.
Coventry, Connecticut 06238
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Bethy221 Monday, December 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans Alley, Their fields in no way compare to Matt's, but their store is 10 times bigger and they have a wide selection of new and used equipment. (The staff is better at Matt's though, Brooke is the shizz)
Directions
to the Field:
When you find the road that leads to Matt's, It's a super long Dirt road in the middle of nowhere... you just keep going to the very end of the Dirt Road. :) If you feel like your lost, your probably on the right track!
Review: The Pros: Wonderful Staff, nice clean fields and parking lot, always someone to play with, FREE Hotdogs for lunch, They have an indoor facility for the winter, the refs are knowledgable and if your new to the field they would be more then happy to explain to you how everything works, they have an equipment shop, not very large, but the selection they do have is pretty nice, if you don't mind waiting for something they would be more then happy to order it for you. They have an onsite repair shop where they will fix your equipment for free ( or order you the parts if you need new ones). When you pay for Saturdays Walk on, you get Sunday's walk on for free. So if you live close or dont mind the drive, that's really nice. Two days of play time for 15$. Free Air fills to all members and walk ons. Some places Charge $5 a refill so this is a HUGE perk!!!

The Cons: Hard to find for some people, so if your meeting someone there they better have GPS. Parking on Bigger Event days is hard to come by. Walk ons are only available on the weekends, so if you get the itch to play during the week and have time, but dont have a party together with a reservation, you won't be playing here. When they have large groups or parties on the weekends, you might end up having to play without a Ref. That can be a huge bummer. They dont have a real bathroom, so if your a girl and have to pee in a 5-6 hour span.. well... you catch the drift.

Overall... Amazing Fields, great people, good times. My husband and I play with my Father and Brother, my son can't wait until he gets old enough to play here. The only thing I really wish i could change about Matt's is I wish they held more Scenario Events. Oh yeah, and I really wish they would get a bathroom! Not a big deal for all the men that play, but man o man it would be nice not having to hold it all day!!!

If you haven't been... check out Matt's Outback in Coventry CT! It is totally worth it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarioAndretti77 Sunday, September 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans, Strategy Plus, Splatterzone

They really can't even consider themselves in the same realm. Only place in CT to find any sort of tournament paintball competition.
Directions
to the Field:
At the 91-84 connection outside Hartford, take I-384 all the way to 44 West. Go to the blinking yellow light and take a left. Your first right, turns into a dirt road, take it all the way till you see paintball signs.
Review: Without a doubt, best field in the northeast. Played here for a couple years now, and have nothing but good things to say about the field. There is no where else in Connecticut to find any sort of of real competition. The No Name program boasts 4 tournament ranking teams, with Team No Name placing 5th at MAO and the current leader in the Hurricane Tournament Series, and No Name Kids taking 2nd in the NYPL Series. Along with the Hartford Hustle, UConn, and Southern Connecticut College teams, why would you go anywhere else? They run great leagues during both the Summer and Winter seasons that bring in teams from all over the northeast for great cash and paint prizes.

They just opened a brand new grass field with a new batch of bunkers. Played on it for the first time today, and I'm in love. The grass is comfortable enough to sleep on. And with the incoming weather, where else could you go than to Matt's dome? No posts to get in your way of your full size XBall field, and no slimy permagrime that you get from those indoor fields.

And Tom, Brooke and crew are the best kinds of people. Free lunch for everyone out playing, and they're always making sure that everyone is happy, and most importantly safe. More times than I can count I've been helped out by them, always free gun teching for players.

If your not going to Matts you're a fool. There's no reason to go to any other field. Just remember to drive the speed limit!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pandas Rock Friday, June 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: We held a fundraiser at Matt's Outback Paintball this spring. What a great time! Only 2 of the 30 children had any experience and the instruction provided by the staff made sure that everyone had a great time and were kept safe. Safety is a huge priority for this field. There were 2 fields in fenced in areas and 2 in the open woods. A great variety of terrain to keep everyone active all day. The staff arranged competitions with the forts in the woods. There is also an indoor field in the works so the weather won't matter.

We first went to Matt's last year a couple of times with smaller groups but I will certainly be going there again this year! Everyone had a great time!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

andia Monday, April 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
As long as you have a GPS and or directions it is easy to get to...DONT GET FOOLED by the dirt roads. I think I said to my son and his friends "i think we are lost" it is on the way to Maynards flower spot in Coventry.
Review: This place is amazing. We took my 13 year old son here along with his entire hockey team. They had a blast. They had so much fun that we returned the next day from 11-4 so basically ALL day. This place is more than safe and there are on site staff members always walking around in their yellow shirts. The refs my son said are so much fun and "cool". He made alot of friends just being there for 2 days. The proshop is great and they are always willing to offer a helping hand (example, if your gun is not working correctly they will look at it and assist. ) they have free on sight hot dogs on the weekends and soda machines etc. It is safe enough to leave your kids to play for the day. I suggest if your kids like it to get a season pass and their own equipment. A little more pricey up front but it is worth it if you are going to go more than 3 times. Matt's definetly offer a GREAT, SAFE, World of play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nate70500 Sunday, December 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
played at strategy plus and the people were horrible. they were mean to me. but at matts everyone who works there is very nice and helpful. strategy is basically run out of the back of a truck. but matts is run from a heated building which is really nice during the winter.
Review: Matts is by far thew best field i have ever played at. the fields are great and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. the only thing they dont have which they should get is an urban area with buildings. but i heard they might be building one soon. the prices are great and the membership, which i have is awesome. their hours are good and they can do pretty much anything you need to have done to your gun for free or cheap. they also have free hot dogs which is always good. everyone there is very nice and always eager to help. it is by far the best field i have ever played at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terry T Monday, November 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley, Extreme Paintball - Matt's Outback is by far my favorite!!
Review: Just to let you know how much we like Matt's Outback, we have played there 3 out of the last 4 weekends!!
My boys, ages 11 & 13, have started playing for the first time this year and Matt's Outback is a great place to learn. Great rental package, friendly and helpful staff. Our groups over the last 4 weeks have varied from 15 to 23 players. They have always accommodated us with our own field and ref.
The only complaint is the MUD!!! We always seem to take home too much of it. LOL
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerdon Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: hard to find impossible to forget. the best paint ball experience i have ever had the tire corse alone is worth the troble to find the joint. the woods corse was great the castle bulit were great for ctf and the staff were amazing . there is a new doam just like how the football players use in the pros those big ones any way i had the best time free lunce expert advice and great faciltys not to mention the host were like family truly caring for the experience of the customer and cheep for these hard times... LT dono
im sorry i cant spell
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

christopher88ny Sunday, August 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Awesome experience, loved every minute of it. they treat you like family. very helpful staff. definitely recommended for any skill level. the food (hot dog) was free so lunch you dont have to worry about. the judge is very official yet laid back. you can tell the people who work at this organization have a true passion for this hobby/ sport.

FYI Field is spelled FIELD not feild!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alienpaintball Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans alley- has 4 speedball style feilds matts has 3 and matts has A ton of woods while hogans has none(there wood feild as they call it is never in use)
Stragey Plus- They have alot of property to play on but no real substance or need for tactics just crappy bunker and a joke of a castle
Fox 4- Well this feild and matts Outback are about equal in feild size and style and quality but Matts customer service and reffing is much better
Directions
to the Field:
Look on there web site for the best ones
Review: Out of every feild i have played in Matts outback is by far the best and i dont see anyone beating them any time soon.

Reffing is outstanding they are all very knowlegable and helpful about the feild/equipment

The Tech staff is amazing especially beacuse they dont charge you to work on your gear only for parts.

The feild it self is unbelivable 3 full fort/castles ,2 towers, 2 xball feilds, 1 tire field and last but by no means least THE DOME!!!!!!!! which will have 2 xbll feilds also. Threre prices are by far the best in the entire CT area(also a good chunk of mass and NY).

The owners and the nicest people on the planet they arent there to become millionaires just to pay there bills and have a good time.

FREEEE HOT DOGS

I hope anyone wanting to play and have a good time will give the outback a shot, beacuse once you do you will not go back to your other feilds
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

david0415 Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme paintball Waterbury-Ok field, small
Liberty Paintball Paterson NY-Great field with lots of playing area, VERY expensive
Review: I've played at Matts a few times now over the last few years. Every time we go its a great time. This time we brought about 5 new players and everyone wants to go again.

What makes Matts so great?

The staff pay attention to the players. I had a problem with one of my tanks. The staff fixed it for me several times and only charged me for the fill nipple(and it was far less then ordering one online). Also they ran out of hot dogs while we were playing a game so they threw more on for us. It was really appreciated.

The fields are great. The castle is really fun to play in. The new tire field has some fast action pace. The new building Tom finished is great too. My favorite is the tires, I like the new size, makes for little longer games.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media