paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball USA Close Encounters Santa Clarita Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters Santa Clarita Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters Santa Clarita Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters Santa Clarita Paintball Field

Paintball USA Close Encounters Santa Clarita Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 661-255-5332
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
sotero` Tuesday, January 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
conquest-the best
sc-pretty kewl and much more....proving grounds, jeds new field..umm fields of fury
and blah blah blah
Review: man this field stinks. it sucks compared to conquest.

freken 80 bucks a case

stupid refs-dont even check peeps

a huge hill to walk up... i mean really playing paintball is tiring why walk up a hill.

this field loves to rip off noobs. if your rent there guns you gotta buy there paint.. which is not kewl

conquest is way better 4 fields river,tournament,ghetto,vietnam

i mean really all the refs that work at conquest are way more fun, its 60 bucks a case for blaze thats better then 80 and if you rent one of there guns you can use there paint.

jon... the manager cares about people and they help people out. i hear one time someone had an accident cause hes a dumb ass, and they drive him to the hospital,

unlike pbusa they only gave some dude ice for a broken ankle.


if people want to have fun and play real paintball not on some stupid hill go to conquest

60 bucks a case
20 bucks to play
5 bux for all day air
5 bux to fill a 20 oz co2 tank
they do private groups
they actually fix your gun.. they take time outta work to fix little kids guns.


not like pb usa

100 Paintballs $10.00
500 Paintballs $25.00
1000 Paintballs (1/2 case) $40.00
2000 Paintballs (full case) $80.00


only kewl people work at conquest.

jon
joe
clay
donnie
roger
eric
anthony
rosa/maranda/mellisa/medusa/meduza blah blha blha
naithen


even when the walk ons get rough they split them to beginer walk ons and advance wakl ons

conquest is a great field, owned by dave


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PBatt1 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Although Iím new to the sport (is it a sport?) Iíve played at this field a couple of times and itís a great field. Itís a very challenging field. The field is nestled into a three-sided ravine. The range will vary between longer distances then you can shoot (a 150-200 yards) and 10 to 15 feet away in the bunkers. There are dozens of bunkers and cover everywhere (all of them have names painted on them so that can communicate with your team to coordinate fire). Thereís also plenty of natural cover in the form of trees, bushes, hills and gullyís. The field is essentially a hill and is rough in parts. It is an outdoor field after all! And unless youíve seen it, photos just donít do it justice. After each game the teams switch sides. If there is an advantage to one side or the other, it all evens out when you switch. There are so many ways to play this field. Iíll try and list a couple of them.

First, there is, on the northwest side of the field, a hillside that runs from one end to the other. Although itís a hike, you can move along this ridge, flanking the entire field and drop right into the other teams rear area. Of course both teams know this, so it becomes a battlefield unto itself. You can also work your way down from the ridge and sniper that side of the field.

Secondly, there are multiple routes available to each otherís flags. You can leapfrog along either side of the field or go up the middle. With some good tactics, you can advance, with covering fire, and outflank the other team. There are even a couple of towers!

The games Iíve played have been either 20 or 30 minutes long with frequent announcements from the refs about the time remaining. Iíve played elimination and flag capture. Some games end early with the capture of the flag or the elimination of the other team. Thereís maybe a ten or fifteen-minute wait between games. Iíve had to rush to get ready for the next game or miss it!

As far as facilities go, there are cleaning stations, free CO2 and Air refills, bathrooms, and lots of tables with shade. I think thereís food as well, but I havenít eaten there. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. There are several refs on the field at all times and I havenít seen or heard a problem with them yet. Renting gear is super easy! Good quality masks and Tippmann 98ís. The 98ís are very reliable and trouble free (unless you run out of CO2 in the middle of the game). If you want, they will even provide with full camo outfits.

In closing, I like this field. There are so many ways to play this field (defense, offence, sniper, flanking, teams etc.) it will take along time before I ever get bored with it! If youíve never played at this field try it! Iíve you donít like, try another one. But I think youíll like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

maddixmagic04 Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fields of fire.. sc village... conquest.. california paintball park...
Review: look... everybody talks about the field and how bad it is.. the fact of the matter is the people just dont like it because the refs piss them off and the service sux. the field is actually not that bad. you either start at the top or the bottom and to be honest no matter where you start there is still ways to go that will give you a good game. when i start at the top i take the huge hill and i get behind the other team every time and get an average of 5 kills a game. when i start at the bottom i can either take the hill or rush the city and i will get just as many kills as if i would have started on top. so the fact is that everybody who has been to paintball usa just gets mad at the refs. i was there one time and they had a girl ref there who doesnt paintball she said she was just friends w/ the owner. that got me kinda mad. plus the guys who work in the shop and the maintenance booth (if you can call it that) are real punks. they dont help you out at all. they just sit there like they hate there life. and the refs just act like they cant wait until the days over so they shorten the games sometimes and will stack the teams so the games are faster. you can tell that they dont want to be there. so basically the service sux. the other bad thing abuot it is that if your goin to go make sure you have your own gear or at least your own paint... they completely rip you off if you buy paint there. also the coupons are completely deceptive and they dont help you out at all because you still have to buy a whole bunch of stuff. its not that bad if you bring your own paint and rent there.. i used to do that about 4 years ago when i just started paintballin.. but DONT BUY THEIR PAINT. you can rent there but dont get ripped off w/ the paint.

i guess to sum everything up.. in order to have a good paintballing experience at paintball usa.. just stay away from the workers as much as possible and do everything yourself. try as hard as you can not to deal w/ the people or refs who work there... renting is not a huge hassel so its safe to rent as long as you bring your own paint.. even buying cheap paint at sport chalet is better than spending a fortune on theirs. but all things considered.. the field is fine but the service sux
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nullsoft Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest - AWESOME!
SC Village - Cool
Velocity/Tombstone/Jungle Island - All Good
Review: THIS PLACE SUCKS!!! DONT GO! PLEASE!
If its your first time playing, for sure dont go. Youll have a bad experience. They rip you off incredibly. $80 for a case (2000) of house paint, which costs like 30 usually. The rentals dont shoot half the time, and your GOING to fall down the hill, just admit it.. its bound to happen... I cant imagine playing there ever again. Games are 45 minutes long.... can you say, boring? Its all woodsball, though they do have one hyperball field, its not really fun at all, just boring. Dont get ripped off, its so expensive...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spankster67 Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
X-Park
Conquest
Jungle Island
Tombstone
Proving Grounds
Fields of Fury
Review: THE ULTIMATE REVIEW OF
Close Encounters: How the park really works. I have played numerous fields and this has to be one of the lowest rated fields I have ever worked or played at. If it wasn't because I played for free I would never go to this field. I reffed at Close Encounters and at X-park, just for extra cash to buy paintball stuff. I'll tell you the inside stuff that customers do not know! I tried to help the newbies as much as possible so that they would enjoy the game and come back or keep their interest in paintball. It's a great sport if you can find a field that is good for your needs. I left after X-park went bankrupt thanks to the owner of Close Encounters, had a good time while I worked thier.

This parks has its pros and cons, but much more cons.

Pros:
As much air/CO2 as you want ot use. Or take home. I always topped off my tank before I left.
Big rec field.
Lots of good and sneaky angles, escpicially the hill.
At least 10 games a day.
Lots of newbies if your afraid of the high-tech markers, also lot of newbies to take out.
Some good reffs and workers.

Cons:
Paint cost a fortune, and its the cheapest paint they can get. They make tons of money on the paint. They sell a case to employees for half-price and they are still making money on it.

COUPONS are a ripp-off, I use to tell customers that its better that they dont buy the packages deals. You think your getting a deal, but you still have to pay for all-day air $20. Not much of a deal after all.

REFFs that cheat or help there friends cheat. I would get mad when other reffs would tell there friends were the other player was bunkered. Or do a paint Check on then wipe off the paint.

OWNER makes his own rules when he plays, he also cheats, he uses two-way radio with the refs and calls out for paint checks and then advances when the other player cant shoot back. Do it his way or else your fired, I saw several people get fired or just quit on the spot. People that have been working their for a long time.
Take too long for games to start, wait for at least 20-30 minutes between games.

Thiefs, employees steal stuff!!!
Gung-HO players who do what they want because they know the owner, they are never out unless they get hit in front of a ref in the goggles.

Dangerous palying field, I have seen many accidents, the worst when a customer ran down the hill, leg got caught in a hole and snapped his ankle in half. Boy was that a sight to see. Owner does little to spend money on the field repairs, does only what he has to do by the EPA to protect the native trees. Numerous bunkers/walls are made from old fiberglass insulation. Once it gets on your skin it cuts for days, and chokes the hell out of your lungs and throat. Thats why I never leaned or got close to certain types of bunkers fell sorry for those who Do!


Too many other bad things to list.
But hey if you like the field by all means continue to play. For new comers bring deep pockets, especially if you rent and buy paint at the field.

I think I might return to work there in the summer just to buy somemore equipment for my gun. The only reason I would return was to help newbies have a better experience in the paintball sport other than that this field is not for mee unless its free.

PS Watch out for Carl he can get really grumpy in the Gun booth.

Last edited on Friday, December 12th, 2003 at 8:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

milkydude8 Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - Tombstone - Hollywood Sports Park !Top 3 pb fieids in my view !
Review: I have Been to this field Three times and it really needs a new staff and Clean Up! Everything i say in this review is 100% true and might bring some flashbacks when you played here. Please Be Open minded i dont want to offend or put down anyones good experiences in this field. I took the time to write this all i ask is that you dont put me down for writing my experiences on this field ?Fair ? =o) !ok lets start!

Day one- First time i ever played on this Field. First thing i noticed was that it was Uphill and sorta steep so get ready for a small hike to the top where you get admission and Crono and Fill ect. While hiking up the hill to get our renal guns i noticed alot of Squirels hehehe. Finally we made it up to get our stuff. we waited like 9 minutes in line and finnaly got out stuff , Even though the discounted Tickets Said FREE CAMO and 100 paintballs THEY did not give it to us even when we argued a good 3 minutes for it, that pissed me off.. We Then got our Abused and Beat up tippmann custommodel 98's after arguing for another 3 minutes with the Air Smith Gun Rental guy cause he wanted to give us those P.O.S. Pro Carbines and we werent going to settle for that crap. (if you rent guns there Make SURE YOU FIGHT for the custom/model 98's because the Procarbines ARE REALLY CRAPY and are in Really bad shape and dont shoot straight for BEANS!!). Then Finally we got our guns cronographed and a good 23 minutes wasted. We went Down hill to play in the speed ball fields that are downhill towards the entrace. Also The JT Firemasks were In very BAD condition the lens were scratched like hell and the part that covers your mouth Was Punched with holes that people used to smoke through {omg you smokers out there} and it was tied together to hold it from being open and shot in the mouth/chin. I made it down and We played all day down there not bothering with the Huge wanabee woodsball arena they had on the top. We Got Kicked off about 30min earlyer than the time they "Supposededly" Closed.

Day Two -(Finally got my own stuff plus my Spyder e-99 Woohoo)- I was exited to get on the field to play with my new spyder so were my buddies. we all had our own stuff so we dident have to use their Sh*T ( and i do mean it , it was really crapy stuff they had).
We Payed out 25$ admission which is a little pricy for bad field. We Cronographed and went down Again to play speedball again =D. In the second game we went against a 6 man Private Party that was there ( yes those guys with the $$ to reserve a spot and get Special Privileges). it was just 4 of us with our spyderscockers against their rentals. Game started and i quickly eliminate one tall guy who tried to rush us. then 2 of my buddies move up to middle bunkers and me and my buddy Andrew stay back to cover them. One of my buddies get eliminated from the front lines so i move in to take his spot . We eliminated 2 more of them so it was a 3 v 3. So it was me and one of my buddies in the middle bunkers while Andrew kept them pinned down with his cocker. Paul my buddy next to me moves in and but gets shot and eliminated. So its just me and Andrew left. He puts down some Covering fire while i move in to take 1 guy out and get my self eliminated. Then The last two guys move in to flank Andrew who stayed back. He Snap shot one of them and sprayed the other guy who was last one standing hidding behind some Hay. (lol paintball usa cant afford anything better than some Hay for a snake bunker). Andew Clearly shot him on his shoulder but for some reason the refs dont call him out. Slightly angered My buddy Andrew light him up and hit him on the hopper once and on the Mask once. Hes STILL NOT OUT! Then all of the sudden this one African American ( Black Skinned) Woman Ref comes to him to crono his gun to check if he was running Hot but he wasn't he was lower than the rest of us( he was running 275 fps, while we were around 289 Fps). The guy hiding wipes his mask to clean the paint and shoots Andew Right Smack in the Back on his spine when he was turned back talking to the ref. IT was the biggest BS i ever seen in my life That Stupid Ref called my fireind out when she dident even resume the game. We Argued with her. We said, "You paused the match and never resumed it when my friend got shot ON THE BACK", TALK ABOUT BEING A WUSSIE who ever that Guy WAS!! What we told her Went in one ear and out the other all she said AND I QUOTE !!! " Too Bad ". Ohhh now that wansn't very R-e-s-p-e-c-t-f-u-l and it just Pissed me so off, i could have Punched her if she was a guy. We Cussed her out and we got kicked off the field but we dident care cause we hated that place and it was going to close in 20 min. Angry and dissatified we went to Six FlagsMagic Mountain which is really close to there.. at least something good about driving 2 hours to that crap field. You probably know which ref iam talking about shes Black, Bald, and she has a very stupid insulting Attitude.( no offense to black's) but we hate her to the core. I know alot of cool black's but she sucked ass period.

Day 3 (Trust me i dident want to come but i had to for my little brothers birthday) - Yea Anyone whos Smart wouldnt come back after that but who said i came to play. it was just for my little 10 year old brother and 7 of his friends. I just sat there with my dad and the little kids parents. There i noticed something even worse The Picnic AREA is @#$@ing SH*T. Omg CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP i felt like barfing on the owner of this field.

Conclusion - IF YOU HAVE YOUR OWN STUFF DONT COME HERE GO TO ANY OF THE OTHER PLACES I RECOMEND ABOVE!!! only come here if its your first time ever playing or you will have a bad time!!!

GOT ANY COMMENTS/QUESTIONS PRIVATE MESSAGE ME OR E-MAIL ME !!!!!!
Last edited on Thursday, December 4th, 2003 at 7:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunny462 Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I've play the place 4-6 times. I was impressed with the hill but it can get to be a pain and if you're not watching your back someone can come down the hill and zip you.

CONS:
Noob Refs; they change out refs on a monthly basis.
Open Field; I got zipped by a walk-on from a distance of less than 5 feet after start time, Found out he was ON MY TEAM! The refs didn't tell him even the basic the rules.
$80 paintballs and couldn't use my paint.
False advertisement; Coupons
Refs younger brother stole my friends wallet.
Re-incarnation for field marker users only.
Unkempt field; The bunkers fall apart if you lean against them.
The owner did a walk-on after game start with this tourney team and whacked everybody on our side, we never even knew they were in/on the field nor behind us.
Ref allowed their friends on the field without a chrono check
Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 2:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adamant_Finn Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Played at Close Encounters last weekend. Even though it was 100 degrees it was still a blast. Plenty of shade, very friendly staff, decent field paint (though VERY expensive $10=100; $25=500; $40=1,000; $80=2000). The park is on a hillside and it's a little bit of a hike between fields, but it's really no big deal. A couple of clarifications from the other reviews: You CAN bring your own paint, they just don't want you to use it in their rental markers. I didn't see any favoritism towards rental customers in regards to gun hits or reincarnation.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JASS92 Friday, October 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: OK im sick and tired of these overconfident noobs who think their stuff dont stick. They whine and thats about it. This park very rarely gets any average ratings. It is usually either quite high or a 1. This field provides many hours of fun and very interesting tactics. Do not listen to the people who say blah blah blah i have an angel this field sux. They dont know anything. They probably dont have angels and they probably have never been and have nothing better to do than insult a well managed field. I must agree with others that prices here are quite high. But then again any paintballer knows that he or she is not getting into a cheap sport. This is a very good game that costs quite a bit of many. So before u go off buying ur angel and nitro gain some experience...PLEASE!!Another thing if people are so overconfident on the internet i dont see why there not world champions, because if all u can do is brag about ur skill u must have no flaws in ur game. Recreational fields like this are to mingle with some noobs and have some fun. This field does not hold tourneys so stop complaining and have some fun owning all the noobs. People go here and try it. Come with a couple of friends a couple o bucks and get prepared to own the noobs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

CodyB4000 Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields of Fire
Review: Alright, after looking at Paintball USA's reviews, I saw that a lot of people didn't like it. I have been going to the other paintball park in the area, Fields of Fire, for a while now. So I decided to see if all the negative hype was true, and yesterday, I made a trip to Paintball USA with some friends of mine. I expected it to, well, suck after reading the reviews on this website. However, there was nothing that sucked about it.

The field is huge, plenty of shaded seating, moderate food, friendly staff, and everything else I could ask for. I don't see how people say things like 'the refs don't care', because quite frankly, the refs were doing a very good job at enforcing the rules and making sure that the players had a good time. I don't understand how people give this field a bad rating, I had a blast yesterday.

The ONLY negative thing I can honestly say about the field is that there were a few smokers on the staff, and that really shouldn't be going on with so many kids there. Other than that, Paintball USA kicked ass.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media