paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park

Antioch Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
16Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 925-757-2468
Address: 1201 West 10th Street
Antioch, California 94509
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
AresPBIon Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Closest field to Antioch Paintball Park is Venture Games for me. However Venture and Antioch Paintball Park are two completely different styles of fields so I can't compare the two, too much of an apple to an orange comparison.
Directions
to the Field:
Pretty easy to get to, if you are coming in 4-East you'll take the L St Exit on highway 4, make a left onto L St under the overpass. Head straight down until you hit the second light. In front of you on your right will be Antioch High School, and directly to your left will be the entrance to the paintball park, follow the signs in.
Review: I really enjoy playing here at the field, all of the players have been extremely friendly.

Hours of operation and prices are avaliable on www.Antiochpaintballpark.com so I won't go over those except to say that they are very reasonable and have two sessions open $15 for one session or if you come early and want to play both $20. $10 for all day air up to 4500PSI. They also have CO2 fills if needed.

Not really much of a ProShop persay. It does have some of the basics you might need to work on your gun though.

Rules are fair, refs are top quality and are willing to help out when it is a little slow and coach some of the newer players. Very very helpful! The shop staff was very friendly and explained the rules and services off the bat. Again the players were friendly, no arguments, everyone shook hands at the end of the matches, no wiping was present at this particular day.

There are vending machines for food and drink, along with video game machines. However when lunch rolls around they normally order pizza and it is $2/Slice. If you want though there are BBQs if you want to BBQ it up!

The only complaints I have with the field is that they are a bit on the small side. You can shoot all the way across the field and break paint really easily, but they are fun and well designed, just wish they were a bit longer and wider.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aaron72 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
See website
Review: Played this field in it's second weekend. All three fields are nice. Parking is close to the fields, so if you'd rather work out of your car, it's not a hassle at all. All of the employees are great, always asking how things are going and looking for feedback. Refs are great and willing to accomodate special team requests. It will be even better once more people know about it and come out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevelle1888 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at sherwood forest, the jungle, and venture games
Directions
to the Field:
check the website. its explained really well on there
Review: For the first weekend it was really nice. The fields were setup nice. The x-ball ball field was a little 2 spaced out but minor problem. And the rec ball could use a couple more bunkers. But the airball course was fine. The prices were good. I played all day with all day air for $30. Not bad. The service was excellent. And the staff was very helpful. It has some nice big bleacher stand that you can overlook the fields. They had a picnic area and barbeque pits. and the bathroom was located next to the fill station. My only problem was there was no shade in the staging area. But i talked to the owner and he said he would fix that. Oh and they have a couple snack machines and an arcade that has like 2 games in it. very nice field. they did a good job on they're first weekend. i have talked to the owner before at my work and they are really nice people. i brought some of my fellow co-workers from costco and he said next time we can get a group discount. so i thought that was very cool.i was suprised that i wasnt the only one shootong an angel. another guy was shooting one but he had problems with his. i tried to help him. man i wanted to play with him too. lol
Last edited on Monday, August 21st, 2006 at 12:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fastmatt Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
venture paintball, it's a woodsball place, so you can't compare woodsball with x-ball/speed-ball
Review: I went to the 1pm-4pm session for $15. It was worth my money.

The referees made sure that it was even teams on both sides, and you can do 1 on 1, 2 on 1, 2 on 2, etc, but you gotta let the refs know.

the refs checked players for hits frequently, were a bit slow on some but other than that did an excellent job.

there are 3 fields and players rotated around a lot, I sticked to the x-ball course, using a spyder victor :( Luckily, the people respected me and never said anything to me. It's a nice course, but all 3 fields have sand as a ground. Make sure you bring extra socks and shoes.

It's $10 for all day air, I filled my C02 tank the night before, and I ran out near the end, but it's $5 dollar per fill (20 oz) and I didn't shoot as much because I got out quick, it's your discretion to choose if you want all day or just pay per fill, depending on how much you shoot and how long you play.

The people running the register were great and asked how it was and where you played before and other questions. Cameras were there this weekend only I think to film for a commercial.

This is a great field, the sand can be bothersome with the wind, but overall the refs and the supervisors there are great. I had no problems at all, except when some of the refs made it confusing when the game started (they say "10 seconds in 3 2 1") and after they said 1 everyone ran, but it means after 1 you wait ten seconds for the game to start, confusing but after a while you got the hang of it.

The bleachers for the fields are high and you can view all 3, and are right next to the field, there are tons of shade with the big trees, and you can easily walk around to the bleachers instead of taking the long way.

I give it a 9.8 only because of the sand but it still is a great field and an amazing experience
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

holysoldier707 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture- Purely made for woodsball and scenario games but still good though
Directions
to the Field:
The entrance is the last gate next to the Antioch High School football field. The field is located behind the main area of the Antioch Fairgrounds. The actual fields are on the rodeo part of the fairgrounds.
Review: Antioch Paintball Park was great on its opening day. The rules were constantly enforced to provide fun the entire day. Spectators are allowed to watch games for free but can't come into the player's area because of the rixk of marker safety. There weren't any incidents of violation of any of the rules while I was there that day with a couple of friends.

The fields mainly at APP were two recball fields and one xball field. The recball fields were 140' x 70' and the xball was 140' x 140'. On oe recball field there were big old structures similar to wooden wheels. The structures held up pretty good from the thousands of paintballs flying around in that particular field. That was a favorite at the field for me. The other recball field consisted of airball bunkers and a couple of mini xbunkers. That particular field was more for the amateur-pro players and sponsored teams. Playing into those games was far more competitive than the other recball field and almost more fun than it too. I didn't get a chance to play on the xball field, but I noticed while I spectated a couple of games, that the bunkers there were high quality and didn't let down while the people were playing.

Like all paintball fields, it is open on the weekends and is divided into two sessions, 8-12, 12-4. The site for the field says to come back soon to see if they will be hosting night games during the weekdays.

The prices to play at APP were incredible. The entry fees were about standard or cheaper for most fields, 15-20 bucks. The CO2 and air refills were about the same also. Lunch was a little expensive at 3 bucks for a slice of pizza. They have vending machines that have quality energy drinks and other refreshments, but were a little over priced like the food, 2-2.50. Renting was phenomenal. All the equipment was brand new.

The rules for the field were simple for any field. If paint broke on you then you were out, however, I missed the briefing that morning both times and didn't know if shooting yourself counted, mainly because while I was playing on the wooden recball, I was peeking around one of the bunkers and shot myself in the kneecap with my MR-2. ;(

The services at the field were good. The guy filling my CO2 tank had a little bit of trouble, but it was ok because he was nice and wanted to help me so bad. I didn't notice if there were any bathrooms around because I didn't have to go, but I think there were some by the proshop.

So far its an excellent field with excellent service.

More to add later...

(Edited Septrmber 3, 2006)

The proshop really doesn't have anything interesting except for extra batteries or pods for the day you are there.

The staff and refs are most people in there teens or older. Younger to mid teens in mean. The refs do somewhat a decent job in making good calls and checking players.
Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 5:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shiv913 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Taking highway 4 from Concord. Go East to Antioch. Take the L street exit. Turn left at the stop. Follow this road, past the first light, you should see a little shopping centure to your left with Quick Stop(good place to stop for snacks). Go straight through that signal, should come to another signal right after and see a High School to your right. Make a left at that signal, you'll see a sign and the gates to get in.
Review: This field is currently not open yet. I added it to spread the word. They said they're shooting to open it August 1st of 2006. I asked the guy and heard rumors that there will be and Xball field but no other info has been released. Check the website for details as it gets closer to opening.

ADDED 8/19/06(Opening Day):

So I just went to the field opening day. This place is amazing. Talked to the staff and refs excessively all day. This place has it all. Its pretty cheap to get in. 20$ for all day admission(8AM-4PM), 10$ all day air. Thestaff is all awesome. They care about safety first off, and secondly, feedback. All day they were walking around, asking how everyone was doing, any comments, complaints. We had nothing bad to say, but they cared alot about feedback. The field chrono is 285. The ref's remember faces and check ones they dont but after a while they do random checking just to be sure. The refs are awesome also. There is always 4-6 on each field which is enough. Paint checks happen if you yell loud enough. And they check it fair. I had a hit on my arm and didnt notice for a bit and the ref didnt mind I shot a few off before he pulled me. The abundance and expirience of the refs suprised me alot. So staff, I give a 10.

The fields are awesome. There is 3 fields. An Xball, a sup-air, and a rec-ball. We played sup-air mostly all day. The rec ball is mainly for beginners and family fun. It gets a bit crowded and annoying with the kids but heres a forewarning for playing in it. Its made of spools and hay bails. Got a small snake and some decent spots. The main problem is the kiddies who play on it. The sup air is awesome. They switched up the setup halfway through which changed gameplay a bit. Alot of expirience walks onto the field which may be fun or not for you. And they always split up by expirience to make it fair. The sizes of the fields are awesome too. Rec and Sup have the same size, its nothing you would complain about, they definately didnt short cut it for space. Xball has a bit bigger field. The X was lying down today and I asked the staff and they said they switch it between days. We didnt play when the crowd was, we mainly stayed in sup-air but we did a 2on2 and it was alot of fun. And the consistancy of the matches was great. One after another after another. If you had enough paint you could have a long string of matches going. I may be too nice but fields I give a 10. I had no complaints about any of them and its a brand new park, Im sure it will only get better.

Also, to add, talking to the staff I found out they may start running nightball and possibly Wednesdays. They also have an extra 6-7 acres of room and plan to add in 2 more fields. This place just gets better and better. The manager said they are striving under any circumstances to be the best park around. He's just waiting on income to make it all happen.
Last edited on Saturday, August 19th, 2006 at 3:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media