paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field

Warplay Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 703.727.0271
Address: 30067 Constitution Highway
Rhoadesville, Virginia 22542
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jracrx Friday, November 18th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEV'S (bigger) Hogback (diferent)
Directions
to the Field:
Rt 3 to rt 20 6 miles on right - -rt 522 to rt 20 unknown distance (10 miles ??) on left
Review: I (we) have NEVER had a bad expierience at this field. The owners and crew are friendly helpful and courteous. Prices are good. good amount of rental equipment but if you plan on renting give them a call they will rent out quickly with bigger groups attending. They will go out of their way to make sure your day goes smoothly, Havent played speedball yet but the course looks GREAT. The woodsball is really good and depending on the group that is playing can be very fast paced! (thx geex)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

maveric101 Tuesday, September 27th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at Pevs back when they were at AG; haven't been to the new Aldie field. Either way, Pevs is a significantly larger operation than Warplay.
Review: Much more of a mom 'n pop type of place than Pevs, but that's not a bad thing. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly, and the refs did a good job. It seems that they also do frequent deals/coupons, if you know where to find them (got one on LivingSocial). The woodsball fields are interesting, with a good amount of cover and substantial structures. I would like it if they cleared more of the brush, but that's a personal preference.

You might want to call ahead, especially if you have a group. The saturday i went, they had JUST enough paint to get us through the day; the owner said he would have bought more paint if he knew my 10-person group was coming.

my only complaint is that the 2-star paint i got didn't really seem to deserve that rating. a lot of the balls were dented or not terribly spherical. the owner says he buys paint at least once a week, so it's not because they're sitting at the field too long. it seems to just not be a great brand given how hard it was for me to break the balls by throwing them at the ground. they may also be sitting too long at the place where the owner buys them.

all in all, i can't wait to get back. i'd also love to try out the speedball field.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 27th, 2011 at 11:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

S2RT x JeFF Thursday, March 3rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 13th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's in Aldie was fun, had a lot more people but wasn't as enjoyable as warplay because of the staff and some players. Warplay has great staff and refs that will joke off the field and take their job and others safety very seriously. Also, the refs let us do our own little twist of different games.
Directions
to the Field:
right off of route 20. very easy to find. you can see the woodsball fields just before and the speedball field just after.
Review: Great field. Don't have any bad comments other than the lack of players sometimes. Great refs, great staff, prices are very good as well. Players are very friendly too. Plus, its very close to my house so thats a bonus. :) I only got to play on the speedball field but i walked the woodsball field and they all are very good. I like they layouts of them all. I wouldnt mind going and playing on the woodsball fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

VegaSwizzle Sunday, September 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm From PA, Wannaplay paintball, linglestown paintball.
Review: Warplay was a very nice, well put together scenario field. I really enjoyed the place, and the prices are ok, 25 dollars for air and field fee. Ibrought a friend who rented a gun, which was an a-5 with response trigger and was very surprised by their rental quality. The refs were good, and ensured safety with barrel condom rules and mask's down. Downside is when they play games, after each round is a downtime secession to restock, which gets annoying and takes a considerable amount of time. The place also has no food, so i drove to a fast food place to eat but i have heard they are fixing this problem. Everything else was great! I would give this field a 9 and say it's definitely worth coming back to a second time!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellfighter777 Saturday, August 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
power line paint ball(junk)
Directions
to the Field:
rt 3 too rt 20 about 6 miles from rt3
Review: Epic no im sry did u hear me it was epic sweet owners great cost sweet set up they have senrio fields best on real place in the world capture the flag defend the base just a great time al really nice people and no 10ft rule 25 for all day air and play 5 extra bucks to rent must buy there ball but have good quality at decent price will be going on a regular base
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shroomy Sunday, July 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
On Constitution, about 15-20 min away from route 3, and right by Locust Grove Elementary (I think) school.
Review: I was part of a private party that reserved the field for a day, we consisted almost entirely of noobs (myself included), and we had an excellent time. Tor was great, he answered all of our questions and it was clear that making sure that our group had a good time was his top priority. He brought two experienced paintballers on to act as guides for each of our teams, and it was really nice having a person on each team who new the fields and could offer advice and suggest strategies. It worked very well. Additionally the ref was fair and friendly and was able to quickly resolve any disputes.

The fields were awesome. They had a two story fort/tower, 2 bridges (one of which was massive), a guard bunker, loads of various forms of cover (everything from stacked brush to aluminum walls, to a very well done wooden fence complete with ports that circled the fort), and various paths. The fields played very well, we played two and they each felt very distinct. They were set up well and felt very balanced. Some game forms combined multiple fields together, and Tor said that they hoped to have a speedball field completed by the end of this summer.

Pricing was excellent as well, $35 covered walk on, rentals, and all day air. And the rental equipment was very nice as well, the masks did not fog and the guns were tippmann's fitted with response triggers.

I had a lot of fun and I believe that everyone else did as well. Warplay comes highly recommended, I gave it a 10 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingInYellow Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Also played Hogback Mountain - Not better or worse at Hogback, just different
Directions
to the Field:
See the website for Warplay
Review: My second time out playing and I came to this field. I must say it was awesome. I will definitely be going back as time and money allow.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Tor was an excellent host. He must have asked my friend and I about 20 times if we were having a good time and he made sure we were always full of air and ready to go.

The refs were easy to deal with and fair. A fight did almost break out and it was handled quickly. Both parties cooled off and I think they both returned to the field for the next round. I was impressed at how this was handled and it could have very easily exploded into something really ugly.

The fields are big and have nifty terrain and building/features/whatever. The fort in the middle is cool and there is nothing scarier than being up in the fort with the entire other team trying to take you out of it. The respawn is a cool feature that was missing from the other field I played at and even with the respawn my buddy and I only shot a case of paint combined over the whole day. The A-5 is a great gun for us noobs and I was glad to get a chance to use it before I decide to buy one.

The other players on the field ranged from "expert" to noobs like me. The teams were evenly split in the morning and most of the afternoon. The last match of the day ended up being a little lopside as the other team all had full auto guns and my team mostly was rentals. But we did have a 2 man advantage. It did not help.

Mortars, paint grenades it was all allowed and made for a very fun experience.

Prices seemed good though paying $10 use your own paint, when a case of paint is $50 seems silly. Pay the 50 for field paint. It seemed pretty good to me (remember noob though). All day air for $10 seems fair and pod pack rental for $3 was a godsend. I was glad to have a little extra ammo on my back. Being able to run a tab and check out at the end was nice. Very nice. The whole day cost me about 65 counting the crappy paint I brought with me. Not a bad way to spend the day.

The only downside is food. There was nothing at the site except water (good since it was hot as balls) and candy. This should really be rectified and is the reason I gave this field a 9. Hogback, where I played the first time at least had hotdogs. I brought my own food so it was not a problem for me, but my buddy had to go down the road to get food. So remember to bring your own food and you will be fine.

Overall this is a great field, and I did not feel like the more experienced players were looking down on us noobs at all.

I recommend this field.




Last edited on Friday, May 22nd, 2009 at 10:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverback914 Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEV'S (AG) Leesburg, And a couple that aren't in business anymore...
Directions
to the Field:
VA Rt 20, approx. 6.5 miles east of Rhoadesville, 22ish miles west of Fredricksburg.
Review: My work takes me around the country, and during my 20+ years playing paintball I have played at over a hundred different fields.

Tor and Gunnie have put together one HELL of a field, and from the sounds of it they are not sitting back on their laurels. Their fields are well thought out, and built even better. Such attention to detail as straticially positioning bunkers that accent the terrain and add more challenge to the fields. The Fire Base (or "Tower") is complete with sandbagged walls, and nasty little man trap entry ways opposite each other. Another field has a 40' long bridge complete with guard shacks, I didn't get on the field in time to play this one, but the field looks awesome.

During a game of Attack/Defend, we even had to deal with mortor barrages of alternating paintballs and grenades, fired by the owners just to keep us on our toes. And if you have always wanted to get on the field and just "Open up" in "FULL AUTO" this would be the place. At WAR PLAY, you can shoot Full Auto, as well as blind shooting, and there is no 20' rule, So new players, or less than full tilt Woodsball fanatics may want to consider a different venue.

Tor even has a 20' replica of a V2 Rocket and Concrete "Control Bunker" that is soon to be/if not already (I didn't get on it, I was told about it...) ready for some serious WWII Scenarios. Plus they are working on aquiring another 20 acres to bring even more into the area.

The safety on the fields are OUTSTANDING with checks made before players leave the playing field that all markers are sleeved, prior to leaving the field.

The prices are VERY GOOD; $15.00 Walk-on fee, $10.00 for all-day air, and if you bring your own paint, you can use it for $10.00. $35.00 (or more) is what I am used to paying, before air, and forget about ever using your own paint.

To make a long review longer, The fields are A+; the Staff is A+ and the prices are A++
Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2008 at 4:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Wednesday, August 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's at AG
Hogback
Pev's Aldie
Directions
to the Field:
I would Mapquest it.
Review: I played this field for the first time this past weekend and was very impressed by what I experienced.

Parking Lot/Pro-Shop Area/Prices/Hours
Warplay is directly off of VA Route 20, you need to be careful when you are approaching it because it just comes right up on you so be expecting it. I didn't see them on my way in or out, but I did not see a sign for the field until we actually got there but some signs beforehand saying the field is approaching would be helpful. If they are there and I missed them then my apologies. There is ample parking space available and the pro-shop is a covered shack with ample counter space and they had three water jugs set up for player hydration. There is also a picnic area with 3-4 picnic tables each of which having a water jug and the whole area covered with mil camouflage netting. Warplay takes cash, check and credit card. Rentals appeared to be Tippmann A5's running HPA although I didn't catch rental costs. Price to play was $15, $10 if you bring non-field paint and $10 for all day air. All in all my costs at the field for the day was $35, very reasonable for a full day of play.

Safety
Much like Pev's AG and Aldie, safety is of the utmost concern to the operators and staff at Warplay. To begin the day an in depth safety briefing is given and is very similar to the briefing that Dan at AG gives. I will say that Tor's briefing is now considered in my eyes to be the best safety briefing in the NoVA area. On the field goggles are always on until the field staff gets a visual count of barrel bags on markers. Before and after each game players are asked to raise their markers; the judges count barrel bags and once they have confirmed all barrels are covered players may remove their goggles. All players must chrono in under 300 FPS and my only recommendation in this area is to sticker players hoppers that they have chrono'd in for the day.

Staff/Ref's
Very professional field ownership and referee staff. The field is owned by two Marine Veterens Gunny and Tor. Tor was there on this day and made sure at every opportunity that all players playing were enjoying themselves and getting their money's worth. Tor (and I'm guessing Gunny as well) was hands on the entire day; he gave the safety briefing, filled compressed air tanks, came out on the field when he had the chance to help the judges, etc.
The judging staff did a marvelous job. From explaining the fields, to making calls and performing paint checks in a timely manner I cannot find one thing they failed at.

Fields/Rules
Warplay is nothing like any other field in our area. To begin with currently they only have three main field areas. While this is likely to cause many a player to hesitate on making the trip don't let this fool you. Warplay combines their fields into many different scenarios and configurations throughout a day of play. This coupled with their 25 minute games with re-spawn means YOU GET YOUR MONEY'S WORTH! As many people have previously mentioned this helps cut down on wiping. Depending on what team you are on during a scenario you either re-spawn every two-four minutes; or in the case of the Air Force One game we played instant re-spawn on both sides. The longer games get you on average about seven to eight games in an entire day, but figuring in 25 minute time limits and re-spawn this translates to about the same amount of game time as you would get in a day at AG. Warplay also has no limitation on firing modes and rate of fire caps. You can play ramping, you can play full auto, you can play uncapped ROF.
The construction of the field is very well thought out and they have taken their time and obviously used their previous USMC experience in the construction of the fields. Bunkers are a mix of stacked tree branches, pallets, sandbags, 50 gallon drums, wood constructed houses/shacks and a large aluminum constructed fort on one field. Many of the fields also include such scenario features like tunnel systems, power lanes and paratroop drop zones.
I did overhear Tor mention that over this coming winter there are plans for the construction of more fields. They have obviously thought out the future of this field very well.

This was a great day of paintball at a truly great field. I will continue to play at this field and recommend that if you live in the NoVA-Richmond corridor and you play paintball you need to visit this field.
Last edited on Friday, August 29th, 2008 at 8:50 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

-Diggler- Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's @ AG & Hogback
Directions
to the Field:
Just Google it or use Yahoo maps, they're dead-on.
Review: Our group (PaintballGeex.com) has been to Warplay now twice over the last couple of months and we have to say that this is how a paintball field should be! After playing at a couple of other fields in Northern VA, which are also fun places to play at, we’ve come to the conclusion that WarPlay just seems to know how to get everyone out on the field fast in the morning and keep the action going all day long!

The games are more than just capture the flag or elimination, they’re scenario based and are designed to force you to work as a team during game play. Each game is at least 20 minutes long and you can re-spawn after being taken out. The plus side to this is that you’re playing a lot and firing quite a bit paint; the down side is that you’re firing quite a bit of paint and you have to learn how to manage your ammunition, which is hard to do seeing as you can fire at full-auto at this field. Personally, full-auto is a lot of fun, but you really have to watch your paint supply or bring extra paint and stow it in the safe zone.

The staff is pretty knowledgeable and very responsive to player hits. They have many referees on the field during game play and each one focuses on small sections of players, allowing them to see more hits and respond to each player for paint checks. This past Saturday there were a few younger players on the field and they kept removing their masks during game play; the referees appear to be trained to pay special attention to these players and caught them every-time. Safety is the first and foremost thought on all of their minds!
Note: When you’re hit and called out of the game, make sure that the referee in the re-spawn area looks you completely over for any additional hits, because if you miss any and go back out, the next referee will most likely see it and call you out. It happened to me once and was some what frustrating, but they do warn you about it in the safety briefing.

The fields – the only thing that I can say is “WOW,” nice work. WarPlay’s motto: “Not all Paintball Fields are Created Equal”actually lives up to its billing. They have actual structures and wood-pile bunkers, not old pallets or aluminum siding to hide behind. There are two war time fields to play on; the first field that you’ll encounter is modeled after a WWII setting. You have the Germans defending their camp (flag) and the Allies trying to break through their defenses to capture and return it to their base. Although this is a capture the flag type game, the field is designed with natural “choke points,” as you’re limited to only two possible entry points into the German’s encampment. Team work and good communication is the only way to win this game.
The second scenario field is “Khe Sahn,” a Vietnam War setting. This game pits each team in an all out, “Storm the Command Post” type scenario. The goal here is to ring the bell - Sounds easy, not really. You have to get around the snipers in the command tower, the snipers in the open VC tunnel system and if you get that far, you still have to battle the hoards of players that are within the command post walls.
The two teams get to play both sides of each scenario, to kind of balance things out and there are different strategies to both sides of each battle.
There is also a third field, King of the Hill, which is pretty much what the title describes. WarPlay also experiments with new games and scenarios and seems to be open to new suggestions from their customers, which is a refreshing concept.

The folks at WarPlay appear to pride themselves on the positive experience that their customers will have at their field. They try to get in as many games as possible, but will not rush you if you’re not ready – even to go as far as walking the parking lot to make sure that everyone who is going to play the game, is out on the field.

The owner’s/operators of this field have been there both times that we’ve played there and are always walking among the players and talking to them.
Pricing is the best I’ve seen so far and the “pay at the end of the day” plan actually works out great. There are no long lines in the morning, trying to get your equipment and pay, which can severely cut into game time first thing.

In the end – WarPlay is a very relaxed paintball field with little or no stress, at least not until the first shots ring out. The staff there is wonderful and experienced and the fields are top notch – they live up to their motto and more.
The only improvement that I can think of – expand. This field is going to get very busy this year and I suspect they’re going to see record crowds this spring and summer! We've made WarPlay our paintball home and have purchased the Warrior's club memebership! Thanks Torr, from all of us at PaintballGeex.com

Note to all new players: - If you bring your own paint, bring 2 cases - you'll go through 1 case by lunchtime. Also, opt for the all day air, you'll refill your tank at least 5 times in a visit.
Last edited on Sunday, April 20th, 2008 at 7:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media