paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field

Warplay Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 703.727.0271
Address: 30067 Constitution Highway
Rhoadesville, Virginia 22542
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
CleavageSweat Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs, Hogback, New Kent,
Review: I just got home from a day at Warplay and wow what a great day of paintball. This field is bar none... the BEST field around. You know how every other field you play at there is like 1 or 2 rules that you think are lame? Well Warplay is the exception. All their rules are reasonable and make sense. If I were to make my own paintball field I would just carbon copy Warplay's setup. Safety is always their primary concern but they don't treat you like sissies with lame rules. I love the no 20 foot rule and the blind fire.

I can't wait to go back and can't wait for them to expand with more fields!

- Team Multicam

(Eddie & Brad)
A.K.A.
(Cleavage Sweat & Donkey Punch)

Last edited on Saturday, March 22nd, 2008 at 6:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dsamoranski Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soggie Bottom, Skyline, Hogback, Pev's @ AG, Virginia Adventure Games
Review: I took a buddy to Warplay for his first day of paintball based on the reviews here and their site, warplaypaintball.com. We had a great time. The prices are very reasonable, the staff was extemely helpful and really hustled between games. We had a small issue with lopsided teams at the beginning of the day and the staff took care of it immediately. Big thanks to Torr and his staff. You will definitely see us back at Warplay soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hostar Thursday, January 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warplay, Pevs@AG, Paintball Sportsland, Outdoor Adventure

Listed from most favorite to least favorite
Directions
to the Field:
not hard to find

Right off of rt 20
Review: Prices

It was only $35 for me, for my own marker, and paintballs. I got all day air which is necessary with 25 min games!

I believe the prices were:

Prices: (if you own your own gun)
$15 field fee
$10 -all day compressed air
$10 to use your own paint
Total: $35

Prices: (if renting)
$15.00 Field Fee
$20.00 Rentals (price includes: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger, 200
round hopper, full face mask, barrel cover and all day air)
$10 to use your own paint
Total: $45

Box of their premium grade winter paint was only $45 too!!

Food

Torr had a cater come out for food. It was awesome!! 6 bucks for cheese steak, fries and soda. Food is made on the spot. There were also burgers which were double patties, hot dogs and nachos. Red bull was also available.

Access

Very easy to find. Straight shot off of I-95 then get on rt 20. the field is right off the side of the road, you can’t miss it!!

Employees/Refs

Very nice refs and employees, the owner Torr is awesome. Great guy to work with. The field is typically close on Sunday during the winter, but he opened it up for my group at yespaintball.com once we had 25 people

Refs were very strict on making sure people weren’t cheating, paint checks and safety. Everyone had to have their goggles on until they checked every ones markers. Also they were very responsive when calling for paint check. The refs at the spawn points were very helpful with spare air ready to go, towels to wipe your self down and barrel cleaners to help with breaks in the barrels.

Staff was very helpful with trying to figure out what was wrong with the markers and trying to help fix them too.

Fields

We played on three fields, all very well designed with forts, wall, tunnels, bridges, respawn points and bunkers. The fields were very big with plenty of room to spare. The walks weren’t very long from field to field either.

Conclusion

The field definitely lives up to the hype on pbreview. This is probably my favorite field with running scenarios or each game. Having 25 min time limit on each game plus having respawn points made a big different. There is no bunker rule or blind firing rule. You can pretty much stick your maker over the wall and fire. Sometimes Torr would fire off paintball mortars which was sweet too. There seems to be some more upgrades to the fields which would make Warplay even better. You definitely need pods for Warplay, the style is very much war like, it takes lots of planning and strategy to play each game. Also the last game we played was King of the Hill, mad fun, you have to be there to experience it.

If you have time I highly recommend stopping by warplay!! Think I covered everything.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wonggahming Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OA, Hogback, OA has great big game scenarios but WarPlay is a scenerio everytimg you play. From Market Garden to the Alamo.
Review: Pro: morters THEY SHOT MORTERS!!! big boy grenades and cluster shells. eventually they will allow you to call for airsupport on different maps if you are pinned down. fields mapped out for gun fire, multiple choke points and even blind spots to simmulate reality. i want to go again. they will be opening a pro shop soon, as well as expanding their fields, soon to include D-day invasion style map.

Cons: currently there was no indoor stageing area, to eat at or anything, but will be remidied shortly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PupChow Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's, Hogback, OA - Warplay is definitely the top in the area
Review: I went to Warplay this past weekend with the yespaintball.com guys (and gals). It was a serious no non-sense scenario field with great field design and friendly staff!

I think most of the users covered the pros and cons, afterall, the forum guys decided to go after reading the reviews here! I will try not to restate what has already been said about this great field, here are some additions to the list:

Pros:
1) GOOD and CHEAP food!!! Most expensive on the menu = steak & cheese + fries + drink ($5.50), cheapest = 2 hot dogs + fries + drink ($4)

2) Random mortar blasts, the guys didn't go cheap on grenade and paintballs!!!

3) Staffs reminding us to be quick between games, and reminding us that we are paying for the time we are not paying, which is great, lol.

4) Hooked the ladies up with free chest protectors, camera man / woman with neon vest... etc.

5) Basically a very well designed field with frendly and down to earth staffs.

Cons:
1) Only had ONE porter john. It wasn't an issue since we only had about 30some people... maybe that's why there was only one.

2) There were 5 picnic tables total, it'd be nice if there are one or two more... also if it rains, there is no overhead except in front of the pro-shop. (maybe they have something that they can set up in the proshop? might want to check before going if it is raining)

I am probably nit-picking in terms of the cons. Overall I really enjoyed the field! Even though I am about 80 miles out, I am definitely up for going back every other month or once a month.

The owner mentioned some big plans in upgrading the field for this coming summer, it is definitely something to look forward to!

The group I went with took quite a few pictures and also composed a 20some minutes video of the field, I am not allowed to post the link here but if you search for it on our forum you can check out the place. Maybe we will see each other at Warplay sometimes in the future!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ayo Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs (va), paintball sportsland (md)
Review: Decided to test out the field after reading all the hype from pbreview, check it out with my own eyes, and all I can say is... it's all true. War Play is amazing.

The staff were super nice, busting jokes, helping with busted markers. And trust me there were plenty of busted markers. Tends to happen when a group of friends decides to play in 20 degree weather. The yespaintball.com crew is crazy, what can I say.

The fields are designed so that you are forced to think out your strategy, to teach you how important team work is, and to be straight up fun.

Safety was no concern for this field, once you were past the nets, you were to consider it the hot zone. You were to have you mask on at all time until told otherwise. You were allowed to take your mask off after they did a visual, to make sure that everyone had there gun cover on.

The briefings for each game were a bit longer then I liked, basically they had a count down before each game, 2 minute warning you have to put on you mask, 1 minute warning you could take safety off take cover off test your guns, then start. This was a bit annoying having to do it for each game obviously but, hey, it's a price you pay for safety, and it was well worth it to play there.

Games, the games are basically 25 mins scenarios, and we're talking 25 minutes of continuous play time, so pod packs are a must. They go by so fast, because they do something, which I found myself enjoying a lot. They have spawn points, basically, once killed you go to timeout box. Once the timeout clock hits zero you and whoevers in it with you get to respawn to join the action. So at most you are out of a game for 2/4 minutes.

Food, they have a local cater that does the food, well worth it and highly recommended. You put you order in with the cook, go have one more game, kill each other tire yourself out, and when you exit the hot zone you have hot food cooked to order ready for you. And they were very reasonably priced, 6 bucks gets you a bacon cheeseburger with fries and a drink. There were other selections to select from like hot dogs, cheese steaks, chicken fingers etc. But I can only speak for what I ordered, and the artery clogging burger was great.

Prices, prices are very reasonable.
$15 field fees,
$20 rental, (gets you a5 gun w/ response trigger, and all day air, mask and hopper)
$45 box of 2000 paint

If you own;
$15 field fee
$10 all day air
$10 BYOB, which if you end up buying if just one back of paint (of 500) from them, is refunded back to you.

First field I've played on where all day air is a must have, with battles as intense as they are, and as long as they are. You get you moneys worth with all day air, and they have no issues with topping you off at the end of the day, so it's highly recomended, and if you by chance don't get another refill, just let them know and they take it off you tab. Very nice people, amazing fun, can't wait to do it again. Just waiting for temperatures to go up to 30 degree maybe =P haha, 50 would be nicer though.
Last edited on Monday, January 21st, 2008 at 12:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

VicodinES Monday, October 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogback. Slowly getting better now that they're under different management. They still need to have water stations. It's all uphill, and a huge walk to get more air and paint. Pevs, has really gone downhill lately. I'm there about every other week, and the reffing is very inconsistent. It's either very good, or completely worthless. Even when Marty or Tom is running the show, there are still a couple of reffs who just stand around. If neither of them are working, plan on maybe 6 games in the morning, and even less in the afternoon.
Directions
to the Field:
Google It
Review: Warplay is completely different from any other field I've been to. It's highly innovative, designed strategically, and very well run. It does cater to one aspect of paintball, which is woodsball, but they do the best job at it that I've ever seen. The two owners/managers are Gunny and Tor, retired marines who have taken what they've learned in the military, and applied it to paintball. And they're actually out on the field running the games and reffing, not just sitting back in the shed letting some kid run the show.

Safety is their primary concern, and they are very consistent about it. Nobody is let on the field without a barrel cover, and they have a ref at each dead zone check to make sure it's on before they go in. They are very diligent about checking each player before he/she goes in, and I've yet to see any of the players having to enforce the rules, because a ref dropped the ball. They have water in each dead zone, along with microfiber rags to wipe your goggles down. So instead of seeing through a blurred mask after getting gogged, it's crisp and clean.

They've come up with one of the best ideas for eliminating cheating/wiping on the field. Basically, you get re-inserted every couple of minutes, rather than one hit, you're out for the game. You don't have a reason to wipe, because you go back, get more paint, and are back in the game in a few moments. The longest respawn period I saw was 4 minutes, and some are instant, such as in the king of the hill game. This also makes for one of the most aggressive styles of play I've ever seen. You don't hold anything back, because you're not worried about getting shot early, and then sitting out 20 minutes, and only getting 20 balls out. We've had suicide runs designed to swamp the other side, knowing the majority of us would get shot early, but with the 2 minute respawn, we were able to overwhelm their 4 minute respawn. I find that most people are much more willing to go charging headfirst into risky situations, since if they're successful, they can knock a large group of people out, but if they get shot out, they're back in the game shortly.

They wanted to make it more realistic in the combat sense of things, so they allow ramping, full auto, reactive trigger, and blind firing. Their rentals are RT A-5's so even the newbies with rentals have a close gun advantage to those of us who have our own high end equipment. One could argue that they do this so they can sell more paint, which I'm sure wasn't lost on them when they came up with the rules, but it does eliminate some of the whining about people with superguns that wipe out rookies with entry level markers. The newbs aren't on an even footing, but they're pretty damn close.

The fields are designed with strategy in mind. They're not just a mess of bunkers facing each other. The german end of the Market Garden field has several spots where if your flank doesn't keep the other side occupied, you'll get shot. You have to rely on your teammates to do their job and protect your blind side. It's the same with Khe Sohn. You can't just camp out and fire stream after stream of paint. If your head's not on a swivel, and your teammates aren't protecting you, you'll get shot in a blind side. Even the choke points aren't safe for both sides. All of their structures have been built up to county building codes. That means, they're not cheap crap, but actually hold up to the weather and the play.

The field layout is parallel to the parking lot, so in between games, the furthest you have to walk is 300 yards to get more paint and air. They have all day air, and are very fast about refilling you each time. Rather than carry two cases and a spare tank with me to each field, I only take 7-8 pods, and refill in between each game. They can turn around games with a refill stop faster than most fields do without the break.

Their prices are quite reasonable, and they haven't figured out how to price gouge their customers yet. They'll make more money off of me being happy and coming back, rather than taking me for everything I've got once. They recently brought in a cooking trailer for the weekends, and even though there's nothing within a quick turn-around to get food, their food prices are very cheap. And it's good too, not the usual price club/Costco crap that they charge you stadium prices for.

As with any field, it's not perfect. There are a couple of things that could be improved. The field was cut out of the forest, and there are still some stumps here and there that could be flattened with a stump grinder. Check in can get a bit backed up (this happens everywhere). It's still a relatively small operation, and if a large group decides to come down and play, and hasn't warned them, they can get swamped with players. We always send them an email letting them know about how many of us are going to be down there so they can plan accordingly. The only other problem I have is that coming form the west on route 20, I've gone flying past the entrance all 4 times I've been there. I wish that there was a bit of a warning, since I'm usually caravanning with other cars.

In all, it's about as close to the perfect woodsballer field I've seen. Gunny and Tor walk around in each break, let people know what's going on, and talk to the players to make sure they're having fun. If the games are uneven, they'll re-divide the teams, or Gunny or Tor will hop in on the losing team to give them a boost. It's amazing what a bit of leadership can do for a team that's losing.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 16th, 2011 at 6:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

inkslinger333 Tuesday, September 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEV'S -They have alot of fields which they never use(last time i was there we played rock garden four times, I had to beg them to play another field) .There's a long walk all the way back to get air and paint (remote fill stations would be nice). You can bring your own paint which is cool . No spawn points if you get hit you have to sit the rest of the game out .They do have a sweet hyperball field but it's out in the middle of nowhere, (no water or air/paint around and its a long hike back to the shop). The couple of refs i talked to were cool(one ref with the spiked white vforce was real cool and helpful).
HOGBACK MOUNTIAN- huge 70 acres, staging is at the bottom of the mountian,(you have to carry all your equipment uphill while wearing your goggles in the heat, even though everyone has barrell covers on ,i mean safety is important but come on). A few of the ref's were cool, most were teenagers who could care less. I played a counterstrike game which was cool, great scenerios , alot of fun , but alot of walking and alot if people wiping or not calling themselfs out(which i guess dishonesty is comon now a days) but the worst part was having to buy sub par field paint ( diablo nightmare that was dented and $60 a case) even tho i had a case of draxus silver in the cooler mmmm yeah
Review: WARPLAY- professional helpful staff, safe conscious, cool fields with well built bunkers and they are building more in the future. fields are small but thats good cause you can communicate better with your team, they have spawn points so the longest you stay out of the game is 4 min SWEET. They shoot mortars during the game you can use paintmines , grenades full auto, sniper rifles, they make shure everyone is crono'ed.Some advice, come up with different games so things dont get old. As of recent they have a food truck come in for lunch. paint is not bad xo for 45 bucks or you can bring your own paint(if its good, you cant shoot crap). from what i understand they are having a few special scenario games comming up (sign up type) which will be nice. If you dont have a gun you can rent a super sweet a-5 tippmann with response triggers and vforce goggles.My new home field and they treat me good thanks guys for alot of fun keep it up.
Last edited on Thursday, September 27th, 2007 at 10:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathWaits4U Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's (It takes .5 hour for me to get to Pev's and 1.5 hours to get to WarPlay, and I now consider WarPlay my "home" field. What does that tell you in terms of a comparison?)
Directions
to the Field:
I'm lazy, so read the other reviews for directions. P.S. If you live near the bottom of the Beltway, I-95 is actually quicker / shorter than the 66/29/3 route.
Review: I won’t rehash what other recent reviewers have written about WarPlay, because they’ve done an excellent job describing the field and the WarPlay experience. Based on my short experience playing at Pev’s and some fields in Florida, WarPlay is absolutely top-notch. For what they’re worth, here are my thoughts… If you don’t like my review or what I imply or say about Pev’s or other fields in the area, then feel free to dispute.

The folks at WarPlay must be sick of seeing me, because I’ve been there practically every Saturday for the last 2 months. I’ve been there enough that I’m getting to know the owners and staff: Tor, Gunny, Rhonda, Sammy, Junior, et al. I point that out because it means I’ve played the same scenarios there again and again. However, each time, the “same” scenario is new, different, challenging, and fun. That’s a testament to the staff and the variety of players at WarPlay.

At any paintball field, the make-up of the field is very important—but the staff are critical. Play on an excellent field, but with less than stellar staff, and you’re not likely to have such a great time. The good news is that WarPlay’s fields are extremely well thought-out, laid-out, and constructed. The great news is that the WarPlay owners and staff are superb. They take pride in their business and actively want players to have a good time. Even though some of the refs are young(er), they’re all extremely professional, competent, and friendly.

Even though they allow bunkering and full-auto at WarPlay, safety is their first concern (and fun is a close second). I’ve seen the WarPlay staff take some major hits to get people safely out of the “King of the Hill” bunker. In terms of getting bunkered in a structure, as the WarPlay staff say, “if you don’t want to be that guy, don’t be that guy.”

I played there recently against a team of 10 or so well-seasoned players. Gunny leveled the teams by having some 25 - 30 relative noobs (blue team) play against the 10 (red team). I was on the blue team, and even though we significantly out-numbered the red team, we got our butts kicked repeatedly by them. I’m not necessarily out to win, so I had a great time watching our team throw bodies at a team that had well-executed strategies. The amount of paint we threw at the red team (and they threw back at us) was unbelievable. It was an absolute blast regardless of who won.

At the end of the day, you will be exhausted, paintless, and satisfied. If you're a noob or experienced player, you WILL have fun at WarPlay.

Some of the WarPlay reviews whine a little about the $10 fee to use your own paint. WarPlay doesn’t sell white box, but what they do sell is at near white box prices. I was buying their Spectrum XO (highly rated, BTW) which was, if I remember correctly, $40 or $45 a case at WarPlay. I challenge anyone to buy that same paint at that price. Unless you’re buying 8,000 or more rounds with free shipping, you’re not likely to beat the WarPlay price. Plus, WarPlay is a business. Let these guys have some margin—some of which obviously goes back into their fields.

So here’s the rub. WarPlay is an “intimate” experience. The more people realize how great this place is, the more people will come. Which translates into WarPlay expanding their fields and having more staff. Which could impact the intimacy of the experience. I want WarPlay and the owners to be successful, but the last thing I want to see is this place turn into a Pev’s. That’s a challenge for the WarPlay owners as their business grows.

One last thing for players at WarPlay. WarPlay is very clean and free of trash. To help WarPlay from turning into a Pev’s, please pick up your friggin’ trash! Pev’s is so trashed that I want to get a tetanus shot each time I play there. WarPlay is clean when you get there, so pick up your trash and put it into any one of the number of trash bins they have before you leave. I’d rather the WarPlay staff spend time cleaning the A-5 rentals at the end of the day than picking up our trash. It’s not a dump, so please respect their property and future players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

mashed_cows Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rudy's Paintball
Splat house
Review: I just recently played this field and it was one of the best fields ive been to. It currently has 3 fields that are scenario based fields. Now, I prefer speedball fields over woodsball and scenario but these fields were original and alot of fun. I also heard they have a speedball field under construction. This is a great field for those who so not own a gun or don't have much experience. They rent out Tippmann A 5's so you can keep up with some of the faster players.

This field was very different from anywhere else ive played. They play with a 25 min objective on most fields and there are 2 teams once with and objective the other trying to prevent the other team to complete the objective. There are spawn times just like a video game which keeps the game going very well.

Safety was a huge thing at this field. There was a safety orientation every player had to go through. The refs were really good. They kept everyone safe but let us have fun at the same time. The refs always would help u get out when your hit so you don't get xtra balls in ya.

They are open on both saturdays and sundays during the summer and they attract a huge crowd. The sunday I went was a smaller crowed at about 20 players but the day before had about 65 players. This is a great field for many players so bring your friends.

The prices are about the same as any other field.
$45-50 for box of paint
$15 field fee (little more but worth every penny)
$10 all day air (I got my moneys worth)
They only fill compressed air so if you own a co2 tank Im pretty sure they will let you use one of their tanks for free.
They also rent out guns but I can't remember those prices but they are really cheap just check the website.

If you don't play often and really don't want to get burnt up by those awsome speedballers and team players you dont have to worry here. This is a great place for beginners.

I had such a great time playing paintball and just hanging ount at the field I think it deserves a high rating. If there is one field i recommend you goin to to have a great time it is warplay! Go try it out and see.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media