paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field

Warplay Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 703.727.0271
Address: 30067 Constitution Highway
Rhoadesville, Virginia 22542
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Lopez17 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs@AG, Hogback, Skyline, OA, Be The Hunted. Pevs and OA both have multiple concept fields and scenario style play that are complimentary to Warplay, however they lack the execution and detail that the Warplay staff put into their fields and games.
Directions
to the Field:
Coming from Northern Virginia (western Fairfax, Loudoun and PW Counties), via Route 15. Take Route 15 until it merges with Route 29, south of Gainesville. Take Route 29 south through Warrenton, through Brandy Station/Culpepper. Take the US Route 522, VA-3 Exit. Turn left at the top of the exit ramp. Travel about .3 of a mile and make a right on to US 522. Follow 522 for 14.1 Miles (522 is also known as the Zachary Taylor Highway). At the intersection of VA-20 (Constitution Highway) you will turn left and travel about 6 miles. Warplay will be on your left. If you are following Google Map's directions you need to be careful, as they have you turning at 3.7 miles. You will have to travel 2-3 more miles beyond what Google Maps indicates before you get to the field.

From I-95 you will leave the highway at the Route 3 exit in Fredericksburg. You will take Route 3 west until it ends/becomes Route 20. Take Route 20 west for 6.9 miles and Warplay will be on your right.

It's conveniently located in an area adjacent to the highway and has large signs indicating the field's location. It's hard to miss.
Review: Warplay paintball is conveniently located between the primary player locations of Northern VA/DC Metro and Richmond. It's roughly an hour drive for ballers coming from either direction.

Warplay paintball opened a year ago and has quickly established itself almost exclusively through word of mouth. In the Northern VA/DC area the field has earned a tremendous reputation among recballers, woodsballers and scenario players. The field is comprised of some of the finest scenario/concept fields on the east coast and is poised to become one of the top scenario fields in the US.

The field staff is incredibly proactive about safety. They're thorough in checking markers for the appropriate chrono readings (under 300 fps) and utilize proper safety practices to let everyone have an enjoyable paintball experience.

The staff is customer oriented and friendly. They were consistently soliciting feedback amongst the players on ways they could improve and from what I had seen, they have taken player comments and "run" with them, utilizing them as a key improvement mechanism for the field.

The fields are amazing. Several bunkers are constructed out of concrete and others are assembled from quality materials (lumber vs. the plywood used at other fields). Their Khe Sanh field smartly employs metal on the exterior. This gives an interesting audio and visual effect when being assaulted with paintballs. The fields are also set up in such a way as to be able to be utilized in multiple scenario configurations. This gives the field owners the flexibility to offer diverse concept play to a paintball crowd enthusiastic of a challenge.

One of the things that really separates Warplay from other fields and should be a best practice in the country, is the unique way that they run their games. One consistent issue, regardless of the field, is that players are known to wipe. At Warplay they instituted a game strategy that makes this completely unnecessary. Similar to larger scenario games, Warplay uses a reinsertion method for the teams. If you're eliminated you have a short walk back to a dead zone/respawn area. These areas store gear and enable the players to wipe off their hit, grab a quick drink and reload paint. After a short break (usually less than 4 minutes) the players are reinserted. This leads to fast paced, exciting games with consistent action. Players can be more aggressive without the need to worry about taking a cheap shot and being eliminated from play for 15 minutes. It effectively wipes out any need to cheat.

Another nice feature about Warplay is that they allow ramping and full auto modes on markers (and are proactive about watching for players who are overshooting eliminated players). This contributes to some of the fastest, highest energy games I have ever played. I had to call myself out in several games just to go reload on paint and hop in at the next respawn. There are breaks in between games to enable players to reload on paint and top off with air. The day I was there they were short staffed and this led to a longer than normal break in between games, but frankly the group I was with didn't seem to mind much. They were short one of the Owners, a Head Ref and a Gun Tech and still had games turned around in 10-20 minutes, even with long airfill lines. One concept that I wish other fields would adopt is that Warplay only uses HPA. They rent out tanks and don't bother with CO2.

The field also provides a lunch menu at registration and for $5 you get a sandwich, chips and a drink (all of which are better than most every other field). The prices are reasonable and come from a deli in town.

While the fields are incredible, the calibur of players at Warplay was also very high. There were several examples of good sportsmanship (both in victory and defeat). The talent among the players was diverse ranging from experienced players to first time players. This leads to realistic scenario and concept games. I found Warplay's use of mortars to be a very interesting twist to several games! That level of creativity is what is making this field great.

The surprising thing is that the owners Gunny and Tor, are just getting started. They have plans to develop and construct several new fields. Like the fields they have in place, these fields will not be lacking for detail. They also have plans for a larger structure/pro-shop in the future. The only real issue that I have with the field is the parking area. It's my opinion that as Warplay's reputation grows they're going to attract significantly more players and their parking lot isn't going to be able to handle the volume. Not a bad problem to have really.

We went out with 12 of our usual walk-on buddies, several of whom have been playing for more than 10-15 years. Everyone in our group went home yesterday enthusiastic about the next trip down. This is a top notch place for all players across the spectrum of experience.

Their prices are incredibly reasonable with it being only $15 to play. They have reasonable field paint prices ($45-55), the paint shot well and was of a high quality. If you had your own paint, it was a $10 BYOP fee, which I find to be incredibly reasonable. Additionally, all-day air was only $10. Their rentals were Tippman A-5's, a nice step up from the traditional Tippman 98C's at most other fields. I've played at other concept/scenario fields that had less field infrastructure/props than Warplay that charge almost twice as much. Warplay is truly a bargain for the price.

All said and done, Warplay is starting out at a level much higher than other fields on the east coast. They are the pinnacle of woodsball and scenario play and their star is certainly going to get brighter as time passes.
Last edited on Sunday, July 22nd, 2007 at 12:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

imthirsty Saturday, June 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Adventures, PEVS, Hogback, Paintball Adventures, Paintball Sportsland, Skirmish, Skyline Paintball
Review: This is the best field I have ever played at. The set-up of the field is nice. The bunkers, fort, bridges, and everything else have been strategically placed. They did not just throw some nice looking props in the middle of a paintball field because it looks cool. Every prop on the field has a useful purpose and is very well constructed. The respawn concept is great! You do not have to worry about sitting out for a long period of time while the game is going on. The only downside to this is that you can use a lot of paint this way. I guess that's OK since the sport is called "paintball". Each game has a mission that really gets you excited about playing. I'm happy that I can play scenario games every week without waiting for a special event!

The fields are safe. I noticed that the staff spray painted a couple of ground level tree stumps so people would see them and not trip. This is quite unlike a recent field I went to in which there are stumps everywhere and are easy to trip on. The refs did a great job of ensuring the safety of every player while being friendly and respectful.

The staff was excellent. They were very respectful and did a good job of explaining how they run things since this was my first time there.

I do not like the $10 you have to pay if you bring your own paint. Although you can buy paint there for $45, which is pretty good.

Conclusion: I traveled 1hour and a half to get to Warplay when other fields are 30 minutes away from me. I will find it hard now going to any other field. Warplay has set the standard of what woodsball should be. I look forward to seeing this field grow.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 at 6:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wc! Saturday, June 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline Paintball, Painted Forest Adventure Games,all 3 PBCs, many others on the east coast.
Review: Me and some friends tried this field mainly because we were looking to do a private game with some work clients and wanted to check it out to see if it was worthy. Unfortunately, we found out through the day that they really don't do private games. After playing for a while, I could see why. They have about 4-5 fields but because they run scenario style games instead of just standard games, sometimes they have to combine fields. Sometimes it's a 1 field game, sometimes it's 2, and sometimes it's 3. They just really don't have the room to run a private game and open play. This is unfortunate, because we had a blast and would love to take a private group there. On to the review...

************* The good:
-The guys that run this place are super friendly. They mingled with all of us throughout the day to make sure we were having fun and that everything was going as expected. One of them even joined the battles and played with us for a few games.
-Their refs are also friendly. No 15yr old head cases ruining the experience by being rude or obnoxious. They did their job and did it very well.
-They took our lunch order when we got there and went out and got our food so we never had to leave(never had that happen before - nice touch).
-They provided water and kept us hydrated. We had our own, but once again, this was a nice touch.
-Fields are very creative and well thought out. Excellent bunkers. Fantastic scenarios(not just your standard shoot-em-up-win-the-game rules). Great fire zones.
-It seems like they're sinking their profits back into the field which is fantastic and means even better fields in the future.

************* The Jury is still out:
-Player Respawns. All games were 25 minutes with a player respawn of anywhere from 4 minutes to instant depending on the team and scenario. While this gives you ALOT more playing time than normal, sometimes I just wanted people to die and go away. Some scenarios can only be as fun as they were WITH the respawns so I'm not going to complain about them, but maybe they should have sprinkled a few no-respawn games in throughout the day.
-No rules on firing modes. This is the first field that I've ever played that allowed ALL FIRING MODES - including full auto. Even all of their rental gear had RT triggers(all A5's by the way – very nice). While this made all of the games intense with huge amounts of paint flying, I have to think that this makes the experience for first timers a little intimidating.

************* The bad:
-A little on the expensive side. $15 field fee + $10 Air + 1 case of paint = Minimum of about $70-$75. They will let you use your own paint but there's an additional $10 fee. Their Paint prices are pretty standard ranging from $45-$65 depending on the grade and brand.
-Everything here is setup to burn through paint. The fields are fire fight heavy, the respawning means endless targets, and full-auto means lots of reloading. This is only a bad thing because of the first item under bad, expensive.

Overall opinion:
I love this place and had a blast. I had the most intense games ever(and I've played CFOA 5-man tournies for 5 years). I'm hooked on Warplay. If you do nothing else, go there for the "King of the hill" game(based on the Halo game – crazy fun with instant respawns) and the "Cease Fire" game. Those two alone will be worth the trip.

Everything about this place fits their name. Warplay. From the endless reinforcements due to respawns, to the full-auto fire, and to the guy in the staging area launching paintball mortars at you during certain games(yes, mortars), These guys have big plans for the future and if even 1/3 of their plans come true, this place will be the premier paintball field in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheDan8th1/2 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soggie Bottom is in the area, its ok
PEV's is the only other comparable field
Directions
to the Field:
I dont know, my dad drives :)
Review: +++++++Overall Description+++++++
Hands down Warplay is the best woodsball/scenario field in Virginia. I've played here about 5 times since the grand opening (I was there). After experiencing Warplay the only other field I can ever go to is PEV's, and only because they have speedball there. The field design is amazing. They have 4 fields here, which I describe later because some people don't care only on that issue, and a few others maybe coming along including a speedball field. The nice thing is the layout where all these fields are centered around the staging area so you wont kill your feet after the game. They also have constant spawn times here, where you can be missing action only for a maximum of 5 minutes, and then you're back out there again! They also have mortars aimed at key fortified positions that you can call on and they will put in machine gun emplacements later. The prices here are very reasonable, it used to be $15 entry which included all day air but now air is separate for $10. Paint is $35 for Recsport and $45 for Draxxus Blaze. Safety is priority here there are refs visible at every part of the field doing constant paint checks and barrel cover checks when not in play. I am very pleased to see the barrel cover rule enforced so strictly here. Im tired of noob's guns going off and taking one in the foot. There is NO 20 foot rule here (which i consider good to not have) because it would GREATLY diminish the play. Staff and refs are also very helpful, not only with safety but with always having someone ready to fill air or sell paint. They don't necessarily have a proshop where they sell things, but they do have air, paint and good quality rentals in stock (rentals are Tippman A-5's not 98's). Tor and Gunny, the owners, are two of the coolest people Ive ever meet who are in the paintball industry and have huge plans for this already great field.

+++++++Field Descriptions In Depth+++++++
As I said before, Warplay currently has 4 fields. One field is based of a WWII battle with the highlight being a fortified bridge side for defense and a multitude of scattered bunkers for offense. Another is a Vietnam battle called Khe Shan (spelling?) where its a fort surrounded on all sides waiting to be relieved by members from there team all the way across the field. Another is a speedball-esqe field where the play style is like king of the hill with a large bunker being the hill in the center of the field....very intense play on this field. The last isn't completed yet but it is being constructed, so ill count since it is more than just a paper concept. but it's a V-52 rocket field where one side must attack the other and prevent a rocket from being launched.There are a couple of other fields being conceived at this point that i know about, though i don't have very many details. But that's it for the fields!!!

+++++++Conclusion+++++++
Warplay is an incredibly designed and managed field with high hopes for its already incredible design. i give it a 10/10, although most hold back on this field because they know it will get better, i give it a perfect because it already is perfect, it will only surpass that! So, in conclusion, GO TO WARPLAY!!!
Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 7:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

helfireshots Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pevs
Directions
to the Field:
rt3 to rt20 on the left
Review: AWESOME is all i can say
no 20 foot rule they tell you that from the begining if you dont want to be that guy dont be
awesome feilds tons of scenarios
price is good i can go for 30 bucks thats feild fee-15 paint fee-10 and couple extra stuff like gatorade and batterys
awesome weapons like mortars paint grenades and a ton more
refs are cool very helpfull
all the people there very nice
you can rent guns they have tippman a5's with response trigersi think the rent is 25 bucks for the gun the mask the hopper and all day air
conclusion awesome place im lookin forward to goin there for a long long time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NotASenator Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area
Directions
to the Field:
It's really simple just down rt 3 to rt 20, right off the road, easy to see.
Review: I'll start off with the summary:

This is the best paintball experience I've ever had. It was fast, strategic and frenetically paced.


PROS:
---------
First I want to mention the source of all of this, Tor and Gunny. They are great to work with, took turns out in the field with us, and really were working hard to make sure everyone had a great time. On top of that, they have used sound military experience to create wonderful scenarios filled with great opportunities. Fields of fire and kill zones have been designed into the matches, as well as momentum shifts. It takes communication and teamwork to do well on these fields. This not only makes it more fun and challenging, but also draws the teams together, so by the end of the day, we were working like a well-oiled machine.

The pace was excellent, the prices were reasonable. Plenty of people have commented here on those, as well as the safety rules and the lack of 20ft rule, so I won't go into it. The story here is that everything is done to make this as fun and as realistic as possible, at the same time, and somehow, they have succeeded.

CONS:
---------
They are only open on Saturdays. I wish I could go everyday.

In closing, GO TO THIS FIELD. I can't imagine going anywhere else now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JimmyTehBanana Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splattbrothers - Hopewell (their paint sucked and required you purchase from them)
Review: These people know how to build a field! We played as walk-ons and joined about 30+ people for the scenario games. We played 4 scenarios. One was an attack defend type of game over a tank bridge. There was a split reinforcement/ambush scenario in a replication of Kason (complete with mortar fire, which was experiencing technical difficulty when we played). A king of the hill field (about 200 feet in total length) provided intense firefights. Each field was built with strategy involved for both sides as well as enjoyment and playability. A fourth scenario was a protect the president scenario where we led one referee to a designated area. They have no distance for firing limits. Another idea they implemented were respawns in designated areas (king of the hill was instant respawn). There is no proshop but who would buy a paintball from a shack in the woods? You go here to play not to buy.


Pros:
Strategic landscaping and objects, everything was placed with strategy involved (some forcing firefights).

Multiple scenarios on multiple fields for multiple strategies

A mortar.. come on.. I mean its a MORTAR!!

25 minute games with about 3 minutes max of respawn (respawns happen every 3 or so minutes reguardless of how long you've been in the respawn area) this leads to 3-10 seconds before being released back in the game.

Lunch is offered at a price. I believe you get a sandwhich, chips and a drink for $5... or you can drive up Rt 20 (towards Fredericksburg) and get lunch at a sub/pizza place 2 minutes away.

They are VERY clear on saftey rules.
-------
Cons:
25 minute games lead to 2 things... empty air and no more paint. The field air tanks held 3k wich never lasted the full game, especially when intense firefights were always present. The rules were unclear about bringing extra paint into the respawn zones. More reserve tanks or a larger tank would suffice and a clear understanding of paint boxes being brought to respawns.

The refs were pretty good for the most part but were more focused on goggles being on than people playing fair and not cheating.

The boundaries were not as clear in each field as they should have been. One second you're stalking someone and the next the ref is yelling at you to get back on the field.

This place allows you to bring your own paint... for an additional $10... I never use field paint because I don't know what conditions it has been kept in. $10 is a ridiculous price to bring your own paint, especially if the field paint has been in a shack all summer/winter.

This place is open Saturdays only 9:00 - 4:30. Games start at 10am and the last game starts at 3:30.

No CO2 is available.. if that matters to you..
---

BY FAR THE BEST FIELD I HAVE EVER PLAYED ON!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tom_Axtell Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I just started playing paintball,my brother got me interested.I live in Central New York so it's a 51/2 hour drive for me.My brother lives just a ways from the field in Sterling Va. This was my first time here at Warplay,this is a totaly awesome field.Tor and Gunney are super friendly and want everyone to have a good time.I am leaving again tomarrow to plat there again.You get lots of play time and have a ball playing.They are very strict on safety.If you play with a 20' rule you need to think your playing strategy differently.NO 20' foot rule here,Totaly Awesome.After playing here I don't think I could play with a 20' rule.Absolutely the best place to play!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Total Eclipse - Too speedball oriented
TMX paintball - Doesn't exist anymore but, I liked it more
Directions
to the Field:
Get on RT.20 from RT.3 and follow untill you see the sign that says paintball, it is right off of the highway no little dirt roads or anything.
Review: Well, one thing that isn't good about this field is that it is open on Sat. only and the Hours are pretty fixed. Everything is very structured teams are picked and adhered to and refs direct what games are played based on the number of players and what they want to do. They make sure that everyone chronos, under 300 except rental which are 250fps.

They allow enhanced fire modes, which I enjoy. Blind firing and bunkering are allowed IIRC and any equipment hit counts. All of the games are played with a respawn zone, and a clock counts down when players come back, it is nice as the action keeps going.

Price was a little high, but not outrageous the Staff was numerous and helpful, There really isn't any proshop to speak of, just a shack with the air system and rentels and such but, I don't think many people come to a field to buy the new DM7 or anything so that really isn't much of an issue. More paint choices would be nice however, I really wish they had arctic inferno or some other winter paint since all of the paint was busting (it was very cold out).

There were food services however, I got their late so I am not sure how that works. The Fields where top notch, very good construction, nothing that would fall apart if you climed on it. The only field I think that wasn't good was their "Halo" field where you play a type of king of the hill (with Halo 2 video game rules) with instant respawn, I felt the quality of that field was simpily not as good as the others, it felt like poor mans speedball the whole time. The games are in a wooded area however, 85% of all cover is hardcover and usually forts or bulding, sandbags, etc VERY enjoyable military simulation type play.

This field does not carry CO2 however, they will let you borrow a 48/3k which while small is adequete and while I would perfer to have some CO2 support I usually use HPA anyway so it isn't a big issue. The Refs are there much more to make sure people don't take their googles off than to stop cheating.

Overall it is a good field I will probibly be back, but don't expect to just make games on the fly everything is very structured which is alright, but still not as good as the old TMX field in lousia (which had airball and large forts).

I would however reccomend this field over total eclipse if you at all into woodsball or saftey for that matter.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevinsteele Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Been a total rec player for a long time...

However I have heard a lot of bad stories of Pevs, and mixed reports of Skyline Paintball.
Review: Simply put Warplay paintball is the best field ever! A knowledgable and friendly staff work hard to make it the best paintball experience you will ever have!

Tor and Gunny are some of the best field operators I've ever met. Their field is very scenario based and is built professionaly with your enjoyment as the primary purpose.

For just a preview of some of the equipment we saw in use the other day, we saw semi and full autos (as usual....), exploding paint grenades(now we're getting somewhere), LAW rockets, and mortar rounds. Yes, those last two are not typos. Also, the insanely funny incident involving the LAW launcher and a nerf ball was very entertaining!

All of the fields at Warplay are professionally created with choke points and fields of fire. One of the largest fields has a very large bridge with guardpost, as well as several concrete and sandbag bunkers. Several tactical variances arise when trying to attach/defend this course.

My particular favorite of the courses there is what they call the Halo Field. It is a hybrid mixture of woodsball and speedball, with a little bit of a twist. A small square structure sits in the middle of the small field with 2-3 foot high walls. The objective is to get one member of your team in the center for four minutes; not consecutively, just overall. And did I mention instant respawn? only 40 feet away? Yes, all of this combines for an adrenaline pumping, paint slinging experience. I think I tell my friends stories about this field all the time...believe me, you'll come out of here with stories of your own.

I won't tell about all the other fields...you'll just have to go on out there to experience them all!

So, I think it's easy to see my opinion on Warplay...a great park, affordable pricing, and simply the best staff ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media