paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field

Open Range Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 502.243.8282
Address: 6401 Cross Keys Blvd
Crestwood, Kentucky 40014
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
scurryabout Wednesday, September 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't really been to any other fields
Directions
to the Field:
It's in Crestwood, Oldham County, just off of Interstate-71. About 15 minutes from LaGrange
Review: Okay, so this is the only indoor field I've really been to. But I talked to some other paintballers in my area and asked them about other fields, and visited those fields' websites. But this place is like, 15 minutes away from me. It's awesome! The turf is great and easy to slide on. They use supair bunkers, and just got a snake. Their rules are pretty reasonable. Safety is pretty good, without being sticklers. The paintball Staff and refs are mostly just guys in high school, and are pretty helpful. It was my first time at an indoor field, and they kinda had to help me along (I don't normally play speedball)
Great service. Clean facilities. They don't have any food, but there's an awesome deli/pizza place across the street that delivers to the place. They also have a rifle and pistol range, the place is really cool. The staff is really great. Based on my interviews with other guys, I'd give this place a 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dsawyer Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Vert nice field...However, i was disapponited with my experience. I was on business in the louisville area and thought that I would check them out. When I got to the field there were 2 guys (employess) playing in the field, so I asked the lady at the desk if I could play in. She had some other guy go to the manager and he said no....I could not believe it. I drove 45 minutes to get their, was willing to pay the 45 bucks and just target practive or just practice running and shooting and they would not even let me play. So I will never go back. The store is very nice and so is the reball range, however I bet they have a lot of overhead to pay off and turning away customers is not the best idea...Good luck----CALL FIRST.
Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 6:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

aflin Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
G-Town, Third Eye, Paintball Hill, Unlimited
Review: So the staff was pretty cool, THey are willing to get to know you and they learn stuff along the way. They are very strict with rules. They dont allow u to take any reballs out into the staging area which are completely understandable. but to get a fill, u need to take off ur hopper and put a barrel cover on. It a bit excessive IMO. But hey, they are a new field and its pretty good. $45 is awesome for unlimited reballs and all day air. Dont listen to any esle who complains about that. but $65 is a lil too much after this month. Every one agrees.

They do have a pro shop, its decent. Very limited but it a new places. The prices, well, they could do better. I dont any 1 wants to buy a empire B for 130 anymore. But im sure they'll drop soon.

BUt my favorite thing about this place besides unlimited reballs and air for $45 is the fact they can play any kind of music u want. Heck, u can bring ur ipod and play w/e u like so long theres not too many younger players with their parents.

Over all, the whole place was very professional. The guys who owns it( i think barry) it terrific. He came a talked to us and asked what could be improved on. Besides better prices, u cant get any better. The staff are teens in highschool, so pretty much any one get along with them. They even have a myspace. check em out!

I give this field a 9/10. i dont believe in a perfect field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ear Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Third Eye, Asylum, 3rd Eye is not as well lit or professional, pricing is better than OpenRange however
Directions
to the Field:
check em out on www.openrangesports.com
Review: I loved the field, they have a great pro shop, and the people were friendly and ready to serve you. Can you say UNLIMITED REBALLS? I got to know Barry Laws, the CEO of OpenRange, a little bit, and he is a great guy. The field is clean, and unlike 3rd Eye, they dont have to pick up the reballs 4 times during your visit. The turf is awesome! I did several supermans, (a few (headfirst) over the 4 foot tall tombstone, without harming myself, very fun, and I looked very cool), and the bunkers are basically Sup'Air. The prices were $45 the whole day, but thats only til Sep 1st when it will become $65, which is a little outrageous... I had trouble mustering up 45, let alone 65, so I dont see myself playing much after Sep 1st unless I find a job between baseball and school. The staff was friendly, and even had some teens working on guns there, to the best of their ability... The gun range seemed very fine as well... I give it a 9 b/c of the expensive pricing...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballmaniac5693 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Fun Farm - Not close, it's good, but the speedball fields suck......
Directions
to the Field:
Ummm, in crestwood (haha, that's helpful) and its at an old skating rink, just past SOHS, SOMS, and SOES (its something else....but u get the point)
Review: Ummm, Very safe, lovely field! (i came mainly for the pistol range, but the paintball place is killer) Basically saying, near tourney level field..........its beautiful, reballs only...., hour of operation, basic, all week except tuesday, prices.....hmmmm, overpriced? of course. Rules are like all others, and services are great, do all ya need.....proshop, very friendly and mindful, and knew quite a bit, but the prices = no fun.....refs are mindful to rules, and players (well, not too many the day i went) and facilities are kept tip top shape and no food......but shops are near...
Last edited on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 4:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dayres927 Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Third Eye- Not even close
Review: It's a great field. The staffing is great. You can't beat the price either, once you pay entry and all-day air, you can shoot until your hearts content. In other words, you have an unlimited supply of ammo. The turf is excellent if your like me and slide a lot. The facility is also air conditioned. Unlike a lot of indoor facilities, the lighting is great, nomore dark spots. The staging area is nice and you have an excellent view of the game. Definately worth your time. This is Dan from MROF!

10/10- When a field works this hard to please, it should be reconized!
Last edited on Saturday, August 26th, 2006 at 2:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

blizzle25 Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Hill, Paintball Games in the Bluegrass, Unlimited
Review: ok so i first heard of this place threw myspace. kinda dorky but w/e. so i talked to some of my friends into going to openrange. For those of you who dont know it is also a gun range, very cool. the field is nice very clean. they use reballs there not real paint and the reballs are really clean so far. good refs friendly enviroment.


i give him a 9 b/c I DONT BELIEVE IN A PEFECT FIELD but this is as close to perfect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

peanutfeller420 Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other fields besides this one (I normally play woodsball).
Review: This is the only field I've been to, but...it was the best paintball experience I've ever had! The staff there will help you out with any questions you have. And the turf is absolutely incredible! You can slide on it extremely easily and you won't trip and fall. They provide everything to play with such as a Tippmann mask and Tippmann 98 custom to use. As other people have said before, it is a tad expensive. It's 65 dollars for a full day, and 45 dollars for half a day. But the cool thing is that in the month of August, it's 45 dollars for a full day! In conclusion, this is an awesome reball arena ( I forgot to mention that). I rate this a 10/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooper17 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 31st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Asylum- Not as good in my opinion.
Third Eye- Doesn't even compare.
Ntense Sports- Only good for tourneys.
Directions
to the Field:
It's in Crestwood, KY. If you know where South Oldham is located, then stay on the road passing it (I think it's 22) and go until you see what looks like a large shopping area on your left. You'll see a Dollar General, Primetime Fitness, Chinese Restaurant, and other stores too. Turn in there and go all the way to the back right of the shopping place, and you'll see a big building with a sign that says Open Range.
Review: Well, i had been anticipating the opening of this field for a very long time. Here's all the goods and bads that i've found:

Pros: •Turf is amazing. Padded like crazy, only hurts if you have short sleeves and/or shorts on, and very easy to slide far.
•Good staff. The staff is very friendly and will help you out with just about everything.
•Good safety enforcement. I work up there, and we try very hard to keep the barrel condom rule enforced, and even harder to keep the "masks always on when on the field" rule enforced.
•The bunkers are top of the line. I think they're Sup'Air bunkers, but i'm not 100%.
•Open every day except Tuesday. So you can go up and play a lot.
•Just the all around place is amazing. The facilities are all very nice, and everything looks like it cost a lot.

Cons: •Somewhat over priced. As of a few days ago, the prices were $65 for a whole day, or $45 for a half day (usually like 4-8 or 4-9). Until school starts though, they're $45 for a whole day, and i'm not sure what the half day is. I don't know what will happen to the prices when school starts, but hopefully they'll be cheaper.
•No food. There is no food there for you to buy, except for some like energy bars. Luckily, if you are really hungry there's a pretty good deli about 200 yards away so you can get some good food there.
•Bunkers are filled with water, so if you want to change the field it's near impossible unless you have lots of people to help carry the bunkers.


Overall, I would say that this is an amazing field. The Pros strongly outweigh the Cons, and i'm sure they'll get fixed in time. Well, hopefully I'll see you on the field sometime!!!
Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 7:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexgd103 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at third eye painyball which is also a reball arena
Directions
to the Field:
its at www.openrangesports.com
Review: This place is all around the best place ive ever played paintball. I know I've only been to a couple places but i still think this place is outstanding. The field is almost 100 yard long and its kinda close to about 3/4 of the width of a football field. The turf is great because it doesn't have the rubber padding (black specs) that can get into your gun. The turf is awesome to slide on and you can jump up and land on your knees and barley feel it. The bunkers they use is sup air and they have a whole assortment of everything possible. The only thing me and my friends wished they had was a snake. But all in all the field layout is great and the staff even let you set up you own layout as what we did today. Also it would be cool if they would mark the lines for every ten yards. The nice thing is is that they fill not only 3000 air tanks ut also 4500 which is really nice because some places don't. The staff there are all really nice and help full. the prices are reasonable at $45 for half day and $65 for full day. The full day is the best deal and gun tank and everything is included in that so if you don't have a gun you can just go up there and they'll help you out with one of there tippmanns or their ions for $20 more. There is also a very nice viewing area on top to watch people play. Included at open range is also a pistol and rifle range, Both look amazing. There is no food but there is a few places surrounding the building. Their shop is also very good with competitive prices with the Internet which is great. This place is great and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested and they also make for great parties! I would rate this a 10/10 because it is really great and its just right around the block and very accessible from Louisville from I-71.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media